archive-com.com » COM » A » AVISONENSEMBLE.COM

Total: 57

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Home | Avison Ensemble
    from 10am to 3pm The Literary and Philosphical Society Newcastle Young Musicians Awards 2016 News Forthcoming Avison Ensemble Events Feb 14 The Avison Ensemble Young Musicians Awards Final 2016 Read more May 10 Trio sonatas concert Sheffield Music in the Round festival Read more All events Stay informed Register for updates of our events and promotions signup The Avison Ensemble 3 Bentinck Place Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6XN Tel 44

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/ (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Home | Avison Ensemble
    from 10am to 3pm The Literary and Philosphical Society Newcastle Young Musicians Awards 2016 News Forthcoming Avison Ensemble Events Feb 14 The Avison Ensemble Young Musicians Awards Final 2016 Read more May 10 Trio sonatas concert Sheffield Music in the Round festival Read more All events Stay informed Register for updates of our events and promotions signup The Avison Ensemble 3 Bentinck Place Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6XN Tel 44

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/default.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Follow us | Avison Ensemble
    us there as well We regularly update our Facebook page with the latest news and announcements about our concerts and events By becoming an Avison Ensemble Fan you ll find out about our new releases and recording projects and be the first to know about our future events and special offers on ticket prices We ll also let you know what great new videos and photos we ve added to YouTube Vimeo and Flickr Keep in touch with us by becoming an Avison Ensemble Facebook Fan today FLICKR We re on Flickr the world s biggest photo sharing website We re regularly posting photos from our latest concerts and events and we also like sharing our behind the scenes photos from rehearsals and recordings Plus there are some beautiful photos of our players musical instruments and of the stunning venues we perform and record in around the North East and the UK We also like sharing photos from our education and outreach projects showing kids and young people engaging with classical music Check out our photos on Flickr and add us to your contacts TWITTER Do you Tweet Get the latest updates from the Avison Ensemble via the short but

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/follow.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Ensemble | Avison Ensemble
    the Avison Ensemble is also a training ground for young up and coming musicians to gain experience at period performance practice and styles affording them the opportunity to work with outstanding directors and soloists The Ensemble has an active outreach programme involving thousands of children each year in music education projects throughout the North East The Avison Ensemble s recording of the complete works of Charles Avison on both the Naxos and Divine Art labels has been exceptionally well received Their recording of 6 Cello Concertos by John Garth has been a sensational success having been reprinted several times during the first year of its release and is regularly played on Classic FM In addition to numerous appearances in the English regions The Avison Ensemble has also appeared to critical acclaim at St John s Smith Square in London and at the Hallé Handel Festival in Germany Recently the Ensemble has performed at St James Palace in London with the choir of Her Majesty the Queen s Chapel Royal and were the largest orchestra in the opening concert series at the new London concert hall Kings Place performing Beethoven s Triple Concerto as part of an all Beethoven programme on

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/the-ensemble/default.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Events | Avison Ensemble
    incredible young talent in the region Due to the popularity of our annual Awards the Finals will take place in two sessions on Sunday 14th February between 10am to 3pm with Grades 1 6 in the morning and Grades 7 above and small ensembles in the afternoon Click here for more on our annual Young Musicians Awards FREE EVENT No ticket necessary but donations at the Door will be used to help fund our education programmes Thank you We re grateful to The Literary and Philosophical Society for helping us present this year s Awards The Literary Philosophical Society 23 Westgate Road Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1SE View on map FREE EVENT No ticket needed Donations at the Door welcomed Thank you May May Tue 10 7 15pm Trio sonatas concert Sheffield Music in the Round festival Pavlo Beznosiuk Caroline Balding Baroque violins Richard Tunnicliffe cello Roger Hamilton Harpsichord Trio sonatas abounded in the Baroque era and the true master of the form was Handel His writing inspired the development of the string trio which reached a high point in Mozart s and Beethoven s landmark works In this concert we take Beethoven s admiration for Handel as the starting point for our fascinating programme combining Handel s masterpieces with seminal transitional compositions from two towering figures in the development of the symphony Johann Stamitz and Mozart Handel is the greatest composer who ever lived Ludwig van Beethoven Programme George Frideric Handel 1685 1759 Trio Sonata Op 2 no 3 in Bb Major J S Bach 1685 1750 arr W A Mozart 1756 1791 Two preludes and fugues K 404a Nos 5 6 Handel Keyboard Suite in Bb Major HWV 434 Handel Trio Sonata Op 5 No 2 in D Handel Violin Sonata in D Major HWV 371 Johann Stamitz

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/events/default.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Listen & Buy | Avison Ensemble
    I I Allemanda Presto Sonata da camera Opus 4 No 5 in A minor I I Allemanda Allegro Now playing Sonata da camera Opus 4 No 5 in A minor I I Allemanda Allegro Charles Avison 12 Concerti Grossi Op 9 6 Concerti Grossi Op 10 The Avison Ensemble Pavlo Beznosiuk director violin Following the enormous success of our recordings of Garth s Cello Concertos and Avison s Concerti after Geminiani here is another premiere recording of the finest baroque music Opus 9 was one of Avison s most popular sets of concertos published in his lifetime and shows him at the height of his powers The complete set is recorded here for the first time with his final set of published works the rich and varied opus 10 Even before its official release this recording was chosen by Classic FM as their disc of the week 2 CD set on Divine Art Classic FM Disc of the Week 24 August 2008 World premiere recording Avison s Opus 9 and Opus 10 Concerti Grossi are sweetly melodic succinct and conservative Led by Pavlo Beznosuik the ensemble does its composer proud in a stylish series of sturdy allegros graceful largos and delicate attractive arias Anna Picard The Daily Telegraph ADD TO CART Added 12 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES Concerto Grosso No 10 in D minor I I Allegro Now playing Concerto Grosso No 10 in D minor I I Allegro Concerto Grosso No 3 in C minor I V Allegro Now playing Concerto Grosso No 3 in C minor I V Allegro Concerto Grosso No 1 in G major I Largo Now playing Concerto Grosso No 1 in G major I Largo Charles Avison 12 Concerti Grossi after Geminiani The Avison Ensemble Pavlo Beznosiuk director violin Charles Avison was long neglected but is now being recognised as one of the most brilliant and accomplished English composers of the 18th century These recently discovered 12 Concerti are based on Geminiani s opus 1 violin sonatas are played on period instruments and are recorded here for the first time by the Avison Ensemble which has itself made a reputation as one of the finest instrumental ensembles in Europe 2 CD set on Divine Art World premiere recording This is music of outstanding quality The performances are outstanding The band is richly sonorous the ensemble is faultless the tempi are seemingly infallibly judged the phrasing is subtle and expressive and virtuoso solos are dispatched with aplomb What more could one possibly want They must surely be one of the finest baroque ensembles now in existence Richard Maunder Early Music News ADD TO CART Added 12 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES Concerto no 5 in B flat major I I I Grave Now playing Concerto no 5 in B flat major I I I Grave Concerto No 1 in G major I V Allegro Now playing Concerto No 1 in G major I V Allegro Concerto No 7 in C minor I I Allegro Now playing Concerto No 7 in C minor I I Allegro Charles Avison Twelve Concertos Opus 6 The Avison Ensemble Pavlo Beznosiuk director violin This world premiere recording of Charles Avison s opus 6 displays the full imagination and variety of England s greatest concerto composer of the 18th century They perhaps reveal a tunefulness and style that could be classed as a Geordie idiom An important addition to any collection of English baroque music 2 CD set on Naxos World premiere recording The arrival of this splendid issue should surely win Avison the host of new friends he certainly deserves The scores are also unusually well supplied with very precise phrasing and dynamic markings of which the Avison Ensemble take full advantage in spirited crisply articulated and expressive performances Elizabeth Roche The Daily Telegraph ADD TO CART Added 10 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES Concerto No 1 in G minor I Adagio Now playing Concerto No 1 in G minor I Adagio Concerto No 3 in E minor I Adagio Now playing Concerto No 3 in E minor I Adagio Concerto No 8 in E minor I Adagio Now playing Concerto No 8 in E minor I Adagio Charles Avison Sonatas for Harpsichord Opus 5 7 The Avison Ensemble Gary Cooper harpsichord Pavlo Beznosiuk Caroline Balding violins Robin Michael cello This set is the final release in the Avison Ensemble s complete recording of Avison s orchestral and chamber music marvellous baroque works of inspiration which have been greeted with delight by customers and critics alike Here we have the twelve harpsichord sonatas of Op 5 and 7 a worthy culmination of a revelatory series showcasing Avison s genius We re delighted to be joined by the superb Gary Cooper who revels in Avison s writing for harpsichord 2 CD set on Divine Art MusicWeb recording of the month November 2010 World premiere recording Such a rich sound affectionable performances adding to our knowledge and appreciation of one of Northern England s unsung musical heroes Andrew McGregor BBC Radio 3 CD Review ADD TO CART Added 12 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES Sonata No 1 in G major I Leggeremente Now playing Sonata No 1 in G major I Leggeremente Sonata No 2 in G minor I Presto Now playing Sonata No 2 in G minor I Presto Sonata No 6 in A major I Ciacone Now playing Sonata No 6 in A major I Ciacone Charles Avison Trio Sonatas Opus 1 Keyboard Sonatas Opus 8 The Avison Ensemble Robert Howarth harpsichord chest organ Pavlo Beznosiuk Caroline Balding violins Richard Tunnicliffe cello These hitherto unknown works are real baroque gems The opus 1 Trio Sonatas led by the strings are accompanied by Robert Howarth on chest organ continuo while Robert moves front of stage and to the harpsichord in the Keyboard Sonatas opus 8 2 CD set on Divine Art World premiere recording Played here with relish and charm by the four members of the Avison Ensemble It characterizes so much of what I feel about this release essentially that the rediscovery of this composer and his music in recent years has been long overdue Ideal sound That little set of variations at the end of Avison s Op 8 is just the icing on the cake of a most desirable release Piers Burton Page International Record Review ADD TO CART Added 12 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES Sonata No 1 in chromatic Dorian mode I Adagio Now playing Sonata No 1 in chromatic Dorian mode I Adagio Sonata No 2 in G minor I I I Adagio Now playing Sonata No 2 in G minor I I I Adagio Sonata No 1 in A major I Andante cantabile Now playing Sonata No 1 in A major I Andante cantabile Charles Avison 12 Concerti Grossi after Scarlatti The Avison Ensemble Pavlo Beznosiuk director violin Thought by many to be Avison s greatest masterpieces these arrangements of Scarlatti s keyboard sonatas were for many decades the only Avison music known The set shows Avison s considerable creative skill as an arranger and clearly shows his great love of Scarlatti This is sublime baroque music at its best performed on period instruments 2 CD set on Divine Art BBC Radio 3 Essential CD of the Week 7th 11th November 2011 The playing is uniformly superb The results especially in performances of this calibre are such that the listener is able to return to the originals with fresh ears surely the measure of success of any good transcription The recorded sound is excellent Fascinating and colourful works Robert Levett International Record Review ADD TO CART Added 12 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES Concerto No 3 in D minor I Largo andante Now playing Concerto No 3 in D minor I Largo andante Concerto No 6 in D major I I Con furia Now playing Concerto No 6 in D major I I Con furia Concerto No 8 in E minor IV Vivace Now playing Concerto No 8 in E minor IV Vivace Concertos from the North Avison Garth and Herschel The Avison Ensemble Anner Bylsma cello Pavlo Beznosiuk director violin Music by Charles Avison John Garth William Herschel Charles Avison Concerti Grossi Op 3 Nos 2 and 6 and Concerto after Scarlatti No 12 in D major John Garth Cello Concerto No 6 in G Major William Herschel Violin Concerto in D minor Under Charles Avison s direction his home town of Newcastle became a hotbed of culture attracting famous musicians to the town amongst whom were violinist William Herschel later more famous as an astronomer and cellist John Garth who wrote the first ever cello concertos published by an Englishman Here we have a fine example of the lively and buoyant performances that Avison s subscription concerts must have had Herschel and Garth both performed in Avison s orchestra World premiere recording ADD TO CART Added 10 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES Cello Concerto No 6 in G major I I Siciliana Anner Bylsma cello Now playing Cello Concerto No 6 in G major I I Siciliana Anner Bylsma cello Concerto Grosso Opus 3 No 6 in G major I Allegro Now playing Concerto Grosso Opus 3 No 6 in G major I Allegro Violin Concerto in D minor I I I Allegro assai Pavlo Beznosiuk violin Now playing Violin Concerto in D minor I I I Allegro assai Pavlo Beznosiuk violin Rebellion Music of the Jacobite Rebellions by Handel Geminiani Avison Robert Howarth director harpsichord Mhairi Lawson Lisa Wilson sopranos Pavlo Beznosiuk violin Inspired by the discovery of an original manuscript by Charles Avison containing songs in tribute to the Jacobite rebellion Rebellion features music by Handel Geminiani and Avison setting the background to the political scene in Britain in the early 18th century A number of newly discovered works are featured on the recording including movements of an Avison harpsichord concerto and Scottish songs and the rebellious proceedings are dramatically interrupted by the inclusion of the beautiful Dirge written by Avison at the request of David Garrick to be performed in his London production of Shakespeare s Romeo and Juliet Songs by Avison Lochmaben Gate The auld Stuarts back again The Chevalier s Muster Roll Dirge The Song of M Rimmon Glash and Lenachan s Farewell Also songs by Handel and Anon F Geminiani Violin Sonata Op 4 No 1 Avison Five movements of a Keyboard Concerto World premiere recordings ADD TO CART Added 10 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES Charles Avison Dirge Now playing Charles Avison Dirge My Bonny Moorhen Now playing My Bonny Moorhen Charles Avison Chevalier s Muster Roll Now playing Charles Avison Chevalier s Muster Roll George Frideric Handel Concerti Grossi Opus 6 The Avison Ensemble Pavlo Beznosiuk director violin Dazzling colour tones and textures make this Baroque masterpiece stand out as one of the definitive examples of the concerto grosso form Widely regarded as Handel s greatest contribution to the Baroque period this triple album is the perfect debut for the Avison Ensemble on Linn Records Pavlo Beznosiuk who directs this fresh and insightful performance states These readings are above all a chance to joyously revel in some of the greatest string music ever penned 3 CD set on Linn Records Shortlisted for the Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2011 Baroque Instrumental category Awarded an Opus d Or Award 2010 Awarded Best Recording 2010 by High Fidelity Magazine Ring of ClassiqueInfo award Nominated for the 2011 International Classical Music Awards Music Web International Download of the Month July 2010 Released on Linn Records Gramophone Magazine Label of the Year 2010 Where the Avison Ensemble really triumphs is in conveying a sense of occasion and musical opulence Magnificent Andrew O Connor International Record Review ADD TO CART Added 15 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES Concerto No 10 in D major I I Allegro Now playing Concerto No 10 in D major I I Allegro Concerto No 10 in D major V I Allegro moderato Now playing Concerto No 10 in D major V I Allegro moderato Concerto No 6 in G major I I I Musette Larghetto Now playing Concerto No 6 in G major I I I Musette Larghetto Charles Avison Six Concertos Op 3 Eight Concertos Op 4 The Avison Ensemble Pavlo Beznosiuk director violin Charles Avison wrote these concertos to fill the demand for music by orchestral and concert societies around the country in the 18th century It is likely they were well known in their time but as fashions and tastes changed they were left overlooked This set of 14 concertos gives a fascinating insight into the world of music making in the mid 18th century and show why Avison is regarded at the greatest English concerto of the 18th century 2 CD set on Naxos World premiere recording Here the concertos are played by the Newcastle based Avison Ensemble directed by Pavlo Beznosiuk Beznosiuk and the other unnamed soloists contribute some fine solo playing in the concertino sections and are well supported by the main ensemble They play Avison s music with crisp precision and lively bounce giving it an apposite stylishness Robert Hugill MusicWeb International ADD TO CART Added 10 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES Concerto No 1 in B flat I I I Andante Now playing Concerto No 1 in B flat I I I Andante Concerto No 3 in D major I Andante Now playing Concerto No 3 in D major I Andante Concerto No 3 in D major I V Andante affettuoso Now playing Concerto No 3 in D major I V Andante affettuoso Arcangelo Corelli Concerti Grossi Opus 6 The Avison Ensemble Pavlo Beznosiuk director violin Arcangelo Corelli Opus 6 Concerti Grossi is the third album in our critically acclaimed series of recordings with Linn and the first in our recording series of Corelli s complete works Released to mark the 300th anniversary of the death of the composer this greatly anticipated series will explore the six opera of the eminent Italian s chamber music the concerti grossi violin sonatas chamber sonatas and church sonatas In this first recording in the series of Coreli s complete works we explore his inspirational Concerti Grossi including a captivating interpretation of the much loved Christmas Concerto Although this is the best known all twelve concertos are highly refined and reflect Corelli s exceptional skill at composition Corelli s continual appeal is entirely due to the timeless nature of his works particularly this set of Concerti Grossi which have admirably withstood the ravages of time These Concerti Grossi inspired Handel to compose his own set entitled Grand Concertos and native British composers also produced a large number of such works the most prolific of whom was Charles Avison 2 CD set on Linn Records Classic FM Drive featured album 8th 12th October 2012 Nominated for MusicWeb International s Recordings of the Year 2012 these new performances are supple and elegant perfectly in harmony with the suave if at times austere character of the music and above all architecturally shaped with subtlety and finesse Improvised ornamentation has been added with discretion and care and the sense of ensemble is faultless and in the faster movements breathtakingly impressive Iain Fenlon Gramophone Magazine ADD TO CART Added 15 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES Concerto No 8 in G minor Christmas Concerto V Allegro Now playing Concerto No 8 in G minor Christmas Concerto V Allegro Concerto No 10 in C Major V Allegro Now playing Concerto No 10 in C Major V Allegro Concerto No 4 in D Major I I I Vivace Now playing Concerto No 4 in D Major I I I Vivace Antonio Vivaldi Concerti Opus 8 including The Four Seasons The Avison Ensemble Pavlo Beznosiuk director violin Vivaldi s most famous work Le Quattro Stagioni The Four Seasons contains some of the most instantly recognizable music ever composed and is today viewed as a pinnacle of musical art In their second release on Linn Records the Avison Ensemble explores the rich diversity and delights of all twelve concertos in Vivaldi s Opus 8 Pavlo Beznosiuk directing this refreshing performance states The Fours Seasons are well known well loved and great fun to play but let us not forget how richly characterful the other eight concerti are also Throughout the set Vivaldi s musical energy vibrates within us connecting us to him in an irresistible celebratory collection 2 CD set on Linn Records BBC Radio 3 CD Review Disc of the Week 19th November 2011 a recording of Vivaldi I ve really enjoyed H ere s a disc that presents those four famous concertos in context The seasons are fine but there are so many joys in the rest of the concertos Lovely warm colourful playing Andrew McGregor BBC Radio 3 CD Review ADD TO CART Added 12 00 plus 2 50 for postage and packaging LISTEN TO SAMPLES L Estate Summer Op 8 No 2 I I I Presto Now playing L Estate Summer Op 8 No 2 I I I Presto L Autunno Autumn Op 8 No 3 I I I Allegro Now playing L Autunno Autumn Op 8 No 3 I I I Allegro L Inverno Winter Op 8 No 4 I Allegro non molto Now playing L Inverno Winter Op 8 No 4 I Allegro non molto John Garth Six Cello Concertos The Avison Ensemble Richard Tunnicliffe cello Pavlo Beznosiuk director violin There are many fine compositions still lying undiscovered and until recently this was true of the six Cello Concertos by John Garth This native of Durham in Northern

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/listen-and-buy/default.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Donate | Avison Ensemble
    means that for every pound you give we get an extra 28 pence from the Inland Revenue helping your donation go further If you are a UK taxpayer and want to take advantage of Gift Aid please confirm the statement below by ticking the check box provided I want all donations I ve made to The Avison Ensemble in the past four years and all donations in future to be

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/donate.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Sign Up | Avison Ensemble
    information about future concerts and events new recordings and news By completing the form below you will be agreeing to be added to our mailing list Rest assured we ll only contact you with relevant news and we never make our list available to third parties Your details Firstname Lastname Email address Postcode The Avison Ensemble 3 Bentinck Place Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6XN Tel 44 0 191 226 0799

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/sign-up.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive



  •