archive-com.com » COM » A » AVISONENSEMBLE.COM

Total: 57

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Avison Ensemble
    make these FREE for participants and listeners The workshops have been supported by the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation I m bursting to sing and be in the front row of my life The possibilities are endless Here s just some of the feedback from players and listeners about the workshops Ben s positive approach to everything and his skill in improving even the most gifted musician was compelling His inclusion of everyone in the room musician or not made the sessions addictive Ben retains his extraordinary ability to tune into the players performance and transform it to the enlightened delight of his audience with guidance for life in good measure Ben you are an amazing facilitator you so walk your talk to experience that has been magical for me Watching the transformations was brilliant I learned so much about communication and leadership A life affirming experience Ben s inspirational work with young musicians Ben Zander s work with young people and youth orchestras is world renowned and he has just been awarded the Youth Orchestra of the Americas 10th anniversary award for his invaluable contribution to the youth symphony movement across the Americas He has recently formed the Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra to shape the musical leadership of tomorrow Even in far away Berlin the news that Ben Zander is founding a new youth orchestra is extremely important These fortunate young people will experience an intense musical and emotional engagement which will remain with them for a lifetime Sir Simon Rattle 2012 The creation of the Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra is wonderful news for young musicians and music lovers Through his vision passion and artistry Benjamin Zander will provide extraordinary leadership for this exciting new project Yo Yo Ma 2012 About Ben and music transformation Benjamin Zander is the acclaimed conductor

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/the-ensemble/zander.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Education and Outreach | Avison Ensemble
    Children all learnt the basic steps of the minuet with harpsichord accompaniment The workshops explored the nature of music performed in the Georgian and Victorian eras putting it into its social context with a final focus on the Tyneside music hall During the year 2013 we have presented 55 workshops in some 28 schools commonly giving two performances at each school and in total 3 735 children were engaged in these workshops Engaged children have been in Sunderland Gateshead Newcastle and North Tyneside and we have focused on either a Key Stage 1 infants programme or a more sophisticated Key Stage 2 junior programme Click here or on the image to find out more about our Wandering Minstrels project Our Wandering Minstrels project has been supported by the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation In Celebration concert 2014 16th March 2014 Our children s In Celebration concert was held in the presence of The Mayor of Gateshead Councillor Jack Graham at Newcastle University s King s Hall and it celebrated some of the best young musical talent in the North East Winners from this year s Avison Ensemble Young Musicians Awards performed and were joined by the Gateshead Schools Youth Orchestra conducted by John Treherne MBE and the Gateshead Schools Senior Wind Band Notability directed by David Milner The concert included the presentation of the 2014 Young Musicians Awards by The Mayor of Gateshead This year s Awards and Celebration Concert have been supported by the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation In Celebration concert 2013 17th March 2013 Our children s In Celebration concert was held in the presence of The Mayor of Gateshead Councillor Malcolm Brain at Newcastle University s King s Hall and it celebrated some of the best young musical talent in the North East Winners from this year s Avison Ensemble Young Musicians Awards were joined by the Gateshead Schools Youth Orchestra conducted by John Treherne MBE and the Gateshead Schools Senior Wind Band Notability directed by David Milner The concert included the presentation of the 2013 Young Musicians Awards by The Mayor of Gateshead This year s Awards and Celebration Concert have been supported by the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation Music Celebration Festival May to July 2012 Sponsored by the Avison Ensemble and presented by Gateshead Schools Music Service The Avison Ensemble is proud to have sponsored this year s Music Celebration Festival presented by Gateshead Schools Music Service The Festival brought together hundreds of children and a wide range of partners in a series of vibrant concerts showcasing the wealth of musical talent in the region Highlights included The Blaydon Bash concert celebrating the 150th anniversary of The Blaydon Races a Jubilee Concert featuring ensembles and choirs from the North East a Showcase Concert featuring a variety of bands string ensembles and the Gateshead Viol Consort a Wopping Big Barbeque with a massive ensemble in the outdoor area outside Gibside Chapel and a concert at Gibside Chapel with the Gateshead Youth Orchestra and Wind Band and Gateshead Viol Consort As

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/the-ensemble/education-and-outreach.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Wandering Minstrels Project | Avison Ensemble
    as a small monster clothes prop gunpowder and matches All good fun for both the performers and the children and for many children it was their first contact with professional musicians We believe it to have been a very positive and rewarding experience There is certainly a demand from all the schools to repeat the programme Music education in the North East a priority for the Avison Ensemble Due to the scarcity of money for music projects at this time we have earmarked all our available funds to underpin our vital work in schools in the region As one Head Teacher commented We really appreciated your visit and it is exactly the kind of experience I m able to offer less and less due to the budgetary pressures we are under During the year 2013 we have presented 55 workshops in some 28 schools commonly giving two performances at each school and in total 3 735 students were engaged in these workshops There were performances in three special schools in Gateshead including the Cedars Sports Academy Dryden School and Furrowfield School Feedback from schools and pupils has been 100 positive It was brilliant I thought it was all fun Here s just a few of the many comments from the children involved in our workshops I enjoyed the singing it was good to take part in the dancing I loved the cello playing it was brilliant I thought it was all fun Year Five Pupil Thank you for teaching me about Britain s historical music and dances I have learned so much from that assembly including the harpsichord that I have heard of but never seen the cello I have never seen and thought it would be so big and I have also learned some new songs and dances such

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/the-ensemble/minstrels.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Ensemble Newsletters | Avison Ensemble
    and find out about our future concerts and events You can be notified of the next issue of the Ensemble newsletter by signing up to our mailing list Latest Newsletter Summer 2012 Our latest Ensemble newsletter is now available to view here Read about our Autumn music interpretation workshops by Benjamin Zander our forthcoming Corelli CD release on Linn Records and our forthcoming concert at Lavenham You can also find out about this year s Young Musicians Awards and the Kids Concert There are also some fascinating new discoveries about Charles and Edward Avison Newsletter Spring 2011 Our Spring Ensemble newsletter can be viewed here Read about our recent Rebellion concert and filming project at Bamburgh Castle the 2011 Young Musicians Awards and our first children s concert You can also find out about the cello and piano recitals in May and our forthcoming Corelli concerts and recording project Newsletter Summer 2010 Our Summer Ensemble newsletter can be viewed here Read about our latest news and recent CDs of Handel s Concerti Grossi and Avison s Harpsichord Sonatas Find out about the forthcoming Bach solo cello recitals and our Rebellion concerts at Bamburgh Castle Read about the newly released Rebellion

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/the-ensemble/newsletter.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Sponsors | Avison Ensemble
    Charles Avison The Charles Avison Building Scores and editions Ben Zander workshops Young Musicians Awards Education and Outreach Wandering Minstrels Newsletters Sponsors Sponsors We would like to thank all those individuals and external organisations who fund or have funded us this invaluable support ensures we can continue to provide exceptional programmes of work The Avison Ensemble 3 Bentinck Place Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6XN Tel 44 0 191 226 0799

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/the-ensemble/sponsors.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Avison Photos

    (No additional info available in detailed archive for this subpage)
    Original URL path: /common/photos.aspx?id=23&type=product&index=1 (2016-02-10)


  • Garth Keyboard Sonatas reviews | Avison Ensemble
    By the time of Heseltine s successor Thomas Ebdon 1738 1811 it was gone altogether Garth also composed services for the cathedral for the remainder of his life The only interesting feature of his life is that Garth waited until 1794 to marry which is odd considering that he and his new wife had been an item for almost a decade and both were well to do Garth s music has been recorded before and by this same ensemble these are a set of six violoncello concertos Op 1 on the same label in 2008 Michael Carter noted in his review 32 6 that these represent transitional stages from the Baroque to the Classical periods with structural and harmonic features of both stylistic eras These two sets of sonatas published in 1768 and 1772 respectively are firmly planted into the Classical era indicating that the composer was well aware of the latest style trends and not content to follow any conservative patterns at all Both sets conform to a two movement structure following French fashion of the time generally a sonata form followed by some sort of rondo or dance These were well established in England through the efforts of J C Bach or Karl Friedrich Abel and even Avison s late works the booklet notes stretching things a bit to include others such as C P E Bach or Domenico Scarlatti into this mix of models What is most evident in the Op 2 sonatas is that the opening movements are almost all characterized by a driving ostinato rhythm that seems particularly Mannheimish The opening of the A major sonata Op 2 No 5 for instance has a well defined theme with a rushing accompaniment that devolves briefly into suspensions and some quite virtuoso playing for the keyboard What is striking is that the violins and keyboard even with a continuo cellist are all fairly evenly matched so that no one instrument predominates The C minor sonata Op 2 No 3 has a folk like main theme almost as if Garth were evoking a more bucolic spirit despite the minor key As for the second movements I was quite surprised to hear a foreshadowing of the French Revolutionary song Ça ira in the E major sonata Op 2 No 4 not to mention a rather nice Mannheim crescendo in the final Presto of the E major sonata Op 2 No 6 It is no wonder that this set was the 18th century equivalent of a bestseller As for the Op 4 Garth follows pretty much the same format pleasant tunes sequencing of thematic sections energetic bass line with active keyboard accompaniment and solid formal structures that evoke J C Bach The exceptions to this are the two minor key sonatas No 2 in E minor and No 6 in G minor The first movement of the former is filled with tension and a virtuoso keyboard part that seems to require both skill and emotional intensity to bring off This contrasts with the rather delicate and ghostly minuet that practically minces off the disc The latter is filled with a thicker texture which would not be out of place in some sort of orchestration the use of organ here enhances this textural feature Here too there is considerable emotional intensity which is diffused in the final section of the exposition with some superficial triplet figures as if to say that one ought not to take the power too seriously The final rondeau has a theme that seems almost a bit Chopinesque if that is Chopin had lived in the 18th century and again Garth diffuses this emotional melody with suspensions and a nicely soft coda But by the end the serious mood increases and when the final theme returns it sounds strangely melancholic The Avison Ensemble performs these two sonata sets with considerable attention to Garth s clear phrasing Their tempos are flexible enough to allow his tunes to stand out and they have an outstanding sense of ensemble The music itself ranges from the merely pleasant which is what such sets were meant to provide to both performers and audience to some quite gripping moments such as in the minor key sonatas of the Op 4 Since the keyboard parts often quite technically demanding even in the accompaniment patterns are generic the ensemble has chosen to perform the bulk on the harpsichord which was probably the main instrument of choice for the country at the time but in several cases most notably the texturally rich F major sonata Op 2 No 2 the aforementioned E major sonata No 6 of the same set and the E minor sonata Op 4 No 2 keyboardist Gary Cooper has chosen a fortepiano to exploit Garth s wider range of expression and dynamics and in the texturally rich work Op 2 No 4 and Op 4 No 6 the organ is used I find these choices to be entirely warranted by the music itself though of course the performance practice of the time would have allowed for any keyboard at hand In short this is fine music with an excellent performance and demonstrates that we may well be missing out on a wonderful facet of the music of this period from England outside of London if this is any example MusicWeb International There is never a dull moment here a highly entertaining set of discs Johan van Veen July 2014 The Avison Ensemble is a pioneer in the exploration of repertoire written in north east England the region around Newcastle upon Tyne where Charles Avison worked most of his life The largest part of his oeuvre has been recorded and with this disc of music by John Garth the ensemble turns its attention to a friend and probable pupil of Avison He was born in Durham and after finishing his musical education worked as organist at St Edmund s Church in Sedgefield He also became organist to the Bishop of Durham at his

    Original URL path: http://www.avisonensemble.com/the-ensemble/garthkeyboardsonatas.html (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Avison Photos

    (No additional info available in detailed archive for this subpage)
    Original URL path: /common/photos.aspx?id=24&type=product&index=1 (2016-02-10)




  •