archive-com.com » COM » C » CJWRITING.COM

Total: 502

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Reviews | Writing, life and other animals
    cheapest 20 month contract It s a sleek slim phone with a metal chassis that feels solid and business like in your hands It seems to do pretty much everything an N95 can do just without the huge memory soon remedied by slipping the MicroSD card from the dead HP iPaq into my new phone and the 5 Megapixal camera but hey I have a camera for taking photographs To date the phone has been superb performing everything I ve asked of it admirably For me the killer feature has to be the ability to take Skype calls over WiFi using Fring I use a SkypeIn number for business calls and can now pick them up even when I m not on my computer I also love the fact I can monitor and update my Twitter account from the phone either on the web or much more user friendly via an assortment of mobile apps my current favourite being Twibble All in all the E51 is a streamlined business phone that still offers plenty of bells and whistles in a really sleek and compact package Crucially it performs the fundamentals extremely well and the Symbian operating system seems a lot more stable than Windows Mobile 6 which was running on the HP iPaq Would I recommend this phone you bet I would Technorati Tags reviews Nokia E51 technology mobile phones Posted by Calvin at 14 16 Tagged with Gadgets mobile phones Reviews Technology New Irish gadget review site looking good Reviews Technology No Responses Nov 11 2008 GadgetRepublic com a new tech review site and sister site to the excellent technology news site SiliconRepublic com launched yesterday and I have to say that it looks very promising Gadget Republic is edited by award winning technology journalist Marie Boran of Siliconrepublic com so the standard of the reviews on the site as you would expect is very high They re well written insightful and hit that elusive balance between personal opinion and technical expertise perfectly This is a great resource for anyone looking to keep abreast of what s hot and what s not on the tech gadget front if you re anything like me you ll be adding Gadget Republic to your feed reader pronto Congratulations to Marie and the team at SiliconRepublic com on a job well done I look forward to reading many a great review on the site Technorati Tags technology gadgets reviews gadgetrepublic Posted by Calvin at 16 51 Tagged with Gadgets Ireland Reviews Technology websites Louder Voice Tuesday push 7 October 2008 Business Education Environment Internet Reviews social media Tuesday Push No Responses Oct 07 2008 Louder Voice knocks the socks off other peer review sites in terms of usability design and its community centric features Another example of an Irish tech company delivering a product service that s truly world class And the newly launched Louder Voice for Business offers similar reviews functionality for your business website which is excellent news for businesses who

    Original URL path: http://blog.cjwriting.com/tag/reviews/ (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Social Media | Writing, life and other animals
    convenient and entertaining snapshot of both candidates backgrounds Here s Obama s timeline Barack Obama s life path Support Obama Share this timeline And here s McCains John McCain s life path Support McCain Share this timeline This is the first time I ve encountered Kronomy and I have to say it s pretty cool and looks incredibly slick I haven t played around with setting up a timeline of my own yet if you have let me know what you think in the comments Posted by Calvin at 23 22 Tagged with election Kronomy McCain Obama Politics social media US Louder Voice Tuesday push 7 October 2008 Business Education Environment Internet Reviews social media Tuesday Push No Responses Oct 07 2008 Louder Voice knocks the socks off other peer review sites in terms of usability design and its community centric features Another example of an Irish tech company delivering a product service that s truly world class And the newly launched Louder Voice for Business offers similar reviews functionality for your business website which is excellent news for businesses who get the shift towards conversational marketing and online consumer engagement What is the Tuesday Push I figured it was finally time for me to engage with this Tuesday Push malarkey I know I know better late than never is probably going to be carved on my tombstone According to Damien Mulley orchestrator of the push T he Tuesday Push is a way for the small but growing tech community in Ireland to make some noise about ourselves by picking a good example of an Irish Tech Company and highlighting their product s every second Tuesday Louder Voice reviews the way they were meant to be The worthy recipient of this week s push is LouderVoice LV a great peer review site that makes reviewing products services and anything else you can think of intuitive easy and convenient You can post reviews via a variety of media directly on the LouderVoice website via SMS so you don t even need an internet connection delighted or otherwise with that restaurant Post a review while it s fresh in your mind through micro blogging services like Twitter you can even post reviews to your own blog and LV will pick them up from your RSS feed Cross posting of reviews can work the other way around too I think although I haven t done this yet you post to LV via the web SMS Twitter or wherever and LV will publish the review to your blog which is a great way to keep things fresh and varied One of the best things about LV is the vibrant community of reviewers who contribute which means that there s plenty of conversation on everything from the best value wine to the latest tech gadgets to the most popular TV show and everything in between It s a community that s growing all the time as word spreads and LV gains momentum and as a

    Original URL path: http://blog.cjwriting.com/tag/social-media/ (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Schoolchildren to get fiscal guidance | Writing, life and other animals
    is very welcome she said at the launch Students will be able to build on their knowledge from other financial areas of the curriculum such as mathematics and business studies she enthused Given the chronic state of underfunding in our schools both primary and secondary and an economy that s nose diving into the depths of recession I can t help but wonder if Ms Hanafin and her cabinet colleagues might benefit from a bit of fiscal training of their own Technorati Tags Education Irish politics Get Smart With Your Money Be Sociable Share Tweet Share this Click to share on Twitter Opens in new window Share on Facebook Opens in new window Click to share on Google Opens in new window Related Posted by Calvin at 23 18 Tagged with Children Education evening echo Politics School 4 Responses to Schoolchildren to get fiscal guidance Grace says 2 October 2008 at 12 24 Hello Cal you could nt be more right i like it keep up the good work Calvin says 2 October 2008 at 12 31 Thanks for the comment Grace and welcome to the blog Think the scheme is a good thing just not sure the government are the best people to be dishing out financial advice at the minute tina says 3 October 2008 at 11 33 Calvin very true the scheme is a great idea i m pleased to hear about it but the government definitely need some fiscal training of their own too Calvin says 3 October 2008 at 14 19 Hi Tina The last paragraph is a bit tongue in cheek I m all for the scheme personally but it did strike me as a tad ironic that the government are pushing this now while their handling of the economy is suffering under the

    Original URL path: http://blog.cjwriting.com/2008/10/01/schoolchildren-to-get-fiscal-guidance/ (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Save energy and save money this winter | Writing, life and other animals
    jacket and can t be knocked out of place Insulate behind radiators especially on external walls Use reflective foil to direct heat out into the room External wall insulation can often be improved the most popular options are insulated dry lining on interior walls blown mineral cellulose fibre or polystyrene beads into the wall cavity or rigid external insulation Light energy relief Lighting is one area where a small alteration in behaviour can have a big impact on energy consumption particularly if we look at the bigger picture across the country Think about it How many times have you popped out to the kitchen to make a cup of tea or coffee and returned to the living room leaving the light on behind you You re not alone A walk around the block on a dark autumn night soon reveals the extent of the problem How many of your neighbours leave lights burning in empty rooms around the house That s happening right across the country Turn off the lights when you re not using them Another way to improve the electricity consumption of our lights is to replace traditional incandescent bulbs with energy efficient CFL equivalents These are easier to get hold of than ever have come down in price significantly last much longer than normal bulbs and use a fraction of the energy Why would anybody not use them Heat only what you need to Let s start with one of the main energy hogs of the average Irish kitchen the electric kettle Heating water to boiling point takes a lot of energy and the Irish are very fond of their cuppa which makes the humble kettle a prime suspect in the race against energy waste I m not suggesting that you forgo your cup of Barry s but try to only boil as much water as you need Boiling a full kettle for one or two mugs of tea is literally throwing money and energy away Another way you can save if you have a wood burner or solid fuel stove is to use a stove top kettle on the hotplate to boil your water for free The rule of heating only what you need also applies to the living spaces in your home Only heat the rooms that you re using Use your zoned heating system if you have one There s no point heating the bedrooms when everybody is in the living room watching The X Factor Fit thermostatic valves to radiators and heat each room according to its usage remember that bedrooms don t need to be anywhere near as warm as the living areas of the house Turn the thermostat down a degree or two This usually won t affect your comfort level but it can have a big impact on your household energy consumption Those are just a few easy to implement tips you can use this winter to help you save energy at home You ll find more information on saving

    Original URL path: http://blog.cjwriting.com/2010/10/18/save-energy-save-money/ (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Emissions | Writing, life and other animals
    to 20 of your annual home heating costs according to the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland If your insulation is less than 200mm thick consider adding layers Fit a lagging jacket to your hot water cylinder if you don t have one it will keep your water hotter for longer and will typically pay for itself within 2 3 months Fit a factory insulated cylinder if you re replacing your existing one the insulation is more effective and durable than a lagging jacket and can t be knocked out of place Insulate behind radiators especially on external walls Use reflective foil to direct heat out into the room External wall insulation can often be improved the most popular options are insulated dry lining on interior walls blown mineral cellulose fibre or polystyrene beads into the wall cavity or rigid external insulation Continue reading Posted by Calvin at 13 09 Tagged with emissions Environment green energy CO2 is NOT a poison Children Climate Change Environment Evening Echo Column family Marketing Parenting Rant Video Writing No Responses Nov 10 2009 Image via Wikipedia Global warming or climate change as I prefer to call it given that there s been scant evidence of any actual warming going on in Ireland over the last few summers is a serious issue for sure But am I the only one worried by a recent spate of publicity that s painting carbon dioxide CO2 as a noxious chemical we need to eradicate One TV ad that targets children and parents is particularly disturbing not because it deals with the sobering subject of climate change but because it s built around misinformation and blatant scaremongering The ad I m talking about shows a father reading a bedtime story to a little girl a dreadful story about how the

    Original URL path: http://blog.cjwriting.com/tag/emissions/ (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Environment | Writing, life and other animals
    especially on external walls Use reflective foil to direct heat out into the room External wall insulation can often be improved the most popular options are insulated dry lining on interior walls blown mineral cellulose fibre or polystyrene beads into the wall cavity or rigid external insulation Continue reading Posted by Calvin at 13 09 Tagged with emissions Environment green energy Bats in the attic Evening Echo Column Wildlife 2 Responses Jul 09 2009 Image via Wikipedia I was sitting watching telly the other night when a movement outside the window caught my eye I took a closer look but couldn t see anything so turned my attention back to the television There it was again This time I looked for a bit longer and sure enough I saw a tiny creature emerge from the eaves of the house silhouetted briefly against the darkening sky The bats were back Irish bats hibernate through the winter and stir into life again the following spring In summer the expectant females set up maternity roosts in old buildings attic spaces under bridges and other suitable locations where they give birth to and rear their young Despite their small size the bats I was watching were adults leaving the roost to feed on nocturnal insects Continue reading Posted by Calvin at 14 44 Tagged with bats buildings conservation Environment Evening Echo Column Ireland myths Wildlife Solar power paint to generate green energy Climate Change Environment Technology No Responses Mar 10 2008 I was intrigued to read this week that UK scientists are developing a technique to coat the steel sheets used in fabrication of industrial buildings with a solar powered paint which could theoretically result in warehouses whose entire surface area could convert solar energy into electricity Steel sheets are painted rapidly in steel

    Original URL path: http://blog.cjwriting.com/tag/environment/ (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Green Energy | Writing, life and other animals
    worth revisiting as we enter the colder months Easy steps to improve home energy efficiency Insulate your home Insulating your home properly is perhaps the single most important step you can take to reduce your energy consumption this winter Insulating your attic effectively can save up to 20 of your annual home heating costs according to the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland If your insulation is less than 200mm thick consider adding layers Fit a lagging jacket to your hot water cylinder if you don t have one it will keep your water hotter for longer and will typically pay for itself within 2 3 months Fit a factory insulated cylinder if you re replacing your existing one the insulation is more effective and durable than a lagging jacket and can t be knocked out of place Insulate behind radiators especially on external walls Use reflective foil to direct heat out into the room External wall insulation can often be improved the most popular options are insulated dry lining on interior walls blown mineral cellulose fibre or polystyrene beads into the wall cavity or rigid external insulation Continue reading Posted by Calvin at 13 09 Tagged with emissions Environment green

    Original URL path: http://blog.cjwriting.com/tag/green-energy/ (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Cork Waste Management is Rubbish | Writing, life and other animals
    often crowds of people waiting to deposit their recycling Instead they ve decided the people of Skibbereen and the surrounding area can make do with a waste crushing compacting machine depositing their recyclable waste through a single relatively small grill If you ve used Skibbereen Recycling Centre at all you ll know that it can get very busy The old way provided fourteen different locations to get rid of your recycling seven bins a slot on each side The new and improved system with it s single point of entry was congested today with only four of us there Imagine what it will be like when twenty people turn up The new and improved recycling system in Skibbereen It s madness It also makes me wonder what exactly is happening to our recycling Plastic cardboard paper etc all gets bundled into the crusher together and is presumably compacted into a unified mass of different materials Is that really being un compacted sorted and recycled or is it going straight to landfill or into an incinerator somewhere There s no way to tell for sure but talk about fanning the flames of doubt My main concern here is that again this is making it less convenient for people to recycle their waste which means that people on the waste management margins the ones the County Council really should be encouraging to recycle more will be put off Illegal dumping and backyard burning are real problems and seem to be on the increase around rural Cork It s something Cork County Council should be addressing Stunts like this though that make recycling more difficult only add to the problem Unfortunately in the race against waste Cork seems to be heading in the wrong direction Be Sociable Share Tweet Share this Click to

    Original URL path: http://blog.cjwriting.com/2010/09/24/cork-waste-management-is-rubbish/ (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive



  •