archive-com.com » COM » C » CREATIVESOURCESREC.COM

Total: 913

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • reviews_cs050
    goryczy I kwasnosci sprawiajac ze pomimo uzycia dosc konwencjonalnego instrumentarium utwór smakuje inaczej niz bysmy sie mogli spodziewac Zreszta to nie koniec zaskoczen bo normalne glosy instrumentów sa normalnymi tylko w miare gdyz trabka bardziej przypomina tybetanski róg niz narzedzie pracy jazzmanów zas akordeon gra dronami które brzmia jakby wydobyte byly z fisharmonii Calosc jest nieco statyczna zmiany sa powolne i dotycza nie tyle samej melodii czy barw instrumentów co ich zestawien delikatnych przesuniec w fazie oraz regulowaniu poziomu glosnosci Sporo w tym nagraniu przerw wyciszen zawiazywania akcji od poczatku rozpoczynania opowiesci na nowo powtarzania tych samych watków ukazywanych kazdorazowo z nieco innej strony I choc muzycy ciagle sie dopelniaja wspólnie wiodac narracje to zaskakujaco duzo jest w tym utworze mijania sie instrumentów sluzacego nie tyle przejmowaniu wiodacej roli raz to przez akordeon to znów przez trabke lecz raczej zapelnieniu ciszy dzwiekiem Utwór drugi ici to zupelnie inna bajka Dzwieki juz prawie wcale nie kojarza sie z klasycznymi instrumentami to nagranie to raczej specyficzny field recording zapis wedrówki gabki i pumeksu przez rure wodociagowa dominuja swisty szumy warkoty stukoty odglosy pocierania I przedmuchiwania pojawiaja sie jakichs sprzezen i zaklócen Dopiero kiedy po jedenastu minutach przez chwile akordeon przemawia rozpoznawalnym glosem przypominamy sobie czym posluguja sie Barberán i Costa Monteiro Wejscia akordeonu nie maja powodowac kontrastu nie staja w opozycji do przedziwnej musique concrete lecz tylko poszerzaja palete brzmien która posluguja sie muzycy Brzmien zestawionych w tak przemyslny sposób ze nagranie zdaje sie byc byc moze nie w konwencjonalnym tego terminu znaczeniu ale zawsze melodyjne i jest dosc latwo przyswajalne Utwór ostatni trwajacy niespelna szesc minut to niejako synteza dwóch poprzednich Dzwieki w miare typowe trabka i zupelnie nietypowe akordeon a wlasciwie chyba jego powierzchnia mieszaja sie ze soba stapiaja i lacza brzmiac jak spiew skorodowanego metalu I takie wlasnie zakonczenie wydaje sie byc wlasciwym dla tej znakomitej plyty po która naprawde warto siegnac Tadeusz Kosiek Gaz Eta It s been a couple of years since the debut album Ura by palindromic minimalists I Treni Inerti since when trumpeter Matt Davis has moved away from I Treni s home base Barcelona leaving fellow trumpeter Ruth Barberán to go it alone with Alfredo Costa Monteiro s accordion Aérea was the name of the last track on Ura which some high IQ wag recently noted is unlike the other track titles not a palindrome and it s here elevated to album status as a three movement suite Without Davis to thicken the plot Barberán s sustained tones sound more exposed here and Costa Monteiro s wheezy squeeze box makes few concessions to good behaviour Draughty gritty major seventh and minor ninth drones abound if the music we rescored for flute and piano which every professional knows is a boring combination it might just pass as Feldman But not for long Definitely one of the more arid landscapes in the New European Improvisation slide show file alongside Franz Hautzinger s Dachte Musik but look carefully between the boulders and you ll find some exquisite

    Original URL path: http://www.creativesourcesrec.com/reviews/reviews_050.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive


  • reviews_cs051
    elegant way Another reason that makes Toulemonde and Palier an interesting duo Their improvisations play at at a highly abstract level But on the other hand their sound poetry stays on the floor its dramatic and dynamic and very human Their explorations evolve within a wide range of sounds and musical possibilities I never had a dull moment with this one Dolf Mulder Vital Un altro aspetto ancora diverso dall impiego insolito degli strumenti e dal recupero dell ambienazione è quello del fare musica utilizzando oggetti originariamente destinati a tutt altra bisogna e i fantomatici set elettroacustici sono normalmente un raccolta di stramberie alle quali viene rifatto il maquillage Superate le fasi della musica che si fa rumore stiamo ormai attraversando quella del rumore che si fa musica E nello spartiacque sembra stare il duo di Rocca nel quale si celebra l incontro fra le corde vocali bisbetiche di Agnès Palier e l oggettario di Olivier Toulemonde È il concetto di musica come gioco quello che emerge nitido da questi solchi e a pensarci bene in inglese il giocare ed il suonare non sono rappresentati forse dallo stesso vocabolo Ecco quindi altri due giovanissimi provenienti dalla zona di Lione e un altro ottimo disco da sottoporre alla vostra attenzione Fatene tesoro Resta infine da dire della Creative Sources marchio che è partito in sordina ed ha oggi conquistato un ruolo guida a livello internazionale per questo tipo di improvvisazioni dall impostazione prevalentemente elettro acustica x e g no Sands Zine Agnès Palier seems to find her sounds inside a small cave within herself enervated emissions of breath and tiny vibrations of vocal cords coalescing into a highly personal fairyland without the happy ending Although a singer coming from a classical jazz background she uses her tools with a sort of repressed anxiety that sets the overall tone of Rocca close to those transcendental absurd theatre pieces which have the audience either scratching their heads or wailing in approval Embryonic phonemes and timbral nuances coagulate according to their own strange morphology at times sounding like a cassette player left on a towel at the beach with the batteries running out and the tape melting Olivier Toulemonde s discreet amplified objects are the perfect complement to Palier s frail digressions microsonic crumbles and percussive clucks and snaps the deconstructed machinery of his caressing whispers underlines Palier s suffering postures like those muffled earthquake thump and drag sounds made by children at play in the apartment above you A valuable experience in uncomfortable pleasure and an inquisitive dismemberment of your listening attitudes Maximo Ricci Paris Transatlantic Le label du violoniste et compositeur portugais Ernesto Rodrigues propose l un des catalogues les plus riches de la scène des musiques créatives actuelles en Europe Le duo Agnès Palier Olivier Toulemonde en est l exemple parfait De la vocaliste on se remémore un album publié il y a quelques années en duo avec le saxophoniste Stéphane Rives Olivier Toulemonde a participé quant à lui il y

    Original URL path: http://www.creativesourcesrec.com/reviews/reviews_051.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • linernotes_cs052
    developed an individual language of sound beyond the traditional way of using the instruments by extended techniques preparations with clothes pins mutes and metal objects The open texture of music with lots of silence is created with splitted multiphonic and

    Original URL path: http://www.creativesourcesrec.com/catalog/liner_notes/linernotes_052.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • reviews_cs052
    052 she is part of the trio Nordzucker where she s joined by saxophonist Lars Scherzberg and cellist Michael Maierhof The paired horns explore alternating staccato blasts and laminal cool downs in ways similar to those generated by Ulher s work with Martin Küchen What I find interesting is the way they react over the course of these nine improvisations to Maierhof s radically unpredictable cello maneuvers At times he plays with the arco grace of Tristan Honsinger but elsewhere mangles the instrument making it submit like Fred Lonberg Holm Only on one track the plangent 50gr does the trio get sparse and meditative Certainly there are plenty of birds chirping moments but I prefer the organic industrialisms heard elsewhere A fine disc Jason Bivins One Final Note Third and last chapter for now of the Ulher saga on this website I could say this release joins perfectly some tension close to the work with Malozzi and Zerang but it also pays tribute to silence and breaks relaxing the possible listener The list of instruments trumpet saxophone and cello gives the idea this a chamber trio and I think we can also dare to define Nordzucker as the electro acoustic answer to chamber music Probably cause of the line up I ve caugh myself thinking some episodes were not that faraway from some old improvisations from that avant jazz scene which formed names like Tom Cora Fred Frith and Zorn a holy trinity This cd is free from any itch hurry up everything is kept tightly in control every sound is accurately dosed and it keeps kissing the surface from below without breaking the icepack Sometimes you ll probably guess if the parts they ve played have been written but honestly I think this music belongs to pure improvisation The last hint that gives a real post chamber music aftertaste has to do with the natural reverb of the studio where it all has been recorded this natural ambience is really classical or jazzy alike or al least in the same vein The closing piece is a sort of exhibit barely sketched you can t but love it If you re completely new to the music of Creative Sources this could be a soft way to lose you virginity Andrea Ferraris Chain DLK Vous prendrez bien 500 gr de Nordzucker un remarquable trio trompette sax alto violoncelle qui fait éclater la théorie du trio tout comme le fit Ernesto Rodrigues violoniste responsable de CS avec Manuel Mota et Gabriel Paiuk dans Dorsal Birgit Ulher a entrepris une démarche radicale sans idées toutes faites Sa musique en supposant que le contenu de ces trois disques intrigants soit enregistré et édité à son initiative semble suivre le cours dicté par son expérience pratique et son parcours très personnel plutôt que résulter de la conjonction d états d âme et de tendances affichées un peu partout En cela elle rejoint l état d esprit de son hôte Ernesto Rodrigues à qui nous devons

    Original URL path: http://www.creativesourcesrec.com/reviews/reviews_052.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • reviews_cs053
    this artist s engaging work Massimo Ricci Touching Extremes More musicality is experienced on the solo album by David Chiesa He started as an electric basssplayer in rock bands but changed to improvised music and the acoustic bass In a duel with silence quiet and loud parts succeed each other illustrating in the meantime the considerable technique of Chiesa Dolf Mulder Vital Phonèmes to pierwsza solowa plyta Davida Chiesa urodzonego w 1970 r francuskiego kontrabasisty i gitarzysty basowego który w 1997 roku nawrócil sie z rocka na muzyke improwizowana wspólpracujac odtad owocnie nie tylko z innymi muzykami ale i z tancerzami poetami wiersz jednego z nich Ly Thanh Tien zdobi ksiazeczke omawianej plyty i eksperymentalnymi filmowcami W kregu zainteresowan Chiesy znajduje sie tez wzajemna relacja pomiedzy materialem improwizowanym a nagrywanym intryguja go wszelkie interakcje zachodzace pomiedzy wykonaniem i jego sposobem zapisywania Jest wspólzalozycielem Le Clou stowarzyszenia popularyzujacego i promujacego muzyke improwizowana Phonèmes nagrana w studio MAD w Juillanguet w listopadzie 2005 r zawiera dwa utwory zarejestrowane i edytowane przez Laurenta Sassi jednego z czlonków kolektywu Ouie Dire z którym Chiesa regularnie wspólpracuje Przy nagrywaniu materialu asystowal Kent Carter znakomity acz chyba nieco niedoceniany kontrabasista najbardziej chyba kojarzony z formacjami kierowanymi przez Steve a Lacy Carle Bley i Johna Stevensa Nie dziwi wiec to ze uskrzydlony ich obecnoscia Chiesa nagral album znakomity byc moze zawierajacy muzyke nieco hermetyczna lecz wciaz przyswajalna Jej odbiór ulatwic powinien stan podwyzszonej uwagi towarzyszacy sluchaniu Plyta stanowi zapis podrózy przez kraine artykulacji Muzyk posluguje sie calym arsenalem sposobów wydobycia i ksztaltowania dzwieku czyzby to byly owe tytulowe fonemy jednak nie traktuje ich jako celu samego w sobie lecz jako srodek sluzacy tworzeniu utworów Obydwa nagrania skladaja sie z pojedynczych komórek obmywanych falami ciszy rozdzielajacej poszczególne epizody i przez to nie zachowuja tradycyjnie pojmowanej ciaglosci Scala je

    Original URL path: http://www.creativesourcesrec.com/reviews/reviews_053.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • reviews_cs054
    with which she pierces silence more than in any other previous recording I can imagine many listeners when giving a listen to Scatter could think of a joke or even worse that the recording indulges on a bunch of senseless exercises but wasn t that the opinion many had about the abstract expressionists works in New York Isn t contemporary art trapped in that no mans land that separates a serious piece from a joke Andrea Ferraris Chain DLK Scattered is an adjective that we commonly associate to leaves Indeed this concise essay for solo trumpet made me think about city streets after a heavy rain where not only leaves but also remnants of newspapers small bunches of additional rubbish and watered car oil create a patchy view of dejected reality Contrarily but not too much to her usual canon Ulher makes good use of long silences as a contrasting medium for her affirmations often utilizing a solid timbre which gets inevitably modified by the extended techniques she s commonly associated to Birgit s persistently non conventional melodic developments alternate with ill structured whispers and perennial leakages from an instrument that in her sapient hands becomes a machine emitting spurious signals of intelligent timbral dismemberment Maximo Ricci Touching Extremes This is territory that compatriot Axel Dörner has already explored solo trumpet playing so ruthlessly non idiomatic that it sounds like a different instrument entirely Ulher s spectrum of toneless breath noises soft valve pops and chuckling meta bop flurries calls for close and evenly suspended attention There is an evolving logic to these mostly short pieces Only the midpoint Possibilities seems slightly flabby and lacking the elemental directness of the other cuts Brian Morton The Wire In Den NurNichtNur Studios in Kleve entstanden ist Scatter cs 054 der erste auf Tonträger fixierte Alleingang von BIRGIT ULHER Die Dekonstruktion der Trompete ist inzwischen weit fortgeschritten wenn ich nur an Hautzinger Kelley Kerbaj Wooley denke Ulher macht den nächsten Schritt und bläst und fegt auch noch die zerraspelten Metallspäne vom Tisch Aluminium Scatter Copper Scatter Metall Scatter Von der Trompete bleibt nur ein Schatten eine negative Kontur als Spur ihrer einstigen Anwesenheit Negative Shape In ihre Moleküle zerlegt Elements kommt die Geschichte des Trompetenklangs an ihr Ende und von diesem Umkehrpunkt an ergeben sich wieder alle Möglichkeiten Possibilities Al Chemie trifft sich hier mit Genetik geleitet von der Frage ob auch alles ganz anders klingen könnte Other Sounds Ulhers Ab und Umbauprozesse klanglich beschreiben zu wollen geriete schnell in die Aporien der Onomatopöie und müsste sich lesen wie optophonetische Gedichte von Ball Schwitters oder Isou b f bw fms bwre fmsbewe beweretä fmsbewetä p beweretäzä fmsbewetäzä p beweretäzäu fmsbeweretäzäu pege fmsbewetäzäu pegiff Qui E nur mit ö statt e mehr pffft ngngngngnk frrrrund ötötötöt und trotzdem bliebe das weit entfernt von dem was die zerebralen Hörregister tatsächlich reizt Als derart holde Kunst angesiedelt zwischen höherem Blödsinn und kryptischem Feinsinn wenn nicht vice versa und wenn nicht im eigenen Selbstverständnis dann eben in

    Original URL path: http://www.creativesourcesrec.com/reviews/reviews_054.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • reviews_cs055
    ich iloscia to i tak uwazam ze Plakation jest plyta udana Tadeusz Kosiek Gaz Eta While the CD cover is adorned with intriguing drawings by the author halfway through hieroglyphical writing and complex mathematical formulas the musical matter of Plakation is a series of short improvised studies on the resonance of electric guitar which Demand plucks and strikes with hands or sticks to raise minuscule tempests of harmonics humming grumbles pretty elegant buzzes and distortions Each idea is tackled by repeating it two three times usually amidst a complete silence rarely enhanced by the cable and or pickup hiss This boney minimalism spans through many fields of similarity Oren Ambarchi Fred Frith Arek Gulbenkoglu are three names that came to my mind also Robert Hampson s ghost is evoked in the most spellbinding moments yet the electric ripples and volume swells generated by Sascha s instrument tell a few stories of solitary experimentation whose incubative intensity does not require shouting or making noise to be conveniently adapted to our rational needs Maximo Ricci Touching Extremes Guitarist Sascha Demand eschews the conventions of solo recording by working in extremely miniature forms on Plakation CS 055 Recorded at home in Hamburg Demand delivers 39 incisions in just under an hour I appreciate the focus and conciseness since rambling is the main deficiency of solo improv recordings On the other hand Demand s textural palette is a bit too limited for my taste These are almost like technical miniatures or distillations of some of the basic sonic components existing at the interface of guitar and significantly amplifier oscillations volume swells gentle knocks on the body below the bridge rubbings and so forth No notes that s fine No long excursions also fine But after the first dozen tracks or so it sounds a bit like treading water Jason Bivins Bagatellen Auf dem cd cover von Plakation der jüngsten produktion von sascha demand ist ein ausschnitt der partitur abgebildet Zu erkennen ist das aber erst bei längerem hinsehen Demand notiert seine handlungsanweisungen auf liniertem papier Bei flüchtigem hinsehen meint man hieroglyphen vor sich zu haben Das sagt viel über die art und weise wie demand mit der e gitarre umgeht nämlich so dass der sound eigentümlich fremdartig klingt Saiten und korpus des instruments werden mit den vielfältigsten klopf und reibetechniken bespielt Die immer nur wenige sekunden oder minuten dauernden stücke sind daher so etwas wie ein etüdenwerk für e gitarre insgesamt 39 an der zahl Nur selten werden diese rhythmus klangstudien in melodische qualitäten hineingetrieben Demand interessiert sich für die bearbeitung und veränderung eines einzigen tons durch unterschiedliche spieltechniken Die illusion eines one man orchesters gelingt ihm perfekt Er collagiert nicht einfach klangereignisse er findet und erfindet für sie komplizierte rhythmische muster in manchem vielleicht den mustern orientalischer teppiche vergleichbar die schon morton feldman zu seinen materialreduzierten werken inspirierten Annette Eckerle Neue Zeitschrift für Musik Der Gitarrist SASCHA DEMAND Jahrgang 1971 und vorwiegend in Ars Nova Zirkeln in Hamburg aktiv war schon mal BAeinschlägig

    Original URL path: http://www.creativesourcesrec.com/reviews/reviews_055.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • reviews_cs056
    mozna tutaj http www vorfeld org html docs instru html Claus van Bebber gra na gramofonie juz od 1977 roku Bliska jest mu wywodzaca sie z dadaizmu koncepcja wykorzystywania gotowych przedmiotów tzw found objects i ready mades zwykle uzywa kilku standardowych na ogól leciwych gramofonów i glosników oraz plyt z których zazwyczaj wybiera interesujace go fragmenty Posluguje sie tez paroma akcesoriami stosowanymi zwykle przez gitarzystów np wahwah Wykorzystywanie dluzszych stopniowo modyfikowanych fragmentów nagran zestawianych ze soba w róznych konfiguracjach w wyraznie zarysowane struktury oraz oszczedne dawkowanie pozamuzycznych srodków trzaski itp sprawiaja ze van Bebber tworzy melodyjne przyjazne uszom wstegi dzwieku powodujac ze improwizacja staje sie wrecz z braku lepszego terminu napisze easy listeningowa Nie oznacza to jednak ze utwory które znalazly sie na omawianej plycie maja postac zamknietej calosci o wyraznie zarysowanej formie gdyz van Bebber potrafi w obrebie jednego nagrania zestawic ze soba kilka mocno rózniacych sie elementów Jesli posluzyc sie terminologia plastyczna bedaca chyba na miejscu poniewaz zarówno Claus van Bebber jak i Michael Vorfeld przejawiaja aktywnosc i na tym polu to wydaje sie ze w muzyce bardziej interesuje go barwa niz kontur Sadze ze van Bebbera mozna zaliczyc do tej grupy turntablistów której najbardziej znanym przedstawicielem jest Philip Jeck muzyków tworzacych sonorystyczna odmiane ambientu o bardzo gestej wrecz namacalnej fakturze z której modeluja pozostajace w nieustannym zawieszeniu takim specyficznym nie dzianiu sie przez które rozumiem trwanie w oczekiwaniu na nienadchodzaca kulminacje utwory Drugi z twórców plyty Michael Vorfeld jest perkusista i konstruktorem instrumentów uprawiajacym sztuke swobodnej improwizacji od ponad dwudziestu lat Grajac posluguje sie na ogól zestawem konwencjonalnych instrumentów perkusyjnych i gotowymi obiektami oraz instrumentami wlasnego pomyslu co pozwala mu na tworzenie dosc szerokiego spektrum dzwiekowego w którym rytm jest tylko jednym z elementów I choc na Kreisel Vorfeld pokazal sie w kilku miejscach jako rasowy dostarczyciel Polirytmicznego groove to przede wszystkim wczul sie w role sonorysty nasaczajacego fakture szelestami szmerami trzaskami stukotami nieregularnym pulsem Moim zdaniem to wlasnie Vorfeld tchnal w te muzyke ducha sprawiajac swoja gra ze chwilami nazbyt poukladane struktury dzwieków z gramofonów zyskaly przeciwwage w nieco amorficznej przestrzeni brzmien perkusyjnych Oddajac sprawiedliwosc van Bebberowi sadzic jednak wypada ze swój sukces Kreisel zawdziecza obu muzykom a moje odczucia zwiazane sa z tym ze konsekwentnie choc nadmienic nalezy ze przydarzaly sie im wycieczki na teren partnera trzymali sie zalozonego wczesniej podzialu ról Tadeusz Kosiek Diapazon This cd was recorded in 2005 at the Nurnichtnur Studios at Kleve Germany by Nurnichtnur label owner Beserker Dieter Schlensog Together with van Bebber Vorfeld and a few others Schlensog was member of Heinrich Mucken an obscure group from the 80s Nowadays Vorfeld lives in Berlin working as a photographer percussionist and artist Van Bebber also found his way in the arts and as a musician he specialized himself in playing with turntables On Kreisel both gentlemen create with percussion stringed instruments and turntables some nice and intense moments A successful and well balanced collaboration I must say The sounds they draw from their instruments go very well together Van

    Original URL path: http://www.creativesourcesrec.com/reviews/reviews_056.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive



  •