archive-com.com » COM » D » DAVIDNUNEZ.COM

Total: 441

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Review: Robot & Frank - davidnunez
    the design of a robot companion to be a little more comforting like the Paro Therapeutic Robots used for Alzheimer s patients Question is this a matter of uncanny valley If the robot was any more realistic would it have been equally scary to Frank Should the robot have a face Honda Asimo In the movie Robot exhibited behaviors and actions that would be far beyond any realistic robot performance today It moved around too fast over a wide variety of terrain including an uneven forest floor could climb up buildings and stairs it was very light one character was able to lift it easily from a car trunk and its manual dexterity seemed exaggerated It only had a thumb and forefinger with flipper third through fifth fingers and yet it was able to accomplish a variety of specialized tasks like lock picking and making elaborate egg breakfasts It seemed able to adjust to new environments without any prior planning or knowledge for example it could find its way around Frank s kitchen when it first arrives at his home and was able to navigate its way through a chaotic cocktail party scene while finding Frank and responding to his commands from across the room This unrealistic portrayal of robot capabilities was necessary for the storytelling but it may also create unrealistic expectations of current robots for audiences Robot s voice was soothing reassuring but firm Its movement seemed deliberate and it used subtle non verbal cues like tilts of the head to indicate attention or upturned palms to emphasize points while talking I was amused by the moments when Robot looked off into space as it was calculating or thinking Frank s interaction with Robot Frank s physical interaction with the robot is limited He rarely touched the robot except for overt examples like arm wrestling or transferring bags of groceries The robot s walking pace matched Frank s when they were on sojourns together although in one scene when Frank was a little more excited he admonished Robot to keep up Matching pace and body language of a counterpart is a technique for developing rapport and trust Question what work has been done in robots building rapport through mimicry of human counterparts Robot s purpose was to provide both companionship and care to its patient and would alter its behavior to that end He routinely refused some of Frank s commands like serving breakfast cereal but was also willing to negotiate with Frank if it had a belief that it could ultimately improve Frank s health through a sequence of actions even if those actions were on their own of dubious merit It also seemed able to tell Frank knowingly incorrect information to induce guilty feelings from Frank This would indicate a very sophisticated model of other minds in Robot s AI it was able to reason about Frank s intentions and motivations Frank seemed to bond with his robot The entire metaphor of the movie Frank the

    Original URL path: http://www.davidnunez.com/2012/09/12/review-robot-frank/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Week Notes 1825 - First week at MIT - davidnunez
    years and the Media Lab classes are notoriously less about rigorous problem sets and lectures as they are about innovative projects and discussions Do the work actively engage with the material explore deeply think big and outside the box and you ll be fine Presumably I should be taking classes that vigorously enchant my brain vs classes that I have to take to fill requirements So for this semester I m taking my advisor s Human Robot Interaction class and have signed up for Hiroshi Ishii s Tangible Interfaces class I m auditing or listening in MIT speak to a class on Infant and Early Childhood cognition the aforementioned Origami algorithms class and hopefully a class on data based projects ex stats visualizations etc taught by a powerhouse of 4 professors at the Media Lab who specialize in big data analysis and storytelling I m also sitting in on a special class that promises to refresh some basic making skills ex electronics fabrication some stuff I ve touched before like arduinos and sensors and servos but a lot of topics will be brand new almost all of the fab stuff My motivation here is to get my hands dirty with physical projects in a structured environment among other learners mostly just to get those rusty gears turning So what I just described is a too heavy load actually The expectation is that I ll start dropping classes as the workload increases MIT has a liberal drop deadline which lets me get through most of a class before needing to drop it I feel rather fortunate actually that I m already trying to figure out ways to connect my robot group work with class work Helps to kill multiple birds w the same big stones The risk right now is to get too locked into a particular thread of work while missing the opportunity to broaden my perspective I ve been warned again and again by more senior students to make sure I m getting what I need out of this rather than just getting caught up in a torrent of work that may be pushing me in directions that don t lead where I want It s been fun reading some of the HRI papers I m realizing just how much fun this area will be for me and am excited by how I managed to stumble into an exciting field where I might actually stand a chance of helping make an impact Wondering What are the best tools for academic info workflow How are the requirements different from what I needed when I was working in industry What s going to be the best note taking digesting mode for me What are the open questions in social robotics What work has been done with multiple robots interacting with multiple humans in a learning environment Tinkering Attended a Machine Learning and Gesture recognition workshop this past saturday The toolkit is amazing Using just a few training examples the system can

    Original URL path: http://www.davidnunez.com/2012/09/09/week-notes-1825-first-week-at-mit/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • My Consulting Wisdom and Platitudes - davidnunez
    better than many smaller projects Project Management If you aren t good at project management everything else will constantly suck and project management is a full time job so either commit yourself only to that or hire somebody to help Be very strict w your clients when it comes to changes We were constantly being too flexible and it always backfires if there are new features they should be compensated If there are tweaks and changes that will cause you more work then you should have a limit on those so you can push back when those little tweaks eventually stack up I split up the projects into multiple milestones usually tied to deliverables do as many as make sense Understand that every deliverable playable has a large amount of overhead for the record weekly playables aren t feasible Legal Don t sign an NDA during the sales process or hopefully any time until you sign the work contract Have a lawyer review anything that makes you uncomfortable or that seems unusual Make sure the NDA is mutual or provide your own NDA for the client too Make sure any subsequent rights etc are clearly detailed about who owns what via Donturn suggested edit 2012 08 29 Hire a lawyer to help you draft a reusable contract Seriously Go get Nolo s software development legal guide and use the embedded contract as a starting point Talk to a lawyer to review and adjust based on things you care about You could even have them draft a few different options for different circumstance Get it done for under 1K Simple iOS dev contracts at least those where contracts will save you down the line i e those worth taking should start at 50K No brainer investment You ALWAYS provide the contract to the client Don t accept theirs this is easier with smaller clients who don t already have years of experience hiring contractors and a separate legal and A P department If the client and potential are big enough and they refuse your contract hire your lawyer to review theirs and compare to your own contract A contract is not the final say until it s signed It s ALL negotiable You are in the business of contracting to multiple parties and your contract is standard so that taking on any particular gig never precludes you from taking another in the future I ve had clients provide contracts with all sorts of creepy non competes and endless warranties IANAL again but unclear how much that kind of non compete clause is even enforceable I d rather not find out In reality you are always negotiating contracts and will adjust the final copy Consider adding low hanging fruit to your standard contract for things you don t care about losing in negotiating ex give a super short warranty period and offer to extend it during negotiating ALWAYS You own all of the IP until you receive the last penny owed you

    Original URL path: http://www.davidnunez.com/2012/08/28/my-consulting-wisdom-and-platitudes/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • David Nunez Reboot 2012 - davidnunez
    her and her Ph D student we hit it off and I have been working as a consultant with her group Personal Robots at the MIT Media Lab for about a year and half We re engaging in app robot and toy development to help in early literacy development among young people For example we worked with OLPC to send literacy apps to remote villages in Ethiopia Through all this I still kept working with my other clients and plodding along but I started getting hooked by the audacity of the work and the constant pushing of the envelope she and her students do every day It s MIT for crying out loud Midway through the project I had a long conversation with Cynthia about what it might mean for me to be a student in her group She let me in on just how big her vision is and I realized I d been thinking way too small At this point I wanted to go all in I wanted this to be what I worked on 24 7 very badly It s just too important and there s no way I could do it on my own So I tossed my application in last December and earlier this year I was humbled by my acceptance among some of the world s most talented thinkers and makers into the Media Lab as a Research Assistant i e graduate student and will be beginning my work there full time in the next week I have a lot more to say about this transition I m slightly older than the average student but I don t think the oldest I have a partner of almost 8 years who was impacted by this decision she thankfully has a wonderful job two T stops away from MIT and is rooting for me It took a lot of number crunching to build financial ROI justification all students have their tuition covered and get a small stipend but it s not pretty I ve decided it s easily one of the best investments I could make right now I m scared to death of the intellectual challenges ahead I hate the pace of academia I m not sure yet if this is actually a short term or long term play for me Fraud complex is going to be a constant demon in my life I ll talk more about those in later blog posts For right now though I m happy and excited Measuring Me This past summer I ve been practicing extensive quantified self experiments I ve been keeping minute by minute logs of how I m spending my time what I eat movies I watch etc I have a good sense of what s difficult to capture ex who is in my proximity right now and what s rote ex what time did I get up My computers take my photo and capture what s on my screen every few minutes or so I

    Original URL path: http://www.davidnunez.com/2012/08/23/david-nunez-reboot-2012/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Robot Wonders and Wanderings 2012-07-07 - davidnunez
    incorporating more English words into its speech There is an iOS app that listens to furby speak and then provides translations sample coverage cnet furby 2012 Engadget furby 2012 Giddyup Robot Doggies Autonomous Soldiers Square Off at Army Robotics Rodeo Danger Room Wired com For 10 sweltering days in mid June a small army of crawling rolling hopping and hovering robots invaded Ft Benning Georgia a sprawling training post near

    Original URL path: http://www.davidnunez.com/2012/07/07/robot-wonders-and-wanderings-2012-07-07/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Robot Movies! - davidnunez
    robot I need him What do you need him for He s my friend Also something in there re paper books and physical libraries vs ebooks internet So yeah right up my alley invade ALL OF THE humans YouTube Two delusional toy robots plot to dominate the world in this mini musical DRONE Teaser Trailer OFFICIAL YouTube A trailer for an upcoming web series about humanoid millitary robots AT T

    Original URL path: http://www.davidnunez.com/2012/06/29/robot-movies/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Misc. Links re: kids, design, apps, learning - davidnunez
    to describe software teaching systems 3 Ways To Design Toys That Boost Kids Creativity Co Design business innovation design Article by founder of launchpad toys Stanford pedigree company that built Toontastic a puppeteering storytelling app for iPad What s the Best Way to Encourage Kids MindShift some thoughts from Mindshift about motivation in learning infants need JUUUUST the right amount of complex stimuli to retain their attention not too little

    Original URL path: http://www.davidnunez.com/2012/05/25/misc-links-re-kids-design-apps-learning/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Quix - useful tweak for web workflow - davidnunez
    ll eventually get this into github or something Done David s quix txt I use Chrome as my primary browser Unlike safari it does not allow for keyboard shortcuts for bookmarks or bookmark ex if you press cmd 1 while in Safari the browser launches the first bookmark in the bookmark bar To hack this into Chrome without using one of the clunky extensions available for this purpose you use the Mac OS X System Preferences Keyboard Keyboard Shortcuts Instructions to set keyboard shortcut for bookmarks in Chrome 1 Go to System Preferences Keyboard Keyboard Shortcuts Select Application Shortcuts and click to add a new shortcut Pick Google Chrome exact name for the Quix bookmarklet 2 I choose ctrl 1 which works pretty well since I use the caps lock key as a second control modifier You should see the keyboard short right in Chrome s Bookmarks menu 3 Just ctrl 1 your way to productivity An added benefit over the extension route is that the shortcut works even if the omnibar has focus via Keyboard Shortcuts for Bookmarklet on Google Chrome 5typos net So the workflow becomes bang on ctrl 1 type mt bang on cmd c to copy

    Original URL path: http://www.davidnunez.com/2012/01/24/quix-useful-tweak-for-web-workflow/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •