archive-com.com » COM » E » EY.COM

Total: 2294

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • EY Global review 2015: Where will the 21st century Silk Road run? - EY - Global
    the Americas EMEIA and Asia Pacific EY teams worked with the vendor SBG and target Standard Bank Plc during the eight months prior to deal completion identifying the documentation and governance for the numerous inter company and intra group service level agreements required so that effective provision of services could continue post completion Japanese trading house ITOCHU Corporation and Thailand s Charoen Pokphand Group have announced a joint investment of US 10 4b in state controlled Citic Ltd China s largest conglomerate This is the largest ever foreign investment deal to date in a Chinese backed state firm The three parties have also entered into a strategic cooperation agreement to work together across sectors and countries bringing mutual opportunities for close collaboration to three of Asia s largest conglomerates Satoshi Sekine the Japan Private Equity leader who worked on the deal with ITOCHU said This alliance between three of Asia s biggest and most powerful conglomerates will provide a valuable opportunity to complement and expand their businesses in Asia and the rest of the world Asian countries have grown their share of global spending on R D from 33 to 40 in the past five years Southeast Asia has become the world s largest region for new research investments a trend expected to continue through the next decade Investing in research All roads lead out of China China is on the verge of becoming a net exporter of capital which will have an important and far reaching influence on the movement of global capital explains Loletta Chow EY Global Leader China Overseas Investment Network With the gradual maturing of China s outbound investment the focus has shifted from neighboring countries to further afield Today the footprint of Chinese investors covers 184 countries and regions including resource rich developing countries such as Brazil and South Africa and developed countries such as the United States and the UK In recent years developed countries have had lower asset prices due to the European debt crisis while Chinese enterprises investments have shifted to brand technology and other high end areas making Europe and the US attractive destinations for Chinese investors looking for mergers and acquisitions In the first half of 2015 China s outward foreign direct investment totalled US 56b a year on year increase of 29 2 During these six months the roll out of the Chinese government s One Belt One Road initiative and the implementation of a series of reform measures have encouraged more Chinese enterprises to go out into the global market At EY our China Overseas Investment Network comprising multilingual professionals in member firms in 65 countries is providing consistent and coordinated services to such enterprises as well as businesses looking to invest in China China has overtaken the US in the number of doctorates awarded in science and engineering it also has around 1 6 million researchers and academics and more than 30 million students enrolled in higher education One of the outcomes of this knowledge shift will

    Original URL path: http://www.ey.com/GL/en/About-us/Our-global-approach/Global-review/global-review-2015-globalization (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive


  • EY Global review 2015: Can bigger cities be better cities? - EY - Global
    in the world in terms of constant prices GDP will be in China City slickers Local and national governments along with businesses city planners environmentalists and citizens need to work closely together to plan and manage urbanization effectively Policies must incorporate job creation and investment innovation and technology security and governance in order to deliver the cities of the future Bill Banks EY Global Infrastructure Leader The work that we do around the challenges and opportunities of urbanization directly supports our purpose of building a better working world says Bill Banks EY Global Infrastructure Leader We support infrastructure programs from end to end We help clients develop the right strategic approach raise capital improve efficiency manage risk build stronger relationships enhance accountability and improve stakeholder confidence so that they in turn can deliver benefits to their clients and citizens Urbanization is driving sector shifts and changing employment patterns Lagos Beijing and Mumbai are all expected to create more financial service sector jobs than London from 2013 to 2030 these financial and business service jobs in turn will drive the real estate office sector Adding jobs Whether advising on job creation or supporting city planners with smart metering we re helping to improve living standards through healthier better connected and more competitive cities for billions of people For more information visit ey com infrastructure The model railway of the future How do you maintain 20 000 miles of railway track and keep 7 000 maintenance engineers connected With an app My Work developed by EY My Work is just one of Network Rail s many successes under its ORBIS Offering Rail Better Information Services digitization program The aim of ORBIS is to enable the UK s Victorian era railway infrastructure to support the estimated 400 million extra passenger journeys expected between

    Original URL path: http://www.ey.com/GL/en/About-us/Our-global-approach/Global-review/global-review-2015-urbanization (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EY Global review 2015: Can growth be green? - EY - Global
    assurances that companies are meeting short term performance targets against a long term backdrop of scarce resources new regulations and a different set of stakeholders who are demanding a more sustainable approach across the whole supply chain Find out more ey com ccass fiaformulae com Managing all of this requires a fundamental re think of strategy and operations of what constitutes value beyond a financial balance sheet and how other types of value such as environmental impact are reported And rather than thinking of sustainability in terms of a cost outlay to ensure compliance or appease stakeholders far sighted businesses are using sustainability as an opportunity to innovate not just to see new ways to save money but new ways to view a changing world design new products and services and expand market share says Juan By 2035 there is expected to be a 33 increase in global energy demands the majority of this demand will come from China India and the Middle East Thirsty Juan leads a global network of more than 800 Climate Change and Sustainability Services practitioners subject matter specialists including former geologists and engineers government officials and accounting law and tax professionals to provide a range of services These include non financial sustainability reporting and advisory sustainability strategy human rights advisory sustainable supply chain and waste and cost reduction Meeting the challenge of climate change Urbanization and globalization are helping to create economic growth and improve the lives of millions of people around the world The number of ultra deepwater drilling rigs has increased 22 since 2012 With these advances global energy production has begun to shift away from traditional suppliers in Eurasia and the Middle East to suppliers in North America Australia Brazil and Africa with the potential to change trade patterns and the geopolitical

    Original URL path: http://www.ey.com/GL/en/About-us/Our-global-approach/Global-review/global-review-2015-natural-resources (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EY Global review 2015: What will it take to succeed in Health 2.0? - EY - Global
    the foundation for ongoing engagement with customers Companies from new sectors are entering the healthcare business Technology companies are tackling the challenge of data analytics and telecom firms are empowering patients in managing their health Branching out The model is powered by mobile health m health technologies which help influence customer behavior and also generate valuable data It is delivered by a consortium of health care related entities including providers patient groups m health companies and retailers that collaborate to improve outcomes and share success This model allows the insurer and its partners to create best in class health data an extremely valuable asset in increasingly outcomes focused health care systems Most importantly the model recognizes that the health insurer of the future will need to be in a very different core business So far insurers have been in the business of pricing and underwriting risk risk that has been static and unfortunately quantified using relatively little information With this new approach the insurer would leapfrog the competition and enter a very different business not just pricing and underwriting risk but influencing and reducing risk as well and doing so with a much better understanding of customers behaviors and risk factors The global mobile health and fitness sensor market will grow at 40 CAGR between 2013 and 2018 Increased pulse The algorithm will see you now A number of years ago I started seeing a lot of interest in health care from large telecom companies in markets such as India China and Japan says Jacques Mulder EY Global Health Leader These firms were expecting a significant portion of their future growth and revenue to come from health and wellness For example SoftBank the Japanese telecom giant and Fitbit worked together to bring a subscription based activity tracker service to Japanese customers Today we re seeing similar interest from technology companies Their strengths advanced analytics reporting cloud and web enabled capabilities will become increasingly critical in the provision of health care That s because we re moving to a world where diagnosis decision and prescription can all be done by an algorithm on a chip For example a physician treating a cancer patient needs to make several decisions for which he or she has limited information Decisions such as What tests do I need to determine the optimal drug cocktail and what is the upfront cost of these tests How can I use those results to pick a course of treatment and how do I understand the economics of that decision This is far too complicated for an individual physician to figure out What s needed is for someone to do the calculations and guide the doctor to the best prescription based on the patient s genotype phenotype and other variables That s where health care is headed thanks in part to major advances in testing capabilities and analytics Of course these exciting developments in health care raise crucially important issues around patient privacy data ownership risks and accountability not to

    Original URL path: http://www.ey.com/GL/en/About-us/Our-global-approach/Global-review/global-review-2015-health (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EY Global review 2015: Is your business strategy fit for a digital world? - EY - Global
    3D printing unleash your supply chain Because 3D printing is in a classic technology industry gap everyone is excited about its possibilities but the infrastructure for it to become mainstream is still being built too many executives believe they have plenty of time before 3D printing has an impact on their organizations But while printed human hearts may still be some time in the future 3D printed heart valves and blood vessels are available now In other industries 3D printing is even more established mining companies on remote excavation sites for example already use it to print out spare parts The benefits of 3D printing include cost savings on inventory factories and shipping as well as speed to market and customization However widespread adoption of this technology also means disruption on a massive scale Manufacturing could come closer to the end user flattening supply chains Prototyping production warehousing and delivery could all be redefined Logistics could be more about sending digital designs to a system of networked printers than about moving container ships and cargo planes from one part of the world to another The most immediate disruption likely is the way 3D printing will force changes in tax rules It s too early to answer the countless questions 3D printing will raise But it is certainly not too early to start defining these questions and influencing the policy surrounding their answers notes Channing Flynn EY Global Technology Industry Leader Tax Services 3D printing has the potential to transform every aspect of manufacturing and distribution from how goods are sold to where companies base their operations But analyzing the 3D business opportunity without understanding its tax implications could severely undermine the anticipated benefits Today s smartphone has more computing power than NASA used to send three men to the moon and back less than 50 years ago The speed of technological change is just one of the challenges that businesses must face today All systems go We help businesses start planning now for 3D printing in order to seize the opportunities and mitigate the risks With 3D printing it s important for organizations to keep their tax teams closely involved with strategic development to ensure that their choices aren t undermined by tax surprises concludes Flynn Find out more 3D printing taxation issues and insights EY Technology Industry services It s in the nature of technology to push into new frontiers Technology companies are constantly faced with addressing business questions that have never been asked before much less answered 40 zettabytes 40 trillion gigabytes of data will be created by 2020 Find out how to make the most of this data Zettabytes That s where EY Technology Industry services come in Since the first technology companies emerged from Silicon Valley we ve been helping them answer these questions Our tech clients are always extending their passion for advancing technology into new frontiers of exploration And we re right there with them helping them explore the business ramifications of their uncharted

    Original URL path: http://www.ey.com/GL/en/About-us/Our-global-approach/Global-review/global-review-2015-digital-technology (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EY Global review 2015: A job? Or a lifetime experience? - EY - Global
    to the EY family through our global alumni program For every one of our people this is how we sum it up Whenever you join however long you stay the exceptional EY experience lasts a lifetime Leadership at EY Our definition of team business client and personal leadership at EY Nancy Altobello EY Global Vice Chair Talent Investment 8 2 million In 2015 we invested more than US 500 million on training and delivered 8 2 million hours of formal learning through our career development framework EYU EY and you EY has a strong legacy of high quality learning and 2015 was our biggest year ever in terms of industry recognition for our learning programs Mobility 88 countries This year 2 600 EY people at member firms in 88 countries went on an international assignment Mobility is important to both accelerate our peoples career development and to meet our clients increasingly cross border demands EY alumni 800 000 We are proud of the more than 800 000 EY alumni who today are excelling in business government and academia and remain connected to the EY family through our global alumni program Meet some of our EY alumni Celebrating OUTstanding future leaders Rath Wang a Tax Senior in EY Japan was recently ranked fourth in OUTstanding s global Top 30 LGBT Future Leaders Rath leads the EY Unity network for LGBT employees and allies in Japan co founded a non profit organization promoting LGBT equality in the workplace and has contributed to campaigns to prevent suicide among young LGBT people Diversity and inclusiveness D I is a strategic imperative for the global economy and for EY as a global organization Our clients work across borders and so do we Our clients represent diverse backgrounds capabilities and points of view and so do the people on our teams Diversity is about differences We believe that all differences matter Inclusiveness is about creating an environment in which people feel and are valued and where we can leverage those differences to deliver better business results Every day we connect with all sorts of people and teams around the globe both inside and outside of EY By maximizing the power of different perspectives and experiences we are able to build the highest performing teams We are able to ask better questions and offer better approaches which help our clients achieve their goals The end result We make a tremendous impact on the working world Women Fast forward According to the World Economic Forum Global Gender Parity Report 2014 it will take until 2133 to achieve global gender parity in the workplace We think 118 years is too long to wait We are taking the lead in accelerating the rate of change toward gender parity with Women Fast forward our unifying platform around women s initiatives that brings together the collective knowledge of our people and our clients in order to accelerate women s progress in the workplace For more information visit ey com womenfastforward Better begins

    Original URL path: http://www.ey.com/GL/en/About-us/Our-global-approach/Global-review/global-review-2015-developing-talent (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EY Global review 2015: How can we lead with purpose? - EY - Global
    looking for work than projected jobs No longer are good grades and college acceptance the only keys to success To be competitive in today s economy young people need a certain outlook and way of approaching their lives They need to have an entrepreneurial mindset be able to demonstrate comfort with risk problem solving ability interpersonal skills and confidence The Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship s NFTE mission is to provide programs that inspire young people from low income communities to stay in school to recognize business opportunities and to plan for successful futures It is trying to unlock the potential of young people by teaching them how to think entrepreneurially to recognize opportunity take initiative and to be innovative in the face of challenges EY is supporting NFTE in creating launching and institutionalizing the Entrepreneurial Mindset Index EMI a definitive system of assessment tools to measure entrepreneurial mindset in young people The EMI will collate the essential attitudes skills and behaviors of entrepreneurs and certify or badge young people as having learned and demonstrated this mindset For more information nfte com Nicky Major EY Global Corporate Responsibility Leader says EY is working with NFTE to identify the unique qualities of successful entrepreneurs and to look at which of these qualities are malleable and can be taught what entrepreneurial literacy is and how can we measure it and how entrepreneurial qualities vary across cultures and nationalities What are your memories of your first job Were you full of excitement and optimism and keen to learn and grow Today many of the world s young people long to create these kinds of memories But the odds are stacked against them Safa Razeghi Manager Advisory Young people account for roughly 40 of the world s unemployed and are up to three times more likely to be unemployed than their older peers With a record number of young people on the planet combatting the persistent youth employment crisis is the focus of the World Bank s Solutions for Youth Employment S4YE project It involves designing and setting up the S4YE coalition aimed at increasing employment opportunities for 150 million young people in developing countries by 2030 Established in late 2014 the coalition will seek to accelerate the employment of young people between the ages of 15 24 years old through transformative and scalable solutions linking them to governments civil society and business Safa Razeghi in Advisory in collaboration with the World Bank Group account and the financial services team in McLean Virginia helped the World Bank to lay the financial foundations on which the initiative could build She helped to develop the S4YE Five Year Sustainability Strategy outlining how the coalition can obtain the necessary funding required to implement its mission through 2020 She also conducted a detailed research analysis on the state of the youth employment investment portfolio across the World Bank and associated external organizations Portions of her analysis were used in S4YE s Towards Solutions for Youth Employment inaugural flagship report

    Original URL path: http://www.ey.com/GL/en/About-us/Our-global-approach/Global-review/global-review-2015-corporate-social-responsibility (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EY Global review 2015: Assurance - EY - Global
    to share relevant insights and knowledge with clients more quickly and an audit approach tailored especially to the needs of our private middle market clients In addition to innovating specific tools in FY15 we looked at what we need to do to reinforce our quality driven culture in EY To that end we launched our global Sustainable Audit Quality SAQ strategic initiative This initiative highlights auditor integrity ethics and professional skepticism and covers tone at the top people issues such as recruitment resourcing and reward simplification and standardization of the audit process transformation through the use of modern technology increased quality support to teams and greater accountability We also established coordinated networks of Quality Control Committees and Quality Implementation Leaders in all of our geographies These groups are charged with implementing all of our quality initiatives in a globally consistent manner and providing on the ground guidance to engagement teams Alongside our commitment to delivering the highest quality audits is our commitment to creating the highest performing teams This year we expanded our award winning Audit Academy our portal which combines interactive classroom based simulations with on demand learning modules Sector specific training and providing our people with mobility opportunities

    Original URL path: http://www.ey.com/GL/en/About-us/Our-global-approach/Global-review/global-review-2015-assurance (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive



  •