archive-com.com » COM » G » GAMESPY.COM

Total: 893

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • GameSpy: So You Want to Review Games for a Living? Part I - Page 1
    your relationship with editors and the rest of the games industry Making Contact To answer the initial questions posed above no one really cares if you went to Harvard or if you have a degree in journalism Prior publication however can be extremely valuable in separating yourself from the herd If at all possible get involved in a fan site and get some writing experience Don t think writing for a fan site makes a difference Then consider the fact that GameSpy s very own Warrior got his professional start in games journalism writing Total Annihilation level reviews for me at PC Gamer I read some of his reviews on a TA related site liked his writing and hired him And Warrior isn t the only one to go that route Star Trek Armada 73 What you need to prove to an editor is that you know games like the back of your hand that you can convey that knowledge in a clear and concise manner and that you can meet deadlines A lot of would be freelancers think gaming knowledge is enough it isn t You have to be able to write If you turn in a shoddy piece of editorial to a paying market the editor will have to edit it or worse rewrite it which automatically puts you on their shit list When first making contact with an editor send a short note introducing yourself while mentioning any relevant information prior writing experience your knowledge of games and the industry etc and ask for permission to send writing samples That s it The whole letter should only be a handful of sentences and should be professional in both tone and use of grammar After sending the letter expect a long wait Finding new freelancers is not at

    Original URL path: http://www.gamespy.com/articles/491/491648p1.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GameSpy: Cheap Tricks, or WHY THE $%)@ DID THEY DO THAT?? - Page 1
    not plausible who ever heard of a prisoner without a weapon or two But I digress Maybe it s just me but if I were the commanding officer and I was sending one special operative in to save the world you can be that that soldier would be packing everything he or she for you NOLF fans could carry None of this Oh hey What a cool weapon that my own army produces Sure could have used this 32 missions ago Play balancing through limiting weapon availability is a developer trick that is a lazy shortcut Instead why not make the weapons available but then limit what I can do with them Click to download our exclusive NOLF desktop In an FPS for instance let s just say using DOOM weapons as examples here that I start off with everything The developer doesn t want me using the larger weapons just yet However I d love to cut loose with my trusty BFG or Rocket Launcher in Mission 1 and I will unless I ve got a reason not to let er rip How does the developer fix this Simple make it so that using anything loud or powerful will alert all the soldiers in a nearby barracks and nothing I have can take down all of them So I ll have to use something less noisy like my fists Limiting ammo also works and gives you something else to search for in the levels See how that works Same result but it just feels better than starting me off with just my fists for no reason Then we come to Undying Clive Barker s cool supernatural thriller Why on earth would our hero claim to be any sort of ghostbuster with only that rock and a pistol on him

    Original URL path: http://www.gamespy.com/articles/491/491691p1.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GameSpy: Confessions of an Ex-Gaming Print Journalist -- Part I - Page 1
    am here to rip away the veil of secrecy and bring to blessed light their forbidden knowledge I pray to Daikatana that my efforts are not in vain Of Secret Handshakes and Decoder Rings Given the keys to the gilded doors once entered the soul is swiftly muffled and the pretensions of the once down trodden ego are given full reign Whispered Here be the secrets and tools to invoke the demons of merciless critical analysis Here be the sudden gifts of righteous pronouncement Here be the imprimatur to sack and pillage without conscience They carry Letters of Marque from the Grand General Editor Asmodeus who would intone For the edification of the mewling masses And they gleefully cut a swath of biting metaphors sweeping generalizations cryptic asides acerbic comparisons intellectual banter historical banalities and if all else fails the catch all shorthand for all things foul It sucks And because it is all written down upon the processed flesh of trees wrapped in non biodegradable plastic and displayed prominently on your neighborhood supermarket magazine rack next to Time and Sports Illustrated it had the aura of respectability Of truth Oh what a malleable thing this truth Dispense it in driblets cover it in bright colors twist it to conform to lowered expectations hide it behind secret handshakes and pass it along in engraved code We had the answers We were the experts Believe us Trust us The Secrets of Reviewing I must confess that I had the time of my life Carnivores 2 Games poured into our coffers like mana from heaven each praying for mercy before the smirking Star Chamber Gaming PR reps mostly treated with feigned interest but considered lower than a toothpick sucking polyester suit wearing salesman at Billy Bob s Used Cars inundated us with

    Original URL path: http://www.gamespy.com/articles/491/491724p1.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GameSpy: Confessions of an Ex-Gaming Print Journalist -- Part II - Page 1
    mind you of the glories they were not yet fully entitled to receive Brother Tennyson would hang over the wall and call out over outstretched hands Just got an advanced copy of Empire Earth You want You want GeForce3 card Look how it shines in the sun You in the XL game t shirt which was just about everyone You like Want it Tickets to E 3 We re going to E 3 We re going to E 3 Who wants tickets to E 3 The Sound of One Hand Raised in Confusion Outside at the E3 2000 Expo As Literary Inquisitor it was my job to separate the wheat from the chaff Standing among them dressed in the requisite black jeans black t shirt Ray Ban Wayfarers and wearing last year s E 3 press pass I would have the remaining supplicants lined up before the gate Tall short thin fat obese old middle aged young male female and androgynous they trembled they stood taller and their eyes were glued to my imperious Jedi like presence Stopping dead center of the line arms folded head tilted slightly eyes impenetrable behind dark reflections I would begin I am Brother Polidori I am your Inquisitor If you only remember one thing remember this Only though my benevolence shall you attain the blessed goal of writing for a PC gaming magazine Without my approval you may as well go back to serving fries with chicken nuggets or debugging servers for some failing dot com or writing the crap that passes for reviews on some half assed juvenile Website I would let that hang in silence for a few heartbeats I would then give them a practiced smile one that would slowly turn grim This is the Big Leagues The Show Our standards

    Original URL path: http://www.gamespy.com/articles/491/491713p1.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GameSpy: Please? Maybe a Thank You? - Page 1
    who or what gets in their way the need to get that certain rare drop item before anyone else no matter who or what stands in their way the need to kill those rare spawns as soon as they feel the need to no matter who or what stands in their way I m just going to touch on a few points which I feel strongly about Kill Stealing To start with Kill Stealing aka KS ing in game has been around since Day One of EverQuest In fact the 1 rule in the official EverQuest Play Nice Policies specifically targets kill stealing and Verant s strong stance against it If you re the victim of such an act it can very quickly become a frustrating experience particularly when the same person or group of people constantly take kills which are rightfully yours The thing is there s not much you can do about it as a person except to talk about it or as an extreme measure call in a GM to resolve the situation You can t directly cause damage to another player but even if you could most respectful people wouldn t anyway as that would be stooping to the level of the KS ers anyway For those not familiar with Kill Stealing or EverQuest for that matter when an enemy spawn s the first person or group to either hit or cast on that enemy causing damage gets that spawn as when it is killed that person or group will gain any experience which comes out of that enemy s death Kill Stealing comes in one of two flavors A After an NPC has been attacked another person or group steps in and takes the enemy from you kills it and gains the experience from that

    Original URL path: http://www.gamespy.com/articles/491/491748p1.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GameSpy: Telling Stories Without Telling Them - Page 1
    their techniques from film and books and have tried to apply those formats literally to games These techniques might advance a plot but instead of drawing you into a world they more often draw you out of it by forcing you to experience it passively Take today s computer role playing games as an example The pen and paper role playing games that serve as their inspiration grant you an almost magical ability to enter another world imaginatively and interact with its fantastic people and places You can communicate and act freely only limited and guided by the game rules Massively multiplayer online role playing games have managed to capture a good deal of this freedom The same isn t yet true of many traditional computer role playing games that try to tell relatively linear stories Take games like Baldur s Gate and Baldur s Gate II superb works that have largely set the standard for computer RPGs In these games visuals usually take center stage and this is no surprise since it s natural to want to see the fantastic realms and creatures of these games The way these games use visuals though hurts their ability both to tell stories and make you feel like an active part of them Because of the third person isometric perspective and the small scale of the figures on screen playing feels more like watching an animated film than being in the world yourself Unlike true animated films or live action movies you don t have the benefit of close ups that let you directly see the characters as they speak You miss the unique facial expressions and body language that say so much Similarly you never really get a close look at the fantastic places people and creatures that are hinted at

    Original URL path: http://www.gamespy.com/articles/491/491778p1.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GameSpy: Designing A Good Interface - Page 1
    sound and performance put a huge demand on the hardware so it s well known that a gaming machine is likely to be the most cutting edge of consumer computers Anyone willing to plunk down the money for a high end computer in order to pursue their hobby is obviously going to demand the best from a game s designer stunning graphics engaging sounds and tight and compelling gameplay And what is gameplay but the manner in which the player interacts with the game In short when it comes to computer games Interface Fun A game with a well constructed interface will be easy to learn fun to play and stand up well to experimentation and increasing expertise A poorly designed interface will be an exercise in frustration that will likely put off gamers from playing a game and may well discourage them from purchasing other products by the same developer And yet how often are computer games released and fade into obscurity because they have difficult to use interfaces Clearly the principles of Human Computer Interaction should be applied most of all to games which demand the highest level of performance in every aspect of production Civilization A good interface There are many genres of computer games but for the purposes of this report I will concentrate on the largest sub division the strategy game Strategy games come in two flavors turn based and real time which emphasize greatly different things both in their gameplay and in their interfaces The turn based strategy game TBS often requires a depth of data analysis easily accessed and digested data and multiple big picture views in order to assess the situation and make astute strategic moves It doesn t emphasize speed of play but rather stresses making the right move Real time

    Original URL path: http://www.gamespy.com/articles/491/491801p1.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GameSpy: Telling Stories Without Telling Them -- A Rebuttal - Page 1
    that Mr Osborne has played Half Life he can no longer sit through The Godfather without fidgeting but for those of us who can interruptions like cutscenes linear narratives and even printed text are all just facets of an incredibly flexible art form When used appropriately they add context and dimension to a game They re a tool to provide a player with motives and history beyond what he or she brings to the game They aren t necessary for all games obviously but neither are they anathema Otherwise Final Fantasy IX wouldn t have been a smash hit and Metal Gear Solid 2 wouldn t be on so many people s must have lists Total immersion The real problem seems to be Osborne s incomplete understanding of the psychology underlying these matters He suggests that watching a movie is a passive experience If that s the case why do horror movies scare us Why do tragedies make us cry Why do we laugh at comedies The answer is simple Humans are primed for vicarious experience Storytelling relies on our ability to lose ourselves in someone else s ordeals When we read a novel or watch a movie our minds race to explore possible outcomes to hope for happy endings to imagine horrible consequences We become immersed in Jaws or For Whom the Bell Tolls even though we don t believe we re there Mind you I m not suggesting that Osborne is wrong to think of cutscenes and printed text as intrusions He s entitled to his opinion I m also completely in favor of games that explore new methods of storytelling My complaint is that he s trying to impose limitations on a medium that doesn t have any He chose to write his editorial from the perspective

    Original URL path: http://www.gamespy.com/articles/491/491766p1.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive



  •