archive-com.com » COM » H » HARDINDD.COM

Total: 284

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • 2012 in Review - Hardin Design & DevelopmentHardin Design & Development
    settle in to our new office in Verex Plaza and were able to focus our energy into advancing improving and refining the company We grew the staff by 40 adding talented core members to our team who will push the company forward in developing web and mobile apps for our clients We also now have enough staff in the office now to play each other in baseball hockey basketball or rowing we can be a bit competitive Furthermore Hardin experienced a steady steam of work this year acquiring new clients including Toshiba and Nick at Nite and continued strengthening our client relationships with our well established clients such as FedEx and many others The leaders of Hardin have been especially busy this past year accumulating awards and working hard for their money Jon and Scott had the honor of receiving UW Madison Alumni Association s Forward Under 40 award this year given to UW grads who are making an impact on the world by living the Wisconsin Idea Jon was also named one of the 9 Young Entrepreneurs to Watch in Chicago and one of the 130 Young Entrepreneurs to Watch in America by Under30CEO all while adding the title of CTO CIO of Fischer and Company to his accomplishments All and all its been a fantastic year here at the office and we couldn t be much happier As Hardin Design and Development looks forward to the new year just around the corner we are edgar to further develop out team dynamic to provide top rated products for our clients We are also looking to expand the company both in the physical and business worlds in order to meet new and exciting folks in the tech start up world Above all in 2013 the staff at Hardin wish continue

    Original URL path: http://www.hardindd.com/2012-in-review/ (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Jon Hardin Recognized in the 2012 Under 30 CEO Awards - Hardin Design & DevelopmentHardin Design & Development
    from ten cities across the nation and Jon s hard work dedication and innovation in his company certainly fulfilled their criteria Congratulations to Jon from all of the staff at Hardin Design and Development The Under30CEO article can be read here Tags Chicago Jon Hardin Under30CEO 3 Responses to Jon Hardin Recognized in the 2012 Under 30 CEO Awards Rishi November 28 2012 Congrats Jon Very well deserved Reply hardin

    Original URL path: http://www.hardindd.com/jon-hardin-recognized-in-the-2012-under30ceo-awards/ (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Redesigning Outdated Android Apps: Not As Hard As You May Think - Hardin Design & DevelopmentHardin Design & Development
    Design Guidelines in this case it is the same Outlook App that got horrible reviews By now the mighty 30 percent of users who are running Ice Cream sandwich and up have become accustomed to standards in their interfaces There is a great article written about the Aesthetic Usability Effect which summed up states that people inherently believe well designed things function better If your app is task oriented it should use the font Roboto It is the standard and Google provides it for free Any other font will feel out of place to an Android user The same goes for common UI features Actionbar back button Tabbed Navigation List Navigation even Text Input has a standard design that should be matched Why Users now recognize these designs and sub consciously link the design to functionality so it will just confuse them if your app tries too hard to be different and implement these standard features another way Another great example of an app that neglects the Android Design Guidelines comes from no other than ESPN The overall design for the Fantasy Football 2012 app doesn t necessarily hinder it s functionality but the outdated gradient based buttons and the

    Original URL path: http://www.hardindd.com/redesigning-outdated-android-apps-not-as-hard-as-you-may-think/ (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Venture Draft: St Louis 2012 - Hardin Design & DevelopmentHardin Design & Development
    of St Louis but there was something special about Venture Draft My wow moment came right after I had the opportunity to bounce business expansion ideas off keynote speaker Henry Wong of Garage Technology Ventures at a local cigar bar As I was walking out of the bar to a sponsored after party Jim Sorgi struck up a conversation about his future with the Colts and time on Gilman Street Wow this conference was pretty cool I was not alone I was one of twelve who drove to the conference from Madison WI 6 ½ hour drive Our entire contingency felt the same Maybe it was watching Yao Hui Huang of the Hatchory bust a move on the dance floor or experiencing the humble nature of Daymond John of ABC s Shark Tank the conference was a positive experience for those who attended The city also played a positive role on conference experience The food was fantastic and nightlife a great change of pace Since many of the keynote speakers were from out of town their attendance at post conference social events added a new dynamic to the event I ve never been to a conference that had the opportunity to chill with the CEO of FUBU overlooking the Arch Usually the keynote speakers are back home or quickly jet setting to their next event This would have been a very different experience if the conference was held in New York or Las Vegas Brandon set the bar high for the Venture Draft I was glad to attend the first annual and excited for the second Daymond John with Madison s Portable Scoreboard team Tags Brandon Wiliams Daymond John St Louis Tech Conferences Venture Draft One Response to Venture Draft St Louis 2012 Madison Startup Entrepreneurs Wow d By St

    Original URL path: http://www.hardindd.com/venture-draft-st-louis-2012/ (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Adobe Shadow - Hardin Design & DevelopmentHardin Design & Development
    as if it were on your PC BAM TECHNOLOGY Make Changes from within the developer tools and see them update instantly on your device Go golfing with all that extra time and headache you just saved yourself How does it work You need the Adobe Shadow server running on your PC You then need to download the Chrome extension to install and manage your clients from Last but not least you need to download the Adobe Shadow App on every device you will be testing from Once it is downloaded and the Server is running your devices will recognize the computer and give you a passcode to connect Enter the passcode into the extension and BINGO You are now a wizard Downside It doesn t work locally I can t hold it against it but for all you CSS Wizards out there Tags adobe shadow 2 Responses to Adobe Shadow Bruce Bowman August 4 2012 Hi Glad you are enjoying Shadow When you say the downside is that Shadow does not work locally what do you mean Shadow works with localhost and has a nice workflow with xip io for a virtual hosts workflow too Here s a movie and a blog post that might be useful http tv adobe com watch adc presents localhost and adobe edge integration in adobe shadow http blogs adobe com shadow 2012 06 19 shadow xip io virtual hosts workflow simplified If there s something else that is not working for you please let me know Our goal is for Shadow to fit in with your workflows so if that s not the case we want to know Bruce Bowman Shadow product manager brucebowman http blogs adobe com shadow Reply heinen August 12 2012 Hi Bruce thank you for your feedback It is wonderful

    Original URL path: http://www.hardindd.com/adobe-shadow/ (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • ICS ContentResolver Sync Changes and Fix - Hardin Design & DevelopmentHardin Design & Development
    upon the first login the app would not stop syncing even after he let it sit for 30 minutes However Once the app was closed and re opened it synced perfectly The app would hang here making the user think it just took forever to sync when in reality it was just hanging because the account did not have sync permission We were able to narrow the problem down to the account not having the sync settings turned on even though in older versions of Android it worked properly Dialog when Sync button was pressed The Account was added to the sync settings but not activated The code we were using to start the sync was simply ContentResolver setSyncAutomatically application getUserAccount MyStyleProvider AUTHORITY true This strangely enough worked fine on all Android Phones that did not have Ice Cream Sandwhich We searched and searched but could not find an answer We tried adding more permissions to no avail The fix came on a whim when I saw there was a MasterSync property I could not find any documentation to back that this needed to be true for ICS phones but setting it to true solved the issue and the sync

    Original URL path: http://www.hardindd.com/ics-contentresolver-sync-changes-and-fix/ (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Using NSNotificationCenter to Facilitate Event Handling From Inside a UITableView - Hardin Design & DevelopmentHardin Design & Development
    which is the ViewController which is responsible for the view containing the UITableView It would be possible to build public facing variables or functions to the ViewController to allow the HeaderCell to handle its events directly by modifying the data structures inside the ViewController but this gets messy and isn t ideal It s much better to have the ViewController manage all of the table data exclusively Instead the thing to do is post a notification to NSNotificationCenter when one of the buttons in the HeaderCell is pressed The ViewController then receives this notification along with the object that sent it allowing it to handle updating any data and UI being affected by the event all while maintaining complete control over its data Here s an image of the top of one section of the UITableView The HeaderCell is the area with a green background To handle the buttons being pressed inside the HeaderCell we use NSNotificationCenter To implement the HeaderCell s role in the event handling it simply needs to post a notification when a button was pressed This is done with the function below contained inside the HeaderCell class Remember to link the button with this function in Interface Builder IBAction gearPressed id sender NSLog Gear Pressed NSNotificationCenter defaultCenter postNotificationName GearButtonPressedNotification object self The ViewController requires two pieces of code to complete its role in this event handling First it needs to be listening for the notification aka being an observer of the notification This is done before any notifications have been posted so I always put the following inside the viewDidLoad function NSNotificationCenter defaultCenter addObserver self selector selector gearButtonPressed name GearButtonPressedNotification object nil Notice two things about this 1 The name provided matches exactly the string used by the HeaderCell for postNotificationName If these two are not

    Original URL path: http://www.hardindd.com/using-nsnotificationcenter-to-facilitate-event-handling-from-inside-a-uitableview/ (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Weekly Roundup – May 25 - Hardin Design & DevelopmentHardin Design & Development
    a big deal when rumors of an Opera acquisition start going around While Opera isn t the most popular browser it does boast an extremely impressive mobile market with over 168 million mobile users in March alone Whether or not this deal will transpire is beside the point that Facebook needs to improve their mobile experience It doesn t do much good to wait 20 seconds for a news feed that I want to check for 10 seconds while on the go The full story is available here Facebook officially declined to comment Siri ous problems IBM bans Siri from Employee phones It was released this week that all the data you have ever spoke to Siri incidentally has been recorded by Apple Full Story Siri changes answer to the Best Phone Ever question Apple may have noticed from all their data tracking that the question What is the best smartphone was being asked by many users Prior to this week Siri did as it should answered honestly from a search of customer feedback While I personally wouldn t agree that the Nokia Lumia 900 is The Best Smartphone at least it provided an honest answer This is what you

    Original URL path: http://www.hardindd.com/weekly-roundup-may-25/ (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive



  •