archive-com.com » COM » H » HARDOFHEARINGCHILDREN.COM

Total: 76

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Special Review
    parents the birth of a child brings joy and excitement The birth ends the period of expectations about the child and brings new challenges and responsibilities for parents as they adjust to the new family member When the child has a disability or the parents suspect a disability is present parental aspirations are shattered The Candlish family passed through this experience and more Although they suspected from the outset that Reid had hearing problems he was close to two years of age before amplification was fitted Once a diagnosis was confirmed Ms Candlish relates the reactions of siblings and the extended family She shows how sibling relationships take on special significance when one sibling is disabled and how the grandparents share the same shattered aspirations as the parents She also illustrates how parents discovery of their child s disability brings them into the orbit of a number of professional disciplines Learning about the exceptionality is only the first of lifelong series of interactions many families are plunged into the world of infant stimulation early intervention preschools respite services medical intervention and so on Then there are the new roles that accompany a child with an exceptional condition educator lobbyist advocate therapist and of course chauffeur In addition the need for special equipment special medical care and special programs can bring constant concern and frustration This first section of Not Deaf Enough illustrates clearly the frustrations and stresses along with the joys of raising a child with a mild disability The second main section is more technical but covers a spectrum from audiological assessment through to creating an effective listening environment Further chapters examine the thorny issues of communication modes behaviour and discipline and parents as teachers and advocates Transition is the subject of the final section Not Deaf Enough should

    Original URL path: http://www.hardofhearingchildren.com/Not%20Deaf%20Enough/special_review.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Surprise Review
    gives the reader an account and the benefit of her and her family s experiences when the system proved deficient The advice given is practical and focused and comes from an intelligent tenacious loving resourceful and articulate woman Candlish pulls no punches and does not pussyfoot around the problem If you are fortunate enough not to have had a major challenge of this sort in your family then read the book from the perspective of someone who felt that the outside world should get a return on her and her family s investment It isn t difficult to imagine the financial expense let alone the emotional expense incurred by the family in this project With any luck this book will inspire others to give help and support to others less fortunate There should be other books written so clearly A third level of course is that the book is also a character sketch of someone who is playing the hand that she has been dealt without whining and without asking for a new deal Good on you PAM Author s Note The Erin Library needed a new librarian I applied for the job and took along a copy of Not

    Original URL path: http://www.hardofhearingchildren.com/Not%20Deaf%20Enough/surprise_review.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • VOICE Review
    book a sort of everything you wanted to know about your hearing impaired child In this case it s not that you were afraid to ask but more likely that you didn t have enough time to ask or that even when you did ask you didn t get a satisfactory answer Pam puts it together for us in a humorous easy to read well researched book Subjects covered run the gamut from the special ists who will enter your family s life to hearing tests the school experience and the anatomy of the ear All are dealt with in an informative but highly read able manner from the perspective of a parent and consumer Pam s account is a worthwhile read for parents of newly diagnosed or older children and it contains strategies and useful tips on a variety of subjects Although the book is comprehensive in scope one senses that Pam at heart is just another parent with a family very much like our own She has been down the same road and fought the same battles She has gone to great lengths to document her jour ney to make it easier for those who follow The dust jacket of her book says the story of Pam Candlish shows what a remarkable difference a dedicated informed imaginative and loving parent can make in the life and the future of a child who is hard of hearing An accurate summary indeed Author s Note Dr Daniel Ling read my manuscript first and suggested that VOICE should publish it Judy Simser spent the summer on her dock working on the manuscript and concluded VOICE should publish it VOICE declined The book was Canadian and intended for parents who had little access to help I was told by several Canadian publishers

    Original URL path: http://www.hardofhearingchildren.com/Not%20Deaf%20Enough/voice_review.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Exceptional Child Education Resources Abstract
    parent of a child with a hearing loss the book is a guide for parents dealing with similar challenges Chapters address coping with the grief of having a child with a hearing impairment the professionals involved in providing services to children with hearing impairments auditory tests and the audiogram problems that hearing aids cause in the ear the Ling method of speech training learning to live with a child who

    Original URL path: http://www.hardofhearingchildren.com/Not%20Deaf%20Enough/exceptional_child_education_reso.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Virtual Table of Contents for the Book
    play audiometry behavioral considerations of hearing tests Chapter 7 The Audiogram A Scientific Picture of the Child s Hearing The Ling Five Sounds Test Frequency intensity of sound some sounds on an audiogram The aided or unaided threshold Examples of audiograms Chapter 8 The Ear Ear Canal Ear Drum Middle Ear and Inner Ear Didn t I Learn This in Grade Six Health Most of it but did you have a child who is hard of hearing Chapter 9 Hearing Aids and Aids to Hearing Behind the ear aids FM Infrared aids Soundfield Amplification TTY s Hearing Ear Dogs Chapter 10 Smile Though your Heart is Breaking Buying and Inserting the Hearing Aids Parents initial feelings can affect the child Chapter 11 Batteries Life and Death for the Hearing Aids and the Child Use fresh batteries Go to hospital immediately if the child eats a hearing aid battery Chapter 12 Ling and I The Ling method for Parents Chapter 13 Within Earshot Other Physical Considerations Maximizing the Auditory Environment Learning to move closer before talking makes life easier Decorating the hard of hearing child s house Chapter 14 Learning to Live with a Child Who Wears Hearing Aids The Daily Chores to Promote Good Hearing and the Frustrations Chapter 15 Not Deaf Enough The difficulties of a mild loss Chapter 16 A Parent s Consideration of Sign Languages and Speechreading The Deaf culture Sign Language the great debate Chapter 17 Day Care Babysitters and the Outside World Making Sure Other People Help Your Child When You Are Not There People must maximize the child s exposure to language all day long Chapter 18 Who am I Parent or Teacher Teachers and parents do not always have the same goals Open questions are better for speech the parent must unlearn the

    Original URL path: http://www.hardofhearingchildren.com/Not%20Deaf%20Enough/virtual_table_of_contents_for_th.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Alas my Book!
    and other related factors In the next few days you will receive formal letter from AG Bell indicating that we plan to discontinue Not Deaf Enough from our catalog In that letter you will receive notification about the opportunity to purchase the remaining stock of your book at cost plus the cost of shipping If you are interested in making the purchase please contact me directly Yours truly Scott Wells Publications Sales Coordinator Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 3417 Volta Place NW Washington DC 20007 www agbell org email swells agbell org phone 202 337 5220 ext 128 fax 202 337 8314 TTY 202 337 5221 I find their reason a little bizarre because in 2002 when the book was reprinted I wrote a pamphlet to update new material on the vast improvements in FM s with the microlink digital aids My book was the first to mention FM s at home and my son has had a microlink since 1996 I offered a page by page updating too although I was told that was too expensive to undertake That was why I settled for a pamphlet They never did anything with the pamphlet I consoled myself with the knowledge that all that information was in my web and with more detailed explanations I did a lot of linking from lists to the publisher now that work ends in nothing I am frustrated but also simply wondering what to do with the book next The copyright reverts to me when the book is out of print There is a new industry setting up called Publishing on Demand New equipment makes it possible to print and bind a whole book in minutes A Review at Amazon 7 of 8 people found the following review helpful This is a MUST READ for parents of hard of hearing children February 14 2002 Reviewer A reader This no nonsense book is filled with practical useful information I highly recommend this book to all parents of hard of hearing children As the parent of two hard of hearing children I have read my share of books about deafness This is one of the best Amazon says the book is out of print but I checked with the publisher and they say they have just reprinted it and it should be available soon Any Suggestions And so Dear Friends I ask you what you think I should do One possibility is to simply put the whole book up here in the web Another is utilizing publishing on demand A third is to ask everyone who reads this to contact A G Bell to buy a copy of the book swells agbell org At least that will annoy them A fourth is to put the book on a CD and sell it myself Please email me with your suggestions mailto candlish hardofhearingchildren com I wrote Not Deaf Enough to fill the gap on information about hard of hearing children in libraries

    Original URL path: http://www.hardofhearingchildren.com/Not%20Deaf%20Enough/Alas%20my%20book%20is%20oop.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Search
    search for documents in this web containing specific words or combinations of words The text search engine will display a weighted list of matching documents with better matches shown first Each list item is a link to a matching document

    Original URL path: http://www.hardofhearingchildren.com/_vti_bin/shtml.exe/search/search_.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • appendix _a i SN
    Pure tone audiometry with a hearing level of 16 35 dB Flexer 1994 p 36 No visual evidence of conductive loss detected by less than a 10 dB HL difference between bone conduction and air conduction in pure tone tests and by a normal result on impedance measures including the tympanogram static compliance and acoustic reflex Currently there are no treatments to reverse the damage Hearing loss 15 40 dB Speech recognition depressed Auditory discrimination depressed Diefendorf 1996p 5 Difficulty keeping up with fast paced communication Northern Downs 1991 May shout or talk in a loud voice Poor word discrimination ability Better hearing in the low frequencies than in the high frequencies May confuse or miss consonants as these are high frequency sounds Difficulties caused by Recruitment which is when there is an abnormal rapid growth in loudness once the threshold of hearing has been crossed Have greater difficulty in noisy surroundings than those with conductive hearing loss or normal hearing Reduces Childs ability to benefit from passive learning thus need to be taught directly what many children learn incidentally Possible tinnitus ringing buzzing roaring or chirping sounds in the ears Flexer 1994 p 19 Potential problems in articulation Problems in auditory attention Problems in auditory memory Problems in auditory comprehension Possible delays in expressive oral language Impact on syntax and semantics Impact on vocabulary development Diefendorf 1996 p 5 Difficulty detecting subtle conversational cues which could cause the child to respond inappropriately Northern Downs 1991 Lowered academic achievement arithmetic problem solving math concepts vocabulary reading comprehension Educational delays progress systematically with age Diefendorf 1996 p 5 More fatigued than peers due to increased effort needed to hear Hicks Tharpe 2002 Difficulty hearing faint or distant speech Blair 1996 Between 10 and 40 of classroom instruction may be missed Blair

    Original URL path: http://www.hardofhearingchildren.com/New_Folder/appendix_a%20i%20SN.htm (2016-02-01)
    Open archived version from archive