archive-com.com » COM » I » INTEGRUMTECH.COM

Total: 312

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Valley Metro - Testimonial - Integrum
    Air Hockey Throwdown Challenges the World One thought on Valley Metro Testimonial sephi says March 9 2009 at 8 08 am Great Demo how come the QA is not in the team itself good luck About the author Jade Meskill Chief Revolutionary Officer The new normal presents us with many extraordinary opportunities To accept the challenge is to lead the way to a new future made from embracing our humanity

    Original URL path: http://integrumtech.com/2009/03/valley-metro-testimonial/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Ajaxful-Rating for Ruby on Rails Rating or Voting - Integrum
    do what we wanted and was one of the more current voting solutions for Rails out there It was pretty straight forward to implement The only thing that was unclear in the documentation was whether you had to specify a dimension or if leaving it blank would be acceptable Turns out leaving it blank works just fine Things we ran into In it s view helper there was ratings for but not the concept of user ratings for We needed to see a static version of how the user had rated things so we made a helper to do this We will clean it up some and submit a patch to the project Additionally we had to change the background image a little bit This was easy to do but since it was a different size it caused some problems The calculated value in the helper has a hard coded value in order to change it requires changing the plug in We plan to re factor this so that it is a passed parameter with a default so that it can be changed without touching the plug in We will also submit that as a patch If you know of a better voting rating plug in we would love to hear about it but for now Ajaxful Rating seems usable PREVIOUS Increasing Productivity and Accountability Through Public Humiliation NEXT Who Do You Use For Hosting SliceHost 2 thoughts on Ajaxful Rating for Ruby on Rails Rating or Voting Joseph Silvashy says November 3 2009 at 11 26 pm hmm great tip I was about 1 minute away from using vote fu until I saw this post I wish it supported jQuery out of the box Reply Eric Pugh says November 11 2009 at 11 32 am This was a great

    Original URL path: http://integrumtech.com/2009/10/ajaxful-rating-for-ruby-on-rails-rating-or-voting/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Episode #123 - Standards vs Innovation - Integrum
    at least 80 percent source coverage before I will take your request That I totally agree with I think that s fine I just disagree with the idea of me enforcing my standards on you on your project Jade I think Darwinism also comes into play there If your standards are unreasonable and nobody can give back to you well people are going to stop working with you and you re going to die and wither on the vine Derek Right Clayton I think it s one thing for a team to be principled and have certain values to say We want to be technically excellent or something and that means that we re going to really value test driven development Or We really care about testing or something like that I think that s fine to have standards like that because I don t think those are so much like rule standards as they the values of the team Do you want people in the team to live the values I think those are a little easier pill to swallow I am personally a fan of having things more standardized on it at the team level I think there s so much time wasted and dumb on purpose stuff that goes on around people trying to use different things in their little pet project and inaudible 07 13 work Derek Why is it OK at the team level but not at the org level or at the company level Jade I think that at the org or company level the values or the influence those have I think those just get more and more abstract Clayton Yeah they re too far removed from the problem that s being solved Jade Yeah I think if you were to say We have to use Java for everything that might not be the right thing for everything If your biggest problem is that you have people that work for you that can t work on your Java project and then go work on the Ruby project you don t want those people working for you right You re not losing efficiency because there are two languages Derek Why would I not want the expert Why would I not want the guy that wrote Java to work for me and he doesn t want to work on Ruby He s got 20 years invested in that He is the absolute best person ever at that Jade Right but you re going to get the person that s the best person at Java but that s not really where you re going to get value out of using some particular technology It s not like if you took that person that s a 20 year Java expert that s all they ve ever done and you put them on some project they re going to instantly make it better Derek But what if I believe that the person that knows 20 years worth of Java is better than the person who knows six months worth of Ruby To me even though Java might not be the right tool for the job this guy knows so much about Java This girl knows so much about Java that they re going to do it better anyways a better tool to do it just because they re more experienced Roy I would challenge your beliefs and say that maybe your beliefs are wrong Clayton I don t doubt that that s possible I think if you took someone who s an expert chef and you give them a bunch of crappy ingredients and a crappy situation they could pull it off because they have that expertise and they have all that stuff I think that s fine but I would question how frequently that scenario comes up where the biggest gain you get would be out of having the inaudible 09 01 expert Derek I only hired experts clay Clayton Yeah and I think a lot of people have that mindset where they think they only hired the best people Most of the people that I ve talked to that think that they hired the best people they really can never tell who the 10 times programmers are anyway I think that they re chasing unicorns at that point Derek The unicorns that they do find tend not to actually be the best people in my experience Derek Let s say it s not language Let s say it s desktop operating system or let s say it s server operating system You name it Jade I think it comes down to conventions are very handy things to have It s when they become policies that it can become inflexible and ruin some of your creativity and your ability to adapt to the situation at hand Derek I think for me where I get uncomfortable is the minute that somebody says We can t do that because and the answer is Jade The policy blah blah blah Derek Or some standardization We can t do that because Windows Server doesn t do that Or We can t do that because Ubuntu doesn t do that or We can t do that because Apache won t do that We can t do that The minute that I hear that it s OK so you re not willing to innovate You were willing to sacrifice being able to do something you can t do right now that somebody wants you to do to hold on to some standard Roy I think a team can have standards for itself Why a team and why not an organization I think a team can have standards for itself because it is being held responsible for the problem that it s trying to solve and everybody is present If they want to change the standard they can do so expeditiously An organization cannot because they re solving a whole bunch of different problems

    Original URL path: http://integrumtech.com/2013/10/episode-123-standards-vs-innovation/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Cache-Money for Ruby on Rails - Integrum
    to this that cache money also supports multiple query types multiple indices ordered indices window indices calculations version numbers transactions rollbacks mocks locks and local caches and it gets impressive pretty quick If you are looking for caching to optimizing Show me the money er cache money PREVIOUS jQuery Lightbox for Ruby on Rails NEXT Convert HTML to PDF Ruby on Rails 2 thoughts on Cache Money for Ruby on Rails TheSent says July 3 2010 at 9 38 am I ve used Cache Money in the past and KCRUG even video ed my presentation I wonder though if it s maintained or what it would take to port to Rails 3 If there is no no code solution for Rails 3 that would be a pity Do you know answers to either of these My videos http www vimeo com 4927794 part 1 http www vimeo com 4937895 part 2 Reply Orslumen says October 10 2011 at 4 19 pm Last week I launched a new write through cache gem for Rails 3 see https github com orslumen record cache The reason I built it is because we were using cache money and recently migrated to Rails 3 So

    Original URL path: http://integrumtech.com/2010/01/cache-money-for-ruby-on-rails/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Episode #88 - Class Systems in an Organization - Integrum
    then they can t make the people that are the junior developers better Roy Just to clarify I think I speak for all of us in that the idea of having different classes of developers on the team is a bad idea Having everybody act as an entire team where there are certain people on the team who may have some weaknesses and some people that have certain strengths and the team values to bring out the strengths in everybody and try to help each other better our weaknesses and that that s an idea situation Clayton I think if you think about it from a tribal aspect if I m a member of the tribe and I m the one who s trying new ways new fishing techniques I m the one who gives you some of my food because your crops died and I do all of those things I m going to gain your influence and you re going to view me as a leader versus the chief just coming down and saying he s the senior tribesman That s a totally different thing Teams can be the same way You have these cross functional teams where everyone can do everything and there is no real distinction in the job title perspective Some people are going to rise to the top because they do certain things that the team buys into and people on the team will follow them Roy One of the huge problems I have with this type of class system where there are multiple levels is that oftentimes it s self sustaining in that the people that are at the bottom class are treated like crap and given shitty assignments They are given crappy hard work and that type of thing It s almost like it s really hard to overcome the handicaps forced down on you by the upper class developers We re going have riots with the 99 percent laughter Roy complaining about the one percent crosstalk Clayton I think that s totally fair It s a culture thing If the organizational culture is that there are different levels of people and if it just so happens which is probably the majority of the time that the different levels of people are picked improperly or poorly Everything that happens to the people on the bottom of the totem pole reinforces the fact that they re on the bottom of the totem pole and every day you remind them they re on the bottom of the totem pole That s where they re going to be You re never giving them a pathway or any means to move up They re just going to leave Roy Even if the expectation is if you work here long enough that s how you move up I think even that is a bad idea Even the idea of a meritocracy where if you do really well you move up is kind of a bad idea because it should be the entire team that s moving themselves up If it s a meritocracy where my success is causing me to go up that incentivizes me to sabotage everyone else on my level to make myself look better Clayton If you don t buy into team based work and you don t buy into the value you get out of team based work it becomes pretty obvious People are very smart about cheating the system knowing who they have to influence or be influenced by Roy Or sleep with Clayton In extreme cases I suppose to move up in the organization I still think it all goes back to a culture thing I think if you take the traditional software development organization where you ve got developers who are treated in some degree badly but they are treated better than QA people because they just lob their code over the wall and the QA people have to test it Roy Is it that shit flows downhill syndrome a little bit too I got crapped on by the senior developer so I m going to take it out on the QA people Clayton I think there s something like that too I always remember that talk that Uncle Bob Martin gives about testing He talks about how it s basically immoral to have people do manual testing The idea that someone would have a big binder and they go to some page in the application and they look at the binder and it says Step one enter x y z colon bracket space and then click this button then click this button You do fourteen steps and then hit enter Verify that the screen says this How does any organization think that s OK Roy It s totally demeaning to the people that work in those positions too especially if they are more qualified Clayton The people never give a pathway to become better Roy I ve actually heard of organizations where they re like Oh we can t have those people do that They re just testers There s no way they could ever be developers Clayton Exactly I think there s a bunch of testers who probably think I m not interested in being a programmer I don t want to learn engineering stuff That s not what I m interested in There s still a bunch of things that if you take more of a test automation approach there s a lot of things that you could have a testing background or a testing mindset and still contribute just as equally to the overall value of what s being built Roy Those types of people could be invaluable in a planning meeting and would be a very good compliment to a regular developer in a pairing environment You would start to see the lines blur between the two because I think as with anything the QA people that don t like to learn coding is probably

    Original URL path: http://integrumtech.com/2012/11/episode-88-class-systems-in-an-organization/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Episode #12 - Step Away From The Tools - Integrum
    OK these tools they sounded really cool three months ago but I don t know What are we really getting out of them I think everyone has some 20 20 hindsight every now and again Derek Yeah One other item for me is tools around process I don t know want to name names because I m not trying to sway one product versus other I think most digital tools to deal with a Scrum process track user stories points velocity and backlog management a number of those things What I see a lot of teams do is they get so obsessed on the tool that they do one of two things they either want to use a tool because they want to lose accountability If you put everything on index cards and you create some I want to say ritual around it but there s some visibility and there s some tactile kind of writing and some wiring of the brain happening a lot of people back off of that and say I really don t like cards either or It hurts my hand too much to write them all out or That takes too much wall space or They re just going to be recycled and you re killing trees whatever But I usually see the teams that start to do that they really focused on trying to either shirk accountability like Don t treat me like a kindergartener and make me write on a stupid index card with a giant sharpie and put it on the wall for everybody to see I m not in kindergarten anymore Or they like tools so that they can legalize behaviors They can start to say Oh you re trained in this and they want to steer the conversation onto the fact of your average velocity over the last 39 sprints has been X and get legalistic about that opposed to saying What s the root cause of that or How can we improve to deal with that It s more of the Let me see what you re doing and let me compare myself to what my team is doing to your team What are some of you guys thoughts about using digital tools and process Jade I was actually thinking about this the other day I ve had the same kind of experience where I was trying to have something out with someone and they were complaining about Oh well we re just wasting these cards just wasting time because this is really simple stuff blah blah blah For whatever reason I never really went down the path of This is a waste of time I just took it as This is a reasonable idea whatever Just go with it I was thinking about the digital tools that exist now could you still do this process 50 years ago 100 years ago If you re just doing cards writing things down and having conversations go back to ancient Egypt You could still do the same thing But if your process is dependent on Well in order to be successful or have some measure of this or that then we need to have these digital tools that require us to keep track of this do these calculations It just seems that there s so much overhead but again if you go back how we started this if you go back to the idea of Well let s just have this tool and if something is going wrong look at the tool I think people will get too far into that and they forget that there really can just be really simple stuff You could just be having conversations and writing something down on paper It sounds so simple but what else do you need Clayton I don t want to manage a Scrum team in ancient Egypt laughter Derek I don t know The pyramids were a pretty successful project if you ask me Jade Yeah You could whip them too laughter and crosstalk Clayton That s true Jade with a Scrum whip laughter Derek For me the determining point was when I heard somebody say Well we couldn t do that because our tool doesn t do that I don t remember what it was It was like Oh well mark that as zero or Change to a Fibonacci sequence or Put your estimates in ideal hours or something and the response from the person was Well but our tool doesn t support that Jade That s why I love digital tools because it gives me something to blame other than myself laughter Derek To me our tools are just a distraction for the most part I think back to what you re trying to get to Clayton is when we really get to the roots of what we do how we do it and why we do it I think anytime the tools become a significant part of the conversation I have to question are we using them as a scapegoat of some kind either blaming them for something or Look A pony If we should use vim instead of Emacs Let s stop talking about what s really important and start talking about something that s Jade I came across a blog post this morning that was like We re this successful web shop or whatever It was a blog post on how you get set up with Z shell rvim blah blah blah All these other tools I m picturing someone going to that site and being like Whoa this is totally awesome Then they re going to spend five hours getting all that shit set up and then they re going to go back to work and be like Hmm OK What was I supposed to do today Clayton And I don t know how to use any these tools at all Jade Right Clayton Now I m going to spend the next month figuring

    Original URL path: http://integrumtech.com/2011/04/scrumcast-12-step-away-from-the-tools/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Episode #67 - Design Thinking with Jeff Patton - Integrum
    not under that the non disclosure for but oftentimes we re looking at a buying experience where people in retail stores they re looking at things they re checking information on a mobile phone they re texting information to someone and they re getting responses back We ll act out that whole experience with people pulling out mobile phones and pretending to type something in the phone and pretending to get the right information back We haven t implemented anything there s nothing on the phone It s just that by doing that we realize Oh my gosh I m gonna need this information or The time it would take to get that is far longer than I wanna wait so that s not gonna work you know things like that Drew And the last step that I saw on your video was of this design thinking kind of process is create a plan so you identify the problem you ideate you iterate on that with prototypes or whatever and then you create a plan Now as far as where I come from with Scrum and Agile is there s a big focus on the shippable product or potentially shippable product or releasing early releasing often How does this design thinking this process of figuring out what the problem is first how does that fit into that and how long should it last Jeff Good questions Well first off on the plan part so what I mean by plan and I would ve talked through is in theory if we re talking about Scrum process the plan is a backlog and I create a backlog But a good plan is a plan to learn Drew you ve probably come across the big buzz in the world today is the lean startup thinking that you ve come across And a core tenet of this lean startup stuff is validated learning They redefine the term MVP as minimal viable product The term MVP used to mean and it still does mean a product that is viable on the marketplace A lean startup will say Let s not worry about viable in the marketplace the first thing we have to do is prove that there is a market for what it is we re trying to build So an MVP in lean startup terms is the smallest possible experiment So a plan at the end of a design thinking process might be a series of smallest possible experiments In fact those smallest possible experiments might actually be part of iteration and the so your question there is How long does it take to do this design thinking stuff I will refer to this as a discovery phase and this is the stuff that in Scrum would have called the sprint zero phase and how long that takes I m finding more and more that the design thinking part if we can join the design thinking part which is a core tenant of lean

    Original URL path: http://integrumtech.com/2012/07/episode-67-design-thinking-with-jeff-patton/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Episode #119 - Slowing Things Down - Integrum
    way sense Derek I think it comes down to a couple of things Certainly if you re using the core protocols there s a lot built in that allows you to do that but if you re not you can still handle it in one or two ways One is we refuse to not do anything so we re going to do the best idea that we currently have and if you have a better idea awesome let s hear it but just slowing down to discuss is not going to be allowed You can say when we re in a discussion point it becomes Hey I think we should do XYZ If multiple people are Yes let s do XYZ and somebody continues to Well I want to slow down part of me says at that point do you just check out and say I m going to go spend my time doing something else Or do you say I m going to do X I m no longer going to wait for you It s taking too long I m going to suffer whatever consequence comes from just taking action that inaction is too much of a penalty already I would rather suffer some other retribution for taking action than suffer the penalty in the problems with taking no action Roy I think there s a culture component to this as well if you have a culture in which everybody needs to be comfortable you re going to have problems in terms of going fast because as we often say If you re not uncomfortable you re not going fast enough So creating a culture where it s OK to be uncomfortable starts promoting that type of thought If you have a culture of uncomfortableness that s probably going to be very tightly linked to a culture of No Criticism and a culture of dishonesty If we re a culture that s all about you being comfortable Jade then I can never criticize anything you do because I m going to be making you uncomfortable Jade Which is true Roy Right exactly Derek laughs I think you re touching on something really interesting There s something behind the motivation to slow things down It s not that people are completely unreasonable or just not decent human beings They re afraid of something Have you ever worked with someone to help understand what it is that is behind their need to slow things down and help them overcome that Derek Yes I see a couple of patterns One is lack of confidence so Jade Self confidence Derek Yes I don t trust that I m capable of doing this whatever this is so I don t want to take the action until I ve got complete assurance from other people that it s safe for me to take this action there s a lot of validation that needs to happen We need to go lift 50 pound block but I don t think I can lift the 50 pound block so I want to discuss it not necessarily because I think I want to slow it down but I want you guys to pump me up to the point where you make me believe I can actually do it When we get to that point then yes I m full on willing to go do it Another one that I see is like a flip side of that I don t feel comfortable admitting that I have a lack of confidence On one the discussion is I m really nervous about this and I want to go over this again and I want to understand so somebody is like Will you help me understand Will you help me understand Will you help me understand What they re wanting is that self Jade Affirmation Derek Right affirmation and then I think there s the flip side where I don t know how to do it but I don t want to tell you I don t know how to do it so what I really want to do is I want to debate this thing to death because the thing you are asking me to do I have no clue but I know how to do this other thing over here and even though I know it might not be the right thing I m going to argue to death that it s the right thing because if we do the thing you want then I have to admit I have no clue how to do that Roy Another variant is lack of trust that the other people know what they re doing Argue it to death so that instead of having a high level discussion about it and agreeing this is where we re going to move forward and trusting that Derek is going to do it right we argue about it endlessly and insist on ironing out all of the details so that I can have full control over making sure that Derek does it the right way because I don t trust him to do it Derek There s that control component there too fear that people won t do it how I want it done I ll debate it to death just because I want to make sure that this stupid you gets every single detail right I can t agree to take action that I m not going to personally do until I know that you ve affirmed every single decision that can possibly be made about that action Roy Which is interesting because I ve definitely worked on teams where I did not trust the other people to make good decisions It was for good reason because they made stupid decisions all the frigging time laughter How do you deal with that I guess that s part of the culture of honesty you need to be able to say Hey listen you make stupid

    Original URL path: http://integrumtech.com/2013/09/episode-119-slowing-things-down/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive