archive-com.com » COM » J » JANEAUSTENADDICT.COM

Total: 202

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Reviews | Jane Austen Addict, home of author Laurie Viera Rigler
    Juliette Wells who informs us in her introduction that this is a reader s edition not a scholarly one With the needs and wishes of her students in mind Dr Wells has included in this edition an abundance of extras that make EMMA s world and its language as accessible as possible There are tips for first time readers of Austen a series of short pieces that illuminate aspects of everyday life that Austen s contemporaries would have taken for granted but which often elude today s readers a glossary of words that are now either obsolete or have evolved in meaning plus maps illustrations and more EMMA is a novel that like all of Jane Austen s major works I have read at least twenty times A great part of Austen s genius is that there is always something new to be discovered in her novels no matter how many times one reads them Now thanks to this lovely new edition there is even more For there is enough substance in this annotated edition to enlighten and entertain not only novice readers but Austen devotees As an object of beauty this book deserves high marks as well with its

    Original URL path: http://janeaustenaddict.com/category/reviews/ (2016-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict | Jane Austen Addict, home of author Laurie Viera Rigler
    Your Group Your Book Group Photo Here Book Group Favorites Addictions Quizzes and Games Signs of Addiction Austen Reads Research Austen Links Other Cool Links Category Archives Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict Praise for the Jane Austen Addict series Great fun I spent a blissful day with it The Guardian Clever funny Publishers Weekly Rigler adds her fun filled share to Austen s bit of ivory showing her

    Original URL path: http://janeaustenaddict.com/category/rude-awakenings-of-a-jane-austen-addict/ (2016-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Writing Life | Jane Austen Addict, home of author Laurie Viera Rigler
    and writing I am more focused when standing than I am when sitting I have more clarity about both big picture and details when I m standing than when I m sitting Standing helps me remember to do the power pose from that famous TED talk by Amy Cuddy And that s always great for my writing This is my ReadyDesk standing desk converter which sits on top of my regular desk It comes with two shelves that you can move around till you find the perfect height I also bought an extra shelf more New Year s Resolutions doomed to fail or an excellent idea I m usually not one for New Year s resolutions Probably because I tend to fail at them But is it the inherent concept of a New Year s resolution which is at fault Or is it the nature of my particular resolutions via GIPHY This piece in Forbes has some insights into those questions suggesting that resolutions tend to be unrealistic and or punishing and thus we inadvertently sabotage our real chance at making positive change Because of course we can change I truly believe that with all my heart If we want badly enough to make a change and if we make our goals tangible and doable one bit at a time practicing till we master and perfect then of course we can and will and do change Click here to read more The Writing Life Finding Inspiration I write only when inspiration strikes Fortunately it strikes every morning at nine o clock sharp W Somerset Maugham If that doesn t demystify the process I don t know what does This is well worth remembering both for its inherent humor and profound truth Very happy to have rediscovered The War of Art

    Original URL path: http://janeaustenaddict.com/category/writing/ (2016-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Time Travel | Jane Austen Addict, home of author Laurie Viera Rigler
    Reads Research Austen Links Other Cool Links Category Archives Time Travel What I m Reading 11 22 63 by Stephen King I ve decided that the definition of unputdownable in the OED should now be 11 22 63 by Stephen King I have lost sleep and work time racing through yet savoring every word of this masterfully written time travel what if alternate reality tale of a man who travels back through a time warp rabbit hole in the back of a diner that lands him in 1958 where he must spend the next five years planning how to thwart the assassination of JFK On the way there is more of the past to tamper with survive and fall in love with especially because it is where he meets his soulmate But nothing is ever easy when it comes to changing the past no sir The past will do anything it can to stay put The obdurate past as King puts it Indeed The past is also harmonic according to 11 22 63 In fact the act of reading 11 22 63 seems to generate its own harmonies for as I entered the last third of the novel an ad for the event series based on the work caught my eye on the Hulu home screen Now I won t have to feel as sad as I usually would do upon turning the last page of such an enthralling mind expanding read I ll have eight episodes to look forward to Am hoping they do this brilliant work justice Do you have what it takes to time travel Photo by Wonderlane We ve all read the books or at least seen some of the movies We ve all fantasized about being magically transported to the world of Jane Austen and

    Original URL path: http://janeaustenaddict.com/category/time-travel/ (2016-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Uncategorized | Jane Austen Addict, home of author Laurie Viera Rigler
    Audiobooks Confessions Audiobook Rude Awakenings Audiobook Press Reviews Interviews and More About Laurie Events Contact Blog Blog Tumblr Book Groups Confessions Group Guide Rude Awakenings Group Guide Invite Laurie To Your Group Your Book Group Photo Here Book Group Favorites Addictions Quizzes and Games Signs of Addiction Austen Reads Research Austen Links Other Cool Links Category Archives Uncategorized Do the Work another favorite writing book Resistance will tell you anything to keep you from doing your work It will perjure fabricate falsify seduce bully cajole Resistance is protean It will assume any form if that s what it takes to deceive you Resistance will reason with you like a lawyer or jam a nine millimeter in your face like a stickup man Resistance has no conscience It will pledge anything to get a deal then double cross you as soon as your back is turned If you take Resistance at its word you deserve everything you get Steven Pressfield Do the Work Overcome Resistance and get out of your own way Need I say more This book is worth its weight in gold Tweets from https twitter com austen addict lists twitter voices1 Purchase Image Purchase the Books Navigate Home

    Original URL path: http://janeaustenaddict.com/category/uncategorized/ (2016-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • What I’m Reading | Jane Austen Addict, home of author Laurie Viera Rigler
    extent of her terror and how she blasted through it I am loving this book which I m listening to on audiobook beautifully narrated by the author herself Here s a clip of Shonda Rhimes on the Stephen Colbert show I m looking forward to listening to the rest of the book As someone who spent her childhood as an extremely shy person and still sometimes fights those tendencies I highly recommend YEAR OF YES to anyone who wants to break the cycle of no and step outside of their comfort zone What I m Reading 11 22 63 by Stephen King I ve decided that the definition of unputdownable in the OED should now be 11 22 63 by Stephen King I have lost sleep and work time racing through yet savoring every word of this masterfully written time travel what if alternate reality tale of a man who travels back through a time warp rabbit hole in the back of a diner that lands him in 1958 where he must spend the next five years planning how to thwart the assassination of JFK On the way there is more of the past to tamper with survive and fall in love with especially because it is where he meets his soulmate But nothing is ever easy when it comes to changing the past no sir The past will do anything it can to stay put The obdurate past as King puts it Indeed The past is also harmonic according to 11 22 63 In fact the act of reading 11 22 63 seems to generate its own harmonies for as I entered the last third of the novel an ad for the event series based on the work caught my eye on the Hulu home screen Now I won

    Original URL path: http://janeaustenaddict.com/category/what-im-reading/ (2016-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Do the Work–another favorite writing book | Jane Austen Addict, home of author Laurie Viera Rigler
    Cool Links Post navigation Previous Next Do the Work another favorite writing book Posted on 24 September 2015 by laurie rigler Resistance will tell you anything to keep you from doing your work It will perjure fabricate falsify seduce bully cajole Resistance is protean It will assume any form if that s what it takes to deceive you Resistance will reason with you like a lawyer or jam a nine millimeter in your face like a stickup man Resistance has no conscience It will pledge anything to get a deal then double cross you as soon as your back is turned If you take Resistance at its word you deserve everything you get Steven Pressfield Do the Work Overcome Resistance and get out of your own way Need I say more This book is worth its weight in gold This entry was posted in Uncategorized by laurie rigler Bookmark the permalink Comments are closed Tweets from https twitter com austen addict lists twitter voices1 New title Austen Film and TV Body Image Book Groups Comedy Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict Emma Fashion Favorite Authors Favorite Writers Film and TV Friendship Giveaways Good Works Health and Well Being Holidays Inspiration

    Original URL path: http://janeaustenaddict.com/do-the-work-another-favorite-writing-book/ (2016-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Jane Austen Addict, home of author Laurie Viera Rigler | Laurie Viera Rigler, author of the "Jane Austen Addict" series and other time-bending tales
    shy person and still sometimes fights those tendencies I highly recommend YEAR OF YES to anyone who wants to break the cycle of no and step outside of their comfort zone Writing at a Standing Desk Brilliant I used to think of writing at a standing desk as an oxymoron can t be done And didn t article after article talk about how despite how good for you standing desks are writing is best done sitting down Well I m happy to say that I was wrong I have gone from raising a skeptical eyebrow at the standing desk craze to full on convert Why do I LOVE writing at my standing desk It s energized my writing routine I feel physically mentally and emotionally vibrant as I stand at my desk and write I ve always thought of writing fiction as something akin to acting and somehow standing enables me to connect on a more physical level with what the characters are feeling and doing than when I m sitting slumped in my chair Yeah I tend to slump when sitting Which leads me to the next point My posture is better when I m standing and writing than when I m sitting and writing I am more focused when standing than I am when sitting I have more clarity about both big picture and details when I m standing than when I m sitting Standing helps me remember to do the power pose from that famous TED talk by Amy Cuddy And that s always great for my writing This is my ReadyDesk standing desk converter which sits on top of my regular desk It comes with two shelves that you can move around till you find the perfect height I also bought an extra shelf more Lady Susan finally makes it to the screen in Whit Stillman s Love and Friendship Can t wait to see what Whit Stillman does with this one I ve always thought Lady Susan would be really tough to adapt but if this trailer is any indication it s going to be deliciously wicked fun What I m Reading 11 22 63 by Stephen King I ve decided that the definition of unputdownable in the OED should now be 11 22 63 by Stephen King I have lost sleep and work time racing through yet savoring every word of this masterfully written time travel what if alternate reality tale of a man who travels back through a time warp rabbit hole in the back of a diner that lands him in 1958 where he must spend the next five years planning how to thwart the assassination of JFK On the way there is more of the past to tamper with survive and fall in love with especially because it is where he meets his soulmate But nothing is ever easy when it comes to changing the past no sir The past will do anything it can to stay put The obdurate past

    Original URL path: http://janeaustenaddict.com/book-clubs/your-book-group-photo-here/nggallery/image/the-pulpwood-queens-11-of-11/ (2016-04-28)
    Open archived version from archive



  •