archive-com.com » COM » M » MFLENSES.COM

Total: 529

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Tamron SP 60-300mm f/3.8-5.4 23A Lens Review
    lens Any help would be appreciated Reply Problem 4 Monday 12 March 2012 11 16 I just got this lens and wonder if I ve made a mistake I hope you can tell me if the lens has a problem There is a 1 8th of an inch of play back and forth in the zoom I have the 58A 103A zooms and there is no play in the slide movement Also how close does the lens focus in Macro mode Reply A Great Walk Around Zoom 3 Friday 13 January 2012 16 55 I bought my first Tamron 23A in 1986 It was a fairly expensive zoom back then about 300US But I felt it was worth every penny It become one of two walk around lenses that I would always carry whenever I was out with a camera the other was a Vivitar Series 1 28 90mm f 2 8 3 5 I used it for anything from macros to candids to motorsports It delivered slides that were critically sharp at all focal lengths and surprisingly sharp macros It s a bit long and a bit heavy but has a very solid feel and is very well built It s a push pull one ring zoom which some folks consider to be a drawback but I never have Theses days I own two SP 23As and still use them often with both my film and digital cameras This is a lens well worth adding to your inventory If you re patient you can often pick up a clean example off eBay or shopgoodwill com for a very reasonable price Or perhaps even a camerashop that deals in used equipment I bought one of mine at a camera shop for 40 and the other off eBay for 20 The

    Original URL path: http://www.mflenses.com/tamron-sp-60-300-review.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Helios 40 1.5/85mm by Tom Tiger
    A totally crazy combo Now you see why this article is called the Mad Big lens The combination is insane MAD Why use a seventies lens on a nineties camera I mean if you buy an Eos you get this nice LIGHT 28 80mm right And now you put on a nonautomatic non autofocus heavy preset lens from Russia on it And it is heavy It weighs around 1 Kilo Well It is fun to retro every now and again And the Helios 40 is considered to be a good lens Since I found this one at a reasonable price I wanted to see if it really was so good Because of the weight and size of this lens you expect quality and the Helios 40 delivers It outperforms my 28 80 standard lens from canon And it is faster The Canon starts at fstop 3 5 but the Helios starts at 1 5 In the sun my Canon gave of the error that it couldn t shoot any faster than 1 2000 That is how much light came in I was shooting at an fstop of 4 with a speed of 1 1500 with Iso 400 film Kodak ultra I could easily have taken 100 iso Even 50 would have done in the full sun The shots were good Offcourse the whole comparison of the Canonlens vs the Helios isn t really a good one The canon is a zoomlens and gives a lot of flexiblity and gives nice shots The Helios is a big preset lens 1 5 85mm short tele and comes from the cold war era Don t ask me what the fstops were in the 3 shots above I really don t remember I don t even recall if I shot lower than 1 125th

    Original URL path: http://www.mflenses.com/helios-40-1585mm-by-tom-tiger.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Manual Focus Lenses
    lenses until youngest present So it s hard to distinguish them Read more Carl Zeiss Jena Olympic Sonnar 180mm f 2 8 Lens Review The legendary Olympic Sonnar designed for Olympics game in 1936 Berlin In shortly OUTSTANDING quality Read more Carl Zeiss Jena Biotar 75mm f 1 5 Lens Review Legendary Carl Zeiss Jena Biotar 75mm f 1 5 I suppose every body heard about this lens But I suppose a few people see pictures taken with this one First of all I have to say the truth all information about quality is TRUE Outstanding in every point of view build and optical quality both sharp at wide open as possible Read more Industar 61 vs Volna 9 by Tom Tiger Volna 9 vs Industar 61 L Z The Russian Macro Lenses Review by Tom A H Piel Tigers Lair All materials written by author permission Read more Helios 40 1 5 85mm by Tom Tiger The Mad Big lens Review by Tom A H Piel Tigers Lair All materials written by author permission Read more Meyer Optik Görlitz Domiplan 50mm f 2 8 Lens Review Surprisingly very good lens I thought this would be a low quality lens because pretty little and I suppose this come from Meyer cheap product line Read more Carl Zeiss Jena Biotar 5 8cm f 2 Black Lens Review Little brother of legendary Carl Zeiss Jena Biotar 75mm f 1 5 Small size not very good looking lens but it has amazing picture quality this lens is older and better than alu finish lens and much more rare Read more Tamron SP 60 300mm f 3 8 5 4 23A Lens Review One of my favorite lenses are Tamron SP series all members are exceptional Tamron SP 60 300mm also an excellent lens

    Original URL path: http://www.mflenses.com/home/9-2.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Helios 40-2 85mm f/1.5 M42 MC Lens Review
    folder specified does not exist gallery User Comments In my opinion the Helios 40 and especially the Helios 40 2 are the best 85mm lenses ever I mean that I rate them above the best 85 or 90 mm lenses Orio Menoni If you think hard to handle this lens because heavy that is wrong I found very easy to focusing Because quiet heavy so stable in hand with camera easy to take shoot without shaking Russian solution for anti shaking It has tripod mount so very usable in studios from tripod I didn t see much short tele photo lens like this with tripod mount I guess because they have much lighter weight Build quality just excellent all metal around even front lens cap It has beautiful black finish looks professional hard to find t better looking lens So much above general Russian lens quality perhaps the reason this lens was made for export at KMZ I have many lens in this focal length including Carl Zeiss Jena Biotar 75mm f 1 5 Exakta and with M42 mount Biotar sharper at wide open but I don t think so this is real benefit in portrait photography in my opinion a sharp but soft wide open lens is better to make quality portraits Too sharp lens shows skin problems soft lens hide them Conclusion this lens almost good as CZJ Biotar and should better for portrait photography than any others including CZJ Biotar 75mm lenses This lens one of the must have lens if you have a chance to take it Helios 40 2 85mm f1 5 vs Carl Zeiss Planar 85mm f1 4 review is here mos ri portrait Helios 85mm Russian lens fast lens Tags nikon nikkor Comments 1 Reply From Russia With Love 85 1 5 1

    Original URL path: http://www.mflenses.com/helios-40-2-85mm-f15-m42-mc-lens-review.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Carl Zeiss Jena Issue date by serial number
    000 000 1955 1958 5 000 000 6 000 000 1958 1961 6 000 000 6 000 000 1961 1964 7 000 000 8 000 000 1964 1967 8 000 000 9 000 000 1967 1970 9 000 000 10 000 000 1970 1975 Tags carl zeiss jena issue date by serial number select category select section Comments 1 Reply Japanese made Carl Zeiss Jena lenses 1 Friday 04 February

    Original URL path: http://www.mflenses.com/carl-zeiss-jena-issue-date-by-serial-number.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • MC 3M-5CA 500mm f/8
    eyes I couldn t do that with my longest lens 300 mm Sigma Long telephot lens prices are in the sky I am amator photographer my budget is limited so first of all i bought a Pentacon 500 mm f 5 6 22 MC lens because price was reasonable and real glass lens No succes with that see my review here So after previous bad experience with big gun I was shocked how sharp how light weight this lens It has nice massive all metal construction but light weight like modern plastic ones Highly recommended to everyone Vendor name Body mount Product year MC 3M 5CA M42 Focal min mm Focal max mm Focus min cm 500 500 400 Aperture max Aperture min BaRREL LENGTH mm 8 8 139 Elements Diaphragm action Weight g 620 Filter size mm PUsh on diameter mm Angular field 72 5 Sample pictures Gallery Pbase com Hqdesign Pbase com Martinswille Zenit photo com mos ri mirror lens 500mm Tags 500mm f8 kmz m42 mto ussr Comments 2 Reply MC 3M 5CA 500mm f 8 2 Friday 12 August 2011 12 01 This lens benefits greatly by adding a lens hood the f6 3 version another

    Original URL path: http://www.mflenses.com/mc-3m-5ca-500mm-f8.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Manual Focus Lenses
    have DDR for Deutsche Demokratische Republik the official name for East Germany Lenses intended for the U S may be found marked Aus Jena or Jena S from about 1969 when Zeiss West Germany won a law suit in the U S Courts against Carl Zeiss Jena over who owned the trademark s for Carl Zeiss The lenses intended for West Germany all were marked this way since the court case there preceded the introduction of the Praktisix The serial numbers were assigned by some system known only to the East Germans They may have been assigned annually or by lot or by intended destination or by all of these or none of these Lenses can be found with 7 digits 5 digits and 4digits One interesting fact is that 4 5 digit numbers are found on the last year of production Read more Helios 40 85mm f 1 5 vs Carl Zeiss Contax Planar 85mm f1 4 A very detailed test from Orio Menoni between two excellent lens you can read genuine forum thread here The total filesize of the TIFs after RAW processing was near to 900 Mb As this was insane I had to make some reduction choices So I converted the files to 8bit depth and I converted them into 98 JPGs which means unfortunately some compression but the quality rate is still near 100 and the gain in filesize is huge from 509Mb to the current 49Mb Read more Carl Zeiss History Carl Zeiss A History Of A Most Respected Name In Optics From its inception through to the middle 19th century lens making was a craft that was essentially passed on from generation to generation Innovations had typically resulted from trial and error experimentation this was a costly and time consuming process that could not factor in all of the possible variables in lens making materials and design It would be left up to one who could employ scientific methods of study and then devise the mathematical formulas to characterize the physics of optics to make the next important technological leaps possible It would then be asked of a chemist to invent and manufacture those raw materials necessary to make the new designs possible And it would be one man to bring this combination together to create a concern of unrivaled accomplishment Read more Pentacon 500mm Review This lens a big gun I only owned it for a couple of weeks before I sold it Why Because its heavy 3 3 kg means impossible to use in hand Sample pictures are all taken by hand except one If you are ready to use a massive tripod all the time its probably a good choice but optical quality is far from that of other East German lenses I changed to a 500 mm Russian mirror lens mirror lens is small easy to carry and very sharp Ok bokeh is ugly but if your target fills the entire screen bokeh doesn t appear at all So

    Original URL path: http://www.mflenses.com/home/8-49.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Manual Focus Lenses
    t know about anything that I have almost all Meyer and Carl Zeiss Jena lenses and I tell you guys Meyer products same high quality lenses than Zeiss Read more Industar 50 2 50mm f 3 5 I guess this lens was one of the biggest pleasant surprise in my experience I bought this lens because was incredible cheap around 2 EUR on flymarket Seller told me this a Tessar clone I didn t believe it at all I can tell you this one of the best lens in my collection see how many I have in gallery Read more Pentacon Six P6 compatible lens list Pentacon Six lens compatible lens list Read more Carl Zeiss Jena Olympic Sonnar 300mm f 4 Lens Review I was shocked when I tested Carl Zeiss Jena Olympic Sonnar 180mm f 2 8 It has outstanding image quality so I tried to get more rare 300mm f 4 version I was disappointed after first test this is good lens but not comparable with 180mm Olympic Sonnar Read more Kiron lens list One of the legendary cult lens manufacturer KIRON yes Read more Carl Zeiss Jena Sonnar f2 8 180mm MC Lens Review Hands on

    Original URL path: http://www.mflenses.com/home/7-55.html (2016-02-16)
    Open archived version from archive



  •