archive-com.com » COM » M » MUSICCONNECTION.COM

Total: 459

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Book Preview: The Art of Noise - Music Connection Magazine
    process of songwriting through a collection of interviews with some of the world s greatest songwriters including Sting Lily Allen Jimmy Page Annie Lennox and Ray Davies As a musician himself Rachel brings a depth of understanding that allows him to coax complete truthfulness and thoroughness from the songwriters allowing for a frank and revealing glimpse into their respective styles and processes of songwriting The Art of Noise Daniel Rachel paperback 21 99 Tags annie lennox book preview book review book store daniel rachel Jimmy page lily allen music connection ray davies sting the art of noise Previous Story Executive Profile David Dufresne of Bandzoogle Next Story Wu Tang Clan Signs With Warner Bros Records 0 Shares Music Connection Published since 1977 Music Connection magazine is a monthly music trade publication catering to musicians industry pro s and support services Music Connection exists to serve artists and music people to offer connections to the unconnected and to provide exclusive information that can help our readers take their music to the next level Related articles Studio D Podcast Seeks Musicians To Interview Film TV News Opportunities November 22 2013 San Jose Civic Gets A New Name Music News December 6 2013 Def Jam Recordings Promotes Scott Maness toVP Rhythm Crossover Promotion Assignments Magazine December 26 2014 Our Sponsors Newsletter Signup Sign Up Friday Freebie Weekly Bulletin New Issue Partner Offers Founded in 1977 on the principle of bridging the gap between the street and the elite Music Connection has grown from a popular print publication into a spectrum of products and services that address the wants and needs of musicians the music tech community and industry support services Contact Us 3441 Ocean View Blvd Glendale CA 91208 818 995 0101 contactmc musicconnection com Latest Posts ArtistMax Paid Scholarship Freebie archive 4

    Original URL path: http://www.musicconnection.com/book-preview-art-noise/ (2016-05-01)
    Open archived version from archive


  • The 1975 at Club Nokia - Music Connection Magazine
    monochromatic motif for a pink one The 1975 have reinvented themselves while also staying familiar enough that they don t alienate their audience Compared to previous performances which always had a bit of darkness to them there is now a much more vibrant air around the band Whatever had been weighing them down now seems gone leaving a buoyancy that left the crowd excited They always had been to be quite honest but now it feels as if the band shares in that excitement Playing songs from their EPs and self titled along with five new tracks The 1975 showed definite growth over their live performance When not equipped with his guitar Healy danced along wine glass in one hand and cigarette in the other in a quintessential rockstar manner even if rockstar isn t necessarily the goal Saxophonist John Waugh adds a layer of complexity to the music that weaves wonderfully in and out of the instrumentation provided by George Daniel drums Adam Hann guitar and Ross MacDonald The standout moment came with the performance of new track The Sound in which Healy informed the crowd that they needed to dance to keep him from looking like a wanker The song had the whole room dancing and if any of the rest of the songs on I Like It When You Sleep have the same liveliness the upcoming shows in 2016 will be just another step into the new very colorful era of The 1975 Text and photos by Victoria Patneaude Disclaimer The words expressed in photo blog reviews do not necessarily reflect the opinions of Music Connection Magazine Tags For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware of It I Like It When You Sleep The 1975 Previous Story Music Connection s Top Prospects 2015 Next Story Performing

    Original URL path: http://www.musicconnection.com/the-1975-at-club-nokia/ (2016-05-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Annual Feature - Today's Prominent Guitarists and Bassists
    m using live and are some of the best I ve ever played in my life Do you modify your gear I work with a guy right here in Tampa named Mike Vans Evers He wired the entire studio where I do most of my recording Mike does strange things to my guitars He makes them sound better like taking the back plate off the guitar and having me play it acoustically It sounded much better immediately What kind of amplification are you using I use VVT Pre Amps They are actually copies of a Dumble Overdrive Special amplifier So I can take that pre amp and plug it into any power amp that can become pretty close to sounding like a Dumble So I use a Marshall JCM 100 amp for a little less gain and also use the VVT and plug that into a small Fender Blues Deville or something like that And I use that for the massive amount of overdrive that I love The combination of the two is what I m always using on stage What strings are you using now I use DR Tight Fit strings tuned down to B 10 through 52 What kind of outboard gear are you using I have a pedal board with only two controls on it It has the Klon overdrive the older one that people love And then I plug that into an El Capistan echo pedal And then there is a stereo out so I can run one of those outputs to that Marshall amp and one of those outputs to that Dumble ized Fender amp I have a little bit of old sounding tape type echo that is set so it warbles a little bit It gives the sound a really nice effect How have you become better at your craft Just playing and listening to other great musicians I m listening to Lenny Breau and Chet Atkins right now on a duets album What are your impressions when you hear your old recordings My objective is I wanna like the things I ve done As a producer sometimes I ve thought I could have done this or that better But the idea I guess is to try and put things into perspective and try to get better How to excel as a sessioneer sideman You wanna play for results and you want people to really like what you re doing For instance I played on the demos that got Donald Fagen his record deal with Steely Dan But whether it s Steely Dan or KISS you just try to do the best you can If your style or personality leaks through all the better But actually when you re playing with all these different people it s really about not having such a distinctive style It s about just playing what they wanna hear 1 2 3 4 5 Tags Adam Hann August Burns Red bassists guitarists J B Brubaker J D Simo Jennifer

    Original URL path: http://www.musicconnection.com/prominent-guitarist-bassists-2016/3/ (2016-05-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Annual Feature - Today's Prominent Guitarists and Bassists
    fly with as many guitars You just step on this pedal a half step up or down and it s great And it s so much easier to avoid having to carry all these extra instruments in different tunings What strides have you made to become a better player At this point in my career I would say that my goals are more in becoming a better songwriter than in musicianship And I find myself in my free time trying to write and compose stuff versus working on technique or my chops I guess I would rather be creative than be mechanical How has your sound personally and as a band evolved over time As we ve gotten older we ve expanded ourselves sonically When we started we wanted to be as heavy as possible We wanted to be technical and I think it was more about writing riffs than writing songs At this point writing a song is much better than writing a bunch of cool parts And while we are still a heavy band we re not trying to be the heaviest band in the world anymore Live lowlight When we were just starting out we were playing a show at a roller skating rink in eastern Pennsylvania It was a floor show and there were a bunch of kids surrounding the band And I was playing through a Peavey 5150 with a half stack where the amp head was just sitting on top of the cabinet So we re getting ready to go into this big breakdown in the song And I was jumping up and down and kinda lost my balance and stumbled backwards into my half stack and my amp I knocked it over and spun around and tried to catch it But this thing s heavy and it pulled me down with my amp head crashing to the floor See More August Burns Red at Regency Ballroom in San Francisco Live highlight We played a show in Nuremberg Germany in 2011 at the Rock Am Ring festival And we played at 10 p m on the small stage This is an enormous festival where there s 80 000 people watching the main stage Even on the small stage it still felt like such a massive show Practice regimen or warm up Before each show I like to play for about half an hour I have a small practice amp called a Roland Micro Cube that I use It s battery powered about a foot tall and I can take it anywhere Advice for guitar players I feel songwriting is something that needs to be practiced much like your instrument People often take a lot of time to practice other people s songs and I think that s really helpful in broadening your skills as a player But I think it s important to not get frustrated if you re trying to write songs for the first time Don t get too down on yourself

    Original URL path: http://www.musicconnection.com/prominent-guitarist-bassists-2016/4/ (2016-05-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Annual Feature - Today's Prominent Guitarists and Bassists
    listening to jazz which is what I listen to now more than anything I love tenor sax players like Coltrane Yusef Lateef and then others like Miles Ornette Coleman Wayne Shorter and Cannonball Adderley I like some classical music too It s pretty endless for me Your top gear It changes all the time but I ve got a 1962 335 that actually Gibson is coming out with a signature model of this summer I have a prototype of it and have been loving it a lot on our current tour And I ve got a 1960 Les Paul Standard that s been on loan to me for years from a collector friend of mine I ve got a 1959 Fender Stratocaster that I play occasionally I ve also got an old 1962 Gibson Dove acoustic that I play sometimes For amplifiers I ve got several old late 60s Marshalls I don t use pedals except a wah wah on occasion And for strings D Addario has always been good to me I like their 91 2 gauge They sound better than the 10 s especially on a Gibson They re a little less muddy I think How have you become better at your craft I adhere to the principle that you have to play There s nothing that can take the place of hours on a bandstand And that s regardless of if there s one drunk guy out there sitting at the bar or thousands of people out there All of my heroes who I think are amazing got that way it s the 10 000 hours thing What we do in our group is purely improvisational That to me at its best is when you have years and years of incredible discipline And then you rely on that to be free And that to me is the goal of what I ve tried to attain every night Live performance highlights lowlights Last year we opened up a string of shows for Gregg Allman That first time playing the Ryman Auditorium which is one of the most revered venues in the world but I walked by that venue a couple thousand times walking to Robert s I always dreamed of playing in that building And to be finally playing in that building playing my own music in front of a hero of mine was a big moment for me for sure And then conversely I was 16 years old at the time and was on the road with this pickup band And we were playing a stretch of shows at this bar in Provo Utah I always ran into problems for being underage but I could usually talk my way out of it I would always assure the venue that I was just there to play music and I wouldn t drink or endanger their liquor license And this bar manager was having none of it So her solution was to put me outside on the patio But

    Original URL path: http://www.musicconnection.com/prominent-guitarist-bassists-2016/5/ (2016-05-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Adam Hann Archives - Music Connection Magazine
    New Music Critiques Live Reviews Album Reviews New Gear Reviews Book Review Industry Contacts Home Posts Tagged Adam Hann Tag Adam Hann Content Slide Latest Magazine More Industry News Music Industry Tips March 28 2016 by Eric Harabadian Guitarist Bass Jam 2016 Welcome to our annual feature where we bring you a diverse cross section of prominent guitarists and bassists in the music industry And at the Read More Our Sponsors Newsletter Signup Sign Up Friday Freebie Weekly Bulletin New Issue Partner Offers Founded in 1977 on the principle of bridging the gap between the street and the elite Music Connection has grown from a popular print publication into a spectrum of products and services that address the wants and needs of musicians the music tech community and industry support services Contact Us 3441 Ocean View Blvd Glendale CA 91208 818 995 0101 contactmc musicconnection com Latest Posts ArtistMax Paid Scholarship Freebie archive 4 22 16 Friday Freebie Archive April 29 2016 KONGOS and The Strumbellas to Co Headline at Music Biz 2016 Latest More Industry News April 29 2016 Signing Story MAKUTA Latest Magazine Music News Signing Stories April 29 2016 Music Gear Review EastWest Solo Instruments Latest Magazine

    Original URL path: http://www.musicconnection.com/tag/adam-hann/ (2016-05-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • August Burns Red Archives - Music Connection Magazine
    where we bring you a diverse cross section of prominent guitarists and bassists in the music industry And at the Read More Photo Blog Show Reviews Reviews March 24 2016 by Andy Mesecher August Burns Red Between the Buried and Me at Regency Ballroom San Francisco Metalcore veterans August Burns Red are currently on a co headlining tour with Prog metal quintet Between the Buried and Me BTBAM The tour stopped at Read More Photo Blog Show Reviews Reviews March 22 2016 by Victoria Patneaude Self Help Fest in San Bernardino This year marked the third year for the west coast Self Help Fest and the fourth one overall The brainchild of A Day to Remember Read More CD Reviews Magazine Reviews August 12 2015 by Regina Zernay Album Review August Burns Red Found In Far Away Places 9 10 August Burns Red have built a faithful metalcore following with a relentless tour regimen and by releasing a full length every two years On this their Read More Album Reviews Magazine Reviews August 5 2015 by Andy Mesecher Album Review August Burns Red Found In Far Away Places 9 10 August Burns Red have built a faithful metalcore following with a relentless tour regimen and by releasing a full length every two years On this their Read More Our Sponsors Newsletter Signup Sign Up Friday Freebie Weekly Bulletin New Issue Partner Offers Founded in 1977 on the principle of bridging the gap between the street and the elite Music Connection has grown from a popular print publication into a spectrum of products and services that address the wants and needs of musicians the music tech community and industry support services Contact Us 3441 Ocean View Blvd Glendale CA 91208 818 995 0101 contactmc musicconnection com Latest Posts ArtistMax Paid Scholarship

    Original URL path: http://www.musicconnection.com/tag/august-burns-red/ (2016-05-01)
    Open archived version from archive

  • bassists Archives - Music Connection Magazine
    Reviewed New Music Critiques Live Reviews Album Reviews New Gear Reviews Book Review Industry Contacts Home Posts Tagged bassists Tag bassists Content Slide Latest Magazine More Industry News Music Industry Tips March 28 2016 by Eric Harabadian Guitarist Bass Jam 2016 Welcome to our annual feature where we bring you a diverse cross section of prominent guitarists and bassists in the music industry And at the Read More Our Sponsors Newsletter Signup Sign Up Friday Freebie Weekly Bulletin New Issue Partner Offers Founded in 1977 on the principle of bridging the gap between the street and the elite Music Connection has grown from a popular print publication into a spectrum of products and services that address the wants and needs of musicians the music tech community and industry support services Contact Us 3441 Ocean View Blvd Glendale CA 91208 818 995 0101 contactmc musicconnection com Latest Posts ArtistMax Paid Scholarship Freebie archive 4 22 16 Friday Freebie Archive April 29 2016 KONGOS and The Strumbellas to Co Headline at Music Biz 2016 Latest More Industry News April 29 2016 Signing Story MAKUTA Latest Magazine Music News Signing Stories April 29 2016 Music Gear Review EastWest Solo Instruments Latest Magazine New

    Original URL path: http://www.musicconnection.com/tag/bassists/ (2016-05-01)
    Open archived version from archive



  •