archive-com.com » COM » M » MYITCHYTRAVELFEET.COM

Total: 467

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • American Safari Alaska Cruise Review
    up close and personal experience that few cruise lines can offer We loved the intimate setting onboard and the incredible excursions offers by the cruise line Read all about our experience to see if this brand of small ship cruising is for you American Safari Cruises Intimate Alaska When we were invited on the American Safari Cruises ship Quest we couldn t have imagined what an amazing time we were in for To read about our amazing experience click on American Safari Cruises Intimate Alaska Cruise Adventure with InnerSea Discoveries The InnerSea Discoveries cruise in Alaska s Inside Passage offers an exciting mix of hiking kayaking wildlife viewing and photographic opportunities Read all about our experience by clicking on Cruise Adventure with InnerSea Discoveries Behind the Scenes at InnerSea Discoveries Before we walked up the Safari Quest gangplank in Juneau InnerSea Discoveries invited us to a behind the scenes tour in Seattle to view the refurbishment of the Wilderness Discoverer Click on Behind the Scenes at InnerSea Discoveries to read about the experience Hiking on a Cruise to Alaska Hiking and cruising aren t two activities that normally go together but anything goes on an Innersea Discovery excursion Click on Hiking on a Cruise to Alaska to read more about our adventure Walking on a Glacier We have had our fair share of glacier encounters but hiking on Alaska s Baird Glacier was a fascinating experience Click on Walking on a Glacier to read more about the experience Floating With Icebergs in LeConte Bay It s almost impossible to describe the scene as our skiff motored in and out of a maze of icebergs on our cruise excursion Click on Floating With Icebergs in LeConte Bay to read more about the experience American Safari Alaska Photos Would you like to

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/american-safari-alaska-cruise-2/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Royal Princess Cruise from Venice to Istanbul
    a bad one If you re a long time reader then you know my preference for small ship cruising When Princess Cruises invited me to experience the Royal Princess from Venice to Istanbul I thought it was only fair to learn about large ship cruising How did I like it Read about my experiences to find out Cruising on Royal Princess Although I m a much bigger fan of small luxury cruise ships I decided to give the large scale Royal Princess a try What did I think about the experience Read my complete review by clicking on Cruising on Royal Princess Royal Princess Cruise Itinerary One of the best things about cruising is the many activities offered onboard and the Royal Princess certainly didn t disappoint Check out my itinerary by clicking on Royal Princess Cruise Itinerary Exploring Ephesus I really think that Ephesus is one of the best antiquities sites I ve ever explored Read why by clicking on Exploring Ephesus on a Royal Princess Cruise Excursion Saturday s Scene Leaving Venice Although it s controversial sailing through Venice s Grand Canal definitely leaves a lasting travel impression Read my thoughts by clicking on Saturday s Scene Leaving Venice Saturday s Scene Looking up in Istanbul Istanbul has to be the most visually striking city on the earth And of course the beautiful ceilings of the mosques are simply breathtaking Click on Saturday s Scene Looking up in Istanbul to learn more Saturday s Scene Cultures Collide in Istanbul The Hagia Sophia is one of Istanbul s many gems Walking inside this historic building is like walking back through centuries of history Read more about my experience by clicking on Saturday s Scene Cultures Collide in Istanbul Saturday s scene Going to the Library Visiting Ephesus is a

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/royal-princess-cruise/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Seven Off-the-Beaten-Path National Parks to Avoid the Crowds
    s what you ll do at Canyon de Chelly National Monument near Chinle Arizona This national monument is on Navajo land so a local guide is required Driving in and out of Chinle Wash is part of the fun Alan and I explored Canyon de Chelly on a four wheel drive adventure Walk the path to discover Western graffiti at the base of El Morro s limestone cliff Discover Western Graffiti at El Morro Alan and I discovered the graffiti covered limestone cliffs of El Morro National Monument on a New Mexico Backroads Weekend Adventure It s a fascinating look at history that travels all the way back to prehistoric times Read more History s Written in Stone at El Morro This red sandstone trail leads to the cooling waters of Lower Calf Creek Falls Explore Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument Grand Staircase Escalante is situated between Bryce and Capitol Reef national parks Although the area in southern Utah is becoming better known it s vast enough to still feel uncrowded Hike to a waterfall explore slot canyons or challenge your four wheel driving abilities it s your choice Alan and I enjoyed Hiking to Lower Calf Creek Falls Hiking through the stone formations at Chiricahua National Monument Walk With Stone Soldiers at Chiricahua National Monument Here s another Arizona canyon meant for exploring from the inside out Hiking down through the rhyolite formations at Chiricahua National Monument is like walking with a troop of stone soldiers The Apache s called it Land of Standing Up Rocks I call it hiking fun Read more Traveling Off the Beaten Path in the Chiricahuas The North Rim of the Grand Canyon offers a less crowded travel experience Escape to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon A huge tourism draw in Arizona Grand Canyon National Park certainly isn t off the beaten path But a less touristy experience is available on the North Rim It takes time and effort to reach our favorite side of the Grand Canyon but the journey s worth it We explain in North Rim The Grand Canyon s Other Side One of many natural bridges that you can explore at Natural Bridges National Monument Look to the Sky at Natural Bridges Whether you explore by the stars in the first official Dark Skies park or hike through the stone bridges during the day Natural Bridges National Monument offers an uncrowded alternative to Arches National Park just up the road Located in southern Utah near Bluff a visit is easily combined with a trip to Monument Valley I write about our adventure in Fighting a Fear of Heights at Natural Bridges National Monument The view s impressive on the North Rim of Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park Visit the North Rim of Black Canyon of the Gunnison This Colorado canyon offers dramatic views from its edge Already considered an off the beaten path national park turn your trip up a notch by visiting the North Rim

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2016/04/09/off-the-beaten-path-national-parks/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Glacier National Park
    National Park Glacier National Park Hiking Tour For anyone who s a bit wary of solo hiking group tours can be a great way to explore an area safely Expert guides really add to the experience by related historic tales of the local area Read more about our experience by clicking on Glacier National Park Hiking Tour Hiking Avalanche Lake Trail One of Glacier National Park s most popular trails the hike to Avalanche Lake is a moderately easy trail through old growth forest with the reward of a glacial fed lake at the turn around point Read more about our experience by clicking on Hiking Avalanche Lake Trail Road Scholar Hike to Hidden Lake Overlook in Glacier National Park Are you planning a visit to Glacier National Park Don t forget to the Hidden Lake Overlook for some gorgeous views Read more about our experience by clicking on Road Scholar Hike to Hidden Lake Overlook in Glacier National Park Discovering the other side of Glacier National Park Glacier National Park has a lot to offer hikers of all ages and levels but for those interested in truly going down the road less traveled there is a hidden side to this beautiful area Read more about our experience by clicking on Discovering the other side of Glacier National Park Hiking to Bullhead Lake with Road Scholar Bullhead Lake in Glacier National Park was one of the most beautiful natural sites we ve seen in our travels Read more about our experience by clicking on Hiking to Bullhead Lake with Road Scholar Moose Sighting on our Road Scholar hike in Glacier National Park One of the best things about exploring our National Parks is the wildlife Take a look at the majestic moose we saw on our hike Read more about

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/glacier-national-park/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Hiking Tips for Big Bend National Park
    time enough to hike at least two trails Santa Elena Canyon Trail We arrive late in the day from the west so we choose Santa Elena Canyon Trail a short relatively easy trail and one of the prettiest on the west side of the park The south wall of Santa Elena Canyon is in Mexico the north wall is in the United States Between the walls is the Rio Grande Santa Elena Canyon Manmade steps take us part way up the north canyon wall From there a well traveled path continues west into the canyon The trail is narrow and rocky in places but easy enough as it gradually heads back down to the river s edge We stop often to take in the beauty around us cacti sprouting improbably through crevices canyon walls etched in sharp relief against the sky and reflected in the river below When we reach the river s edge we rest and listen to the canyon before retracing our steps The 1 7 mile round trip has taken about two hours As we walk to the car we turn and look back The setting sun casts its golden light on the south canyon wall Window Trail We get an earlier start on day two Desert gives way to mountain forest as we drive the thirty three miles from Terlingua toward Chisos Mountain Lodge Window Trail is our choice today We find the trailhead at the Chisos Basin Campground just below the lodge We pace ourselves going down to the Window knowing that the return trip is 2 2 uphill miles The view changes at each turn The flora changes as the elevation changes Eventually the plant life all but gives up and we are surrounded by jagged rock faces and rock paths worn smooth by

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2013/04/23/big-bend-national-park-hiking-adventure/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Two Off the Beaten Path New Mexican Treasures
    The second is that the site contains the state s longest elevator shaft The shaft is 750 feet one way about the height of a 75 story building Construction crews worked nearly eight months and used 12 tons of dynamite to blast it out of solid rock in 1931 And the elevator they installed back then is still in use today taking visitors up and down at the rate of nine miles per hour The more adventuresome can take the Natural Entrance Route which is longer in both time required and distance traveled It s a one mile hike that traces the initial explorers routes Regardless of which method is used to get there once there visitors will find themselves in an eerie landscape populated by strange formations that pop up from the eroded floors and hang from the ghostly ceilings The spectacular cave decorations naturally formed over millions of years by dripping water are called stalagmites and stalactites And here s an easy way to remember which is which Stalactites the shapes that hang down from above are spelled with a c which stands for ceiling And stalagmites which rise from below are spelled with a g which stands for ground Once that s settled guests can either go it alone or take a guided tour Both methods cover about a mile along paved pathways and gentle slopes that go up and down as much as 80 feet before reaching the end Because most of the formations are well lit by strategically placed floodlights camera toters don t have to use flash However those who insist they need more light won t be cautioned by rangers because they ll say the columns and pillars have been there so long that flashes aren t going to damage them But sometimes the rules change so it s best to ask before blasting The caverns are about 25 miles southwest of Carlsbad along U S Highway 62 180 For hours and information contact the park at 505 785 2232 or www nps gov cave For those people who like me have experienced winter in snow country driving through White Sands National Monument can bring up some chilly memories because it s a landscape covered with white and that is very reminiscent of January in places like North Dakota Saskatchewan and Maine The ground is white the hills are white all the vegetation is covered with white and there are kids sliding down white slopes But it s not snow It s gypsum The monument sits in the Tularosa Basin the world s largest gypsum dune field engulfing 275 square miles of the Chihuahuan Desert The mineral was deposited at the bottom of a shallow sea that covered the area about 250 million years ago Gypsum a hydrous form of calcium sulfate is rarely found in the form of sand because it is water soluble But although rain and snow from the surrounding mountains dissolve the gypsum there are no waterways to drain

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2015/03/03/new-mexican-travel/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Visit the Grand Canyon's other side
    to its isolated location park lodging books up quickly more than a year in advance Accommodations are basic log cabins with no telephones television and very limited cell service When Alan and I visited we were lucky enough to arrange a last minute booking in one of the Frontier cabins that included one double bed and one single bed with little space left over Of course if we were campers we could have stayed in the campground if a reservation had been available no hook ups But who cares about luxury lodging with a Grand Canyon view steps from the cabin We walked the short path to Bright Angel Point to catch the sunrise before chowing down on an asparagus omelet in the dining room of the Grand Canyon Lodge Designated a National Historic Landmark the stone and timber building appears to melt into the environment In the late afternoon we sat on the lodge s veranda overlooking the canyon waiting for a sunset show as the wind rustled through the trees to the click click click of camera shutters Angels Window We enjoyed the 15 mile drive along Cape Royal Rd that ended at Cape Royal Numerous stops along the way offered chances to get out of the car and walk to scenic overlooks Hiking enthusiasts of all levels have plenty of options for hiking the North Rim or choose from a variety of mule ride excursions Die hard adventurers can hike from rim to rim on multi day excursions The North Rim is open from May to October Besides the Grand Canyon Lodge food is also available at Deli in the Pines and Camper Store Once winter weather settles in the North Rim is closed although hikers cross country skiers and snowshoers with a backcountry permit may use

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2009/03/12/taking-in-the-view-from-the-grand-canyons-other-side/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Tips for driving to Cape Royal on the Grand Canyon's North Rim
    fir and quaking aspen In autumn the golden leaves of aspen trees shimmer when the wind blows through the forest adding to the already spectacular scene This is a road for savoring so spend a full day driving taking short walks on the trails and stopping at the many viewpoints Walhalla Overlook At Walhalla Overlook you ll see the Colorado River far below as it twists and turns through the Grand Canyon Angels Window Alan took this photo of Angel s Window while on a photography workshop I think he was practicing with filters which explains the golden glow Do you see the guardrails and silhouettes of visitors walking on top It s a good place to stretch your legs on a long day of scenic driving Vishnu Temple Spend time at the Cape Royal Overlook admiring Vishnu Temple The road ends here so before you turn around and head back to the Grand Canyon Lodge walk the trail to Angel s Window and Cape Royal You ll be glad that you did If you re looking to visit the Grand Canyon soon I d highly recommend using a Michelin guide to help you discover all that this beautiful national park has to offer For instance Michelin Must Sees Grand Canyon Arizona covers highlights of not only the Grand Canyon but also other Arizona must sees like the beautiful saguaro desert near Tucson my home for 11 years This handy Michelin Guide includes detailed maps hotel and restaurant recommendations and a must see star rating system The small pocket size makes it easy to bring with you Have you had the pleasure of seeing the Grand Canyon s North Rim Come join the conversation at the My Itchy Travel Feet page on Facebook Or send us an email with your

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2013/10/17/cape-royal/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •