archive-com.com » COM » M » MYITCHYTRAVELFEET.COM

Total: 467

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Review of Kuru Shoes
    made the shoes especially easy to pack Although my Kuru shoes felt light as a feather on my feet they provided the sturdiness that I needed when I hiked on Kodiak Island in Alaska I liked the way the soles gripped the slippery surface at Nalychevo Nature Park on Russia s Kamchatka Peninsula And in rainy Juneau the water beaded up on the surface of my Kurus proving their water resistance No wet feet for me on a rainy day in Juneau Alaska What makes Kuru shoes different from their competitors According to the Kuru website Kuru shoes are designed with an ergonomic and anatomically correct active midsole The patent pending technology custom molds to your feet providing orthotic quality support The thermoplastic HeelKradl orthotic keeps the fat pad where nature intended under the heel bone and reinforced to support the arch What do other hikers and travelers think about Kuru shoes Check out these reviews SectionHiker com The Adventure Blog Mom Most Traveled Gear Diary Resting with my Kurus near a smoking volcano in Russia Would you like to win a pair of Kurus Post a comment after this post telling me where you would hike in your Kurus for a chance to win a pair of Slipstream Draft or Rapid models of Kuru shoes Please include your email for contact purposes Contest ends on Thursday November 12 2009 at 11 00 p m Arizona Mountain Standard Time Winner will be announced as soon as possible after Monday November 16 2009 Remember according to my general contest rules the winner must be a U S resident and respond within 48 hours of receiving the notification email or I chose another winner Disclosure Kuru Footwear provided a pair of shoes for me to try however they did not pay me

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2009/11/05/traveling-in-my-kuru-shoes/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Boomer travel news from AZ Voices Network and My Itchy Travel Feet
    while Alan takes most of the photos like the photo above of Landscape Arch We provide a first hand look at destinations and activities so that you can decide where to put them on your travel list Hiking on Baird Glacier in southeastern Alaska We want to see it all Where do we go Everywhere Our eclectic travel tastes have led to both domestic and international adventures Our boomer trips range from independent explorations think road trips to small group tours like the time we explored the Canadian Rockies with Tauck Since Tucson has been our home for the last 11 years we re partial to the southwestern U S so expect lots of ideas for Arizona day trips or long weekends We recently lost our hearts to small town living in Montana which will become our primary headquarters in March 2012 Our travel feet are itching to explore Big Sky Country In addition to land trips we haven t met a small ship or luxury cruise that we didn t like With almost 300 nights on the sea we know cruising Alan learns to drive a stagecoach in Paso Robles We ll try anything once Well almost Don t worry we re not going to encourage baby boomers to climb Mt Everest although kudos to you if that s your goal Want to know what it s like to go 4 wheeling on the Alpine Loop in Colorado s San Juan Mountains We ve been there and done that Would you like to swim with the rays in a South Pacific lagoon That s one of our favorites How about riding high in a hot air balloon over the red rock formations near Bluff Utah Don t tell anyone but there s an initiation involved for first timers Have you hiked to Mystic Lake in the Absaroka Beartooth Wilderness of Montana Can you keep a secret You don t have to finish the hike Breakfast on the cruise ship balcony We like our comfort Raising my hand here I m the travel princess no camping for me After all boomers have earned a little comfort right But rough and tumble Alan is happy to dry camp in the back of our SUV like he did on a photo shoot at Toroweap Our lodging preferences tend toward boutique hotels or bed and breakfasts although we re open minded enough to enjoy an all inclusive resort or a roadside motel We ll share dining discoveries with you including a recipe or two And just in case our lodging and dining reviews aren t budget minded enough for your pocketbook do what Vera Marie Baderstcher of A Traveler s Library does Although I can t really afford the luxury trips sometimes covered its fun to dream and I can still get good ideas for more economical versions of the same trip So grab a cup of coffee and settle down for a good read Every Tuesday Thursday and Saturday and sometimes more

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2012/01/16/az-central-voices-announcement/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Tips for Visiting the Tucson Gem Show
    A table full of handmade baskets at the Tucson Gem Show What did we discover as we neared I 10 and 22nd street The African Art Village a tent city filled with handmade items from Africa and around the world My friend and I browsed to the beat of drums and the hunger inducing scent of meat grilling at a nearby food stand Tables filled with colorful baskets competed with art masks and strings of handmade beads for our attention Embroidered wall hangings hung next to tie dyed t shirts And the sounds of foreign languages made us feel as if we were traveling on another continent instead of walking in a field next to the interstate in Tucson Parking is available south of 22nd Street but then you d miss all of the shows on hotel row not to mention the exercise As my friend and I made our way back to the car we bopped in and out of the tents and hotel rooms looking for last day bargains Jewelry items ranged from inexpensive costume pieces to the real thing with a price tag to match And then there were the tents filled with geodes fossils and meteorites I came home with a mother of pearl bracelet by Hawaiian jewelry maker Marta Howell and two sets of Egyptian cotton sheets Sheets Like I said the Tucson Gem Show as the locals call it is an eclectic affair Amethyst geodes at the Tucson Gem Show Tips for Visiting the Tucson Gem Show The Tucson Gem Show is actually more than 40 separate shows so you ll need a plan of action Here s a calendar listing of the show dates and another list with show names operation hours and address It s best to concentrate on one area of town per day of your visit The Tucson Gem and Mineral Show TM is held in the Tucson Convention Center on the second weekend of February Your 10 admission ticket adults includes access to the retail show in the exhibit hall Book lodging ahead of time Accommodations fill up early Expect to pay a premium rate The Tucson Visitor s Center offers a transportation guide including shuttle information and parking lot locations although the lot that we used on Grant Rd is not listed Most of the shows are free and open to the public but you ll need a business license taxpayer ID and business card to enter the wholesale only shows A few of the wholesale shows also require proof that you are in the jewelry or lapidary trade Wear casual clothes and comfortable shoes you ll be walking miles Don t forget the sunscreen some of the shows are outside The Tucson sun is strong Bring a canvas shopping bag to carry purchases Tuck bottled water in that canvas bag you re going to get thirsty Including a snack bar or two will help those hunger pains on long shopping days however you ll find food vendors

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2012/01/19/boomer-travel-tips-tucson-gem-show/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Riding the rails in Norway on a cruise excursion gone wrong
    on the way But on our too long visit to the Folkemuseum passengers began to sense that something was wrong Rainy Flam During lunch at the Park Hotel in Voss we learned the bad news Our train ride back to the ship was delayed by two and a half hours Why The much larger Costa ship in port with our ship at Flam had taken all of the earlier train tickets We had no choice but to walk the streets of Voss in the rain or wait it out in the Park Hotel lobby By the time we boarded the train to Myrdal passengers were wet and grouchy At Myrdal we huddled under the station eaves as the rain poured before boarding the famous Flam Railway Once on board a narrative announced over the loudspeaker explained what we couldn t see due to clouds and rain At a scenic stop we dutifully tromped off the car to a viewing platform for a waterfall photo opp that wasn t Arriving in Flam passengers rushed back to the ship for a very late dinner Our 6 hour jaunt had turned into a 10 hour ordeal Flam Railway Station The next morning we received a substantial credit for the botched excursion The moral of my story A service oriented cruise line takes responsibility when things go wrong Regent did right by us Next time we ll stay on the ship for the cruise up the dramatic fjord from Gudvangen to Flam Then we ll take one of the hiking excursions that ends with a ride back to the ship on the Flam Railway This time we d like a little sunshine please Have you experienced a Norway cruise excursion gone wrong Did your cruise line make it right Join the conversation at the

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2009/02/19/riding-rails-norway-cruise-excursion-baby-boomergone-wrong/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Paragliding Adventure in San Diego, California
    great relief and utter amazement you realize you re flying While these tandem paragliding flights may seem like something only a daredevil 20 something could love they re actually an ideal baby boomer adventure That s because the effort to exhilaration ratio is squarely in your favor if you can sign the lengthy liability waver and walk to your mailbox and back you can discover an experience that s the closest you ll ever come to flying like a bird While there s no shortage of places to try what has to be the most low tech form of flight ever invented baby boomer travelers will have a hard time topping this city owned facility known as Torrey Pines Gliderport Located atop steep corrugated bluffs a half hour north of downtown San Diego the steady winds off the ocean hit the cliffs here and are forced up to create what s known as ridge lift an ideal soaring condition that makes this one of the world s best places to experience the sport of paragliding Though there s some undeniable risk the experience actually isn t half as intimidating as it might seem In fact once your feet leave the ground it s not uncommon to have those feelings of apprehension replaced by a sense of unbridled joy as you float above these rugged cliffs and deserted beaches If you need additional reassurance keep reminding yourself that being securely connected to what amounts to a modified parachute makes this one of the safest forms of recreational aviation around Before long you ll return to the Gliderport s expansive lawn for a gentle stand up landing Though you re bound to feel like this once in a lifetime adventure is over much too soon you can take comfort in knowing you

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2010/03/02/paragliding-san-diego-torre-pines/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Announcing the Winner of the Berlitz Complete Guide to Cruising contest.
    Pacific South America South Atlantic South Pacific Boomer Travel Gear Newsletter Contact Us Return to Content And the Winner of the Berlitz Complete Guide to Cruising is By Donna Hull on 2010 03 05 in Reviews Congratulations to Bill Jenkins of Concord NH He is the winner of the Berlitz Complete Guide to Cruising and Cruise Ships 2010 Bill I hope you ll post a comment to tell us how the Berlitz book helped you plan a cruise Thanks to all who entered You may also like to read News for the Week Bracelets That Look Good and Give Back News for the Week Saving My Back With a Delsey Quilted Rolling UnderSeat Tote News for the Week About Donna Hull A boomer travel and lifestyle authority who is exploring the world one activity at a time Besides writing and publishing My Itchy Travel Feet she is also the author of New Mexico Backroads Weekend Adventure and Coloring the West An Adult Coloring Book for Travelers View all posts by Donna Hull Nine Tips for Surviving a Cruise Bus Excursion Saturday s scene Entering the Panama Canal New Mexico Backroads Weekend Adventure Scratch Those Itchy Travel Feet Boomer travelers rely

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2010/03/05/and-the-winner-of-the-berlitz-complete-guide-to-cruising-is/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Top Five Apps for Cruise Travel
    your upcoming trip on the high seas Cruise travel apps offer a world of information perfect for pre cruise planning or to use once afloat To find the best resources for your next cruise check out our list of recommended cruise apps below 1 Ship Mate App is often hailed as the number one app for cruisers and for good reason This app has all you ll need to plan an amazing time on board and off Organize your cruise itinerary daily excursions deck maps and you can even reach out to fellow shipmates through their Roll Call function Available for free on iTunes and Android 2 Deck Director app is for those cruisers with absolutely no sense of direction Containing detailed maps of deck plans from all the ships in a variety of fleets you ll never be late for those awkward group dinners again Available for 4 99 on iTunes 3 Cruise Card Control app is a very useful app for keeping track of expenses while cruising The Cruise Card Control app lets you create expense categories double check bills for accuracy and cost compare with past cruises Available on iTunes for 0 99 4 Cruise Cam app lets you virtually connect to daily cruise life through various webcams installed on nearly 100 ships on a variety of different cruise lines Additionally the app gives you access to more than 150 port cams from around the world Available for 1 99 on iTunes 5 SeaSickness app lets cruisers overcome the dreaded sea sickness while onboard The health app lets ill cruisers use the touch motion sensor to display a virtual shoreline or horizon which is thought to cure sea sickness There are different shoreline themes and users can switch from day view to night view Available on iTunes

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2014/08/05/cruise-travel/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Tips for Visiting the Great Wall of China. Beware! It's Steep!
    our Beijing accommodations at the Regent Beijing Hotel for a two night stay Later Jane Yeo our private guide in Beijing told us that we had visited one of the more popular gates of the Great Wall probably to accommodate tour bus parking plus provide restroom and snack facilities for a large number of people I can t emphasize enough how steep and deep these stairs are The reason Soldiers on horseback once traveled along the wall Let me show you what I mean A handrail attached to the wall provides some security for modern day walkers I joined a long line of tourists holding onto the rail Progression up the stairs was slow depending on who was in front of me My physical ability wasn t in question it was the fear of heights that slowed me down Faster walkers who obviously didn t mind the steepness pushed on around us Going up really wasn t that bad just slow going due to the crowds It was coming down the stairs that cut my visit short When I turned around to see where I had climbed from the downhill view caught my breath That was the end of my Great Wall adventure On trembling knees and despite the security of the handrail I began a slow descent Other visitors who had made it to the top were joyously running down the stairs scary to those of us who struggled with the wall s steepness Teens and young children jostled by A careless step or trip from someone behind me and I would have plunged down those hard stone stairs to an accident that I didn t care to experience If I had been the only one hiking up the wall I could have managed to climb longer with a very slow return down A walking stick would have helped But the crowded conditions were no match for this acrophobic boomer All dressed up for his birthday at the Great Wall of China Despite the disappointment in climbing the wall my time wasn t wasted Observing the locals was one of the positive experiences of this visit to China s Great Wall I watched as Chinese families introduced children to their heritage One family rented a costume for a son who was celebrating his birthday And of course the obligatory souvenir shops caught my attention A smoggy haze prevented eye popping photographs but Alan and I tried anyway Would I visit the Great Wall again You bet But I ll be prepared next time with a walking stick and an awareness of just how steep the Great Wall really is We recommend visiting the Great Wall with a private guide Be sure to confirm that your visit will be at a less crowded area of the wall More tips for a Great Wall visit At OttsWorld com travel blogger Sherry Ott hiked the Jinshaling and Simatai sections with her father who obviously managed the steepness better than I did Kat

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2010/03/18/disappointment-great-wall-of-china/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •