archive-com.com » COM » M » MYITCHYTRAVELFEET.COM

Total: 467

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Review of The Luggage Club shipping service
    button near the top walks you through the process I simply needed to supply the shipping address for the ship provided by my travel agent Since I was shipping to an international address The Luggage Club also needed a copy of my passport and trip itinerary for preparing customs forms Later I supplied a packing list of all items in the luggage to complete the process I called a toll free number when I had any questions Wesley Austin Nash International Sales Rep was especially helpful in assisting me through the process A couple of days before luggage pickup I received packing labels with detailed instructions on where to place the documentation A delivery service picked up our luggage on the correct date for 6 day economy shipping to Vancouver Within two days the shipping agent called Our bags had arrived but he needed to know which ship to put them on Somewhere during the process that information wasn t recorded on the papers It turned out not to be a problem Next time I ll do my part by double checking to make sure the ship s name is listed Besides the convenience and security of shipping our luggage I enjoyed the added bonus of being prepared almost a week ahead of our departure Alan and I left home relaxed and ready for a fun trip We breezed through the airport without schlepping large bags In Vancouver we didn t have to worry about our luggage appearing on the carousel When we stepped inside our Mariner suite our luggage was waiting for us on the bed This is a great service but I ll admit it isn t cheap However you re receiving shipping insurance assistance with customs plus peace of mind Also with airlines charging for checked luggage

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2009/11/03/shipping-luggage-to-your-cruise-ship/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • 10 Tips for Surviving a Cruise Disaster
    they might have been told immediately after the emergency started But if passengers had informed themselves upon embarking the ship they could have calmly followed a plan Would that ensure that they arrived safely back on land Not necessarily this was a disaster after all But it certainly would have improved their chances Since the content at My Itchy Travel Feet is copyrighted we don t look kindly on those who copy our posts But this one time I encourage you to cut and paste the tips I m about to give you and print them out to take on your next cruise Be a prepared traveler You may even include them on your website if you wish with attribution please Baby Boomer cruise evacuation plan Immediately upon entering your cruise cabin upon embarkation take a few minutes to read the emergency information on the back of your stateroom door Memorize the location of your muster station that s printed on the emergency information Make sure that you know how to reach it on the ship When it s time for the muster drill pay attention even if you ve attended drills on other cruises This might be the voyage where you need the details to be fresh in your mind At the first sign of emergency return to your cabin to retrieve life jackets Just because you re told everything is okay doesn t mean it s true If things don t feel right to you go get your life vest Better to look foolish than to be unprepared Change into warm clothes if there is time including socks and sturdy shoes If you re in a hurry at least grab a jacket or take the blanket off the bed and try to change those shoes Bring any medicines that you use on a daily basis In order to grab them quickly keep medicines together in a bag always placing them in the same accessible location in the cabin If and I stress IF there is time retrieve your identification from the safe This does not necessarily mean your passport All of the ships that we sail on collect our passports upon embarkation and return them to us when the cruise is over Proceed calmly to your muster station Use the handrails that are bolted to the walls in the hallways Beware of sliding objects When crossing open areas stay behind a fixed object until you can asses the situation If a ship is listing furniture and other objects will be sliding around Granted this is easier said than done I can t imagine what it was like for the Costa survivors who climbed near vertical halls to escape Take deep breaths to remain as calm as you can Panicking uses up energy that you might need for surviving At the muster station do everything possible to help the crew members even if that means standing up against a wall and remaining quiet They re scared too Acting irrational

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2012/01/17/boomer-travel-tips-surviving-cruise-disaster/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Bus Excursions: Nine Survival Tips
    the front seats to those who might have difficulty getting on and off Patience really is a virtue Wait your turn to exit the bus The tour isn t going to start until everyone is off If you have to be the first one out of the bus sit in the front which might mean arriving extra early at the beginning of the tour to secure a choice seat Keep your seat Did you pick the wrong seat If your location doesn t please you the next time you re board the bus look around for another seat But that doesn t mean rushing back to the bus to claim someone else s seat which is the surest way to ignite an argument on a bus excursion Listen to the guide The guide is paid to talk If the idea of listening to him discuss the beauty of his country for the entirety of the trip bothers you then sit closer to the back of the bus or bring along noise canceling headphones And remember the guide may be paid to talk but you aren t Be courteous to those around you who may be trying to listen Stay with the group Joining a group bus excursion does not give you the right to wander off on your own linger taking photographs or stop for unscheduled shopping While the tour guide desperately tries to find you the rest of the group is steaming on the sidewalk Hold your tongue Are you dissatisfied with the way the excursion is progressing Express your displeasure privately to the tour guide If that doesn t correct the situation discuss your problems with the cruise tour desk once you return to the ship Quell your inner rebel If you re unhappy with the excursion don

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/2010/03/04/cruise-bus-excursion-nine-survival-tips/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Luxury Cruise Travel Planning Guide
    wouldn t believe the adventures that we ve discovered along the way In this Cruise Travel Planning Guide you ll find links to cruise excursions that we ve experienced luxury cruise ship reviews links to the cruise travel resources that we use our favorite cruise apps and visual inspiration on our Pinterest cruise boards So what are you waiting for Start planning your small ship luxury cruise today Luxury Cruise Travel Planning Resources Check out the online resources books and products that we use when planning a luxury cruise by clicking on Luxury Cruise Travel Planning Resources Cruise Excursions Some people like to hang out and relax when on cruising while others like to hit the road running If you re in the latter group find your ultimate cruise adventure by clicking on Cruise Excursions Luxury Cruise Reviews With over 300 nights onboard small luxury cruise ships it s fair to say that we know the luxury cruising industry Check out some of our best cruises by clicking on Luxury Cruise Reviews Cruise Apps To help you make the most out of your next cruise we ve compiled a list of apps to make your trip planning a bit more

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/luxury-cruise-travel-planning-guide/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • One Healthy Change a Month Challenge
    incredible trip and finding that your pants are a little too snug Find some great tips for staying healthy on the road with Candy Harrington s new book Eating Well on the Road February Stretching We re starting off our challenge by making stretching a daily part of our routine And we end the month with more stretching resources February Extra Guest writer Kay Dougherty explains how her visit to Canyon Ranch in Lenox Massachusetts helped keep her commitment to daily stretching To read more click on One Healthy Change a Month A Visit to Canyon Ranch March Lose One Pound a Month The older we get the harder it is to lose weight Want to learn strategies for slow steady weight loss that stays off Join our challenge to lose one pound a month Having trouble meeting your goal Donna did Here s some extra inspiration to get you back on track April Drinking Enough Water Water is one of the keys to energy and good boomer health But how do you get those 8 glasses of water in a day during travel Follow our tips and improve your water consumption by joining our challenge to Drink Enough Water May Walking Outside 30 Minutes a Day Walking outside on a daily basis is good for fitness but also mental health It s also easy to incorporate this healthy change into your travel schedule Follow our tips and join our challenge by clicking on Walking Outside 30 Minutes a Day June Breathe Deeply How many of us consciously take deep breaths Do you know the health benefits Click on Breathe Deeply to follow our tips and join the challenge June Extra Guest writer Doug Kelsy offers a simple tip for prevent lower back pain by bringing a beach ball on your travels To read more click on Relieve Lower Back Pain With This Simple Tip July Strength Training We loose 1 4 pound in muscle a year after turning 40 Here s how to stay strong including tips for strength training while traveling Click on One Healthy Change a Month Strength Training to read more August Move Prolonged sitting is bad for your health Read our tips on how to take movement breaks at home and on the road To read more click on One Healthy Change a Month Move September Disconnect Would you like to unwind de stress and perhaps add to your longevity For many of us disconnecting is easier said than done but these days it s so very important to turn off that computer iPhone iPad etc To read more click on One Healthy Change a Month Move October Health Hacks While we re all spending a large chunk of our days trying to get the most out of modern day technology sometimes we run out of time to properly take care of ourselves However there are quite a few health hacks that we can add to our daily routine that can help us improve our

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/one-healthy-change-a-month/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Email Protection | CloudFlare
    is protected by CloudFlare Email addresses on that page have been hidden in order to keep them from being accessed by malicious bots You must enable Javascript in your browser in order to decode the e mail address If you have a website and are interested in protecting it in a similar way you can sign up for CloudFlare How do spammers get email addresses How does CloudFlare protect email

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/cdn-cgi/l/email-protection (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Contact Us
    s Talk Boomer Travel Have a question about active travel for baby boomers Ask away We love talking travel Do you need an expert travel quote for an article about active travel for baby boomers Donna s your gal She s also available for media appearances Would you like to send us on a press trip We ve recently worked with Visit Berlin AirBerlin Helena Tourism Partnership Road Scholar and Toyota U S A About press releases content at My Itchy Travel Feet is based upon first person experience While we don t mind receiving press releases please make sure that they are targeted for active boomer travelers and realize that we will not write articles based upon the release Are you interested in sponsor opportunities at My Itchy Travel Feet We ll create a unique package that suits your needs Do you want to discuss a professional writing assignment Donna L Hull has written content for online sites magazines newspapers and corporations Perhaps all you need is an image from Alan s photo stock library To contact us use the form below or send an email to email protected Your Name required Your Email required Subject Your Message ois

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/contact-us/#wpcf7-f16896-p2348-o1 (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Hiking Around the World: Our Favorite Trails
    destination We re sharing some of our favorite hikes from around the world Check back often as we add to the list Our Favorite USA Hiking Trails The USA has a vast network of incredibly scenic hiking trails Read all about our favorite hikes by clicking on Our Favorite USA Hiking Trails Our Favorite European Hikes Almost all European countries have great hiking paths that are suitable for all types of fitness levels Read all about our favorite hikes by clicking on Our Favorite European Hikes Making the Trek to Kaiteur Falls Guyana Although Kaiteur Falls may not be the most popular falls in South America the trip to the top is certainly unforgettable Read all about the experience by clicking on Making the Trek to Kaiteur Falls Guyana Hiking the Abel Tasman Coast Track Explore this world class New Zealand hiking trail on a 3 to 5 day journey or take a day hike like we did Click on Hiking the Abel Tasman Coast Track to read more about our experience Mt Cargill Walk in Dunedin On long cruises with lots of sea days Alan and I are always happy to put our feet on the ground once the

    Original URL path: http://myitchytravelfeet.com/hiking-around-the-world/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •