archive-com.com » COM » N » NICK-CAVE.COM

Total: 964

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne [07/12/2003] by Karen
    the people who got better seats than mine I don t want to be culturally sutured into a position of obeisance I m no cock sucker But how can I help it when you make Neko and Calexico sound like musak and your ancient friend a flat toned try hard in regrettable tights There is no one no writer no singer in this age of rampant possibility who remotely compares You inhabit centuries of romantic poetry and revolution invoking Jesus with an upward glance dissing conviction with a minstrel s flair And so I m pissed off with you For not being there for me alone for not even looking in my goddamn direction For cutting your hair For having so fucking many good songs that you don t even need to fill Blixa s shoes And for knowing so thoroughly well what it is that you do You leave me deliberately short of satisfied I liked your new arrangements don t get me wrong I liked your wild arm pumping at the piano in Wonderful Life and the thunderous energy you summoned gradually provoking the young ones to Mercy Seat explosion down the aisles Watching Alice and Christina the Astonishing had always seemed like maudlin filler to me On Sunday they became cathedrals of melancholia pierced with shafts of stained glass light Most of all I loved the way you segued The Folk Singer into all that predictable hassle for song after song after song It was a searing elegy But can you really feel that desolate and provisional up there in front of ten thousand screaming fans Or are such moments of expressed frailty merely a ploy to capture those with book piled lives measured out in coffee spoons and desperately polished lies Having stabbed me with recognition

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=151&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Roseland Ballroom, New York [24/06/2003] by Emma
    Son if only he d sailed his ships around us on this great island and the 1986 covers album Kicking Against the Pricks And for long time fans he treated us to a beautiful and funky electric rendition of Wild World my personal highlight of the night He announced it as a Birthday Party number perhaps suggesting that there were many newly formed Nick fans in the crowd A Christian moment is now a given with Nick and the most religious part of the performance came with Christina the Astonishing my least favourite Nick song But with the spirituality and belief that oozed through his voice and made his voice different to its sound throughout the rest of the show it was as if he was delivering a sermon and that made it worthwhile in its own way And never has Henry Lee sounded as good as it did last night You could almost hear that pen knife squelching the flesh Though it didn t have all the dark beauty without Polly Harvey The only element missing was Blixa There were screams for Blixa especially after the beautiful Hallelujah and enquiries as to where he was to which Nick replied with a touch of melancholy He s not here He s gone away But the flamboyance of The Dirty Three s Warren Ellis tearing at the hair on his bow and fondling his fiddle as if it was a guitar made up for at least in part the great loss of Bargeld Nick divided his time behind his piano when all most of the crowd could have seen was his elongated forehead and hairline and moving on the stage in his walking on water prophet like way that only a man with his heroin ravaged body could The two most

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=150&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Chicago Theater, Chicago [21/06/2003] by Tim Brechlin
    I LOVE YOU NICK Cave ever the showman pumped his fist and mouthed Yes He then reached for his microphone and said Well you know I love you too He paused briefly and followed Maybe not as much as you love me but that s just how it goes eliciting a laugh from the crowd The lights on the stage went red and Martyn Casey began playing a furious five note bass melody that everyone in the crowd knew When Thomas Wydler rang the bell the crowd erupted in the most raucous cheer of the night Red Right Hand was here Cave s energetic movements and soulful impassioned wails combined with the madness coming forth from the Bad Seeds instruments in particular the guitars of Harvey and Johnston and the drums of Sclavunos to form a song composed of madness anger and fury The sound was almost terrifying particularly so when the bell tolled at the end of every verse When Cave s final line You re one microscopic cog in His catastrophic plan designed and directed by His red right hand emerged from his mouth the crowd went into a frenzy of applause There was no doubt in the mind of any member of the audience by that point Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds were in top form The band continued its stellar performance running through a lively rendition of West Country Girl off The Boatman s Call then the slow Hallelujah from No More Shall We Part during which Cave grew frustrated at the audience for its failure to respond to his plea for singing during the refrain of the song Warren Ellis was in true lunatic mode during the latter song and indeed during the whole show playing his violin with all the energy of a wild hyena while doing contortions that even a circus performer would cringe upon viewing The Bad Seeds then launched a fairly mundane performance of Sad Waters but then exploded once again in a simply remarkable rendition of the classic Tupelo Mick Harvey showcased his talents during Tupelo performing rapid fire guitar solos and lending his trademark chant of the title during the refrain At that point Cave announced to the crowd And now Chris Bailey Bailey who had performed before the show stormed the stage and joined with Cave in a passionate performance of the finest track from Nocturama Bring It On The two singers wailed until it seemed like they could wail no more and then they wailed again Again the musicians seemed to desire the generation of so much sound that the audience members eardrums burst After the classic Bring It On the Seeds flew straight into a rollicking version of their longtime standby Do You Love Me The crowd began screeching along with the seemingly tireless Cave on the song s crazed refrain and the energy level of the show was still through the roof The performance quieted down for the next two songs Still in Love

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=149&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Chicago Theater, Chicago [21/06/2003] by Auburn
    not only on this song but throughout the show Hallelujah Bring it On sung with Chris Bailey Still in Love From Her to Eternity and Wild World find the Dirty Third making his violin sound at times like a murder victim screaming for help before succumbing to death and at others like a child begging for love and affection Thomas Wydler and Jim Sclavunos switched on drums and percussion all night long but the two together provide the perfect necessity of breathing wonderful vibrant life into this machine called the Bad Seeds that Nick Cave fronts Mick Harvey has done a splendid job of manning the main guitar parts particularly on Tupelo and new or at least temporary Bad Seed Steve Barron did a fine job assisting him when he wasn t teaming with the brilliant and underrated Conway Savage on organ And from the beginning you could tell that Nick had his groove on be it pouncing all over the stage like a madman during Do You Love Me or breathing an earnest contemplative reflection into Sad Waters The beautiful tour rarity of Loom of the Land and the revamped and building The Mercy Seat prepared us for the main set s finale a wicked chilling version of Christina the Astonishing that silenced the crowd to the point where a pin dropping would have been heard the out of control desire of From Her to Eternity that brought the house down as Mick nailed Blixa s guitar work and culminating with the insane Birthday Party march of Wicked World And Nick and the Seeds said goodnight and retired only briefly before coming back For the first encore the band eased into an elegant version of the soul searching Nobody s Baby Now and one person in this audience of mostly under 25 makeup laden goths had to voice their unhappiness at Nick s line of unraveling the mystery of Jesus Christ our Savior Nick didn t notice Or pretended not to And then the atmosphere became a fist pumping festive party as the Seeds launched into the driving confessional of Deanna a mosh pit developing in the process And then again they said goodnight After nearly 4 minutes the band returned to the stage and Nick delivered his best one liner of the night As Nick was taking a seat at the piano a fan yelled We love you Nick Nick leaned into the mike and said I love you too and after a moment of thinking about it added perhaps not quite as much and smiled And thus began God is in the House as the crowd voiced their approval Beginning the third verse Nick forgot the words and simply chuckled as he sat in the dead quiet theater waiting for them to come to him and muttered shit Joyous laughter echoed out as they finally came to him While its standing ovation was still going on Nick got his lyric sheets ready and the band launched into

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=148&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: The Warfield, San Francisco [17/06/2003] by BloodHatchet
    gesturing wildly as he abused his instrument shredding boughs and picking it like a ukulele with his fingers I assume it was Casey on bass but he must have grown long hair because the guy was shaggy Conway Savage did a beautiful job on piano taking the lead whenever a song called for Cave to throw himself around the stage with his signature dance while singing After a gracious Thank You from Nick the band hit us with It s a Wonderful Life complete with smoky purple lighting to complement the purple fields of the song Another thanks and then came a murderous version of Red Right Hand replete with thunderous rythm new lines and verses mixed in and enough red lighting to shrivel the cones in your eyes A fast paced version of West Country Girl followed and then one of my favorites Hallelujah which was almost like the album version except at the end Cave bellowed the lines normally sung by the McGarrigles and it sounded great Next Still In Love from the new album which I haven t listened to much but I liked the grim yet hopeful scene depicted by the song Tupelo came next minus the drawn out disjointed intro I was used to At this point Chris Bailey came out as Nick introduced him saying that he had come a long way and chuckling Guess what song was next Bring it On sounded a lot like the album but with that live intensity you get from a concert Next was Do You Love Me obviously a crowd favorite A minimalist version of The Loom of Land followed and then The Mercy Seat another crowd pleaser One of my least favorite songs Christina the Astonishing came after and it sounds a lot better live than

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=147&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Tate Gallery, London [23/05/2003] by Omer
    Nick Cave stopped the band from rockin hard Hallelujah followed as well as another song from No More Shall We Part Gates to the Garden Both were nice and got good reaction from the crowd The next song got a really big crowd reaction Sad Waters a classic Cave was performed well It really does suit the mood of the newer material I liked it alot but I was hoping to get some hard rock I did West Country Girl from The Boatsman s Call is not the song you would have expected to hear in a new wave punk version but it was Very good it was too According to the set list the next song was Do You Love Me although that doesn t seem quite right Before the song Nick asked Mick Harvy Cm G right throughout the concert indeed the band kept reminding each other the songs and Cave especially displaced lack of knowledge in his songs which the crowd found very ammusing The Band was in fine fine form through and throught with Warren Ellis in particularly good mood talking and counting into the songs one two three four what a difference from his usual I couldn t care less if you dropped dead personna Anyway Do You Love Me Part two was good although I do prefer part one Next Nick declared this next one is from Murder Ballads Everyone cheered That s not necessarily a good thing he pontificated but this is a good one It is called Henry Lee I admit I was not enthusiastic Henry Lee is hardly my favourite song off Murder Ballads I was thinking about shouting do a bad one I m glad I did not Henry Lee was not just brilliant it was the absolute highlight of the concert Transformed into a ravaging dark apocalyptic tale it featured Nick screaming whole new verses and dropping the silly bird lit down on Henry Lee bit The result was absolutely fantastic After Henry Lee a cautionary tale Cave called it nothing could have been as good and indeed the next few songs were slower and much less interesting There Is a Kingdom from Boatman s Call was generic and Rock of Gibralter is arguably the weakest song off Nocturama He Wants You was a little better however and Darker With the Day the closing track from No More Shall We Part was really good altough like The Mercy Seat Cave refused to allow the band to go wild on this one Wild Nick Cave started to sing and I slowly realised I recognised the next song Hold me up baby for I may fall Hold my dish rag body tall Our bodies melt together we are one Post crucifixion baby and all undone It s a wild world An absolutely stunning version much more like the Birthday Party than the versions he played in the 2001 tour Hard rocking and genuanely scary After this absolute highlight Cave and company

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=146&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Heineken Music Hall, Amsterdam [02/06/2003] by Dirk Van Gils
    knew who was the support act There was not a huge gaping space between Nick Cave and outstretched arms and it allow him to reach out and shake some hands On the other hand the moat was filled with either fewer security guards than normal or it just looked like fewer because the stage was so wide Otherwise no one tried to get on the stage to huge Nick Cave Nick Cave was wearing a black suit He to be in a good mood In face the entire band seemed to be really into this one Me and my friends stood in front of the stage Nick Cave started the show at 9 P M with the words HELLO HELLO and then He played the intro of it s a wonderfull life on piano It s a lovely beginning of the show After 2 old songs red right hand and westcountry girl he told the audience that Blixa Bargeld was no longer a part of the band He said that he was his long life friend and he dedicated the next song to Blixa Hallelujah At the beginning of bring it on he said the Chris Baily is very famous in Holland and that he should earn a statu and that he s a good friend of him As on the record nocturama he playd this song as a duet with Chris Baily At the end of the set they played a rough version of Henly Lee more a rockabilly version The crowd kept shouting nick cave until he came back on the stage for singing He wants you It s a start of shorter set of 4 songs ended by the ship song The last song they played was an edited version of babe I m on fire Afterwards

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=145&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Vienna, Burg Theater [30/10/2002] by Sam
    Watt Roy as a new part of the line up it was a difficult situation the other three members played together with S Stenger on AUS USA tour in 2000 01 He tried to sooth his latent unsecurity by resorting to eye contact with Warren Ellis and Jim White but they mostly left him to his own devices Anyway with increasing playtime he became more self confident and therefore he deserves respect at the least Has anyone seen the face of Warren Ellis During the entire concert he stood with his back to the audience The parts where he was not playing he squatted down his head deeply bowed the violin in his hands and his arms stretched out His play great as usual the violin partly used like a guitar He seemed to be absent minded but wasn t because he showed immediate reaction when someone gave a comment to the unusual Henry Lee version see the setlist below And now to the person who had it under his control to decide if the concert would be great or not Nick Cave It could have been a fantastic concert he has prooved that he could since he has already been on tour with almost the same line up as mentioned above but for that he would have needed to enjoy playing But on the contrary he seemed to be upset worried somehow disorganized So a mood that goes better with a Bad Seeds concert than a solo gig where as you could expect the soft songs dominated and therefore a high deep intimacy with the songs is necesary The result the less powerful songs where the real highlights here he was at his best he stamped his left foot on the floor giving the rhythm banged on the piano with almost brute force as if he wanted to take a piece of wood from a noble viennese piano as a souvenir adding to that the fervent singing absolutely great His entire rage was plain to see in the last song Jack the ripper it seemed at t he end that the only thing missing was that he pick up the piano in both hands and through it in the audience as a farewell present Verdict there was no harmony to be felt they seemed less tuned to one another and perhaps not only regarding music Too bad what a pity The setlist 1 The mercy seat very good but have heard better 2 Sad waters after years of absence found again for solo gigs I think he likes that song very good 3 Hallelujah solide 4 Into my arms good 5 God is in the house solide 6 There is a kingdom solide 7 Darker with the day solide 8 Gates to the garden solide 9 West country girl a highlight 10 So far from me as well good I think he likes that song 11 Henry Lee in a fast and powerful version I have never heard before

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=144&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive



  •