archive-com.com » COM » N » NICK-CAVE.COM

Total: 964

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: San Francisco, Warfield Theatre [18/04/2002] by Mark Fantino
    red shirt and his deliberate way of concentrating on his playing And when I wasn t watching Mick Harvey I was watching the girl on my right who never looked at me and I couldn t figure it out for I was having a wonderful hair day I thought I found it very unreasonable that she never once glanced my way Girls are weird But during Red Right Hand which was played after Lime Tree Arbour Nick was at the front of the stage leaning into us in his menacing way his hand pointing down selecting people to sing to And he changed the lyrics a bit he pointed to a guy not far away and chimed as if it were always part of the song explaining what the Devil proposes You ain t got no money He ll get you some You don t like that haircut that you have He ll get you a better one and the crowd laughed We Came Along This Road was done so beautifully though it lacked the lilting orchestration the album version has but it is such a beautiful melody that it can hardly be said to have suffered After that the Bad Seeds backed up a bit and stormed into their older material the stuff I always long for A tease really just two songs The Weeping Song and Papa Won t Leave You Henry but they were magnificent Then it was back to the present with Hallelujah you should see how I spelled it on my scribbled notes The McGarrigle sisters haunting lines at the end of the song were instead done by Nick himself and he sounded like he meant it Stunning Just then the pretty girl I had been watching all night who remained at my shoulder the entire evening without once noticing me the girl with the staggering beauty lost her footing and fell down to her knees I could feel the thud resonate in my feet I reached down to pick her up gently at first I grasped on to her arm at the elbow such a delicate thing like a birds leg I felt an embarrassing surge of excitement I must admit that happens when you touch something beautiful But she was dead weight heavy and limp The poor girl fainted from too much Nick Cave I m sure that happens My friend Thomas grabbed her as well and the two of us got her up and she turned her head and smiled and resumed standing on her own It was at that time that Nick Cave sung the lines I began to warm and chill the opening lines to The Mercy Seat He barely got into it when the girl at my shoulder fell forward again this time not to her knees but she tilted forward still standing and leaned awkwardly on the leather jacket of the guy in front of us she then began to slide down She s falling again I announced

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=119&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: San Francisco, Warfield Theatre [18/04/2002] by Matt
    s hard to describe what her dancing was like it was sort of like watching a big bag filled with water wiggle back and forth After they tired of her trying to restrained herself from falling out of her top off the stage she went Eventually they stopped playing and I awaited the real show About 30 minutes or so pass and the lights dim once more The Bad Seeds take the stage followed by Nick Cave the entire affair is accompanied by a chours of cheers and applaud Nick Cave looked down at the audience before him and said Wow you re really low down there That s an awful angle And thus I was validated in my choice of viewing area I don t remember the exact set list but I will say that every song was excellently performed I have trouble separating the songs and I prefer to think of it as one cohesive experience but there were some standout moments Red Right Hand for instance was lit so differently than anything else that I had to take special notice As I sat Sadly By her Side also stood out to me for some reason it sounded really good live That brings me to another point Before this show I didn t think of No More Shall We Part to be one of the best Cave albums out there Seeing a large portion of the material live however changed my opinion Someone at the concert told me that most of that album was sarcastic but I couldn t see what he meant When Nick Cave performed God is in the House I finally got it It seemed much more sarcastic and I enjoyed it much more I was surprised with Cave s ability as a showman The

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=118&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Warfield Theatre, San Francisco [18/04/2002] by Charles
    Nick well dressed and enegercitic for the occasion showed no sign of being a creature ready for pasture Very much talking with his hands to the audience and comically working the crowd with his sense of play with the audience within the lyrics Hopefully he won t get additional stalkers on this account Songs that really stood out were the seminal Saint Huck with the band playing a furiously tight a heart pounding live version that blasted itself into the crowds psyche with as much force as anything that was done in the Birthday Party Stagger Lee also was a blow away with a period in which a cat fight broke out into the audience on the stage right side It was something out of a religious revival with snake charmers and all as far as excitement making the house lights blast all the way on with Blixas howl that still echo s in the warfield s wood even as i write this On the mellow side of things Into my Arms stood out forever Nick Elvis as a committed lover even if beliefs aren t necessarily on the same page to keep up with current idioms even though i

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=117&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Los Angeles, Wiltern Theatre [17/04/2002] by Starlight
    and no sun glasses Thomas Wydler Martyn P Casey who was almost forgotten by Nick while introducing the Bad Seeds a still unshaven Conway Savage Jim Sclavunos and the back to ya Warren Ellis They started to play 1 15 Feet of Pure White Snow cool way to start because this was what he played on the Tonight Show 2 Oh My Lord still my favorite song and it s always a treat to hear and see Nick seems to like singing this one he was havin fun and doin a groovy little dance toward a member in the audience 3 The Weeping Song great with Blixa and this time the micro phone didn t scream and Nick got to hug Blixa 4 Red Right Hand somewhere before or after is when Nick asked for the black tea and lemon 5 Do You Love Me beautiful beautiful I love this SONG 6 As I Sat Sadly by her Side Nick needed a slow one but this is a nice one 7 Love Letter Nick started this one and had to stop because he had forgotten what cord it started in Nick turn to the band and asked them to which none of them replied Nick finally said D sharp no E flat I ve only played this 6 000 times I love moments like that 8 We Came Along This Road two slowish ones in a row gave him the rest for the next one this is such a good song for Nick to sing is works so well 9 Papa won t leave you Henry this is so amazing live he plays and acts and moves to this song so beautifully if you like Nick you have to see Nick do this song live 10 The Ship Song this was so cool to watch live it is so beautiful makes your heart skip a beat to hear I know a lot of the females in the crowd loved it 11 Mercy Seat He managed once again sore throat and all to do the raw and fast version of this song bless him this song was worth hearing again though he did lose the beat for a moment or two but it didn t matter it is a great song 12 Hallelujah Beautiful hearing these songs off the New album make me like them more and more 13 God is in the House great though the audience interrupted it after Warren Ellis little solo the audience applauded causing Nick to stall the intro into Goose stepping twelve stepping Tetotalitarianists but he got to it after raising his hand letting the audience know that he wasn t finished It was touching for Warren but I thought it was strange timing ENCORE 14 The Curse of Millhaven Okay After what seemed like forever clapping standing and yelling for their return out Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds came with a strange looking short person wearing a black hooded sweat shirt carrying you

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=116&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Los Angeles, Wiltern Theatre [16,17/04/2002] by Sybil Clarke
    the violin something I hadn t realized was possible Mick Harvey stood to the far left and was unobtrusive and wonderful I won t lie and say I remember many details about the show but what they played was amazing Red Right Hand was electrifying while Into My Arms was soft and sweet and beautiful It was an incredible show and made more so by the long rendition of Stagger Lee as a second encore I left elated breathless and excited to see the Wednesday show I was completely disappointed by the crowd on Wednesday even though I spotted Rick Rubin again and got excited about that again There was no energy and I felt that no one was there to see the show but to maybe take a quick nap instead on their way to something more exciting The Pinetop Seven were earnest and fun but didn t do much for me I like their albums better than I do their stage show Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds seemed to have a lot more energy than they had had the night before but they weren t getting anything back from the crowd and it felt like the level

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=115&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Los Angeles, Wiltern Theatre [16/04/2002] by beto
    man and this band are legends so my expectations where very high I am pleased to say I was not disappointed Though the gray was evident the immense energy and passion of Nick Cave The Bad Seeds would make a young man envious The sound was so so due to the sound man but I had the same experience at the same venue wich is a great place when The Sisters Of Mercy played there The selections of the night where very appropriate and to satisfaction no matter which Cave Seeds is your favorite The rhythm section was as usual inventive yet in place I cannot being a musician myself speak enough of Mick Harvey Blixa Bargeld Harvey is amongst my favorites and he is what gives Nick the twang that is as trademark as the Dick Dale fret slide or the charismatic guitar in any of Sergio Leone s westerns Bargeld is what gives Cave the rusty edge at the same time that beautiful melodic guitar phrasing The violin notable and brought added as if needed beauty to Mr Cave s piano selections All this I knew from the albums and works I own but it was confirmed at

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=114&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Wiltern Theatre, Los Angeles [16/04/2002] by Starlight
    top of each other and vibrating to the music They ended with a great song especially for the LA crowd a cover of The Cramps Goo Goo Muk with Kid s familiar guitar sound it was fun to hear The lights went on and the stage crew prepared for the Seeds I went to view the crowd milling around the lobby once more All the black and red was a sight to see Once again the crowd was diverse from lovely ladies in the Goth Gowns to jeans and T Shirts and of course the tailored suit group the flow of black made me smile The lights blinked once and I went to my seat I wasn t goin to be caught in the dark this time About ten minutes later the lights went out and Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds strolled on to the stage Blixa wearing sunglasses and a black suit no hat Conway Savage looking a little scruffy and unshaven but not quite bearded Warren Ellis fiddle in hand wearing a reddish suit and I believe Thomas Wydler though I may be wrong wearing a suit shirt and pants The rest if any I can t name And then there is Nick Cave towering in a tailored dark gray suit and lighter gray shirt pointy black shoes Wow that s Nick Cave standin there I could not wipe the smile from my face Thank you Cave said then without hesitation bam Do you Love me the crowd went wild He belted it out with a moment here and there to glance at the cue card set to the right of the stage Amazing Then to my unbelievable surprise Oh My Lord and when he started I thought I d take a walk today I almost fell out of my seat I had so wished that they d play that song One of my favs He sang it with such power and feeling and in the musical roar between the I believe second and third verse the sound rose and rose until it almost exploded Once again unbelievable Lime Tree Arbour sung with Conway at the organ was very touching Red Right Hand was so well done with Nick standing at the foot of the stage preaching the words raising his long powerful hand up in the air Nick Cave became the Manic Preacher I love to see The light would flash red with each bell ring It made one want to convert to what ever he was preaching The song list seemed to be perfectly laid out with heavy energy driven songs mixed with restful ballads As I Sat Sadly By her Side was sung beautifully at the piano With such feeling and beauty due a song like that of course I wanted him leaping around Then a real treat Nick Cave introduced Blixa who would be singing the next The Weeping Song perfectly done Blixa stood there looking so Blixa They sang to each other

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=113&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Horden Pavillion, Sydney [11/03/2002] by Neil Stipe
    The Curse Of Millhaven which had been screamed out by several fans throughout the night Now whether or not Nick can recall all the lyrics to the song I am uncertain but having just emerged to yet again grace us with another brilliant performance Nick called onto stage a roadie who held huge prompt cards After directing the roadie to stand one side of the stage Nick immediately redirected him to another side and repeated the process to the roadies embarrassment Nick the whole time reacting as if he was disobeying him This the crowd enjoyed immensely for within the cheering came breaks of laughter In any case Nick broke into song and around two verses into Millhaven cut short his singing leaving the band to slowly end while he pronounced something to the effect of Fuck it I don t want to sing that one tonight Another was the awesome rendition of The Mercy Seat which began with accoustics and grew into a faster and faster paced eletric song If there was one song that night that the crowd really reacted to that was it I have never heard a better live track Nick also invited the crowd to sing Into My Arms The only objection to the whole evening and it wasn t really an issue was the lack of participation or reaction or any other response by the crowd For the majority they seemed content to stand or sit in I assumed awe The only objection to the song list that I held was that Love Letter did not make an appearence The Weeping Song which split the roles of father and son between Blixa and Nick respectively was also another brilliant rendition Needless to say in the presentation there were no faults at all and if

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=112&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive



  •