archive-com.com » COM » N » NICK-CAVE.COM

Total: 964

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: San Francisco, Warfield Theatre [18/04/2002] by minx
    I prefer anti Elvis in every way you might think Nick definitely didn t seem haunted by any demons rather he seems to have become a consummate performer able to summon the spirit conjure up some dark tales without succumbing to the negativity The set lighting was simple and less dramatic than the last full Bad Seeds tour but Nick compensated by doing more than his share of shaking gesturing and thrashing around on stage so that when some guy offered up his hand during Red Right Hand Cave grabbed that paw and didn t let go probably disconcerting the fellow a bit Warren Ellis contributed some rather nice violin to songs from the latest album and Mick Harvey was an utter rock Two percussionists two keyboardists And of course you have to love Blixa staring off into middle distance whenever he wasn t picking out the noisier parts Someone s looking a bit Kinski ish nowadays Of course throughout the groupies breathing down my neck were giggling at inopportune quiet and or dark moments Felt like turning around and hissing something sour and bad tempered But I just couldn t be bothered so mesmerized by ole Nick on stage As for the superficial details I was standing one person deep from the front of the stage right beneath Nick so I also had the good fortune of being able to check out his mismatched black suit glittery black shirt white wife beater undershirt and black shoes that seemed to be held together with metal clasps Too weird to be able to study such things Nick is just a slip of a fella but he also looked a helluva lot healthier than I ve seen him and there was a lightness to his aura that I found really intriguing I

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=120&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: San Francisco, Warfield Theatre [18/04/2002] by Mark Fantino
    looked at me and I couldn t figure it out for I was having a wonderful hair day I thought I found it very unreasonable that she never once glanced my way Girls are weird But during Red Right Hand which was played after Lime Tree Arbour Nick was at the front of the stage leaning into us in his menacing way his hand pointing down selecting people to sing to And he changed the lyrics a bit he pointed to a guy not far away and chimed as if it were always part of the song explaining what the Devil proposes You ain t got no money He ll get you some You don t like that haircut that you have He ll get you a better one and the crowd laughed We Came Along This Road was done so beautifully though it lacked the lilting orchestration the album version has but it is such a beautiful melody that it can hardly be said to have suffered After that the Bad Seeds backed up a bit and stormed into their older material the stuff I always long for A tease really just two songs The Weeping Song and Papa Won t Leave You Henry but they were magnificent Then it was back to the present with Hallelujah you should see how I spelled it on my scribbled notes The McGarrigle sisters haunting lines at the end of the song were instead done by Nick himself and he sounded like he meant it Stunning Just then the pretty girl I had been watching all night who remained at my shoulder the entire evening without once noticing me the girl with the staggering beauty lost her footing and fell down to her knees I could feel the thud resonate in my feet I reached down to pick her up gently at first I grasped on to her arm at the elbow such a delicate thing like a birds leg I felt an embarrassing surge of excitement I must admit that happens when you touch something beautiful But she was dead weight heavy and limp The poor girl fainted from too much Nick Cave I m sure that happens My friend Thomas grabbed her as well and the two of us got her up and she turned her head and smiled and resumed standing on her own It was at that time that Nick Cave sung the lines I began to warm and chill the opening lines to The Mercy Seat He barely got into it when the girl at my shoulder fell forward again this time not to her knees but she tilted forward still standing and leaned awkwardly on the leather jacket of the guy in front of us she then began to slide down She s falling again I announced and Thomas and I darted to her trying to get a grip firm enough to hold her but she was like jelly she just kept slinking down like she

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=119&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: San Francisco, Warfield Theatre [18/04/2002] by Matt
    her trying to restrained herself from falling out of her top off the stage she went Eventually they stopped playing and I awaited the real show About 30 minutes or so pass and the lights dim once more The Bad Seeds take the stage followed by Nick Cave the entire affair is accompanied by a chours of cheers and applaud Nick Cave looked down at the audience before him and said Wow you re really low down there That s an awful angle And thus I was validated in my choice of viewing area I don t remember the exact set list but I will say that every song was excellently performed I have trouble separating the songs and I prefer to think of it as one cohesive experience but there were some standout moments Red Right Hand for instance was lit so differently than anything else that I had to take special notice As I sat Sadly By her Side also stood out to me for some reason it sounded really good live That brings me to another point Before this show I didn t think of No More Shall We Part to be one of the best Cave albums out there Seeing a large portion of the material live however changed my opinion Someone at the concert told me that most of that album was sarcastic but I couldn t see what he meant When Nick Cave performed God is in the House I finally got it It seemed much more sarcastic and I enjoyed it much more I was surprised with Cave s ability as a showman The audience was totally with him the entire time He even had a lounge singer type swagger during the beginning of Stagger Lee I was also surprised by the lighting

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=118&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Warfield Theatre, San Francisco [18/04/2002] by Charles
    Revisionist live versions of titles from No more shall we part got the crowd to laugh cry and sing along Nick well dressed and enegercitic for the occasion showed no sign of being a creature ready for pasture Very much talking with his hands to the audience and comically working the crowd with his sense of play with the audience within the lyrics Hopefully he won t get additional stalkers on this account Songs that really stood out were the seminal Saint Huck with the band playing a furiously tight a heart pounding live version that blasted itself into the crowds psyche with as much force as anything that was done in the Birthday Party Stagger Lee also was a blow away with a period in which a cat fight broke out into the audience on the stage right side It was something out of a religious revival with snake charmers and all as far as excitement making the house lights blast all the way on with Blixas howl that still echo s in the warfield s wood even as i write this On the mellow side of things Into my Arms stood out forever Nick Elvis as a committed lover even if beliefs aren t necessarily on the same page to keep up with current idioms even though i still use choose your poision Encores galore In the number of three Yes the crowd got their bang bucks worth I sat safely up in the balcony for this particular experience I left happy and looking forward to another night of Bad seeds music it had been 10 years for me since detroit This tour is a must see for Fans of all flavors Have I no other endeavors i would gladly try to see as many shows as possible

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=117&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Los Angeles, Wiltern Theatre [17/04/2002] by Starlight
    back to ya Warren Ellis They started to play 1 15 Feet of Pure White Snow cool way to start because this was what he played on the Tonight Show 2 Oh My Lord still my favorite song and it s always a treat to hear and see Nick seems to like singing this one he was havin fun and doin a groovy little dance toward a member in the audience 3 The Weeping Song great with Blixa and this time the micro phone didn t scream and Nick got to hug Blixa 4 Red Right Hand somewhere before or after is when Nick asked for the black tea and lemon 5 Do You Love Me beautiful beautiful I love this SONG 6 As I Sat Sadly by her Side Nick needed a slow one but this is a nice one 7 Love Letter Nick started this one and had to stop because he had forgotten what cord it started in Nick turn to the band and asked them to which none of them replied Nick finally said D sharp no E flat I ve only played this 6 000 times I love moments like that 8 We Came Along This Road two slowish ones in a row gave him the rest for the next one this is such a good song for Nick to sing is works so well 9 Papa won t leave you Henry this is so amazing live he plays and acts and moves to this song so beautifully if you like Nick you have to see Nick do this song live 10 The Ship Song this was so cool to watch live it is so beautiful makes your heart skip a beat to hear I know a lot of the females in the crowd loved it 11 Mercy Seat He managed once again sore throat and all to do the raw and fast version of this song bless him this song was worth hearing again though he did lose the beat for a moment or two but it didn t matter it is a great song 12 Hallelujah Beautiful hearing these songs off the New album make me like them more and more 13 God is in the House great though the audience interrupted it after Warren Ellis little solo the audience applauded causing Nick to stall the intro into Goose stepping twelve stepping Tetotalitarianists but he got to it after raising his hand letting the audience know that he wasn t finished It was touching for Warren but I thought it was strange timing ENCORE 14 The Curse of Millhaven Okay After what seemed like forever clapping standing and yelling for their return out Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds came with a strange looking short person wearing a black hooded sweat shirt carrying you guess it cue cards Nick commented that this one is always trouble and as soon as he said that I knew it was The Curse of Millhaven Mistakes and

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=116&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Los Angeles, Wiltern Theatre [16,17/04/2002] by Sybil Clarke
    Cave was amazing with the kind of stage presence that no amount of practice could give one Warren Ellis rocked out on the violin something I hadn t realized was possible Mick Harvey stood to the far left and was unobtrusive and wonderful I won t lie and say I remember many details about the show but what they played was amazing Red Right Hand was electrifying while Into My Arms was soft and sweet and beautiful It was an incredible show and made more so by the long rendition of Stagger Lee as a second encore I left elated breathless and excited to see the Wednesday show I was completely disappointed by the crowd on Wednesday even though I spotted Rick Rubin again and got excited about that again There was no energy and I felt that no one was there to see the show but to maybe take a quick nap instead on their way to something more exciting The Pinetop Seven were earnest and fun but didn t do much for me I like their albums better than I do their stage show Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds seemed to have a lot more energy than they had had the night before but they weren t getting anything back from the crowd and it felt like the level was dropping as the show went on I thought they put on a better show on Wednesday but I may be alone in that everyone else there seemed completely bored That changed during the encore a cue card assisted version of The Curse of Millhaven and not even a hooded card flasher front and center on stage and being surrounded by pushy men much taller than I could ruin it for me Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=115&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Los Angeles, Wiltern Theatre [16/04/2002] by beto
    but prolonged in the sense that the crowd grew impatient as they awaited Mr Cave The Seeds To me this man and this band are legends so my expectations where very high I am pleased to say I was not disappointed Though the gray was evident the immense energy and passion of Nick Cave The Bad Seeds would make a young man envious The sound was so so due to the sound man but I had the same experience at the same venue wich is a great place when The Sisters Of Mercy played there The selections of the night where very appropriate and to satisfaction no matter which Cave Seeds is your favorite The rhythm section was as usual inventive yet in place I cannot being a musician myself speak enough of Mick Harvey Blixa Bargeld Harvey is amongst my favorites and he is what gives Nick the twang that is as trademark as the Dick Dale fret slide or the charismatic guitar in any of Sergio Leone s westerns Bargeld is what gives Cave the rusty edge at the same time that beautiful melodic guitar phrasing The violin notable and brought added as if needed beauty to Mr Cave s piano selections All this I knew from the albums and works I own but it was confirmed at last night s performance The set started with Do You Love Me and followed by The Boatman s Call God Is In The House Pure White Snow The Mercy Seat incredible and much more They came out for two encores which included Into My Arms an early Bad Seeds tune and finished with Stagger Lee Blixa was awesome Overall I saw for myself why Nick Cave The Bad Seeds have not only achieved legendary status but have brought with them

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=114&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Nick Cave Online - CONCERT REVIEW: Wiltern Theatre, Los Angeles [16/04/2002] by Starlight
    s familiar guitar sound it was fun to hear The lights went on and the stage crew prepared for the Seeds I went to view the crowd milling around the lobby once more All the black and red was a sight to see Once again the crowd was diverse from lovely ladies in the Goth Gowns to jeans and T Shirts and of course the tailored suit group the flow of black made me smile The lights blinked once and I went to my seat I wasn t goin to be caught in the dark this time About ten minutes later the lights went out and Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds strolled on to the stage Blixa wearing sunglasses and a black suit no hat Conway Savage looking a little scruffy and unshaven but not quite bearded Warren Ellis fiddle in hand wearing a reddish suit and I believe Thomas Wydler though I may be wrong wearing a suit shirt and pants The rest if any I can t name And then there is Nick Cave towering in a tailored dark gray suit and lighter gray shirt pointy black shoes Wow that s Nick Cave standin there I could not wipe the smile from my face Thank you Cave said then without hesitation bam Do you Love me the crowd went wild He belted it out with a moment here and there to glance at the cue card set to the right of the stage Amazing Then to my unbelievable surprise Oh My Lord and when he started I thought I d take a walk today I almost fell out of my seat I had so wished that they d play that song One of my favs He sang it with such power and feeling and in the musical roar between the I believe second and third verse the sound rose and rose until it almost exploded Once again unbelievable Lime Tree Arbour sung with Conway at the organ was very touching Red Right Hand was so well done with Nick standing at the foot of the stage preaching the words raising his long powerful hand up in the air Nick Cave became the Manic Preacher I love to see The light would flash red with each bell ring It made one want to convert to what ever he was preaching The song list seemed to be perfectly laid out with heavy energy driven songs mixed with restful ballads As I Sat Sadly By her Side was sung beautifully at the piano With such feeling and beauty due a song like that of course I wanted him leaping around Then a real treat Nick Cave introduced Blixa who would be singing the next The Weeping Song perfectly done Blixa stood there looking so Blixa They sang to each other and one moment Nick tried to get nearer to Blixa but the microphone screamed and protested so sadly that moment was lost but not the song Beautifully done I never

    Original URL path: http://www.nick-cave.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=113&Itemid=29 (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive



  •