archive-com.com » COM » P » POLLYPAULUSMA.COM

Total: 254

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Polly Paulusma | 05.08.2012 – Space City Rock blog reviews Leaves…
    2012 27Leggies blog album review 20 04 2012 Raised by Gypsies blog album review 13 04 2012 Song Heap Says blog live review 10 03 2012 Netrhythms album review 2007 Press clippings archive 2004 Press clippings archive Shop Gigs Recordings Gallery Blog Press area Vinyl Previous Play Pause Next Loading audio Please wait while albums and tracks are being loaded Update Required To Play Media Update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin Mailing list Recent comments Sebastian on Gigs Sebastian on Shop Sebastian on Shop Polly Paulusma on Shop Francis Barton on Gigs 05 08 2012 Space City Rock blog reviews Leaves http www spacecityrock com 2012 07 09 polly paulusma leaves from the family tree At first listen I want to easily throw Polly Paulusma into a category with Jewel before Jewel went country and call her some kind of female singer songwriter and have that be the end of it The more I listen to Leaves From The Family Tree however the less I hear the Jewel comparisons that I once thought were there for some reason There is quite a bit of piano on this album and quite honestly it comes out more like R B or blues jazz than it does folk or anything acoustic sounding It has a very mellow and peaceful vibe to it often kind of like a coffee house singer if you will If I was cruel I d say it reminded me of Macy Gray but I really do believe it more closely resembles the musical stylings of Billie Holiday which becomes more apparent as the album goes on which can either be a blessing or a curse depending upon your point of view Ultimately this could be a huge album It just which one of

    Original URL path: http://pollypaulusma.com/wp/press-clippings/05-08-2013-space-city-rock-blog-reviews-leaves/ (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Polly Paulusma | 24.07.2012 – For Folk’s Sake: live preview
    Fresh on the Net song review 09 05 2012 Accordio Italy album review 30 04 2012 songs illinois blog album review 22 04 2012 27Leggies blog album review 20 04 2012 Raised by Gypsies blog album review 13 04 2012 Song Heap Says blog live review 10 03 2012 Netrhythms album review 2007 Press clippings archive 2004 Press clippings archive Shop Gigs Recordings Gallery Blog Press area Vinyl Previous Play Pause Next Loading audio Please wait while albums and tracks are being loaded Update Required To Play Media Update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin Mailing list Recent comments Sebastian on Gigs Sebastian on Shop Sebastian on Shop Polly Paulusma on Shop Francis Barton on Gigs 24 07 2012 For Folk s Sake live preview http www forfolkssake com news 18193 festivals cambridge folk festival part une Polly Paulusma Polly Paulusma combines an American country aesthetic with old English folk sounds and this is one of the reasons we love her Following critically acclaimed first album Scissors in my Pocket Paulusma has appeared on stage with more famous people than Mark Ronson including Bob Dylan Jamie Cullum Marianne Faithfull The Divine Comedy and Coldplay but

    Original URL path: http://pollypaulusma.com/wp/press-clippings/24-7-2012-for-folks-sake-live-preview/ (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Polly Paulusma | 19.06.2013 – UK Folk Radio
    review 30 04 2012 songs illinois blog album review 22 04 2012 27Leggies blog album review 20 04 2012 Raised by Gypsies blog album review 13 04 2012 Song Heap Says blog live review 10 03 2012 Netrhythms album review 2007 Press clippings archive 2004 Press clippings archive Shop Gigs Recordings Gallery Blog Press area Vinyl Previous Play Pause Next Loading audio Please wait while albums and tracks are being loaded Update Required To Play Media Update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin Mailing list Recent comments Sebastian on Gigs Sebastian on Shop Sebastian on Shop Polly Paulusma on Shop Francis Barton on Gigs 19 06 2013 UK Folk Radio http www folkradio co uk 2013 06 polly paulusma leaves from the family tree Listen Polly Paulusma Leaves from the Family Tree 19 JUNE 2013 by ALEX GALLACHER in MUSIC NEWS http www folkradio co uk 2013 06 polly paulusma leaves from the family tree Cambridge based folk singer Polly Paulusma signed to Bjork s label One Little Indian in 2003 around the world tour supporting the likes of Bob Dylan Jamie Cullum Joseph Arthur Coldplay and many others ensued Two albums and two children later she decided to release her third album on her own label Leaves from the Family Tree is a gorgeous album as you can hear below and was released on Wild Sound in March 2012 as a digital and CD release A desire to see this release through to a vinyl pressing meant turning to fans for support via crowd funding website pledgemusic Today she announced that the positive response of fans means that she can now master cut and release a limited run of 500 LPs from pre orders Diverse Records were fans of Polly s first two albums

    Original URL path: http://pollypaulusma.com/wp/press-clippings/19-6-2013-uk-folk-radio/ (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Polly Paulusma | 04.06.2012 – Tom Robinson’s BBC Introducing Mixtape
    review 13 04 2012 Song Heap Says blog live review 10 03 2012 Netrhythms album review 2007 Press clippings archive 2004 Press clippings archive Shop Gigs Recordings Gallery Blog Press area Vinyl Previous Play Pause Next Loading audio Please wait while albums and tracks are being loaded Update Required To Play Media Update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin Mailing list Recent comments Sebastian on Gigs Sebastian on Shop Sebastian on Shop Polly Paulusma on Shop Francis Barton on Gigs 04 06 2012 Tom Robinson s BBC Introducing Mixtape http www bbc co uk blogs tomrobinson 2012 06 introducing mixtape monday 040 1 shtml http www bbc co uk blogs tomrobinson 2012 06 introducing mixtape monday 040 1 shtml Tom showcases the best new tunes from upcoming artists recommended by listeners and musicians all sourced from BBC Introducing and hand picked by Tom himself POLLY PAULUSMA Last Week Me Starts 40 42 http www pollypaulusma com From humble musical beginnings in a garden shed Polly Paulusma signed to One Little Indian nine years ago and released her self produced home shed recorded debut album Scissors In My Pocket in 2004 The Independent described her as

    Original URL path: http://pollypaulusma.com/wp/press-clippings/4-6-2012-tom-robinsons-bbc-introducing-mixtape/ (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Polly Paulusma | 04.06.2012 – This Manic Mama blog: interview
    06 2012 This Manic Mama blog interview 04 06 2012 Pueblo Waltz blog song review 21 05 2012 Fresh on the Net song review 09 05 2012 Accordio Italy album review 30 04 2012 songs illinois blog album review 22 04 2012 27Leggies blog album review 20 04 2012 Raised by Gypsies blog album review 13 04 2012 Song Heap Says blog live review 10 03 2012 Netrhythms album review 2007 Press clippings archive 2004 Press clippings archive Shop Gigs Recordings Gallery Blog Press area Vinyl Previous Play Pause Next Loading audio Please wait while albums and tracks are being loaded Update Required To Play Media Update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin Mailing list Recent comments Sebastian on Gigs Sebastian on Shop Sebastian on Shop Polly Paulusma on Shop Francis Barton on Gigs 04 06 2012 This Manic Mama blog interview http thismanicmama libsyn com webpage episode 40 polly paulusma TMM returns This episode features an interview with mom musician Polly Paulusma After two albums with Bjork s One Little Indian label Polly has recently released her third album Leaves From the Family Tree on her own label Wild Sound Two of Polly s

    Original URL path: http://pollypaulusma.com/wp/press-clippings/4-6-2012-this-manic-mama-blog-interview/ (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Polly Paulusma | 04.06.2012 – Pueblo Waltz blog: song review
    that began with Dark Side and Over The Hill off her debut album Scissors In My Pocket in 2004 Her early work had the same folky hooks and deft lyrics as her latest batch of songs but it lacked a certain pop vitality She sounded emotionally removed and even a little uninterested as if intent on reflecting from the distance critics offered the vision of an English Joni Mitchell which felt at first listen a perfect comparison but it came to feel more like a critical cop out a kind of grasping for analogical straws If alike in sound acoustic guitar and thin airy voice they are unlike in temperament The crucial difference rested in Mitchell s ability to draw on a deep well of emotion for her songs there is something so affecting about the song Old Man that it can t quite be picked apart Paulusma doesn t have the same skill no shame there most don t On this third album though Paulusma seems to largely abandon the suffering singer songwriter project the Joni sound alike competition She embraces a poppier peppier version of herself There is a lilt and candor to her work on this album that was not as present on her first two albums Last Week Me is the obvious highlight From the grumbling double bass that plugs along underneath the tune to the chugging fiddles and infectious handclaps the instrumentation demands a mention Country pop arrangements are fickle things too much emphasis on one element can throw the entire production for a loop The real strength of the song however is the thoughtful lyrics which offer crucial insight into the human experience not something you d expect from a pop song At face value the song seems obvious Paulusma begins with the sci fi premise of a time traveling machine but rather than investigating any of the typical fictive routes The Middle Ages Dinosaurs Ford Theater she takes an acutely personal one I d take a trip to find myself a week ago And if myself could see me and hear what now me had to say I d wonder how I d phrase it all to make me understand It s enough here to appreciate the careful wording used to differentiate between selves or Paulusmae if you prefer but Paulusma pulls together a fascinating conflict The understood problem is that there will always be a last week me a curse dragging us down into a Macondo like horror of circularity Paulusma s final thought in that verse is especially valuable how could we ever convey our short sightedness to a past self Everything always seems so hunky dory when it s happening The song gets even more interesting when Paulusma digs deeper into the collusion between past and present selves by shifting the conversation towards her future self If I were a time traveler I d write myself a cryptic song and play it on the radio one morning And in that

    Original URL path: http://pollypaulusma.com/wp/press-clippings/4-6-2012-pueblo-waltz-blog-song-review/ (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Polly Paulusma | 21.05.2012 – Fresh on the Net: song review
    blog interview 04 06 2012 Pueblo Waltz blog song review 21 05 2012 Fresh on the Net song review 09 05 2012 Accordio Italy album review 30 04 2012 songs illinois blog album review 22 04 2012 27Leggies blog album review 20 04 2012 Raised by Gypsies blog album review 13 04 2012 Song Heap Says blog live review 10 03 2012 Netrhythms album review 2007 Press clippings archive 2004 Press clippings archive Shop Gigs Recordings Gallery Blog Press area Vinyl Previous Play Pause Next Loading audio Please wait while albums and tracks are being loaded Update Required To Play Media Update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin Mailing list Recent comments Sebastian on Gigs Sebastian on Shop Sebastian on Shop Polly Paulusma on Shop Francis Barton on Gigs 21 05 2012 Fresh on the Net song review http freshonthenet co uk faves13 http freshonthenet co uk faves13 Polly Paulusma Last Week Me Yup this ticks all my boxes Polly is one of those independent artists who ve made their mark on the wider music world Supporting big names Jamie Cullum Coldplay etc and playing festival slots under the wing of One Little Indian Records

    Original URL path: http://pollypaulusma.com/wp/press-clippings/21-5-2012-fresh-on-the-net-song-review/ (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Polly Paulusma | 09.05.2012 – Accordio (Italy): album review
    9645 09 May 2012 07 00 C è odore di legno stagionato resina e mastice il negozio del liutaio di Cremona non quello americano Ci sono l umida brughiera il mar del Nord e i pub di Londra Un romanticismo mai stucchevole Un realismo elegante articolato necessario Sapori naturali ed eterni Matura lo è sempre sembrata fin dal primo album la british singer songwriter Non si saprebbe come definirla ora E qualcosa che intuisci al primo ascolto è una percezione netta Capisci che non cova nessuna utopia rivoluzionaria nè alcuna incertezza nessuna intenzione di colpire stordire spiazzare e vendere se non con una rappresentazione intensa introspettiva delle cose semplici e vere che sono le più difficili da descrivere senza banalizzare Come la pasta all uovo la burrata o il Marsala La chitarra acustica da lei suonata è onnipresente anche se non in primo piano come all esordio Polly Paulusma compone sempre e solo con accordature aperte per questo poi sul palco le fanno compagnia Martin Cole Clark ed Epiphone accordate ad hoc per i vari pezzi Ma non chiedetele delle partiture non la riguardano più di tanto Trovo il suo stile chitarristico e armonico così immediato all orecchio eppure così raro e ricercato sicuramente originale quasi inusuale Nobile ma senza la puzza sotto il naso Leaves from the family tree in tutto le foglie sono dodici dodici canzoni abitate da un contrabbasso cordoso la sua tastiera ti vibra nel petto Gli arrangiamenti di violini e altri archi suonano magistrali come quando ti colpisce la colonna sonora di un bel film Poi il piano e il rhodes Un coro da far invidia all epic metal che diresti non c entrare nulla ma non fai in tempo a dirlo che sei già rapito Il tutto è condito da un testo elegante che

    Original URL path: http://pollypaulusma.com/wp/press-clippings/09-05-2012-accordio-italy-album-review/ (2016-02-09)
    Open archived version from archive



  •