archive-com.com » COM » S » SLRLENSREVIEW.COM

Total: 414

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • SLR Lens Review
    100mm Macro Comparison Part 2 Featured Posted by Administrator on Saturday 18 February 2012 in Lens Comparisons This is Part Two of the rolling review of the 100mm macro lenses for Canon EF mount Studio Test Ok folks we are starting off with a fairly standard Imatest evaluation of our primary candidates Just as a reminder we will limit this test to only one focusing distance 10m Why 10m For all 100mm lenses 10m focusing distance roughly falls into medium range and closer to the infinity than to the MFD I cannot test lenses at longer than 14m focusing distance due to the space constraints And testing at very close focusing distances with Imatest does not really make sense due to the software s and imaging target s limitations we will be testing the resolution of the target printer that is rather than the lens at anything closer than 2m 20x focal length of the lens At 10m we get a 100x focal length ratio which should be good enough to get us accurate results out of Imatest as accurate as the software is capable of giving us of course Plus we will do macro MFD and infinity tests separately so yea 10m sounds like a good start Tagged in canon leica macro voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 34760 1 A Guide To Russian LTM Lenses Featured Posted by Administrator on Sunday 12 February 2012 in Guides and Tutorials If you are a rangefinder user I am sure you have considered buying one of those dirt cheap Russian LTM lenses that have flooded eBay LTM lenses rose to the prominence in 30s and 40s with the ascention of Leica Screw Mount cameras Numerous Leica Copies have accelerated the adoption of the standard and a large number of manufacturers including the fledging Japanese camera makers like Canon and Nikon began to manufacture LTM lenses The birth of Russian LTM lenses can be traced to the 30s and the first FED camera which utilized the M39 mount as the Leica Screw Thread became to be known After the defeat of Nazi Germany in WWII Russians appropriated the original optical equipment and designs from Carl Zeiss factory in Jena Carl Zeiss know how was one of the most prized posessions of the post war era and helped accelerate innovation in the USSR s optical photography industry which was pretty much leveled with the ground over the five years of war Most of the early Russian lens designs trace their roots to Carl Zeiss designs The Jena factory continued its production under the Communist regime but Russians also jump started their own factories most notably in Krasnogorsk the KMZ factory and later also expanded production to Arsenal Kiev Litkarino Lvov Kharkov and Kazan factories But KMZ remained the epicenter of the innovation and most original Russian designs were originated there However while there are a lot of Russian lenses available on eBay figuring out what is what is fairly hard the Russian lens

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/featured (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Lens Comparison: Sony SEL 50mm f/1.8 OS vs Canon 50mm f/1.2 LTM - SLR Lens Review
    you have not done so already take a look at the Alternative 50mm for NEX article to get an idea of what to expect down the road Sony 50 1 8 f 2 vs Canon 50 1 2 LTM f 2 OK If we set aside the price difference how do these two lenses stack up against each other across different dimensions Let s start with resolution Sony 50 1 8 is pretty darn sharp at all apertures I did a quick comparison of this lens against one of my most favorite 50mm lenses Zeiss Planar 50 2 ZM and Sony did hold up quite well in these tests There s the usual softness around borders at wider apertures but it is not particularly bad just what I d call about average for this class of lenses But what about Canon The major surprise here is that this 30 year old lens does not fall much behind at least visually no MTF chart for the moment starting at f 2 center image quality is as good as Sony s although border continue to be softer until f 4 or so Take a look at the center crops below both done at f 2 and at the infinity As we move closer to MFD Sony s lens retains quality slightly better than Canon which at MFD is noticeably softer But what about f 1 2 Sony obviously doesn t go that wide but is there anything that would prevent you from shooting Canon wide open Well those of you looking for absolute sharpness will be disappointed since Canon is indeed softer still and does not carry the same level of definition as some modern high end lenses from Zeiss and Leica do plus the shallow DOF at f 1 2 throws us the usual curve ball making focusing accurately much harder Still at f 1 4 Canon s image quality is reasonably good with the usual caveat that there is a falloff in sharpness around edges and I d even claim that it s slightly better than what I ve seen from some other fast 50mm lenses of that era certainly better sharpness than Leica s Summarit 50 1 5 Jupiter 3 50 1 5 a Contax Sonnar knock off offer and is about on par to Nikkor SC 50 1 4 Of course YMMV because of the huge variance in quality calibration of such old lenses Canon 50mm f 1 2 LTM f 1 2 Fortunately if you are reading this review sharpness most likely is not the main consideration for you and if I m wrong stop reading this post and just buy Sony s lens I suspect that most readers would be evaluating Canon 50 1 2 LTM for the same reasons I did the character wide open And when I say character I mean the rendering style Canon 50 1 2 LTM certainly does not lack in this department This is not a super contrasty lens particularly

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/lens-comparison-sony-sel-50mm-f18-os-vs-canon-50mm-f12-ltm (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    50mm f 1 8 OSS still being quite hard to come by because of various manufacturing delays that plagued Sony for a few months after the major flood in Thailand as well as because of the unexpected demand for this lens users have been resorting to exploring various alternative 50mm lenses We recently did a couple of such reviews with 8 different rangefinder 50mm lenses see Alternative 50mm Lenses for NEX including Zeiss Planar 50 2 ZM With the final part of that review coming up next week we will include Sony s 50 1 8 OSS into the group to give you a better idea where the Sony s lens stack up against much more fancy glass Another comparison but against SLR 50mm lenses will be coming up in mid to late May But in the meantime this of this quick test as a preview of things to come And without dragging things any further here re our test conditions NEX 7 with v1 0 firmware Manual bracked focusing RAW with Adobe RGB color space 3m focusing distance ISO 400 WB set to Tungsten 2 500K Tint 0 Adobe ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 Resolution Tagged in nex 7 sony zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 25037 0 Quick Test Sony E 16 2 8 vs Sigma 19 2 8 EX DN on Sony NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Tuesday 10 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons A new day and a new quick test This time around we re gonna take a look at the UWA lenses for the NEX system Sony E 16 2 8 was one of the first lenses introduced along the NEX cameras and so far is the widest lens available for the E mount SLR Magic announced that it will start manufacturing its HyperPrime 12mm f 1 8 lens for the NEX camera but so far it has been just waporware and the lens is not available anywhere in the world Sigma s 19 2 8 EX DN is the only other wide angle lens for the NEX cameras and marks Sigma s official entrance into the race We recently saw how well Sigma s other NEX lens the 30 2 8 EX DN performed against its Sony competitor the E 30 3 5 Macro so obviously there is a tremendous interest in the 19mm lens as well Can Sigma deliver better performance at a better cost again Before we begin and before you flood us with thousands of messages let s be clear that this is not really an apples to apples comparison you can t compare a 16mm lens to a 19mm lens Well you can that s what we re doing here obviously but the comparison is biased in a couple of ways Firstly a 16mm lens is wider and hence at the same focusing distance will have different EFOV and different DOF To solve the EFOV problem we used a larger target with the 16mm

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/categories/listings/lens-comparisons (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    modern optics have far exceeded the capabilities of this glass in pretty much every dimension Then there s the obvious issue of the Internet noise there s quite a large and very opinionated group of users which outright hate this lens claiming that it is soft at wide apertures has low contrast produced significant glare etc etc etc All this obviously also deters the would be users from trying out the Canon LTM despite the niche designation or perhaps because of it Canon 50 1 2 has managed to retain its value over the years with most decent quality copies selling for upwards of 600 these days Add to that a LTM to M adapter and an M to NEX adapter if you plan to use it on Sony NEX camera and you re looking at an extra 100 150 in expenses Compare that to the modern Sony 50 1 8 OSS with the price of 275 no woder that an average user would never even look twice at the Canon lens I picked up a copy of Canon 50 1 2 purely on a whim not that I was thinking I d be using it more frequently this time around but more because I wanted to compare it to a couple of other 50mm lenses As I mentioned earlier the prices for this lens are quite stable these days so I did not expect to loose much money when I finally decided to sell it The comparison with Sony E 50 1 8 OSS is also kind of random I ve been using these two lenses side by side for a few weeks and just decided to write my observations Ultimately though I d want to compare the 50 1 2 to other rangefinder lenses both modern and classic if you have not done so already take a look at the Alternative 50mm for NEX article to get an idea of what to expect down the road Tagged in 50mm lenses canon leica ltm lenses sony Comments Continue reading Hits 22424 0 Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Part 2 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 01 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons Weather has been somewhat unpredictable lately here In San Jose so when the clouds finally cleared up on Sunday I grabbed my bag of photo gear and finish a couple of long delayed tests Last week I run through a quick comparison of 50mm rangefinder lenses on Sony NEX 5n and I wanted to finish testing this setup before moving on to something new This time around I used Sony NEX 7 but also changed focusing distance moving closer to the MFD for all lenses this is where I m hoping we will see the most difference among all lenses As in the previous section this part of the review focuses on bokeh DOF and color rendering not resolution or various artifacts like vignetting I did not use focus bracketing and did not refocus lenses when moving from

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/50mm-lenses (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    though I d want to compare the 50 1 2 to other rangefinder lenses both modern and classic if you have not done so already take a look at the Alternative 50mm for NEX article to get an idea of what to expect down the road Tagged in 50mm lenses canon leica ltm lenses sony Comments Continue reading Hits 22424 0 Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Part 2 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 01 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons Weather has been somewhat unpredictable lately here In San Jose so when the clouds finally cleared up on Sunday I grabbed my bag of photo gear and finish a couple of long delayed tests Last week I run through a quick comparison of 50mm rangefinder lenses on Sony NEX 5n and I wanted to finish testing this setup before moving on to something new This time around I used Sony NEX 7 but also changed focusing distance moving closer to the MFD for all lenses this is where I m hoping we will see the most difference among all lenses As in the previous section this part of the review focuses on bokeh DOF and color rendering not resolution or various artifacts like vignetting I did not use focus bracketing and did not refocus lenses when moving from one aperture to another this would put lenses that have focus shift i e Sonnar Nokton Jupiter at a disadvantage and hence I would not recommend using the samples below for evaluating lens sharpness In part 3 of this review I will do a bit more comprehensive test for resolution lateral CA and vignetting Again no commentaries figure out what you like on your own or wait for part 3 if you re curious to know which lens es I liked personally In the meantime here s a summary of the shooting conditions Sony NEX 7 with v1 of firmware WB set to Daylight 5 500K 10 tint RAW Adobe RGB space ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 JPEG max quality 1 5m focusing distance 2 shots per lens max aperture and stopped down to f 4 Tagged in 50mm lenses canon jupiter leica voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 18447 0 Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Posted by Administrator on Wednesday 21 March 2012 in Lens Comparisons With Sony being quite slow in ramping up production of new E mount native lenses and particularly the E 50mm f 1 8 OSS I ve been on a waiting list with Amazon for over 2 months now the ever increasing community of NEX users has been actively evaluating a variety of alternative 50mm primes easily adoptable to the NEX mount This particular comparison traces roots to fredmiranda com s alternative gear forum where a bunch of die hard alternative glass users have been debating the properties of a number of Zeiss 50mm lenses on NEX cameras I got curious in the topic and volunteered to do a quick

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/canon (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    though I d want to compare the 50 1 2 to other rangefinder lenses both modern and classic if you have not done so already take a look at the Alternative 50mm for NEX article to get an idea of what to expect down the road Tagged in 50mm lenses canon leica ltm lenses sony Comments Continue reading Hits 22424 0 Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Part 2 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 01 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons Weather has been somewhat unpredictable lately here In San Jose so when the clouds finally cleared up on Sunday I grabbed my bag of photo gear and finish a couple of long delayed tests Last week I run through a quick comparison of 50mm rangefinder lenses on Sony NEX 5n and I wanted to finish testing this setup before moving on to something new This time around I used Sony NEX 7 but also changed focusing distance moving closer to the MFD for all lenses this is where I m hoping we will see the most difference among all lenses As in the previous section this part of the review focuses on bokeh DOF and color rendering not resolution or various artifacts like vignetting I did not use focus bracketing and did not refocus lenses when moving from one aperture to another this would put lenses that have focus shift i e Sonnar Nokton Jupiter at a disadvantage and hence I would not recommend using the samples below for evaluating lens sharpness In part 3 of this review I will do a bit more comprehensive test for resolution lateral CA and vignetting Again no commentaries figure out what you like on your own or wait for part 3 if you re curious to know which lens es I liked personally In the meantime here s a summary of the shooting conditions Sony NEX 7 with v1 of firmware WB set to Daylight 5 500K 10 tint RAW Adobe RGB space ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 JPEG max quality 1 5m focusing distance 2 shots per lens max aperture and stopped down to f 4 Tagged in 50mm lenses canon jupiter leica voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 18447 0 Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Posted by Administrator on Wednesday 21 March 2012 in Lens Comparisons With Sony being quite slow in ramping up production of new E mount native lenses and particularly the E 50mm f 1 8 OSS I ve been on a waiting list with Amazon for over 2 months now the ever increasing community of NEX users has been actively evaluating a variety of alternative 50mm primes easily adoptable to the NEX mount This particular comparison traces roots to fredmiranda com s alternative gear forum where a bunch of die hard alternative glass users have been debating the properties of a number of Zeiss 50mm lenses on NEX cameras I got curious in the topic and volunteered to do a quick

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/leica (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    been in the decline since then These days the lens has become more of a niche play there is a good reason for that modern optics have far exceeded the capabilities of this glass in pretty much every dimension Then there s the obvious issue of the Internet noise there s quite a large and very opinionated group of users which outright hate this lens claiming that it is soft at wide apertures has low contrast produced significant glare etc etc etc All this obviously also deters the would be users from trying out the Canon LTM despite the niche designation or perhaps because of it Canon 50 1 2 has managed to retain its value over the years with most decent quality copies selling for upwards of 600 these days Add to that a LTM to M adapter and an M to NEX adapter if you plan to use it on Sony NEX camera and you re looking at an extra 100 150 in expenses Compare that to the modern Sony 50 1 8 OSS with the price of 275 no woder that an average user would never even look twice at the Canon lens I picked up a copy of Canon 50 1 2 purely on a whim not that I was thinking I d be using it more frequently this time around but more because I wanted to compare it to a couple of other 50mm lenses As I mentioned earlier the prices for this lens are quite stable these days so I did not expect to loose much money when I finally decided to sell it The comparison with Sony E 50 1 8 OSS is also kind of random I ve been using these two lenses side by side for a few weeks and just decided to write my observations Ultimately though I d want to compare the 50 1 2 to other rangefinder lenses both modern and classic if you have not done so already take a look at the Alternative 50mm for NEX article to get an idea of what to expect down the road Tagged in 50mm lenses canon leica ltm lenses sony Comments Continue reading Hits 22424 0 A Guide To Russian LTM Lenses Featured Posted by Administrator on Sunday 12 February 2012 in Guides and Tutorials If you are a rangefinder user I am sure you have considered buying one of those dirt cheap Russian LTM lenses that have flooded eBay LTM lenses rose to the prominence in 30s and 40s with the ascention of Leica Screw Mount cameras Numerous Leica Copies have accelerated the adoption of the standard and a large number of manufacturers including the fledging Japanese camera makers like Canon and Nikon began to manufacture LTM lenses The birth of Russian LTM lenses can be traced to the 30s and the first FED camera which utilized the M39 mount as the Leica Screw Thread became to be known After the defeat of Nazi Germany in WWII Russians

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/ltm-lenses (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    an idea of what to expect down the road Tagged in 50mm lenses canon leica ltm lenses sony Comments Continue reading Hits 22424 0 Sigma 19mm f 2 8 EX DN Lens Review on Sony NEX 5n and NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 15 July 2012 in Lens Reviews Just published new review of Sigma 19 2 8 EX DN on Sony NEX 5n and Sony NEX 7 Read Review Tagged in nex 5n nex 7 sigma sony Comments Continue reading Hits 14584 0 Quick Test Sony E 50 1 8 vs Carl Zeiss Planar 50 2 ZM on Sony NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 15 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons Today we re going to take a look at Sony s E 50 1 8 lens one of the newest additions to the Sony NEX lens lineup and do a quick comparison to one of the best 50mm rangefinder lenses Carl Zeiss Planar T 50 2 ZM The lenses are vastly different in optical construction build quality features but ultimately both are 50mm primes and can be used on NEX cameras With the 50mm f 1 8 OSS still being quite hard to come by because of various manufacturing delays that plagued Sony for a few months after the major flood in Thailand as well as because of the unexpected demand for this lens users have been resorting to exploring various alternative 50mm lenses We recently did a couple of such reviews with 8 different rangefinder 50mm lenses see Alternative 50mm Lenses for NEX including Zeiss Planar 50 2 ZM With the final part of that review coming up next week we will include Sony s 50 1 8 OSS into the group to give you a better idea where the Sony s lens stack up against much more fancy glass Another comparison but against SLR 50mm lenses will be coming up in mid to late May But in the meantime this of this quick test as a preview of things to come And without dragging things any further here re our test conditions NEX 7 with v1 0 firmware Manual bracked focusing RAW with Adobe RGB color space 3m focusing distance ISO 400 WB set to Tungsten 2 500K Tint 0 Adobe ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 Resolution Tagged in nex 7 sony zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 25037 0 Quick Test Sony E 16 2 8 vs Sigma 19 2 8 EX DN on Sony NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Tuesday 10 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons A new day and a new quick test This time around we re gonna take a look at the UWA lenses for the NEX system Sony E 16 2 8 was one of the first lenses introduced along the NEX cameras and so far is the widest lens available for the E mount SLR Magic announced that it will start manufacturing its HyperPrime 12mm f 1 8 lens for the

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/sony (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive



  •