archive-com.com » COM » S » SLRLENSREVIEW.COM

Total: 414

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Sigma 19mm f/2.8 EX DN Lens Review on Sony NEX-5n and NEX-7 - SLR Lens Review
    Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Voigtlander Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Misc Mamiya Wide Angle 645 Standard 645 Telephoto 645 Russian Meyer Pentacon Contact Us Member Login Home Administrator Sigma 19mm f 2 8 EX DN Lens Review on Sony NEX 5n and NEX 7 Subscribe to blog Subscribe via RSS Home Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site Categories Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog Tags Tags Displays a list of tags that has been used in the blog Search Sigma 19mm f 2 8 EX DN Lens Review on Sony NEX 5n and NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 15 July 2012 in Lens Reviews Font size Larger Smaller Hits 14585 Subscribe to this entry Bookmark Just published new review of Sigma 19 2 8 EX DN on Sony NEX 5n and Sony NEX 7 Read Review 0 Tagged in nex 5n nex 7 sigma sony Quick Test Sony E 50 1 8 vs Carl Zeiss Planar 50 Lens Comparison Sony SEL 50mm f 1 8 OS vs Canon 5 Related Posts Quick Test Sony E 30 3 5

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/sigma-19mm-f28-ex-dn-lens-review-on-sony-nex-5n-and-nex-7 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive


  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Voigtlander Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Misc Mamiya Wide Angle 645 Standard 645 Telephoto 645 Russian Meyer Pentacon Contact Us Member Login Home Categories Lens Reviews Subscribe to blog Subscribe via RSS Home Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site Categories Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog Tags Tags Displays a list of tags that has been used in the blog Search Lens Reviews Subscribe to this category Subscribe via RSS 4 posts in this category Sigma 19mm f 2 8 EX DN Lens Review on Sony NEX 5n and NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 15 July 2012 in Lens Reviews Just published new review of Sigma 19 2 8 EX DN on Sony NEX 5n and Sony NEX 7 Read Review Tagged in nex 5n nex 7 sigma sony Comments Hits 14585 0 Sigma 30 f 2 8 EX DN Lens Review on Sony NEX 5n and Sony NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 08 April 2012 in Lens Reviews Just published new review of Sigma 30 2 8 EX DN on Sony NEX 5n

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/categories/listings/lens-reviews (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Sigma 19mm f/2.8 EX DN (NEX) Lens Review
    both NEX as well as mFT cameras and retails at 199 as of April 2012 Along with its 30 2 8 EX DN cousin the 19mm lens targets entry level market and fills in a niche between Sony s UWA 16 2 8 and 24 1 8 lenses The optical construction of the lens consists of 8 elements in 6 groups with three aspherical surfaces The build quality is consumerish with plastic barrel and plastic knurled focusing ring The lens is fairly compact and light measuring 60 6x45 7mm 2 4x1 8in and weighing 140g 4 9oz The lens accept 46mm screw in type filters Aperture is electronically controlled with min aperture of f 22 The minimum focusing distance is 20cm 7 9in View 1 View 1 THe manufacturer s box contains the lens front and rear caps plastic lens hood and manual registration cards Within the scope of this review the lens was tested on APS C type Sony NEX 5n and Sony NEX 7 cameras where its EFOV is 28mm Summary Lens Composition 8 elements in 6 groups Angular Field 59 degrees Sony NEX Minimum Focus 20cm 7 9in Focusing Action AF MF f stop Scale f 2 8 f 22 electronic Filter Size 46mm Lens Hood Plastic included Weight 140g 4 9oz Dimensions 60 6x45 7mm 2 4x1 8 Lens Case Soft pouch included Retail Price 199 2012 Depreciation 50 2012 Handling As the first native WA alternative lens Sigma 19 2 8 holds a lot of promise Sitting between the ho hum Sony 16 2 8 and super expensive Sony Zeiss 24 1 8 lenses Sigma offers a lof of appeal to someone who is willing to sacrifice a little bit in FL but save in costs and possibly even get an improvement in quality Performance

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/reviews/sigma/sigma-wide-angle/803-sigma-19mm-f28-ex-dn-nex (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    Angle Standard Telephoto Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Macro Wide Angle Zoom Pentax Wide Angle 645 Macro Standard Zoom Wide Angle Zoom Telephoto Standard Wide Angle Telephoto 645 Standard 645 Telephoto Zoom Sigma Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Telephoto Zoom Sony Minolta Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Voigtlander Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Misc Mamiya Wide Angle 645 Standard 645 Telephoto 645 Russian Meyer Pentacon Contact Us Member Login Home Tags nex 5n Subscribe to blog Subscribe via RSS Home Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site Categories Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog Tags Tags Displays a list of tags that has been used in the blog Search Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in nex 5n Sigma 19mm f 2 8 EX DN Lens Review on Sony NEX 5n and NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 15 July 2012 in Lens Reviews Just published new review

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/nex-5n (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    into the group to give you a better idea where the Sony s lens stack up against much more fancy glass Another comparison but against SLR 50mm lenses will be coming up in mid to late May But in the meantime this of this quick test as a preview of things to come And without dragging things any further here re our test conditions NEX 7 with v1 0 firmware Manual bracked focusing RAW with Adobe RGB color space 3m focusing distance ISO 400 WB set to Tungsten 2 500K Tint 0 Adobe ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 Resolution Tagged in nex 7 sony zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 25037 0 Quick Test Sony E 16 2 8 vs Sigma 19 2 8 EX DN on Sony NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Tuesday 10 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons A new day and a new quick test This time around we re gonna take a look at the UWA lenses for the NEX system Sony E 16 2 8 was one of the first lenses introduced along the NEX cameras and so far is the widest lens available for the E mount SLR Magic announced that it will start manufacturing its HyperPrime 12mm f 1 8 lens for the NEX camera but so far it has been just waporware and the lens is not available anywhere in the world Sigma s 19 2 8 EX DN is the only other wide angle lens for the NEX cameras and marks Sigma s official entrance into the race We recently saw how well Sigma s other NEX lens the 30 2 8 EX DN performed against its Sony competitor the E 30 3 5 Macro so obviously there is a tremendous interest in the 19mm lens as well Can Sigma deliver better performance at a better cost again Before we begin and before you flood us with thousands of messages let s be clear that this is not really an apples to apples comparison you can t compare a 16mm lens to a 19mm lens Well you can that s what we re doing here obviously but the comparison is biased in a couple of ways Firstly a 16mm lens is wider and hence at the same focusing distance will have different EFOV and different DOF To solve the EFOV problem we used a larger target with the 16mm lens which placed the measurement areas roughly into the same place as with the 19mm lens But only roughly we can say that we measured MTF50 in the corners for both lenses but the points of measurement were different between the two lenses the variance of 10 in true distance from the image center to the corner points of measurement between the two lenses is quite probable We can t obviously do anything about the DOF difference so we just ignored this issue Secondly we can t really do anything about the variance in optical characteristics of

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/nex-7 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    gonna take a look at the UWA lenses for the NEX system Sony E 16 2 8 was one of the first lenses introduced along the NEX cameras and so far is the widest lens available for the E mount SLR Magic announced that it will start manufacturing its HyperPrime 12mm f 1 8 lens for the NEX camera but so far it has been just waporware and the lens is not available anywhere in the world Sigma s 19 2 8 EX DN is the only other wide angle lens for the NEX cameras and marks Sigma s official entrance into the race We recently saw how well Sigma s other NEX lens the 30 2 8 EX DN performed against its Sony competitor the E 30 3 5 Macro so obviously there is a tremendous interest in the 19mm lens as well Can Sigma deliver better performance at a better cost again Before we begin and before you flood us with thousands of messages let s be clear that this is not really an apples to apples comparison you can t compare a 16mm lens to a 19mm lens Well you can that s what we re doing here obviously but the comparison is biased in a couple of ways Firstly a 16mm lens is wider and hence at the same focusing distance will have different EFOV and different DOF To solve the EFOV problem we used a larger target with the 16mm lens which placed the measurement areas roughly into the same place as with the 19mm lens But only roughly we can say that we measured MTF50 in the corners for both lenses but the points of measurement were different between the two lenses the variance of 10 in true distance from the image center to the corner points of measurement between the two lenses is quite probable We can t obviously do anything about the DOF difference so we just ignored this issue Secondly we can t really do anything about the variance in optical characteristics of lenses that can arise due to the difference in the true FL for example we can t compensate for distortion to measure true resolution so again we simply ignore this But not everything in this test has as much variance vignetting and lateral CA measurements are for example more comparable than say raw MTF50 So why are we doing this comparison knowing all in advance that this is an apples to oranges comparison Curiosity which as they say killed the cat please note that no cats or other animals were actually used or hurt in this test More importantly this test can give the foundation for intuitive guesses that many practitioners have been expressing in online forums after all if it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck it s most likely going to be a duck And so with that Tagged in nex 7 sigma sony Comments Continue reading Hits 37515 0 Quick Test Sony

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/sigma (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Quick Test: Sony E 50/1.8 vs Carl Zeiss Planar 50/2 ZM on Sony NEX-7 - SLR Lens Review
    in optical construction build quality features but ultimately both are 50mm primes and can be used on NEX cameras With the 50mm f 1 8 OSS still being quite hard to come by because of various manufacturing delays that plagued Sony for a few months after the major flood in Thailand as well as because of the unexpected demand for this lens users have been resorting to exploring various alternative 50mm lenses We recently did a couple of such reviews with 8 different rangefinder 50mm lenses see Alternative 50mm Lenses for NEX including Zeiss Planar 50 2 ZM With the final part of that review coming up next week we will include Sony s 50 1 8 OSS into the group to give you a better idea where the Sony s lens stack up against much more fancy glass Another comparison but against SLR 50mm lenses will be coming up in mid to late May But in the meantime this of this quick test as a preview of things to come And without dragging things any further here re our test conditions NEX 7 with v1 0 firmware Manual bracked focusing RAW with Adobe RGB color space 3m focusing distance ISO 400 WB set to Tungsten 2 500K Tint 0 Adobe ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 Resolution Both lenses show almost identical performance pattern although the absolute numbers are obviously different Both lenses are indistinguishable in the center but Zeiss shows stronger results around borders where it leads Sony across all apertures Center Borders Center Borders Lateral CA Zeiss is the clear winner here producing significantly lower amounts of lateral CA around borders than Sony s 50 1 8 lens Of course the absolute amounts do not necessarily translate into picture quality but the lower

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/quick-test-sony-50f18-vs-zeiss-planar-50f2zm-sony-nex7 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    Jupiter at a disadvantage and hence I would not recommend using the samples below for evaluating lens sharpness In part 3 of this review I will do a bit more comprehensive test for resolution lateral CA and vignetting Again no commentaries figure out what you like on your own or wait for part 3 if you re curious to know which lens es I liked personally In the meantime here s a summary of the shooting conditions Sony NEX 7 with v1 of firmware WB set to Daylight 5 500K 10 tint RAW Adobe RGB space ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 JPEG max quality 1 5m focusing distance 2 shots per lens max aperture and stopped down to f 4 Tagged in 50mm lenses canon jupiter leica voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 18447 0 Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Posted by Administrator on Wednesday 21 March 2012 in Lens Comparisons With Sony being quite slow in ramping up production of new E mount native lenses and particularly the E 50mm f 1 8 OSS I ve been on a waiting list with Amazon for over 2 months now the ever increasing community of NEX users has been actively evaluating a variety of alternative 50mm primes easily adoptable to the NEX mount This particular comparison traces roots to fredmiranda com s alternative gear forum where a bunch of die hard alternative glass users have been debating the properties of a number of Zeiss 50mm lenses on NEX cameras I got curious in the topic and volunteered to do a quick test with a few popular and often considered high quality 50s This section of the review will showcase bokeh rendering of 8 alternative lenses on NEX 5n Results below are presented without much commentary considering that tasted vary quite widely I will let the reader decide which of the lenses have the most appealing characteristics I will repeat this test on NEX 7 in a couple of weeks but will use a different focusing distance which hopefully would present the readers with a more diverse overview of the tested lenses Finally a third part of the review will compare more general characteristics like resolution vignetting and lateral CA expect very opinionated commentary in this section Before we jump to results let s touch base on the test conditions Tagged in 50mm lenses canon jupiter leica sony nex voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 15869 0 Zeiss Distagon T 15 2 8 ZF ZE Should You Care Posted by Administrator on Tuesday 06 March 2012 in Uncategorized So the rumor mills are working and the latest news is that Carl Zeiss will soon be announcing the new Distagon T 15 2 8 lens in Nikon ZF 2 and Canon ZE mounts Originally reported by zeissrumors com and most recently by photorumors com the news spread to the rest of the web within a day As a long time Zeiss user and aficionado I got pretty

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/zeiss (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive



  •