archive-com.com » COM » S » SLRLENSREVIEW.COM

Total: 414

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Quick Test: Sony E 16/2.8 vs Sigma 19/2.8 EX DN on Sony NEX-7 - SLR Lens Review
    so obviously there is a tremendous interest in the 19mm lens as well Can Sigma deliver better performance at a better cost again Before we begin and before you flood us with thousands of messages let s be clear that this is not really an apples to apples comparison you can t compare a 16mm lens to a 19mm lens Well you can that s what we re doing here obviously but the comparison is biased in a couple of ways Firstly a 16mm lens is wider and hence at the same focusing distance will have different EFOV and different DOF To solve the EFOV problem we used a larger target with the 16mm lens which placed the measurement areas roughly into the same place as with the 19mm lens But only roughly we can say that we measured MTF50 in the corners for both lenses but the points of measurement were different between the two lenses the variance of 10 in true distance from the image center to the corner points of measurement between the two lenses is quite probable We can t obviously do anything about the DOF difference so we just ignored this issue Secondly we can t really do anything about the variance in optical characteristics of lenses that can arise due to the difference in the true FL for example we can t compensate for distortion to measure true resolution so again we simply ignore this But not everything in this test has as much variance vignetting and lateral CA measurements are for example more comparable than say raw MTF50 So why are we doing this comparison knowing all in advance that this is an apples to oranges comparison Curiosity which as they say killed the cat please note that no cats or other animals were actually used or hurt in this test More importantly this test can give the foundation for intuitive guesses that many practitioners have been expressing in online forums after all if it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck it s most likely going to be a duck And so with that NEX 7 with v1 0 firmware Manual bracketed focusing RAW with Adobe RGB space 1 5m focusing distance ISO 400 WB set to Tungsten 2 850K Tint 0 Adobe ACR with default sertings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 Resolution Booyah Sigma floors Sony s lens to the ground in this department Both lenses show more or less comparable resolution in the center Sigma is a little bit better across all apertures but most notably at f 2 8 But corner performance is just a no compatition at all the variance between the two lenses is 20 to 50 across the apertures Center Borders Center Borders Lateral CA And Sigma wins this bout as well showcasing a significantly lower lateral CA across the aperture than Sony E 16 2 8 The difference is astounding 1 5px on average Less CA very good in our books although

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/quick-test-sony-16f28-vs-sigma-19f28exdn (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Sigma 30 f/2.8 EX DN Lens Review on Sony NEX-5n and Sony NEX-7 - SLR Lens Review
    Wide Angle Telephoto 645 Standard 645 Telephoto Zoom Sigma Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Telephoto Zoom Sony Minolta Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Voigtlander Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Misc Mamiya Wide Angle 645 Standard 645 Telephoto 645 Russian Meyer Pentacon Contact Us Member Login Home Administrator Sigma 30 f 2 8 EX DN Lens Review on Sony NEX 5n and Sony NEX 7 Subscribe to blog Subscribe via RSS Home Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site Categories Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog Tags Tags Displays a list of tags that has been used in the blog Search Sigma 30 f 2 8 EX DN Lens Review on Sony NEX 5n and Sony NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 08 April 2012 in Lens Reviews Font size Larger Smaller Hits 8846 Subscribe to this entry Bookmark Just published new review of Sigma 30 2 8 EX DN on Sony NEX 5n and

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/sigma-30-f28exdn-lens-review (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review - Page 2
    entries 1 2 3 4 5 Recent blog posts Quick Test Sony E 30 3 5 Macro vs Sigma 30 2 8 EX DN on Sony NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 08 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons Today we re gonna do a quick comparison of Sony e E 30 3 5 Macro lens against the new kid on the NEX block Sigma s 30 2 8 EX DN lens Sigma has just released two dedicated primes for the NEX systems also available for the m43 platform and based on the initial feedback from the user community the new 30 2 8 EX DN is quite a performer But really how good of a performer Let s check it out But first thing first The two lenses are really targeting different segments of users Sony s lens is a 1 1 macro while Sigma s lens well it s just a general purpose lens If you re even remotely interested in macro photography this comparison is useless to you just go get Sony s lens On the other hand if you were considering getting Sony as a general purpose prime given it s EFOV of 45mm you get a normal ish lens than read on you re the primary target for this review Even before we compare the actual resolution vignetting etc numbers Sigma already holds an advantage over Sony it s cheaper lighter smaller and faster Sony sports slightly better build quality with aluminium barrel but Sigma s barrel is just fine as well I managed to bump the lens a couple of times and it does not show any damage It s not clear how well either of the lenses would survive a fall from say 3 feet but whatever few lenses would survive such a fall anyway Tagged in nex 7 sigma sony Comments Continue reading Hits 27954 0 Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T 24mm f 1 8 ZA for NEX Lens Review Published Posted by Administrator on Wednesday 04 April 2012 in Lens Reviews New review of Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar 24 1 8 ZA on Sony NEX 5n and Sony NEX 7 Read Review Comments Continue reading Hits 5867 0 Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Part 2 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 01 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons Weather has been somewhat unpredictable lately here In San Jose so when the clouds finally cleared up on Sunday I grabbed my bag of photo gear and finish a couple of long delayed tests Last week I run through a quick comparison of 50mm rangefinder lenses on Sony NEX 5n and I wanted to finish testing this setup before moving on to something new This time around I used Sony NEX 7 but also changed focusing distance moving closer to the MFD for all lenses this is where I m hoping we will see the most difference among all lenses As in the previous section this part of the review focuses on bokeh DOF

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/?start=5 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review - Page 3
    line is that there are a lot of 14 15mm lenses out there so it s not like Zeiss is going to be filling in an empty niche Because of that I expect that the price point for the SLR version of Distagon 15 2 8 to be significantly below the Leica version of the lens probably somewhere in the 2 000 2 500 range Now some of the cheaper options available out there are not particularly good resolution distortion CA etc So naturally many who are not happy with the alternatives are looking at Zeiss as a premium lens designer who can solve all of these problems in which case the argument goes the premium price for Distagon 15 2 8 is going to be justified But is it a realistic expectation At a minimum I expect that the new SLR version of Distagon 15 2 8 will have a fairly good resolution ZM version certainly improved in this domain over the old Contax version see MTF charts below Distagon 15 2 8 ZM is at the top and Contax 15 3 5 is at the bottom Tagged in zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 6748 0 The Mad Mad Mad World of Mirrorless Predictions 2012 Posted by Administrator on Thursday 09 February 2012 in Uncategorized With the noise level surrounding anything that has the word mirrorless in it reaching astronomic proportions we want to poke a bit of fun at all the rumor mill sites we still love you though since you give us all an almost endless source of discussions and come up with our own half serious and half not so much predictions for 2012 We even came up with our own hotness indicator and grade from highest to lowest LP1 LP2 LP3 LP4 LP5 If you wonder what LP means we don t know that either but we will remind these grades to you every so often so you just don t forget them Seriously though we ve witnessed quite a few photo equipment generation and so predictions below are not completely baseless these are based on overall observations of where the market and individual players are and where they are moving History often repeats itself and this cycle is not an exception in our belief And so our predictions for year 2012 Drum roll please Sony will announce a high end FF mirrorless LP1 Canon will introduce APS C sized mirrorless fully backward compatible with EF EF S mount LP1 Pentax Q system will be discontinued in favor of a different mirrorless platform GXR K 01 LP1 Nikon will drastically drop prices on V1 J1 and will introduce a higher MP sensors for the system LP1 Nikon will introduce APS C sensor in V system LP3 Samsung NX will continue to be completely unappreciated and all for good reasons LP1 Leica will introduce another Limited Edition something that would have no real value to photographers but would still sell well LP1 Panasonic will flood the

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/?start=10 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review
    Wide Angle Zoom Pentax Wide Angle 645 Macro Standard Zoom Wide Angle Zoom Telephoto Standard Wide Angle Telephoto 645 Standard 645 Telephoto Zoom Sigma Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Telephoto Zoom Sony Minolta Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/component/users/?view=reset (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review
    Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Macro Wide Angle Zoom Pentax Wide Angle 645 Macro Standard Zoom Wide Angle Zoom Telephoto Standard Wide Angle Telephoto 645 Standard 645 Telephoto Zoom Sigma Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Telephoto Zoom Sony Minolta Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/component/users/?view=remind (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review
    Standard Telephoto Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Macro Wide Angle Zoom Pentax Wide Angle 645 Macro Standard Zoom Wide Angle Zoom Telephoto Standard Wide Angle Telephoto 645 Standard 645 Telephoto Zoom Sigma Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Telephoto Zoom Sony Minolta Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/component/users/?view=registration (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Canon Lenses
    Wide Angle Zoom Pentax Wide Angle 645 Macro Standard Zoom Wide Angle Zoom Telephoto Standard Wide Angle Telephoto 645 Standard 645 Telephoto Zoom Sigma Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Telephoto Zoom Sony Minolta Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/canon-lenses (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive



  •