archive-com.com » COM » S » SLRLENSREVIEW.COM

Total: 414

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    fairly good resolution ZM version certainly improved in this domain over the old Contax version see MTF charts below Distagon 15 2 8 ZM is at the top and Contax 15 3 5 is at the bottom Tagged in zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 6748 0 The Mad Mad Mad World of Mirrorless Predictions 2012 Posted by Administrator on Thursday 09 February 2012 in Uncategorized With the noise level surrounding anything that has the word mirrorless in it reaching astronomic proportions we want to poke a bit of fun at all the rumor mill sites we still love you though since you give us all an almost endless source of discussions and come up with our own half serious and half not so much predictions for 2012 We even came up with our own hotness indicator and grade from highest to lowest LP1 LP2 LP3 LP4 LP5 If you wonder what LP means we don t know that either but we will remind these grades to you every so often so you just don t forget them Seriously though we ve witnessed quite a few photo equipment generation and so predictions below are not completely baseless these are based on overall observations of where the market and individual players are and where they are moving History often repeats itself and this cycle is not an exception in our belief And so our predictions for year 2012 Drum roll please Sony will announce a high end FF mirrorless LP1 Canon will introduce APS C sized mirrorless fully backward compatible with EF EF S mount LP1 Pentax Q system will be discontinued in favor of a different mirrorless platform GXR K 01 LP1 Nikon will drastically drop prices on V1 J1 and will introduce a higher MP sensors for the system LP1 Nikon will introduce APS C sensor in V system LP3 Samsung NX will continue to be completely unappreciated and all for good reasons LP1 Leica will introduce another Limited Edition something that would have no real value to photographers but would still sell well LP1 Panasonic will flood the markets with more m4 3 cameras completely confusing prospective buyers who will move on and instead buy a Sony NEX system LP1 The euphoria around Fuji X Pro1 system will fade and the company will go back to what it does best making color film and color faxes LP2 Carl Zeiss will not introduce any cameras mirrorless or otherwise LP1 Ricoh GXR will continue to be the poster child of a select few online reviewers but otherwise would not even generate a blip of interest among the mainstreams LP1 Sigma will discontinue DP2x and nobody will notice LP2 Let s revisit this topic next yearand see how well we fared Comments Hits 3121 0 Quick Update On The Site Performance Posted by Administrator on Monday 06 February 2012 in Uncategorized So it has been a couple of weeks since I upgraded the back end and the front end for the SLR

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/categories/listings/uncategorized (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive


  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    any seller who does not accept returns buying anything over 50 from such sellers poses way too much risk IMO I ve had a very bad experience with top35mm com web site run by Alexander Semensky eBay semensky three lenses I ordered from him came completely broken one with jammed focusing ring one with jammed aperture ring and the third lens in M42 instead of M39 mount If you re purchasing an expensive Russian lens like Orion 15 dealing with a US based seller or better yet a company is much safer fedka com is one such company run our of NYC I ve had a decent experience with them in the past and will most liley use them again Unfortunately fedka com does not refresh its catalog very often and some lenses that you see on their web site might not be available or might have a different condition than what is advertised on the site But at least you can return the item if you don t like it Prelude Before we jump into a deeper discussion of the individual Russian LTM lenses let s touch base on one of the most critical difference between Russian M39 lenses and their Western counterpart from Leica Voigtlander and others This difference is the cause of many complaints as well as general dissatisfaction with Russian LTM lenses with many users believing that the lenses are of very poor quality optically speaking or have a wide variability in quality control By the way the second point by itself is true but to a lesser degree than what many would be users tend to believe Comments Continue reading Hits 42199 0 A Guide To Russian LTM Lenses Featured Posted by Administrator on Sunday 12 February 2012 in Guides and Tutorials If you are a rangefinder user I am sure you have considered buying one of those dirt cheap Russian LTM lenses that have flooded eBay LTM lenses rose to the prominence in 30s and 40s with the ascention of Leica Screw Mount cameras Numerous Leica Copies have accelerated the adoption of the standard and a large number of manufacturers including the fledging Japanese camera makers like Canon and Nikon began to manufacture LTM lenses The birth of Russian LTM lenses can be traced to the 30s and the first FED camera which utilized the M39 mount as the Leica Screw Thread became to be known After the defeat of Nazi Germany in WWII Russians appropriated the original optical equipment and designs from Carl Zeiss factory in Jena Carl Zeiss know how was one of the most prized posessions of the post war era and helped accelerate innovation in the USSR s optical photography industry which was pretty much leveled with the ground over the five years of war Most of the early Russian lens designs trace their roots to Carl Zeiss designs The Jena factory continued its production under the Communist regime but Russians also jump started their own factories most notably in

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/categories/listings/guides (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Tags - SLR Lens Review
    Macro Wide Angle Zoom Pentax Wide Angle 645 Macro Standard Zoom Wide Angle Zoom Telephoto Standard Wide Angle Telephoto 645 Standard 645 Telephoto Zoom Sigma Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Telephoto Zoom Sony Minolta Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Voigtlander Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Misc Mamiya Wide Angle 645 Standard 645 Telephoto 645 Russian Meyer Pentacon Contact Us Member Login Home Tags Subscribe to blog Subscribe via RSS Home Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site Categories Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog Tags Tags Displays a list of tags that has been used in the blog Search Tags Title Tag Weight Asc Desc 50mm lenses 3 Subscribe via RSS canon 5 Subscribe via RSS fed 1 Subscribe via RSS industar 1 Subscribe via RSS jupiter 3 Subscribe via RSS leica 5 Subscribe via RSS ltm lenses 3 Subscribe via RSS macro 2 Subscribe via RSS nex 5n 1 Subscribe via RSS nex 7

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags?ordering=title&sorting=asc (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    those dirt cheap Russian LTM lenses that have flooded eBay LTM lenses rose to the prominence in 30s and 40s with the ascention of Leica Screw Mount cameras Numerous Leica Copies have accelerated the adoption of the standard and a large number of manufacturers including the fledging Japanese camera makers like Canon and Nikon began to manufacture LTM lenses The birth of Russian LTM lenses can be traced to the 30s and the first FED camera which utilized the M39 mount as the Leica Screw Thread became to be known After the defeat of Nazi Germany in WWII Russians appropriated the original optical equipment and designs from Carl Zeiss factory in Jena Carl Zeiss know how was one of the most prized posessions of the post war era and helped accelerate innovation in the USSR s optical photography industry which was pretty much leveled with the ground over the five years of war Most of the early Russian lens designs trace their roots to Carl Zeiss designs The Jena factory continued its production under the Communist regime but Russians also jump started their own factories most notably in Krasnogorsk the KMZ factory and later also expanded production to Arsenal Kiev Litkarino Lvov Kharkov and Kazan factories But KMZ remained the epicenter of the innovation and most original Russian designs were originated there However while there are a lot of Russian lenses available on eBay figuring out what is what is fairly hard the Russian lens nomenklature is pretty confusing at times and often archaic This guide tries to bring a little bit more clarity into this subject We will focus only on Russian LTM lenses in this article there is also a very wide range of Russian lenses available in Pentax M42 K mount as well as Contax mount but these will be covered in a separate article at a later time The main audience for this article should be a user an active photographer if you will rather than a collector While some Russian lenses may bear collectible value I am no expert in anything collectible and so am going to leave this topic to someone else Hence the article will focus on lenses that are relatively easy to obtain on used markets and will be omitting all prototype and limited production lens The article consists of three parts the first part you are reading now will try to document all known Russian LTM lenses with same key statistics like rated resolution pricing and availability The second and third parts are oriented towards the practicioner who wants to see beyond the basic information and get a better feel about more subjective qualities of individual lenses This is not a detailed review that you might be accustomed to if you re a regular here if anyone decides to learn a bit more about a particular lens he she is advised to visit the full features lens reviews section On a personal note I have been using Russian LTM lenses on

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/fed (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    word though of Carl Zeiss designs from 1930s and 1940s The biggest issue with the Jupiters that users have to keep in mind is that they are all based on Contax designs with 52 3mm register distance vs 51 6mm for Leica This means that when screwed on the actual Leica bodies the lenses would exibit focusing errors because of the rangefinder misalignment with the lens register The misalignment is greatest at the MFD and so even when you think you focused spot on with the rangefinder the images would end up mis focused This might not be much of an issue with slower lenses those with f 2 8 and slower max aperture because of the increased DOF but fast lenses like Jupiter 3 and Jupiter 8 can easily frustrate unsuspecting user Of course all this becomes a moot point if you re using the leses on Sony NEX or MFT cameras Jupiter 3 At a Glannce Tagged in jupiter ltm lenses russian lenses Comments Continue reading Hits 29667 0 Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Part 2 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 01 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons Weather has been somewhat unpredictable lately here In San Jose so when the clouds finally cleared up on Sunday I grabbed my bag of photo gear and finish a couple of long delayed tests Last week I run through a quick comparison of 50mm rangefinder lenses on Sony NEX 5n and I wanted to finish testing this setup before moving on to something new This time around I used Sony NEX 7 but also changed focusing distance moving closer to the MFD for all lenses this is where I m hoping we will see the most difference among all lenses As in the previous section this part of the review focuses on bokeh DOF and color rendering not resolution or various artifacts like vignetting I did not use focus bracketing and did not refocus lenses when moving from one aperture to another this would put lenses that have focus shift i e Sonnar Nokton Jupiter at a disadvantage and hence I would not recommend using the samples below for evaluating lens sharpness In part 3 of this review I will do a bit more comprehensive test for resolution lateral CA and vignetting Again no commentaries figure out what you like on your own or wait for part 3 if you re curious to know which lens es I liked personally In the meantime here s a summary of the shooting conditions Sony NEX 7 with v1 of firmware WB set to Daylight 5 500K 10 tint RAW Adobe RGB space ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 JPEG max quality 1 5m focusing distance 2 shots per lens max aperture and stopped down to f 4 Tagged in 50mm lenses canon jupiter leica voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 18447 0 Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Posted by Administrator on Wednesday 21 March 2012 in Lens

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/jupiter (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    rolling review of the 100mm macro lenses for Canon EF mount Studio Test Ok folks we are starting off with a fairly standard Imatest evaluation of our primary candidates Just as a reminder we will limit this test to only one focusing distance 10m Why 10m For all 100mm lenses 10m focusing distance roughly falls into medium range and closer to the infinity than to the MFD I cannot test lenses at longer than 14m focusing distance due to the space constraints And testing at very close focusing distances with Imatest does not really make sense due to the software s and imaging target s limitations we will be testing the resolution of the target printer that is rather than the lens at anything closer than 2m 20x focal length of the lens At 10m we get a 100x focal length ratio which should be good enough to get us accurate results out of Imatest as accurate as the software is capable of giving us of course Plus we will do macro MFD and infinity tests separately so yea 10m sounds like a good start Tagged in canon leica macro voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 34761 1 Best Of The Best Of The Best With Honors 100mm Macro Comparison Featured Posted by Administrator on Tuesday 07 February 2012 in Lens Comparisons This is Part One of the rolling review of the 100mm macro lenses for Canon EF mount Introduction I am not much of a macro shooter yet I have managed to accumulate 4 dedicated macro lenses for Canon mount This happened over time I purchased a Canon 100mm f 2 8 USM Macro long long time ago and kept it since it was a really good performer Then I stumbled on Voigtlander APO Lanthar 125mm f 2 5

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/macro (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Telephoto Zoom Sony Minolta Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Voigtlander Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Misc Mamiya Wide Angle 645 Standard 645 Telephoto 645 Russian Meyer Pentacon Contact Us Member

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/russ (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    would end up mis focused This might not be much of an issue with slower lenses those with f 2 8 and slower max aperture because of the increased DOF but fast lenses like Jupiter 3 and Jupiter 8 can easily frustrate unsuspecting user Of course all this becomes a moot point if you re using the leses on Sony NEX or MFT cameras Jupiter 3 At a Glannce Tagged in jupiter ltm lenses russian lenses Comments Continue reading Hits 29667 0 A Guide To Russian LTM Lenses Featured Posted by Administrator on Sunday 12 February 2012 in Guides and Tutorials If you are a rangefinder user I am sure you have considered buying one of those dirt cheap Russian LTM lenses that have flooded eBay LTM lenses rose to the prominence in 30s and 40s with the ascention of Leica Screw Mount cameras Numerous Leica Copies have accelerated the adoption of the standard and a large number of manufacturers including the fledging Japanese camera makers like Canon and Nikon began to manufacture LTM lenses The birth of Russian LTM lenses can be traced to the 30s and the first FED camera which utilized the M39 mount as the Leica Screw Thread became to be known After the defeat of Nazi Germany in WWII Russians appropriated the original optical equipment and designs from Carl Zeiss factory in Jena Carl Zeiss know how was one of the most prized posessions of the post war era and helped accelerate innovation in the USSR s optical photography industry which was pretty much leveled with the ground over the five years of war Most of the early Russian lens designs trace their roots to Carl Zeiss designs The Jena factory continued its production under the Communist regime but Russians also jump started their own factories most notably in Krasnogorsk the KMZ factory and later also expanded production to Arsenal Kiev Litkarino Lvov Kharkov and Kazan factories But KMZ remained the epicenter of the innovation and most original Russian designs were originated there However while there are a lot of Russian lenses available on eBay figuring out what is what is fairly hard the Russian lens nomenklature is pretty confusing at times and often archaic This guide tries to bring a little bit more clarity into this subject We will focus only on Russian LTM lenses in this article there is also a very wide range of Russian lenses available in Pentax M42 K mount as well as Contax mount but these will be covered in a separate article at a later time The main audience for this article should be a user an active photographer if you will rather than a collector While some Russian lenses may bear collectible value I am no expert in anything collectible and so am going to leave this topic to someone else Hence the article will focus on lenses that are relatively easy to obtain on used markets and will be omitting all prototype and limited production lens

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/russian-lenses (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive



  •