archive-com.com » COM » S » SLRLENSREVIEW.COM

Total: 414

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Voigtlander Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Misc Mamiya Wide Angle 645 Standard 645 Telephoto 645 Russian Meyer Pentacon Contact Us Member Login Home Tags sony nex Subscribe to blog Subscribe via RSS Home Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site Categories Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog Tags Tags Displays a list of tags that has been used in the blog Search Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in sony nex Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Posted by Administrator on Wednesday 21 March 2012 in Lens Comparisons With Sony being quite slow in ramping up production of new E mount native lenses and particularly the E 50mm f 1 8 OSS I ve been on a waiting list with Amazon for over 2 months now the ever increasing community of NEX users has been actively evaluating a variety of alternative 50mm primes easily adoptable to the NEX mount This particular comparison traces roots to fredmiranda com s alternative gear forum where a bunch of die hard alternative glass users have been debating the properties of a number of Zeiss 50mm lenses on NEX cameras I got curious in the topic and volunteered to do a quick test with a few popular and often considered high quality 50s This section of the review will showcase bokeh rendering of 8 alternative lenses on NEX 5n Results below are presented without much commentary considering that tasted vary quite widely I will let the reader decide which of the lenses have the most appealing characteristics I will repeat this test

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/sony-nex (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive


  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    for part 3 if you re curious to know which lens es I liked personally In the meantime here s a summary of the shooting conditions Sony NEX 7 with v1 of firmware WB set to Daylight 5 500K 10 tint RAW Adobe RGB space ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 JPEG max quality 1 5m focusing distance 2 shots per lens max aperture and stopped down to f 4 Tagged in 50mm lenses canon jupiter leica voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 18447 0 Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Posted by Administrator on Wednesday 21 March 2012 in Lens Comparisons With Sony being quite slow in ramping up production of new E mount native lenses and particularly the E 50mm f 1 8 OSS I ve been on a waiting list with Amazon for over 2 months now the ever increasing community of NEX users has been actively evaluating a variety of alternative 50mm primes easily adoptable to the NEX mount This particular comparison traces roots to fredmiranda com s alternative gear forum where a bunch of die hard alternative glass users have been debating the properties of a number of Zeiss 50mm lenses on NEX cameras I got curious in the topic and volunteered to do a quick test with a few popular and often considered high quality 50s This section of the review will showcase bokeh rendering of 8 alternative lenses on NEX 5n Results below are presented without much commentary considering that tasted vary quite widely I will let the reader decide which of the lenses have the most appealing characteristics I will repeat this test on NEX 7 in a couple of weeks but will use a different focusing distance which hopefully would present the readers with a more diverse overview of the tested lenses Finally a third part of the review will compare more general characteristics like resolution vignetting and lateral CA expect very opinionated commentary in this section Before we jump to results let s touch base on the test conditions Tagged in 50mm lenses canon jupiter leica sony nex voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 15870 0 Best Of The Best Of The Best With Honors 100mm Macro Comparison Part 2 Featured Posted by Administrator on Saturday 18 February 2012 in Lens Comparisons This is Part Two of the rolling review of the 100mm macro lenses for Canon EF mount Studio Test Ok folks we are starting off with a fairly standard Imatest evaluation of our primary candidates Just as a reminder we will limit this test to only one focusing distance 10m Why 10m For all 100mm lenses 10m focusing distance roughly falls into medium range and closer to the infinity than to the MFD I cannot test lenses at longer than 14m focusing distance due to the space constraints And testing at very close focusing distances with Imatest does not really make sense due to the software s and imaging target s limitations we will

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/tags/tag/voigtlander (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX - SLR Lens Review
    Bookmark With Sony being quite slow in ramping up production of new E mount native lenses and particularly the E 50mm f 1 8 OSS I ve been on a waiting list with Amazon for over 2 months now the ever increasing community of NEX users has been actively evaluating a variety of alternative 50mm primes easily adoptable to the NEX mount This particular comparison traces roots to fredmiranda com s alternative gear forum where a bunch of die hard alternative glass users have been debating the properties of a number of Zeiss 50mm lenses on NEX cameras I got curious in the topic and volunteered to do a quick test with a few popular and often considered high quality 50s This section of the review will showcase bokeh rendering of 8 alternative lenses on NEX 5n Results below are presented without much commentary considering that tasted vary quite widely I will let the reader decide which of the lenses have the most appealing characteristics I will repeat this test on NEX 7 in a couple of weeks but will use a different focusing distance which hopefully would present the readers with a more diverse overview of the tested lenses Finally a third part of the review will compare more general characteristics like resolution vignetting and lateral CA expect very opinionated commentary in this section Before we jump to results let s touch base on the test conditions Sony NEX 5n with v1 01 of firmware set in manual mode WB set to Cloudy 5 700K 13 tint RAW Adobe RGB space ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 JPEG max quality 2 5m focusing distance 2 shots per lens wide open and stopped down to f 4 PS I would not recommend using the samples below

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/alternative-50mm-lenses-for-sony-nex-part1 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX (Part 2) - SLR Lens Review
    Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Part 2 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 01 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons Font size Larger Smaller Hits 18448 Subscribe to this entry Bookmark Weather has been somewhat unpredictable lately here In San Jose so when the clouds finally cleared up on Sunday I grabbed my bag of photo gear and finish a couple of long delayed tests Last week I run through a quick comparison of 50mm rangefinder lenses on Sony NEX 5n and I wanted to finish testing this setup before moving on to something new This time around I used Sony NEX 7 but also changed focusing distance moving closer to the MFD for all lenses this is where I m hoping we will see the most difference among all lenses As in the previous section this part of the review focuses on bokeh DOF and color rendering not resolution or various artifacts like vignetting I did not use focus bracketing and did not refocus lenses when moving from one aperture to another this would put lenses that have focus shift i e Sonnar Nokton Jupiter at a disadvantage and hence I would not recommend using the samples below for evaluating lens sharpness In part 3 of this review I will do a bit more comprehensive test for resolution lateral CA and vignetting Again no commentaries figure out what you like on your own or wait for part 3 if you re curious to know which lens es I liked personally In the meantime here s a summary of the shooting conditions Sony NEX 7 with v1 of firmware WB set to Daylight 5 500K 10 tint RAW Adobe RGB space ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 JPEG max quality 1 5m focusing distance 2 shots per

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/alternative-50mm-lenses-for-sony-nex-part-2 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Bloggers - SLR Lens Review
    Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Telephoto Zoom Sony Minolta Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Voigtlander Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Misc Mamiya Wide Angle 645 Standard 645 Telephoto 645 Russian Meyer Pentacon Contact Us Member

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/blogger (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review - Page 2
    is quite a performer But really how good of a performer Let s check it out But first thing first The two lenses are really targeting different segments of users Sony s lens is a 1 1 macro while Sigma s lens well it s just a general purpose lens If you re even remotely interested in macro photography this comparison is useless to you just go get Sony s lens On the other hand if you were considering getting Sony as a general purpose prime given it s EFOV of 45mm you get a normal ish lens than read on you re the primary target for this review Even before we compare the actual resolution vignetting etc numbers Sigma already holds an advantage over Sony it s cheaper lighter smaller and faster Sony sports slightly better build quality with aluminium barrel but Sigma s barrel is just fine as well I managed to bump the lens a couple of times and it does not show any damage It s not clear how well either of the lenses would survive a fall from say 3 feet but whatever few lenses would survive such a fall anyway Tagged in nex 7 sigma sony Comments Continue reading Hits 27954 0 Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T 24mm f 1 8 ZA for NEX Lens Review Published Posted by Administrator on Wednesday 04 April 2012 in Lens Reviews New review of Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar 24 1 8 ZA on Sony NEX 5n and Sony NEX 7 Read Review Comments Continue reading Hits 5867 0 Alternative 50mm Lenses For Sony NEX Part 2 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 01 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons Weather has been somewhat unpredictable lately here In San Jose so when the clouds finally cleared up on Sunday I grabbed my bag of photo gear and finish a couple of long delayed tests Last week I run through a quick comparison of 50mm rangefinder lenses on Sony NEX 5n and I wanted to finish testing this setup before moving on to something new This time around I used Sony NEX 7 but also changed focusing distance moving closer to the MFD for all lenses this is where I m hoping we will see the most difference among all lenses As in the previous section this part of the review focuses on bokeh DOF and color rendering not resolution or various artifacts like vignetting I did not use focus bracketing and did not refocus lenses when moving from one aperture to another this would put lenses that have focus shift i e Sonnar Nokton Jupiter at a disadvantage and hence I would not recommend using the samples below for evaluating lens sharpness In part 3 of this review I will do a bit more comprehensive test for resolution lateral CA and vignetting Again no commentaries figure out what you like on your own or wait for part 3 if you re curious to know which lens es I liked personally

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/blogger/listings/slrlensreview?start=5 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review - Page 3
    us Ole Contax 15 3 5 sells for 2 500 these days Still a ton of money particularly when you consider it against what else is available on the market For Leica mount we have Voigtlander Super Wide Heliar 15 4 5 ASPH goes for 600 In Nikon mount we have a couple of interesting options starting with the uber zoom 14 24 2 8G than 14 2 8D and finally old 15 3 5 Ai S All three cost less than used Contax or new ZM versions For Canon mount we have the 14 2 8L and slightly longer yet absolutely superb 17 4L TS E Again both cost less than either of Distagons Finally we have a bunch of oddball alternative and 3rd party lenses some of them now discontinued from Sigma Tamron Tokina Samyang etc Bottom line is that there are a lot of 14 15mm lenses out there so it s not like Zeiss is going to be filling in an empty niche Because of that I expect that the price point for the SLR version of Distagon 15 2 8 to be significantly below the Leica version of the lens probably somewhere in the 2 000 2 500 range Now some of the cheaper options available out there are not particularly good resolution distortion CA etc So naturally many who are not happy with the alternatives are looking at Zeiss as a premium lens designer who can solve all of these problems in which case the argument goes the premium price for Distagon 15 2 8 is going to be justified But is it a realistic expectation At a minimum I expect that the new SLR version of Distagon 15 2 8 will have a fairly good resolution ZM version certainly improved in this domain over the old Contax version see MTF charts below Distagon 15 2 8 ZM is at the top and Contax 15 3 5 is at the bottom Tagged in zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 6748 0 Best Of The Best Of The Best With Honors 100mm Macro Comparison Part 2 Featured Posted by Administrator on Saturday 18 February 2012 in Lens Comparisons This is Part Two of the rolling review of the 100mm macro lenses for Canon EF mount Studio Test Ok folks we are starting off with a fairly standard Imatest evaluation of our primary candidates Just as a reminder we will limit this test to only one focusing distance 10m Why 10m For all 100mm lenses 10m focusing distance roughly falls into medium range and closer to the infinity than to the MFD I cannot test lenses at longer than 14m focusing distance due to the space constraints And testing at very close focusing distances with Imatest does not really make sense due to the software s and imaging target s limitations we will be testing the resolution of the target printer that is rather than the lens at anything closer than 2m 20x focal length of the

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/blogger/listings/slrlensreview?start=10 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review - Page 4
    Sigma will discontinue DP2x and nobody will notice LP2 Let s revisit this topic next yearand see how well we fared Comments Hits 3121 0 Best Of The Best Of The Best With Honors 100mm Macro Comparison Featured Posted by Administrator on Tuesday 07 February 2012 in Lens Comparisons This is Part One of the rolling review of the 100mm macro lenses for Canon EF mount Introduction I am not much of a macro shooter yet I have managed to accumulate 4 dedicated macro lenses for Canon mount This happened over time I purchased a Canon 100mm f 2 8 USM Macro long long time ago and kept it since it was a really good performer Then I stumbled on Voigtlander APO Lanthar 125mm f 2 5 Macro in Canon mount Back then Cosina already discontinued its SL lenses but they were widely available including Macro Lanthars Price A whopping 800 back then I thought I was doing a mistake buying this lens for such a price after all Canon EF 100 2 8 cost only 450 Three years later Macro Lanthar sells for 2 500 while Canon still costs 450 In hindsight I should have bought the whole pallet of Macro Lanthars back then this would have had a better return than my 401K over the same period After Lanthar I purchased Leica APO Macro Elmarit 100mm f 2 8 along with the Leica R7 just to remember the old good days of the R system R7 was gone in a week but I kept Macro Elmarit Finally when Carl Zeiss released the Makro Planar 100mm f 2 I absolutely had to have it And so lo and behold I now have 4 macro lenses I never really planned to keep all four but always wanted to do a shootout The first 100mm macro comparison went online about two years ago but I always felt it was incomplete and so kept all lenses for that day when I get enough time to compare them more extensively side by side This day is now Tagged in canon leica macro voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 30023 1 Quick Update On The Site Performance Posted by Administrator on Monday 06 February 2012 in Uncategorized So it has been a couple of weeks since I upgraded the back end and the front end for the SLR Lens Review So far everything seems to work as expected for the most part You might encounter one of the following two errors both of which are temporary Internal Server Error sometimes error 500 this is due to a new image gallery plugin that I am using It tries to generate thumbnails the first time someone navigates to a page with a gallery but times out on large galleries Clicking reload refreshes the plugin and it reloads all thumbnails Once all pages with galleries have been hit at least once this error will disappear for good No Input File Specified this is a caching error which

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/blogger/listings/slrlensreview?start=15 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive



  •