archive-com.com » COM » S » SLRLENSREVIEW.COM

Total: 414

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Zeiss Distagon T* 15/2.8 ZF/ZE - Should You Care? - SLR Lens Review
    15 2 8 lens in Nikon ZF 2 and Canon ZE mounts Originally reported by zeissrumors com and most recently by photorumors com the news spread to the rest of the web within a day As a long time Zeiss user and aficionado I got pretty excited about this little piece of news but then mental gears kicked in and I started to think what does it really mean to the end users like you and me Should we all get jiggeddy jaggedy about this and rush with pre orders or what Original Zeiss Distagon 15 3 5 was first released in Rollei mount back in late 70s and at that time was quite a master piece Later re released for Contax and most recently in Leica M mount the lens was very popular primarily because of its price The current version of Distagon 15 2 8 ZM goes for 4 600 making it pretty much out of reach for most of us Ole Contax 15 3 5 sells for 2 500 these days Still a ton of money particularly when you consider it against what else is available on the market For Leica mount we have Voigtlander Super Wide Heliar 15 4 5 ASPH goes for 600 In Nikon mount we have a couple of interesting options starting with the uber zoom 14 24 2 8G than 14 2 8D and finally old 15 3 5 Ai S All three cost less than used Contax or new ZM versions For Canon mount we have the 14 2 8L and slightly longer yet absolutely superb 17 4L TS E Again both cost less than either of Distagons Finally we have a bunch of oddball alternative and 3rd party lenses some of them now discontinued from Sigma Tamron Tokina Samyang etc Bottom line is that there are a lot of 14 15mm lenses out there so it s not like Zeiss is going to be filling in an empty niche Because of that I expect that the price point for the SLR version of Distagon 15 2 8 to be significantly below the Leica version of the lens probably somewhere in the 2 000 2 500 range Now some of the cheaper options available out there are not particularly good resolution distortion CA etc So naturally many who are not happy with the alternatives are looking at Zeiss as a premium lens designer who can solve all of these problems in which case the argument goes the premium price for Distagon 15 2 8 is going to be justified But is it a realistic expectation At a minimum I expect that the new SLR version of Distagon 15 2 8 will have a fairly good resolution ZM version certainly improved in this domain over the old Contax version see MTF charts below Distagon 15 2 8 ZM is at the top and Contax 15 3 5 is at the bottom However distortion remains pretty much the same as can be observed

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/zeiss-distagon-t-1528-zfze-should-you-care (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Sony E 16mm f/2.8 Lens Review Published - SLR Lens Review
    Zoom Macro Wide Angle Zoom Pentax Wide Angle 645 Macro Standard Zoom Wide Angle Zoom Telephoto Standard Wide Angle Telephoto 645 Standard 645 Telephoto Zoom Sigma Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Telephoto Zoom Sony Minolta Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Voigtlander Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Misc Mamiya Wide Angle 645 Standard 645 Telephoto 645 Russian Meyer Pentacon Contact Us Member Login Home Administrator Sony E 16mm f 2 8 Lens Review Published Subscribe to blog Subscribe via RSS Home Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site Categories Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog Tags Tags Displays a list of tags that has been used in the blog Search Sony E 16mm f 2 8 Lens Review Published Posted by Administrator on Tuesday 20 March 2012 in Lens Reviews Font size Larger Smaller Hits 3225 Subscribe to this entry Bookmark New review of Sony E 16mm f 2 8 lens on 16Mp APS C type

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/sony-e-16mm-f28-lens-review (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Mad (Mad, Mad) World of Mirrorless - Predictions 2012 - SLR Lens Review
    Tags Tags Displays a list of tags that has been used in the blog Search The Mad Mad Mad World of Mirrorless Predictions 2012 Posted by Administrator on Thursday 09 February 2012 in Uncategorized Font size Larger Smaller Hits 3122 Subscribe to this entry Bookmark With the noise level surrounding anything that has the word mirrorless in it reaching astronomic proportions we want to poke a bit of fun at all the rumor mill sites we still love you though since you give us all an almost endless source of discussions and come up with our own half serious and half not so much predictions for 2012 We even came up with our own hotness indicator and grade from highest to lowest LP1 LP2 LP3 LP4 LP5 If you wonder what LP means we don t know that either but we will remind these grades to you every so often so you just don t forget them Seriously though we ve witnessed quite a few photo equipment generation and so predictions below are not completely baseless these are based on overall observations of where the market and individual players are and where they are moving History often repeats itself and this cycle is not an exception in our belief And so our predictions for year 2012 Drum roll please Sony will announce a high end FF mirrorless LP1 Canon will introduce APS C sized mirrorless fully backward compatible with EF EF S mount LP1 Pentax Q system will be discontinued in favor of a different mirrorless platform GXR K 01 LP1 Nikon will drastically drop prices on V1 J1 and will introduce a higher MP sensors for the system LP1 Nikon will introduce APS C sensor in V system LP3 Samsung NX will continue to be completely unappreciated and all

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/the-mad-mad-mad-world-of-mirrorless-predictions2012 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Quick Update On The Site Performance - SLR Lens Review
    Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Voigtlander Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Misc Mamiya Wide Angle 645 Standard 645 Telephoto 645 Russian Meyer Pentacon Contact Us Member Login Home Administrator Quick Update On The Site Performance Subscribe to blog Subscribe via RSS Home Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site Categories Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog Tags Tags Displays a list of tags that has been used in the blog Search Quick Update On The Site Performance Posted by Administrator on Monday 06 February 2012 in Uncategorized Font size Larger Smaller Hits 1617 Subscribe to this entry Bookmark So it has been a couple of weeks since I upgraded the back end and the front end for the SLR Lens Review So far everything seems to work as expected for the most part You might encounter one of the following two errors both of which are temporary Internal Server Error sometimes error 500 this is due to a new image gallery plugin that I am using It tries to generate thumbnails the first time someone navigates to a page with a gallery but times out on large galleries Clicking reload refreshes the plugin and it reloads all thumbnails Once all pages with galleries have been hit at least once this error will disappear for good No Input File Specified this is a caching error which happens once in a while when I push a new update to the site Cleaning up browser cache solves this 100 of time Sometimes it gets solved if you simply refresh the page You should no longer see this error since I am basically done with all the updates migrations well all except for

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/quick-update-on-the-site-performance (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review
    lens claiming that it is soft at wide apertures has low contrast produced significant glare etc etc etc All this obviously also deters the would be users from trying out the Canon LTM despite the niche designation or perhaps because of it Canon 50 1 2 has managed to retain its value over the years with most decent quality copies selling for upwards of 600 these days Add to that a LTM to M adapter and an M to NEX adapter if you plan to use it on Sony NEX camera and you re looking at an extra 100 150 in expenses Compare that to the modern Sony 50 1 8 OSS with the price of 275 no woder that an average user would never even look twice at the Canon lens I picked up a copy of Canon 50 1 2 purely on a whim not that I was thinking I d be using it more frequently this time around but more because I wanted to compare it to a couple of other 50mm lenses As I mentioned earlier the prices for this lens are quite stable these days so I did not expect to loose much money when I finally decided to sell it The comparison with Sony E 50 1 8 OSS is also kind of random I ve been using these two lenses side by side for a few weeks and just decided to write my observations Ultimately though I d want to compare the 50 1 2 to other rangefinder lenses both modern and classic if you have not done so already take a look at the Alternative 50mm for NEX article to get an idea of what to expect down the road Tagged in 50mm lenses canon leica ltm lenses sony Comments Continue reading Hits 22424 0 Sigma 19mm f 2 8 EX DN Lens Review on Sony NEX 5n and NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 15 July 2012 in Lens Reviews Just published new review of Sigma 19 2 8 EX DN on Sony NEX 5n and Sony NEX 7 Read Review Tagged in nex 5n nex 7 sigma sony Comments Hits 14585 0 Quick Test Sony E 50 1 8 vs Carl Zeiss Planar 50 2 ZM on Sony NEX 7 Posted by Administrator on Sunday 15 April 2012 in Lens Comparisons Today we re going to take a look at Sony s E 50 1 8 lens one of the newest additions to the Sony NEX lens lineup and do a quick comparison to one of the best 50mm rangefinder lenses Carl Zeiss Planar T 50 2 ZM The lenses are vastly different in optical construction build quality features but ultimately both are 50mm primes and can be used on NEX cameras With the 50mm f 1 8 OSS still being quite hard to come by because of various manufacturing delays that plagued Sony for a few months after the major flood in Thailand as well as because of

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/%5C (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Quick Test: Sony E 30/3.5 Macro vs Sigma 30/2.8 EX DN on Sony NEX-7 - SLR Lens Review
    performer Let s check it out But first thing first The two lenses are really targeting different segments of users Sony s lens is a 1 1 macro while Sigma s lens well it s just a general purpose lens If you re even remotely interested in macro photography this comparison is useless to you just go get Sony s lens On the other hand if you were considering getting Sony as a general purpose prime given it s EFOV of 45mm you get a normal ish lens than read on you re the primary target for this review Even before we compare the actual resolution vignetting etc numbers Sigma already holds an advantage over Sony it s cheaper lighter smaller and faster Sony sports slightly better build quality with aluminium barrel but Sigma s barrel is just fine as well I managed to bump the lens a couple of times and it does not show any damage It s not clear how well either of the lenses would survive a fall from say 3 feet but whatever few lenses would survive such a fall anyway A little bit about the test Focusing distance 2m Sony NEX 7 with v1 0 firmware Manual bracketed focusing RAW with Adobe RGB space WB set to Tungsten 2 850K Tint 0 ACR with default settings Blacks 5 Brightness 50 Contrast 25 Resolution Looking at the resolution numbers out of Imatest one thing becomes clear Sigma holds a lead over Sony in corner quality Center image quality is very similar there s a bit of pull and push here and there meaning that each of the lenses claims minor lead at one or another aperture but the differences are so small that we can call it a complete wash Borders is where the difference

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/quick-test-sony-e-3035-macro-vs-sigma-3028-ex-dn-on-sony-nex-7 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Lens Review - SLR Lens Review - Page 2
    of alternative 50mm primes easily adoptable to the NEX mount This particular comparison traces roots to fredmiranda com s alternative gear forum where a bunch of die hard alternative glass users have been debating the properties of a number of Zeiss 50mm lenses on NEX cameras I got curious in the topic and volunteered to do a quick test with a few popular and often considered high quality 50s This section of the review will showcase bokeh rendering of 8 alternative lenses on NEX 5n Results below are presented without much commentary considering that tasted vary quite widely I will let the reader decide which of the lenses have the most appealing characteristics I will repeat this test on NEX 7 in a couple of weeks but will use a different focusing distance which hopefully would present the readers with a more diverse overview of the tested lenses Finally a third part of the review will compare more general characteristics like resolution vignetting and lateral CA expect very opinionated commentary in this section Before we jump to results let s touch base on the test conditions Tagged in 50mm lenses canon jupiter leica sony nex voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 15871 0 Best Of The Best Of The Best With Honors 100mm Macro Comparison Part 2 Featured Posted by Administrator on Saturday 18 February 2012 in Lens Comparisons This is Part Two of the rolling review of the 100mm macro lenses for Canon EF mount Studio Test Ok folks we are starting off with a fairly standard Imatest evaluation of our primary candidates Just as a reminder we will limit this test to only one focusing distance 10m Why 10m For all 100mm lenses 10m focusing distance roughly falls into medium range and closer to the infinity than to the MFD I cannot test lenses at longer than 14m focusing distance due to the space constraints And testing at very close focusing distances with Imatest does not really make sense due to the software s and imaging target s limitations we will be testing the resolution of the target printer that is rather than the lens at anything closer than 2m 20x focal length of the lens At 10m we get a 100x focal length ratio which should be good enough to get us accurate results out of Imatest as accurate as the software is capable of giving us of course Plus we will do macro MFD and infinity tests separately so yea 10m sounds like a good start Tagged in canon leica macro voigtlander zeiss Comments Continue reading Hits 34761 1 Best Of The Best Of The Best With Honors 100mm Macro Comparison Featured Posted by Administrator on Tuesday 07 February 2012 in Lens Comparisons This is Part One of the rolling review of the 100mm macro lenses for Canon EF mount Introduction I am not much of a macro shooter yet I have managed to accumulate 4 dedicated macro lenses for Canon mount This happened over time

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/categories/listings/lens-comparisons?start=5 (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* 24mm f/1.8 ZA for NEX Lens Review Published - SLR Lens Review
    Wide Angle Zoom Telephoto Standard Wide Angle Telephoto 645 Standard 645 Telephoto Zoom Sigma Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Telephoto Zoom Sony Minolta Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Tamron Wide Angle Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Telephoto Tokina Wide Angle Standard Macro Wide Angle Zoom Standard Zoom Telephoto Zoom Voigtlander Wide Angle Standard Telephoto Macro Misc Mamiya Wide Angle 645 Standard 645 Telephoto 645 Russian Meyer Pentacon Contact Us Member Login Home Administrator Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T 24mm f 1 8 ZA for NEX Lens Review Published Subscribe to blog Subscribe via RSS Home Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site Categories Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog Tags Tags Displays a list of tags that has been used in the blog Search Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T 24mm f 1 8 ZA for NEX Lens Review Published Posted by Administrator on Wednesday 04 April 2012 in Lens Reviews Font size Larger Smaller Hits 5868 Subscribe to this entry Bookmark New review of Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar 24 1 8 ZA on Sony NEX 5n

    Original URL path: http://slrlensreview.com/web/entry/sony-carl-zeiss-sonnar-t-24mm-f18-za-for-nex-lens-review (2016-02-18)
    Open archived version from archive



  •