archive-com.com » COM » S » SOUTHERNLITREVIEW.COM

Total: 329

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Interview with Michael Lee West - Southern Literary Review
    says the fairies swiped their real child and replaced her with me Actually I get my sense of comedy from Mama My maternal grandmother was quite lively too SLR In your latest novel Mad Girls in Love you bring back a familiar character Dorothy McDougal and her sister Clancy Jane what is it about these characters that made you want to explore them more West They have been with me dying to talk since Crazy Ladies was published SLR How did you come up with the idea to have Dorothy write letters to the First Lady I love that It s hilarious West My husband read all of the presidential biographies in order and he would share stories about the First Ladies One day I was playing with Dorothy s voice and the letters were born They were a perfect vehicle for Dorothy showing the depth of her isolation and her desperate need for friendship and acceptance Too it helped ground the novel s time line SLR Among your crazy fictitious women do you have a favorite West I loved Fiona Saylor in Mad Girls and I m so sorry I had to kill her I also love Dorothy click to buy SLR When you write do you have the story outlined completely in your head or does it unfold as you write Is there a point when the characters take off and you can t easily predict what they will do next West I am a by the seat pants writer It s terrible because I go off on tangents and just get lost Sometimes the only way back is to throw away 300 pages I find out what s going to happen along with the characters SLR What s next in terms of your writing Are you working on a novel now Will your stories stay rooted in the South West I love Southern fiction and really miss with short story revival of the 1980s and early 1990s I adore novels in stories rarely seen in today s market It s like a priceless Meissen urn has gone missing This summer in Oxford Mississippi I finished a draft of Mermaids in the Basement not a sequel but a companion book to Mad Girls I wish I could have stayed in Mississippi longer then I wouldn t be revising that book I don t know there s just something in the air down there SLR Who do you like to read now West Currently I m reading books about French Country design I love Betty Lou Phillips books in particular Share this Click to share on LinkedIn Opens in new window Click to share on Twitter Opens in new window Click to share on Facebook Opens in new window Click to share on Tumblr Opens in new window Click to share on Google Opens in new window More Click to share on Reddit Opens in new window Click to share on Pocket Opens in new window Click to share

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/michael_west_interview.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White - Southern Literary Review
    biography is somehow plugged into the text but to find out whether and how certain personal experiences affected what did or did not make it into the text KW I think in the beginning of an author s career there are much more autobiographical elements in their work However as much of their personal issues are expressed in each subsequent work the author is allowed to delve into other fictional lives as their careers progress The Time Between is my 17 th novel so a lot of my childhood angst has pretty much been played out in my earlier works Apparently my disappointment at having never been given a sister I was raised with three brothers continues to play itself out in my novels There are two sets of sisters at the heart of The Time Between I think I will never tire of exploring this very complex family relationship in my fiction most of it derived from listening to my mother and her sisters all five of them talking over my grandmother s kitchen table late into the night when they didn t know I was listening AM Two themes emerge in this story family and memory Everyone can relate to these Do you find it challenging to undertake these themes in a new or different way that is in a way that people can understand based on their own experiences but also that is far enough removed from those experiences that it exercises readers imagination KW I get asked this question a lot mostly because my novels usually center around family and dark secrets from the past I think I get a fresh perspective on this with every book because with each novel I write the characters are unique to me and my readers with different backgrounds perspectives values and pasts I use my characters to tell me their story instead of me forcing them into a pre planned scenario which makes my themes of family and memory new and exciting with each book AM How do you stay so productive KW I don t believe in writer s block There are many many times I don t feel like sitting down and writing but deadlines never go away I m a big believer in writing anyway it s ALWAYS easier to fix a bad page than stare at a blank page That s my motto AM Thank you again for taking the time to do this interview I hope all of our readers will add The Time Between to their summer reading list KW Thank you Click here to purchase this book Share this Click to share on LinkedIn Opens in new window Click to share on Twitter Opens in new window Click to share on Facebook Opens in new window Click to share on Tumblr Opens in new window Click to share on Google Opens in new window More Click to share on Reddit Opens in new window Click to share on Pocket Opens in new

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/allen-mendenhall-interviews-karen-white.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • “Bull Mountain,” by Brian Panowich - Southern Literary Review
    godfather enforces the smooth running of their criminal enterprises with an arsenal of weapons and a take no prisoners outlook passed down through the generations More than one body has been buried on the mountain including murdered family members But as long as Clayton stays off the mountain and keeps his nose out of the family business the brothers maintain an uneasy truce The peace holds until a federal agent from the Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms asks Clayton to persuade his brother to rat out a gun running operation in Florida At first Clayton refuses but when Agent Holly makes clear Halford Burroughs is going down with or without his help Clayton reconsiders Together the sheriff and federal agent hope to shut down the biggest flow of guns and dope in the history of the East Coast More important Clayton thinks this may be his last chance to save his brother from jail or a violent death The idea of Clayton going against his brother terrifies Clayton s wife who worries that one night he won t come home and she ll have to wonder if he s buried in a holler somewhere next to everyone else his family disagreed with Not for the faint of heart this novel depicts horrific violence against those who betray the family violence against women and violence of kin against kin Though Clayton wants to escape this family legacy his path as sheriff leads him directly into the line of fire The twists come fast and furious and people are not always what they seem in this compelling literary mystery published by Putnam Brian Panowich was a touring musician for twelve years before settling in East Georgia with his family He now works fulltime as a firefighter He is an exciting new author to watch Click here to purchase this book Share this Click to share on LinkedIn Opens in new window Click to share on Twitter Opens in new window Click to share on Facebook Opens in new window Click to share on Tumblr Opens in new window Click to share on Google Opens in new window More Click to share on Reddit Opens in new window Click to share on Pocket Opens in new window Click to share on Pinterest Opens in new window Click to email this to a friend Opens in new window Click to print Opens in new window Like this Like Loading Related Filed Under Book Reviews Tagged With Brian Panowich Bull Mountain Donna Meredith Georgia Putnam Leave a Reply Cancel reply Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/reviews/bull-mountain-by-brian-panowich.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • About - Southern Literary Review
    the reigns of SLR in November 2011 Phil is now publisher and executive editor You can reach him at pkjason comcast net Allen is managing editor His email address is found below Authors who have contributed reviews or interviews to SLR include John Shelton Reed Casey Clabough Ace Atkins Julia Nunnally Duncan Karen White Clyde Edgerton James Nolan Moira Crone Charles J Shields Daniel Wallace Linda Bloodworth Thomason Paulette Jiles Steve Yarbrough Irene Latham James Lee Burke John Brandon Kevin Brockmeier Mark Richard Octavia Spencer Robin Oliveira and David Bradley Contact Allen Mendenhall managing editor allenporte yahoo com Contributors SLR is always looking for talented writers and serious readers to contribute to this site We have several books available for review Please contact the managing editor Allen Mendenhall at allenporte yahoo com if you are interested in reviewing for SLR Submission and Publisher Guidelines Visit our Submission Guidelines by clicking here Advertisers and Sponsorships SLR welcomes inquiries from those who are interested in supporting the site Contact Phil Jason at pkjason comcast net Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/about#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Submissions - Southern Literary Review
    profile emerging southern authors and interview them We have a growing mailing list of readers that are eager for recommendations Feel free to contact the managing editor Allen Mendenhall at allenporte yahoo com For expedited review please include a headshot of the author biographical information and indicate the author s availability for an interview PLEASE NOTE While we applaud the efforts of all writers we do not consider self published works for review This includes publishing on demand companies like Publish America Thank you Advertisers and Sponsorships SLR welcomes inquiries from those who are interested in supporting the site Contact Phil Jason at pkjason comcast net Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/submissions#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Bookstore - Southern Literary Review
    July 2014 Read of the Month Click here to buy June 2014 Read of the Month Click here to buy May 2014 Read of the Month Click here to buy April 2014 Read of the Month Click here to buy March 2014 Read of the Month Click here to buy February 2014 Read of the Month Click here to buy January 2014 Read of the Month Click here to buy December 2013 Read of the Month Click here to buy November 2013 Read of the Month Click here to buy October 2013 Read of the Month Click here to buy September 2013 Read of the Month Click here to buy August 2013 Read of the Month Click here to buy July 2013 Read of the Month Click to buy June 2013 Read of the Month Click to buy May 2013 Read of the Month Click to buy April 2013 Read of the Month Click to buy March 2013 Read of the Month Click to buy February 2013 Read of the Month Click to buy January 2013 Read of the Month Click to buy December 2012 Read of the Month Click to buy November 2012 Read of the Month Click to buy October 2012 Read of the Month Click to buy September 2012 Read of the Month August 2012 Read of the Month Not Available for Purchase in the Bookstore Click to buy July 2012 Read of the Month Click to Buy June 2012 Read of the Month Click to Buy May 2012 Read of the Month Click to buy April 2012 Read of the Month Click to buy March 2012 Read of the Month Click to buy February 2012 Read of the Month Click to buy January 2012 Read of the Month Click to buy December 2011 Read of the Month Click to buy November 2011 Read of the Month Click to buy October 2011 Read of the Month Click to buy September 2011 Read of the Month Click to buy August 2011 Read of the Month Click to buy July 2011 Read of the Month Click to Buy June 2011 Read of the Month Click to Buy May 2011 Read of the Month Click to Buy April 2011 Read of the Month Click to Buy March 2011 Read of the Month Click to By February 2011 Read of the Month Clickt to Buy January 2011 Read of the Month Click to Buy November 2010 Read of the Month Click to Buy October 2010 Read of the Month Click to Buy September 2010 Read of the Month Click to Buy August 2010 Read of the Month Click to Buy July 2010 Read of the Month Click to Buy June 2010 Read of the Month While Southern Literary Review is dedicated to promoting southern literature we have other interests and we figure you do too Add these staff favorites to your must read list Fiction Memoir Biography Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/bookstore#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Contents - Southern Literary Review
    Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011 August 2011 July 2011 June 2011 May 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/site_map#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Free Subscription - Southern Literary Review
    Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011 August 2011 July 2011 June 2011 May 2011 April 2011 March 2011 February 2011 January 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/subscribe#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive



  •