archive-com.com » COM » S » SOUTHERNLITREVIEW.COM

Total: 329

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Pam Webber Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/pam-webber (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • September Read of the Month Archives - Southern Literary Review
    sexual attraction the Church s public relations and the hidden and overt lifestyle Filed Under Book Reviews Read of the Month Tagged With Gregory Alexander Jessi Lewis September Read of the Month Southern Literary Review The Holy Mark Meet Jennifer Niven Author of September Read of the Month Velva Jean Learns to Fly September 2 2011 by Philip K Jason Leave a Comment At SLR we ran a raving review of Jennifer Niven s first Velva Jean novel Velva Jean Learns to Drive so we were thrilled when we received the sequel Velva Jean Learns to Fly Niven didn t disappoint We re pleased to select this title as our September Read of the Month and we hope you ll Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Read of the Month Tagged With Fiction Jennifer Niven Philip K Jason September Read of the Month Velva Jean Learns to Fly WWII Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/september-read-of-the-month (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Wiregrass Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/the-wiregrass (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Read of the Month Archives - Southern Literary Review
    by Philip K Jason 1 Comment Reviewed by Philip K Jason Last chance for what the eager reader might ask To make it to the majors To score big at anything In this debut novel it s this sorry fellow s last chance to get out from under the debts incurred over a decade or two of minor league hustling and losing Not Filed Under Book Reviews Read of the Month Tagged With Casey s Last Chance Joseph B Atkins Memphis Philip K Jason December Read of the Month Want v Need Stories from Pottawatomie County by Amy Susan Wilson December 3 2015 by William Bernhardt Leave a Comment Reviewed by William Bernhardt Just when the cynics begin to wonder if the short story as a literary form is lost moribund or permanently encased in amber Third Lung Press presents a collection that reminds us how rich how enriching and how truly American this form is Want v Need Stories from Pottawatomie County is Filed Under Book Reviews Read of the Month Tagged With Amy Susan Wilson Oklahoma short story Want v Need Stories from Pottawatomie County William Bernhardt November Read of the Month A Hanging at Cinder Bottom by Glenn Taylor November 9 2015 by Donna Meredith Leave a Comment Reviewed by Donna Meredith Glenn Taylor s new over the top caper sparkles with cinematic scenes begging to be transformed into film A Hanging at Cinder Bottom A Novel Tin House Books is primarily set in West Virginia coal country with occasional forays into Baltimore The white faced monkey depicted on the cover plays a role in a story Filed Under Book Reviews Read of the Month Tagged With A Hanging at Cinder Bottom Donna Taylor Glenn Taylor The Ballad of Trenchmouth Taggart The Marrowbone Marble Company West Virginia West Virginia University October Read of the Month Reading Life by Michael Pearson October 1 2015 by Elisabeth Aiken Leave a Comment Reviewed by Elisabeth Aiken In Reading Life Michael Pearson paraphrases a famous writer s definition of an essayist as a self liberated man with the childish belief that everything he thinks about every one of his experiences will be fascinating to others While that definition is not wholly flattering it is applicable to Pearson as the author Filed Under Book Reviews Read of the Month Tagged With Elisabeth Aiken Mercer University Press Michael Pearson Reading Life September Read of the Month The Wiregrass by Pam Webber August 31 2015 by Philip K Jason 1 Comment Reviewed by Phil Jason It s 1969 and helicopters drum above the town of Crystal Springs Alabama twice a day At ten each morning they leave Fort Rucker for a training field Field 10 Twelve hours later the choppers leave in formation to make the return trip The scheduled explosions of light and noise define the Filed Under Book Reviews Read of the Month Tagged With Alabama Florida Georgia Pam Webber Philip K Jason September Read of the Month The Wiregrass Next Page

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/category/reviews/read-of-the-month#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • A conversation: “Walk Till The Dogs Get Mean: Meditations on the Forbidden in Appalachia” - Southern Literary Review
    metaphor prayers eating their ways through the ceiling Phyllis Wilson Moore Silas House s essay about religion and gayness and family acceptance blew me out of the water He tapped an emotional level of mine being the odd person out and not fitting into the family I felt pain as I imagined sitting in the church parking lot just to hear the voices and singing Being rejected by core groups is a theme in the book s many essays Belinda Anderson While House s religious upbringing was different from mine his experiences as an Appalachian targeted for prejudice resonated with me A whole lot of Americans have bought into the media s portrayal of the rural dialect to equate to ignorance racism homophobia misogyny outright stupidity Donna Meredith Stereotypes and jokes about Appalachia proliferate but they just seem rather silly to me I grew up in Clarksburg and never felt the world looked down on us partly because my mother was adamant that there was no better place on earth than West Virginia and no better people to be found anywhere But my classmates in the 50s and 60s all had running water and shoes and our parents made a point of speaking correct English so the West Virginia stereotypes that I was vaguely aware of never felt as if they had anything to do with the people I knew The Beverly Hillbillies characters weren t anything like my neighbors Dorothy Allison says in Deciding to Live that the books we read growing up presented families made over into caricatures or flattened into saint like stock characters Reading the voices in these essays and other works by these authors offers a far broader perspective of what Appalachian people are like and really what people everywhere are like No matter what culture you grew up in there are things you aren t supposed to talk about Eddy Pendarvis When I was a kid there wasn t much of a concept of Appalachia as a region so there wasn t that awareness of how people outside Appalachia viewed people inside the region I thought the Grand Old Opry and Minnie Pearl were corny beyond words but I didn t even identify them as having anything to do with eastern Kentucky or southern West Virginia they were just country from wherever but I didn t see anyone I knew as like them We lived in coal camps until moving to Pikeville when I was nine The miners seemed serious to me and I never thought of them or any of us in the camps as countrified I didn t even realize I had an accent until I was in high school but nobody ever made much of it In college someone pointed out that there is a short e sound June Berkley In Outsider Appalachian Melissa Range speaks of her teacher accusing her of talking funny a condition that she is sure arose from her voracious reading Donna Meredith Melissa s essay considers the role of language in marking us as members of the tribe or as outsiders Reading expands our vocabularies and exposes us to speech patterns that others in the community may not share June Berkley A primary consideration that came to me as I read was the unhappiness shared by a majority of the writers as a result of their childhood experiences most of which seem to be very painful Donna Meredith A large cluster of essays dealt with growing up gay or lesbian That experience wouldn t be particularly different or less painful outside of Appalachia back in the 50s or 60s unless you lived in NYC perhaps June Berkley Dorothy Allison Deciding to Live expresses the belief that putting it all down was purging The point of view held by my own family there are many things not to be discussed Perhaps the harshness of conditions on the frontier and in the mountains and in the countries our ancestors were obliged to leave were simply too hard to bear in language If you didn t say it it might not be true Or it might not come true Only language might make it real For those of us who are writers it has been said our kind have a particularly close connection to the subconscious Perhaps this connection obliges us to say what others fear even to think Pat Spears Reaching inward to the gift of language is a perfect description of Connie May Fowler s Rose In an early passage she sets the tone for the narrative with m ine are stolen memories gathered in a haze of cigarette smoke and the slosh of bourbon poured too freely memories proffered through tears that filmed my mother s eyes but did not fall Later in that section she says I see my Appalachian born mother with unnatural clarity She allows us to view her entire journey with that same wonderful clarity While Rose explores what it s like to belong to a place you ve never known Above My Raisings A Narrative of Betrayal lets us see the anger and confusion of being in a place where you don t belong Both stories speak to the heart of who we are and what constitutes home I didn t grow up in Appalachia I am a sixth generation Floridian but I grew up in rural north Florida with some of the same realities of poverty and isolation To me one of the things that makes this book so appealing is the way in which it illustrates the emotional pull of place June Berkley Regarding Bell Hooks s essay A Constant Morning Hooks s belief that every human soul needs to be free and that the responsibility for being free requires one to be a person of integrity seems to me to be one of the most important statements in the book In Appalachia a man s word is as good as his signature on paper Because of our isolation

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/conversation-walk-till-dogs-get-mean-meditations-forbidden-appalachia.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Adrian Blevins Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/adrian-blevins (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Belinda Anderson Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/belinda-anderson (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Edwina Pendarvis Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/edwina-pendarvis (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive



  •