archive-com.com » COM » S » SOUTHERNLITREVIEW.COM

Total: 329

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Jordan Murphy Archives - Southern Literary Review
    River The Marble Orchard tells the tale of Beam a young Kentucky boy of nineteen who finds himself wrapped up in a tangle of family history Filed Under Book Reviews Tagged With Alex Taylor Jordan Murphy Kentucky The Marble Orchard SLR Welcomes New Contributor Jordan Murphy March 14 2016 by Editors Leave a Comment Jordan Murphy is a creative nonfiction writer foreign language teacher and goal digger She is publisher and contributor to many online blogs and is most often found lost in a book from the 19th century She hails from North Alabama and holds a Bachelor of Science in German Foreign Language Education from Auburn University Jordan is traveling Filed Under Contributors Bios Tagged With Auburn University Jordan Murphy Southern Literary Review Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/jordan-murphy (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive


  • The Marble Orchard Archives - Southern Literary Review
    by Alex Taylor March 16 2016 by Jordan Murphy Leave a Comment Reviewed by Jordan Murphy The Marble Orchard is author Alex Taylor s first novel and second major work alongside his 2010 collection of short stories The Name of the Nearest River The Marble Orchard tells the tale of Beam a young Kentucky boy of nineteen who finds himself wrapped up in a tangle of family history Filed Under Book Reviews Tagged With Alex Taylor Jordan Murphy Kentucky The Marble Orchard Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011 August 2011 July 2011 June 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/the-marble-orchard (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Name of Nearest River Archives - Southern Literary Review
    the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/the-name-of-nearest-river (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Allen Mendenhall Interviews Deborah Mantella, Author of "My Sweet Vidalia" - Southern Literary Review
    be human I couldn t wait to release her out into Vidalia s world Click here to purchase AM Where do you write DM That s easy Wherever I am when an idea strikes me regardless of its condition I may remember a concept a notion an insight later on but never in the same way Once I ve safely surrendered that concept notion or insight to a more concrete form I can always improve upon it later AM You ve taught before Did you teach writing DM Writing is my personal default mode As such I find myself unable to exclude its intrinsic benefits its finer points the appreciation of language of a sentence well crafted from the instruction of any subject to any level of student My father was my writing instructor By profession he was an electrical engineer but he should ve been an English teacher Or a writer AM Do you believe writing is a craft that can be taught or is it a natural gift or something in between DM I believe the desire to write is a gift And that the creativity needed to assign order to a jumble of thoughts and words into a state of cohesiveness is also a gift The capacity to turn that desire that jumble that coherency to channel that creativity into a state of clarity is a craft whose mastery is both laborious and time intensive AM Could you talk about the importance of womanhood in My Sweet Vidalia I m referring to the concept the trope the metaphorical import DM Womanhood rules the county of Willin sets its parameters Womanhood reigns supreme whether or not its inhabitants yet know it and even as any victory seems unlikely The relationship between Vidalia and her spirit daughter and the addition of motherhood to the womanhood mix only ups the ante Despite gender specific traits and situations attributable at least in part to time and place I prefer to consider my characters in terms of their own particular idiosyncrasies And while there are several distinctly female heroes in this story from the misguided to the hell raising from a feisty former suffragette to the honorable bearer of unfathomable burdens and to one soft hearted enabler who support one another when support is most needed each is ultimately rescued delivered from harm by the vast potential of her own spirit AM Thank you very much for the interview DM Thank you Allen Share this Click to share on LinkedIn Opens in new window Click to share on Twitter Opens in new window Click to share on Facebook Opens in new window Click to share on Tumblr Opens in new window Click to share on Google Opens in new window More Click to share on Reddit Opens in new window Click to share on Pocket Opens in new window Click to share on Pinterest Opens in new window Click to email this to a friend Opens in new window Click to print

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/allen-mendenhall-interviews-deborah-mantella-author-of-my-sweet-vidalia.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Deborah Mantella Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/deborah-mantella (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • My Sweet Vidalia Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/my-sweet-vidalia (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Natasha Tretheway Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/natasha-tretheway (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Allen Mendenhall Interviews Derek Furr, Author of "Semitones" - Southern Literary Review
    remain out of sight and mind I play piano for a small ethnically diverse and economically challenged Methodist congregation in the Hudson Valley These are good people many of whom have made mistakes or been dealt a bad hand but they re trying to overcome We do that in community giving of ourselves I guess what I m describing is a ministry of social justice which is what any religion or spirituality should be AM Do you have a favorite poem or story or passage from the book DF Recently I ve been reading Bruise at my book signings I have a deep affection for those characters and their pain Also the idea of a chorus of semitones AM Am I right to detect the influence of modernist Americans like Wallace Stevens and Elizabeth Bishop whose names appear in the book DF Two of my favorites I ve written about Bishop and I was rereading Stevens while I worked on several pieces from the book AM How did you decide to include the sketches or illustrations by Andrés San Millán DF Andres is a friend a generous spirit and talented performer and artist Fomite encourages collaboration and Andres was interested in trying to create drawings based on my work At first I was skeptical when he suggested drawing with the words themselves But the results were so striking that I cannot now imagine the book without his drawings the image for Graveyard Encounters for instance or the way he depicted the threesome from Become a Light AM The certain risk of a simple sentence This phrase stuck with me perhaps because some of your sentences are so powerful without being complex or ostentatious I m reminded of Richard Poirier s Poetry and Pragmatism which attributed to certain modernists the ability to achieve superfluity Poirier s loaded term through the sounds of ordinary language employed with sensational effect DF There is a bit of irony in the phrase because I was experimenting with long sentences in that piece and others of its kind In essence that s what I do work with sentences Maybe that s what all writers do at some level AM Death ghosts explain their place and significance in the book DF We are surrounded by a cloud of witnesses They re in books and music as well as memories and bird song And I ve never met anyone who wasn t haunted It s just a matter of being aware of what haunts you facing it trying to understand it and if possible giving it a voice in a key that others can recognize or at least hear AM Thanks for the interview Derek I enjoyed it Click here to purchase this book Share this Click to share on LinkedIn Opens in new window Click to share on Twitter Opens in new window Click to share on Facebook Opens in new window Click to share on Tumblr Opens in new window Click to share on Google Opens

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/allen-mendenhall-interviews-derek-furr-author-of-semitones.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive



  •