archive-com.com » COM » S » SOUTHERNLITREVIEW.COM

Total: 329

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Andrés San Millán Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/andres-san-millan (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Derek Furr Archives - Southern Literary Review
    July 3 2013 by Cameron Williams Leave a Comment Reviewed by Cameron Williams In Starting from Error the prelude to Suite for Three Voices a piece also nominated for the Pushcart Prize Derek Furr muses What if there were an h in went as there so often was in my students writing When is involved in went time rolled up in the past tense Filed Under Book Reviews Read of the Month Tagged With Cameron Williams Derek Furr essays Flannery O Connor Southern Gothic Suite for Three Voices Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/derek-furr (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Fomite Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/fomite (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Poetry and Pragmatism Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/poetry-and-pragmatism (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Richard Poirier Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/richard-poirier (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Semitones Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/semitones (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Claire Hamner Matturro Interviews Celeste Fletcher McHale, Author of "The Secret to Hummingbird Cake" - Southern Literary Review
    did have the best English teacher in the history of high school Her name is Fern Land As the class clown and an athlete I hated English with a passion I wanted to crack jokes or play basketball The academic side of school was ridiculous to me But every time we had to write an essay or a paper I would make the best grade in the class And she would hand me my paper shake her head and say so much talent and you only want to bounce a ball I was just laughing with her about it the other day CHM Parts of Hummingbird Cake are sad Yet you write with grace and often with humor Can you speak about the use of humor in your novel CFM I really think it was just because of how I was raised My daddy is probably the wittiest and quickest guy I know And both of my parents taught us the importance of being able to laugh at yourself I remember when my grandfather passed my dad s dad and I was standing next to the coffin with Daddy A lady walked up looked at Paw and then told Daddy He sure does look natural She walked away and my Daddy turned to me and said He looks like he s dead in a box to me Ain t nothing natural about that And it may seem insensitive or whatever but it helped me to laugh It helped him to laugh And had Paw been able he would ve laughed too No matter what was going on in our lives humor was a part of it and I really do credit my father for that Death disease disaster it was no match for you if you could look it in the face and laugh CHM Between being a history major in college and your present role as an emerging Southern Author what has your journey been like CFM Busy I worked in the oil and gas industry for many years When the Haynesville Shale came in it was unlike anything we had ever seen and will likely not see again My family really is my number one priority and most everything I do revolves around them That s brother sister nieces nephews all of us And I have a daughter who is grown with two kids of her own now a boy and a girl and I absolutely understand why they are called grand So much of my time is spent with them CHM Small town southern life is often the stuff of jokes and ridicule Yet you write so positively about it which makes me ask if there are any important qualities of small town Southern life that you especially wanted to capture CFM There are Particularly the gentleness of a little southern town And I say gentle because for me it s the opposite of frantic I like the slow pace the easygoingness riding down the road with

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/claire-hamner-matturro-interviews-celeste-fletcher-mchale-author-of-the-secret-to-hummingbird-cake.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Allen Mendenhall Interviews Glenn Arbery, Author of "Bearings and Distances" - Southern Literary Review
    traditions myths literature and culture Bearings and Distances is in a way an exploration of these themes is it not GA Very much so Since I first went to the University of Georgia in the 1970s I ve been steeped in the work of the Fugitive Agrarians as part of my literary education in general I read Ransom Davidson Tate and Warren alongside Eliot and Stevens and Frost I was discovering Faulkner Welty O Connor Gordon and Percy after reading Borges Garcia Marquez and Nabokov Marion Montgomery directed my Master s thesis At the University of Dallas I studied with Louise Cowan and Mel Bradford But growing up in the South predisposed me to Southern traditions long before I read anything other than the Hardy Boys and Tom Swift and Edgar Rice Burroughs Tarzan novels I m probably in the last generation when it was still impossible not to grow up hating Sherman as Shreve says to Quentin in Absalom Absalom AM You make no attempt to rewrite biological and sexual givens in terms of fashionable theory divorced from science GA Well it never occurred to me I have considerable difficulty with the idea of rewriting biological and sexual givens Those givens seem to me the source of anguish yes but also of wonder and gratitude emotions I have felt daily with our Down syndrome daughter who is now 28 If we re talking about the moral and intellectual improvement of which we re certainly capable sure but the kind of rewriting I think you mean comes out of a narrative of self ownership that I find unfortunate and sometimes laughable If we could bestow a single moment of existence upon ourselves perhaps it would be creditable but we live and breathe and have our being out of a mystery more than biological Givens imply a Giver and it seems to me more honest and certainly more rewarding to ponder the constitution of that given ness than to assert too much for the will and to make the shallow claims of self invention AM Do you consider yourself a religious writer GA Ever since I grew up in a Methodist Church in Middle Georgia religion has been very much a part of my weekly experience When I was a child it was simply part of the reality of things for everybody I knew despite all our irreverence and merry transgression Even after I began to have serious doubts as a teenager the sense of religion never left me and I came back to it as I matured I have been a practicing Roman Catholic since I was 26 But am I a religious writer I don t think so I certainly don t intend to write homiletically Simply as a writer I can say that religion is now and has always been one of the central dimensions of human life it pervades Homer and Virgil for example It s part of our nature to idolize if not to worship to

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/allen-mendenhall-interviews-glenn-arbery-author-of-bearings-and-distances.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive



  •