archive-com.com » COM » S » SOUTHERNLITREVIEW.COM

Total: 329

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Allen Mendenhall Interviews Glenn Arbery Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/allen-mendenhall-interviews-glenn-arbery (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive


  • The South Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Southern Christian Leadership Conference SCLC The American Revolution The Civil War The Cold War The Help The South Turn Me Loose The Unghosting of Medgar Evers Vietnam Where Is the Voice Coming From World War II Casey Clabough Responds August 17 2012 by Casey Clabough 3 Comments Upon receiving the recently published review of Confederado the editor of SLR indicating that aspects of the novel may have been overlooked or misinterpreted contacted me with a request to compose a response I was happy to do so However I would preface my remarks with the general assertion that having authored a number of Filed Under Book Reviews Tagged With Confederado Brazil Casey Clabough The South William Faulkner Gone Edited with Photography by Nell Dickerson April 25 2012 by Allen Mendenhall 2 Comments Review by Allen Mendenhall BelleBooks 118 pages I ve always maintained a spectator s curiosity in the rituals and practices of photography I can t take a good picture no matter which side of the camera I m on but I appreciate the idea of reducing the world to a more manageable form something I can look at Filed Under Book Reviews Tagged With Gone Nell Dickerson photographs Robert Hicks Shelby Foote The Civil War The South Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/the-south (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • William Bernhardt Interviews Amy Susan Wilson, Author of "Want v. Need: Stories From Pottawatomie County" - Southern Literary Review
    of Red Truck Review A Journal of American Southern Literature and Culture You also have started Red Dirt Press LLC Where do you find the time Amy Susan Wilson ASW And don t forget that I also work full time hit yoga classes four times a week and try to keep my home spotless or at least a dust free zone I don t have a writing schedule When I m at Walmart or watering begonias and rose bushes in the backyard I am also writing in my head Throughout the work week I email myself notes about a story s timeline and so forth When developing an issue of Red Truck Review I tie on my managing editor s bonnet and shift into editor mode I don t write at all and dust does hang out on top of the coffee table And I often times skip yoga classes Yasser El Sayed and Tim Peeler both writers edit Red Truck Review with me Yasser and Tim work in demanding professions so they like myself prioritize their time and energy so that Red Truck Review will remain a sustainable enduring journal I couldn t do it without them WB Everyone who reads your book will be asking the next question What are you going to do next ASW I m at work on a novel about the men of Pottawatomie County The novel centers around character Jake Howard and explores Pottawatomie County beginning a few generations back when the land known today as Pottawatomie County was not yet identified as such and Oklahoma was Indian Territory The working title is Home Again Yasser El Sayed Tim Peeler and I will work with our interns and plow through submissions during our open reading period for Red Truck Review Red Dirt Press LLC will release Terry Barr s essay collection Don t Date a Baptist and Other Warnings from my Alabama Mother Spring 2016 If there is a scientific breakthrough in cloning in the next year I m going to be the first one to sign up If I can clone myself you ll also see a koi pond and authentic English rose garden adorn my backyard complete with gazebo It will look so fabulous that Southern Living will want to feature my backyard in their next spring issue Since cloning is highly unlikely it ll just be the writing and Red Truck Review Red Dirt Press projects Click here to purchase Want v Need I am however going to do a better job keeping the house dust free and allergen free during Red Truck Review issue 4 development which is right around the corner This go round you won t find visiting nieces and nephews writing Chinese characters on my dusty furniture or pressing the cat s feet into the glass coffee table top to make dust prints of paws Writing and editing make for a hectic schedule a house that isn t always Southern Living perfect o like I want

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/william-bernhardt-interviews-amy-susan-wilson-author-of-want-v-need-stories-from-pottawatomie-county.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Red Truck Review Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Comment Yasser El Sayed has recently published fiction in Natural Bridge The New Orphic Review The Marlboro Review Red Truck Review and elsewhere His short stories have been nominated for the Pushcart Prize in 2014 and in 2008 Yasser s prose focuses upon the intersections of Arab and American experience both in the Middle East and the United Filed Under Contributors Bios Tagged With Natural Bridge Red Truck Review Southern Literary Review Stanford University The Marlboro Review The New Orphic Review Yasser El Sayed Red Truck Review Interviews SLR Managing Editor Allen Mendenhall March 15 2014 by Editors Leave a Comment The inaugural issue of Red Truck Review A Journal of American Southern Literature and Culture ran this week and featured this interview and these poems by managing editor Allen Mendenhall The interview begins with questions about Southern Literary Review and discusses Allen s recently published book Literature and Liberty Red Truck Review is edited by SLR contributor Amy Susan Filed Under News Events Tagged With A Journal of American Southern Literature and Culture Allen Mendenhall Red Truck Review Southern Literary Review Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/red-truck-review (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Author Profiles & Interviews Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Allen Mendenhall Interviews Deborah Mantella Author of My Sweet Vidalia March 8 2016 by Allen Mendenhall Leave a Comment AM You re a transplant to the South Yet the rich quality of your language is distinctly authentically Southern There s something Natasha Trethewey about it You must be a reader of Southern literature DM First of all Allen I am still trying to wrap my writermind around your Natasha Tretheway reference I am truly honored I ve Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Allen Mendenhall Deborah Mantella My Sweet Vidalia Natasha Tretheway Allen Mendenhall Interviews Derek Furr Author of Semitones February 17 2016 by Allen Mendenhall Leave a Comment AM Thanks for taking the time to answer a few questions about your new book Semitones I want to start by asking about the title You provide an epigraph by John Dowland that works toward defining semitones Could you explain the significance of this title which I m guessing has to do with the unique musicality Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Allen Mendenhall Andrés San Millán Derek Furr Fomite Poetry and Pragmatism Richard Poirier Semitones Claire Hamner Matturro Interviews Celeste Fletcher McHale Author of The Secret to Hummingbird Cake February 11 2016 by Claire Matturro Leave a Comment CHM The Secret to Hummingbird Cake rings with authenticity I know you are Southern so your ability in capturing the charm and culture of Louisiana makes good sense to me But aside from the setting the emotions and plot line are so vivid and evocative I have to ask Is the story based upon something in your Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Celeste Fletcher McHale Claire Hamner Matturro The Secret to Hummingbird Cake Thomas Nelson Allen Mendenhall Interviews Glenn Arbery Author of Bearings and Distances December 16 2015 by Editors 1 Comment AM First of all congratulations on the publication of your novel Bearings and Distances You ve got deep roots in the South but haven t lived here in some time Do you ever feel a sense of pardon the term alienation GA Thank you As for a sense of alienation sure I ve felt it but less in Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Allen Mendenhall Interviews Glenn Arbery Bearings and Distances Fugitive Agrarians Georgia Glenn Arbery Joshua Hren The South Wiseblood Books William Bernhardt Interviews Amy Susan Wilson Author of Want v Need Stories From Pottawatomie County December 7 2015 by William Bernhardt Leave a Comment WB First of all congratulations on your first collection Want v Need It s a magnificent achievement You write exclusively about community and bonds rooted in contemporary small town American South specifically Pottawatomie Oklahoma in rural Oklahoma Where did these characters come from ASW The different protagonists sprang to life when the factual world of Pottawatomie County Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Amy Susan Wilson Oklahoma Red Truck Review short story Want v Need Stories from Pottawatomie County William Bernhardt Next Page Top Posts Pages Web

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/category/authors#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Welcomes New Contributor Jordan Murphy - Southern Literary Review
    in new window Click to share on Google Opens in new window More Click to share on Reddit Opens in new window Click to share on Pocket Opens in new window Click to share on Pinterest Opens in new window Click to email this to a friend Opens in new window Click to print Opens in new window Like this Like Loading Related Filed Under Contributors Bios Tagged With Auburn University Jordan Murphy Southern Literary Review Leave a Reply Cancel reply Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011 August 2011 July 2011 June 2011 May

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/contributors/slr-welcomes-new-contributor-jordan-murphy.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Auburn University Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Fred Parker September 18 2015 by Editors Leave a Comment Fred Parker is a retired architect and MFA nonfiction candidate at Georgia College and State University He holds a Bachelor of Architecture degree from Auburn University Much of his career has been devoted to writing in the fields of architecture engineering and marketing Filed Under Contributors Bios Tagged With Auburn University Fred Parker Georgia College and State University Southern Literary Review Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011 August 2011 July 2011 June 2011 May 2011 April 2011 March 2011 February 2011 January 2011 December

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/auburn-university (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • SLR Welcomes New Contributor Glynn Custred - Southern Literary Review
    Opens in new window Click to share on Pinterest Opens in new window Click to email this to a friend Opens in new window Click to print Opens in new window Like this Like Loading Related Filed Under Contributors Bios Tagged With California State University East Bay Glynn Custred Southern Literary Review Leave a Reply Cancel reply Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Submissions Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Bull Mountain by Brian Panowich Contents Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011 August 2011 July 2011 June 2011 May 2011 April 2011 March 2011 February 2011 January 2011 December 2010 November 2010 October 2010 September 2010 August 2010 July 2010 June 2010 May

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/contributors/slr-welcomes-new-contributor-glynn-custred.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive



  •