archive-com.com » COM » S » SOUTHERNLITREVIEW.COM

Total: 329

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Allen Mendenhall Interviews Howard G. Franklin, Author of "Gideon's Children" - Southern Literary Review
    with major crimes and begin to reduce the caseload for overworked Public Defenders In addition as Governor Cuomo asked the New York State legislature for more funding to increase the number of public defenders so must other states in order to ensure that caseloads drop to a level that allows each public defender to offer a full and proper handling of each and every case he or she is assigned And last but not least our jails and prisons are in serious need of reform Guards must be better trained when brutality occurs perpetrators must be punished educational and vocational programs must be bolstered so that once released prisoners can rejoin our society as productive members This effort to reintegrate former convicts and reduce the rate of recidivism naturally requires programs to educate employers so that having committed a crime does not automatically eliminate them from being employed I would add that solutions to the problems in all phases of the criminal justice system have numerous facets which I have not addressed Instead I have confined myself to a discussion of major issues and possible solutions that I feel are compatible for interview purposes APM Does Gideon s Children speak to any of these current issues HGF Yes Allen it most emphatically addresses all of the above issues except jails and prison reform In fact with our individual constitutional rights being eroded by the Patriot Act the No Fly Rule and unrestricted government spying at all levels and the tragic events in Ferguson Staten Island Cleveland and Los Angeles propelling a growing discussion of civil rights the relevancy of G C was never higher APM Gideon s Children is not a thin book It must have taken quite a bit of time to write Could you tell us about that process HGF In answering your earlier question I explained that I met my wife Linda during the editorial process for An Irish Experience and that after we were married she encouraged me to rewrite the manuscript of G C which had been created many years earlier Click here to purchase Linda s suggestion very much appealed to me for two reasons First I believed that G C carried an important message about the value of our individual constitutional rights social justice and the exercise of power And secondly I felt that over the years I had polished my ability to write by having written three other novels a considerable amount of poetry and An Irish Experience So with the knowledge that G C s setting in the 1960s now made it a historical novel thus requiring additional background about the tumultuous era and Linda s further suggestion that the love interest of the book s lead character needed to be fleshed out I began the rewrite My first step was to research each year of the 1960s making notes on politics music art films and sports Then aware of the fact that the original manuscript was quite large at 941 pages I determined that the chapters which continued on beyond the happenings in the fictional ghetto courthouse in Solina were not essential so I deleted them to provide room to interweave the material about the 1960s without further lengthening G C Next I sketched a loose outline of each section of the novel and placed various parts of my research inside it chronologically fully aware that as I approached each chapter or group of chapters on the rewrite that I would fill in my outline Finally I sat down in front of my computer and began rewriting G C by retyping it line by line and page by page sometimes making changes to words or cutting or enlarging descriptions of places and people altering punctuation and slowly but steadily integrating my research notes to provide a fuller background of the era A large number of the corrections were accomplished directly as I typed but when new material was added I would first write it out longhand in pencil and then make additional additions or corrections on my computer screen This process was consistent with the manner in which I have always written as all of my creations originally find their way out of me in longhand I then revise by typing what I have penciled out now using the word processor instead of a typewriter My work schedule was basically seven hours a day six days a week with rewriting happening from eight in the morning to noon and one to three o clock in the early afternoon Later usually from ten to eleven o clock at night I would then read what had been written earlier making in pencil any further changes I felt necessary which I would then retype the following morning before moving forward to new material Following this schedule with cumulative breaks totaling approximately three months for vacations the rewrite took two and three quarter years When it was finally complete Linda then read and reread the manuscript making notes of changes and corrections she wanted which led to us working together for another two months approximately to incorporate the vast majority but not all of her suggestions So Allen you re right it did take quite a bit of time indeed for G C to become what it is today And my heartfelt hope is that readers will find G C both engaging and informative about crucial issues our society faces today in the areas of civil rights and the criminal justice system APM Do you still travel regularly HGF Yes I do In the past several years Linda and I have visited England Scotland Ireland and Wales as well as toured China Canada and parts of Europe with groups In late April of this year we are traveling to France to visit Paris and then join Linda s parents for a riverboat cruise from Paris to Normandy and back APM Are you still involved in the law or have you left that world behind

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/allen-mendenhall-interviews-howard-g-franklin-author-of-gideons-children.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Allen Mendenhall Interviews Howard G. Franklin Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Contents Submissions In the Sanctuary of Outcasts by Neil White Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/allen-mendenhall-interviews-howard-g-franklin (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Civil Rights Archives - Southern Literary Review
    you What would you do if the person who murdered your friend then turned his weapon on you and was attempting to take your life Filed Under Book Reviews Tagged With Civil Rights Eden Rise Mollie Smith Waters Robert J Norrell Award Winning Author Anthony Grooms to Speak at Albany State June 13 2011 by Julie Cantrell Leave a Comment Anthony Grooms an award winning southern author poet and playwright will participate in the Albany State University 2011 Summer Seminar on Southern Literature Grooms will speak on Wednesday in Room 114 of the James Pendergrast Library at 9 a m and 10 45 a m In his first session Grooms will discuss southern writers past and present Filed Under News Events Tagged With Albany State University Anthony Grooms Bombingham Civil Rights Georgia Southern Literature July Read of the Month The Help July 7 2010 by Julie Cantrell Leave a Comment The Help by Kathryn Stockett has been on the New York Times Bestseller list for more than a year and has been dubbed the can t miss read of the summer for folks not just in the south not even just in the States but for readers young and old across the world For that reason we ve Filed Under Book Reviews Read of the Month Tagged With 1960s Bestseller Civil Rights Kathryn Stockett Mississippi The Help Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Contents Submissions In the Sanctuary of Outcasts by Neil White Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/civil-rights (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Allen Mendenhall Interviews Stephen Roth, Author of "A Plot for Pridemore" - Southern Literary Review
    SR I did not set out to make a political statement However I know Pridemore s problems are shared by many American towns as the country continues its shift from a rural to an urban society It s a very topical issue and you don t have to look very hard to find a feature story in The New York Times or Wall Street Journal about some spunky town in the middle of nowhere that is trying to get its act together even though there may no longer be an economic reason for it to exist I think those stories about people pulling together to save their towns are beautiful and inspiring Hopefully none of those towns go to the drastic lengths that Pridemore does to revive their fortunes I have always loved the intimacy of the small town The ability to get from one place to the next in just a couple of minutes and to run into someone you know everywhere you go are things you take for granted until you live in a city If the evening news is any indication those places on the map where you can leave your front door unlocked or let your kids walk alone to a friend s house are rapidly disappearing In Pridemore Missouri I tried to create a place with that small town intimacy that readers could believe and visualize I ve been told by a handful of readers that Pridemore reminds them of the towns they knew growing up I love hearing that AM It s unusual to ask an author about his publisher but I want to do so only because Mercer University Press seems to be coming out with several books like yours that readers of contemporary Southern literature will appreciate and enjoy What caused you to submit to Mercer SR A few years ago I started sending out query letters to agents and publishers but I had not considered pitching A Plot for Pridemore to a university press Then in 2011 I attended the Chattahoochee Valley Writers Conference in Columbus Georgia where I met Marc Jolley who is director of Mercer University Press He encouraged me to enter my manuscript in Mercer s annual contest for the Ferrol Sams Fiction Award I submitted Pridemore and a few months later received an email from Dr Jolley asking me to call him Lo and behold my book won and part of the award was a publishing contract I feel very fortunate to have run into Dr Jolley in Columbus Mercer University Press does produce an impressive number of books both fiction and non fiction that any lover of Southern culture would enjoy You can check out all of their titles at www mupress org AM Just a couple more questions First A Plot for Pridemore features an interesting relationship between Pete and Angela What motivated this part of the book SR One of my goals in the book was to give each of the main characters a

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/allen-mendenhall-interviews-stephen-roth-author-of-a-plot-for-pridemore.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • A Plot for Pridemore Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Contents Submissions In the Sanctuary of Outcasts by Neil White Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/a-plot-for-pridemore (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • "A Late Encounter With the Civil War," by Michael Kreyling - Southern Literary Review
    meandering discussions of The Great Gatsby and Bram Stoker s Dracula This chapter becomes less about the memory of the Civil War and more about early 20th century eugenicist fascinations with blood an element of romanticized fiction that is latent symbolic or cultural because it invades or pollutes the endangered citadel of whiteness Theodore Roosevelt used the term race suicide to express a widely shared fear of racial degeneration which was linked Kreyling alleges to a perceived collapse of civilization Kreyling ties Roosevelt s term to both the creation of and reaction to popular works by D W Griffith and Thomas Dixon Jr He even implicates Woodrow Wilson in the rapid proliferation of racism and not just by recalling Wilson s oft discussed response to the screening of The Birth of a Nation in the White House The second chapter maps the shift from memorialization to mass anxiety as race relations in America forced the nation to reconsider the meaning and purpose of the Civil War Here Kreyling considers an array of figures from Bruce Catton and Robert Penn Warren to Edmund Wilson and Flannery O Connor to substantiate the proposition that public interest in the Civil War was on the wane and overshadowed by the Civil Rights Movement and the Cold War All of this is very interesting but we shouldn t be surprised that most of the population at that time was more interested in its present moment than in a war that had occurred a century earlier The third and final chapter speculates about those negotiations that we have between what did happen during the Civil War and what we would prefer to remember I say speculates because Kreyling is careful not to seem rash or conclusory about our own moment Rather than giving an answer for instance he says that we need to ask the question w here is the South now That we may ask that question at all shows how much different our generation is from those which came before as Kreyling demonstrates by surveying recent literary scholarship on the matter Wherever the South is now it seems to have traveled far from pure ancestor worship That doesn t mean our memory has become unproblematic Kreyling sees in the historical fiction of Newt Gingrich and William R Forstchen for example a disturbing turn to a counterfactual mode of ritual that distorts our understanding of past events Kreyling rounds out his discussion of Gingrich and Forstchen among other people and texts with an upsetting observation we commemorate past wars with new ones Such a strong and ambiguous claim demands clarification yet Kreyling doesn t elaborate perhaps because long explication would detract from the lasting force and profundity of the closing remark As smoothly as this book reads one wonders what its chief contribution will be It s certainly unique and innovative to as Kreyling does compare vampire fiction with the racist notion of thoroughbred whiteness that was in circulation at the semicentennial On the other

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/reviews/a-late-encounter-with-the-civil-war-by-michael-kreyling.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • A Late Encounter With the Civil War Archives - Southern Literary Review
    the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Contents Submissions In the Sanctuary of Outcasts by Neil White Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/a-late-encounter-with-the-civil-war (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Allen Mendenhall, Author at Southern Literary Review
    Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Allen Mendenhall Elizabeth Harris Mayhem Southern Literary Review Allen Mendenhall Interviews Hubert Crouch Author of The Word July 22 2015 by Allen Mendenhall Leave a Comment AM Thanks for taking the time to talk to Southern Literary Review about The Word your second novel Jace Forman the protagonist of your first novel Cried For No One is back in this novel How has your experience as a trial lawyer shaped Jace s character if at all Is it even possible to Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Allen Mendenhall Allen Mendenhall Interviews Hubert Crouch Cried for No One Hubert Crouch Southern Literary Review The Word Allen Mendenhall Interviews M Maitland DeLand Author of Nashville Mercy June 3 2015 by Allen Mendenhall Leave a Comment AM Dr DeLand thanks for the interview I m thankful for the opportunity to talk with you about your debut mystery novel Nashville Mercy How did you draw on your Southern roots and medical background to develop the plot of this book MMD My entire extended family is in the medical field Since I was a Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Allen Mendenhall Kate Katelinson M Maitland DeLand Nashville Nashville Mercy Southern Literary Review Allen Mendenhall Interviews Howard G Franklin Author of Gideon s Children May 20 2015 by Allen Mendenhall Leave a Comment APM It s a privilege to do this interview on the occasion of the publication of your novel Gideon s Children This book is quite a bit different from your previous book An Irish Experience You ve gone from travelogue to novel What prompted the change HGF Thank you Allen for the opportunity to connect with readers of Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Allen Mendenhall Allen Mendenhall Interviews Howard G Franklin An Irish Experience Civil Rights Gideon s Children Howard G Franklin Allen Mendenhall Interviews Stephen Roth Author of A Plot for Pridemore May 6 2015 by Allen Mendenhall Leave a Comment AM Pridemore Missouri the setting for your novel A Plot for Pridemore Why this place in particular SR Missouri has been my home for the past 26 years so it made sense to write about a part of the country that was very familiar to me I also felt that basing Pridemore in Missouri would allow Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With A Plot for Pridemore Allen Mendenhall Chattahoochee Valley Writers Conference Georgia LaGrange Marc Jolley Mercer University Press Stephen Roth A Late Encounter With the Civil War by Michael Kreyling April 8 2015 by Allen Mendenhall Leave a Comment Reviewed by Allen Mendenhall Now that it s 2015 the sesquicentennial of the Civil War has come to a close Those who don t follow such anniversaries may not have noticed it was ever here but it was although without the fanfare or nostalgia that marked the commemorations at the semi centennial and the centennial Michael Kreyling a Filed Under Book Reviews Tagged With A Late Encounter With

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/author/allen-mendenhall#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive



  •