archive-com.com » COM » S » SOUTHERNLITREVIEW.COM

Total: 329

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • November Read of the Month Archives - Southern Literary Review
    County November 3 2010 by Sean Ennis 3 Comments John Brandon s name has been whispered among literary circles as a writer to watch since he was selected as the 2009 10 John and Renee Grisham Writer in Residence at the University of Mississippi His first novel Arkansas took readers on a wild ride through the trailer trash world of drugs and violence And he left them wanting more Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Read of the Month Tagged With Citrus County Fiction Florida John Brandon November Read of the Month November Read of the Month Citrus County by John Brandon November 1 2010 by Sean Ennis Leave a Comment Review by Sean Ennis John Brandon s second novel Citrus County is on its surface a typical sort of coming of age novel Fourteen year old Toby wishes for a more exciting life in rural Florida tries ineptly to understand Shelby a potential love interest and battles his superiors with both apathy and cunning But Filed Under Book Reviews Read of the Month Tagged With Citrus County Fiction Florida John Brandon November Read of the Month Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Contents Submissions In the Sanctuary of Outcasts by Neil White Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/november-read-of-the-month (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Ace Atkins Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Interviews Ace Atkins SLR What I suspect everyone wants to know is how do you stay so prolific How do you write so much so quickly AA I m very fortunate to be a full time novelist I ve been writing full time since 2001 and that gives me the freedom Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Read of the Month Tagged With Ace Atkins Allen Mendenhall Fiction Infamous Novelist The Ranger Read of the Month Collected Works of American Novelist Ace Atkins November 1 2011 by Allen Mendenhall Leave a Comment Click to Order Click to Order Infamous and The Ranger by Ace Atkins Review by Allen Mendenhall As an Auburn University instructor and a lifelong Auburn football fan with multigenerational ties to that school I m not neutral when it comes to Ace Atkins an Auburn alumnus who lettered for the best damn football team Filed Under Book Reviews Read of the Month Tagged With Ace Atkins Allen Mendenhall Infamous November Read of the Month The Ranger Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Contents Submissions In the Sanctuary of Outcasts by Neil White Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/ace-atkins#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Redeemers Archives - Southern Literary Review
    by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Contents Submissions In the Sanctuary of Outcasts by Neil White Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011 August 2011 July 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/the-redeemers#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Claire Hamner Matturro Interviews Robert Bailey, Author of “Between Black and White” - Southern Literary Review
    Atticus Finch as your lead lawyer Harper Lee s gem inspired me and countless others to go to law school In fact I think every aspiring lawyer secretly wants to be Atticus Finch CHM You are a practicing attorney in Huntsville Alabama and a partner in the firm of Lanier Ford Having been a lawyer myself I know how all consuming the practice of law is especially trial work How ever do you find the time to write practice law and be a family man too RB I do most of my writing in the early morning hours while the kids are still asleep and before my work day as a lawyer begins This has become a habit for me no different from brushing teeth which has taken a lot of the stress out of it I write in the mornings and then I go about the rest of my day However during trial and preparation for trial I set aside the writing completely and focus only on the trial CHM How have your partners and other attorneys in Huntsville reacted to your success with The Professor RB Everyone has been universally supportive and happy for me I am blessed to be part of a law firm with a familial atmosphere where everyone gets along well and pulls for each other The legal community of Huntsville has also been very supportive helping me to promote my book CHM Renowned Alabama football Coach Paul Bear Bryant appears as a person in The Professor and as a legend and motivating force in Between Black and White Bocephus and Tom both played football for The Bear and both recall The Bear s words in times of stress and draw strength from his memory I gather then you re a huge fan of The Bear How has he influenced you And why do you think he remains such an iconic figure RB Growing up in Alabama as a child in the late 70 s and early 80 s I saw Coach Bryant almost as a religious figure I was inundated with stories of the Bear and his teams I joke at book clubs that my Batman and Superman growing up were Joe Namath and Lee Roy Jordan There is also the impact he had on his players One of the most gratifying parts of this journey for me was meeting and speaking with Lee Roy Jordan the great middle linebacker on Coach Bryant s 1961 National Championship team who makes a cameo in The Professor Lee Roy told me that there wasn t a day that goes by that he didn t think about Coach Bryant Not a single day So when writing the characters of Tom and Bo I wanted to show the impact Coach Bryant had on their lives too As for his continuing relevance and stature it is a testament to the Man as Tom and Bo refer to him that his shadow still looms so large When you think legend

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/claire-hamner-matturro-interviews-robert-bailey-author-black-white.htm#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Allen Mendenhall Interviews Russell Scott, Author of The Hard Times - Southern Literary Review
    entity formed from two other entities Magnolia Gazette Publishing which has been in continuous operation since 1872 it s the oldest business in Pike County Mississippi and IsoLibris a company designed to produce ebooks which was only a couple of years old AM What s the significance of the poem at the beginning of the book RS It is a poem I wrote sitting on my back porch watching an approaching storm it seemed to set the stage for the book and the storms coming for everyone in it AM Who is Ray Moffett Is he a good person RS He s my everyman trying to find a way back into grace from the transgressions of his life So he s both good and bad but mostly he s like the weeds in the poem buffeted by the winds or the particles of dust moved by collisions he can neither avoid nor anticipate AM You ve got a lot of military experience Did you write while you served RS No and I don t intend to write about my service directly In the military there is a saying there is nothing more boring than an old hero AM This may seem like a problematic question if not taken to refer to chronology but were you a doctor or a soldier first RS A physician must always be a physician first anything else is unacceptable AM You re the father of seven How have you maintained your sanity RS You would be surprised it was hard at times but it all flew by so fast Now I only have one child left at home and it s quite sad AM Do you consider yourself a Southern author How about a Southerner RS I am a Southerner I wrote a whole essay on the perils and pressures of being a Mississippi Southern author I still have some growing to do to fit into those pants so I can only say I hope to be AM Thanks for the interview Scott Best of luck fitting into those pants Click here to purchase this book Share this Click to share on LinkedIn Opens in new window Click to share on Twitter Opens in new window Click to share on Facebook Opens in new window Click to share on Tumblr Opens in new window Click to share on Google Opens in new window More Click to share on Reddit Opens in new window Click to share on Pocket Opens in new window Click to share on Pinterest Opens in new window Click to email this to a friend Opens in new window Click to print Opens in new window Like this Like Loading Related Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Allen Mendenhall Interviews Russell Scott China Grove Press Mississippi Russell Scott The Hard Times Comments Donna S Meredith says December 3 2015 at 8 38 AM Interesting interview Leave a Reply Cancel reply Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/authors/allen-mendenhall-interviews-russell-scott-author-of-the-hard-times.htm (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Allen Mendenhall Interviews Russell Scott Archives - Southern Literary Review
    Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Contents Submissions In the Sanctuary of Outcasts by Neil White Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/allen-mendenhall-interviews-russell-scott (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Editors, Author at Southern Literary Review
    Anderson Donna Meredith Edwina Pendarvis June Langford Berkley Karen Salyer McElmurray Pat Spears Phyllis Wilson Moore Walk Till The Dogs Get Mean SLR Welcomes New Contributor Jordan Murphy March 14 2016 by Editors Leave a Comment Jordan Murphy is a creative nonfiction writer foreign language teacher and goal digger She is publisher and contributor to many online blogs and is most often found lost in a book from the 19th century She hails from North Alabama and holds a Bachelor of Science in German Foreign Language Education from Auburn University Jordan is traveling Filed Under Contributors Bios Tagged With Auburn University Jordan Murphy Southern Literary Review Announcing the 2016 North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame Inductees February 4 2016 by Editors Leave a Comment On Sunday October 16 at 2 00 pm the North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame will induct three new members Clyde Edgerton Margaret Maron and Carl Sandburg will join the fifty seven inductees currently enshrined in a ceremony at the Weymouth Center for the Arts and Humanities in Southern Pines The North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame Filed Under News Events Tagged With Carl Sandburg Clyde Edgerton Margaret Maron North Carolina North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame North Carolina Writers Network Shelby Stephenson Allen Mendenhall Interviews Glenn Arbery Author of Bearings and Distances December 16 2015 by Editors 1 Comment AM First of all congratulations on the publication of your novel Bearings and Distances You ve got deep roots in the South but haven t lived here in some time Do you ever feel a sense of pardon the term alienation GA Thank you As for a sense of alienation sure I ve felt it but less in Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Allen Mendenhall Interviews Glenn Arbery Bearings and Distances Fugitive Agrarians Georgia Glenn Arbery Joshua Hren The South Wiseblood Books Allen Mendenhall Interviews Russell Scott Author of The Hard Times November 27 2015 by Editors 1 Comment AM Thank you for the interview and congratulations on the publication of The Hard Times This novel opens in Mississippi with an alarming scene involving a doctor or doctors and then brings us to Africa You re a doctor in Mississippi who s traveled to Africa What s going on here RS I guess you write what you know it Filed Under Author Profiles Interviews Tagged With Allen Mendenhall Interviews Russell Scott China Grove Press Mississippi Russell Scott The Hard Times SLR Welcomes New Contributor Glynn Custred November 20 2015 by Editors Leave a Comment Glynn Custred is professor emeritus of anthropology at California State University East Bay formerly Hayward and a member of the American Anthropological Association Filed Under Contributors Bios Tagged With California State University East Bay Glynn Custred Southern Literary Review Next Page Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Contents Submissions In the

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/author/editors#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Between Black and White Archives - Southern Literary Review
    and White by Robert Bailey April 18 2016 by Claire Matturro 1 Comment Reviewed by Claire Hamner Matturro Following the success of his powerful debut legal thriller The Professor Thomas Mercer 2015 Bailey offers a second stunning story in the series In his novel Between Black and White Thomas Mercer March 2016 Bailey establishes beyond doubt that he is an author to be read and reckoned Filed Under Book Reviews Tagged With Between Black and White Claire Hamner Matturro Legal Fiction Legal Thriller Robert Bailey The Professor Top Posts Pages Web of Water Reflections on Life Along the Saluda Reedy Rivers by John Lane with Photography by Tom Blagden Clay Bolt jon holloway and Ben Geer Keys Interview with Michael Lee West Contents Submissions In the Sanctuary of Outcasts by Neil White Allen Mendenhall Interviews Karen White Search the site Free Subscription Email Address unsubscribe from list powered by MailChimp Topics Author Profiles Interviews 108 Book Reviews 289 Conferences and Festivals 36 Contributors Bios 72 Essays 9 General 7 Grants and Contests 16 News Events 75 Read of the Month 86 Residencies 5 Southern States 1 Archives Archives Select Month April 2016 March 2016 February 2016 January 2016 December 2015 November 2015 October 2015 September 2015 August 2015 July 2015 June 2015 May 2015 April 2015 March 2015 February 2015 January 2015 December 2014 November 2014 October 2014 September 2014 August 2014 July 2014 June 2014 May 2014 April 2014 March 2014 February 2014 January 2014 December 2013 November 2013 October 2013 September 2013 August 2013 July 2013 June 2013 May 2013 April 2013 March 2013 February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011

    Original URL path: http://southernlitreview.com/tag/between-black-and-white#mc_signup (2016-04-27)
    Open archived version from archive



  •