archive-com.com » COM » W » WICCA-SPIRITUALITY.COM

Total: 409

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • The Silver Chalice E-Zine, Issue #15, Dec 2009 * The Twelve Wild Swans Book Reviewand
    knowledge of Wicca Spirituality to the world wide web in another fun format Also sometime next year you should see an article by erin in a new book from Llewellyn publishers Her submission has been accepted for a book on coming out of the broom closet Another article for publication in a collection on Wiccans and Jesus will also be coming out next year I believe You should see a contribution from yours truly in that as well on how Wiccans actually follow Jesus teachings more than most Christians do You ll have seen quotes from both articles if you ve been following on Facebook or Twitter And if not why not There s lots of great stuff happening and an interactive community Please join us Stay tuned to our Blog Facebook Fan Page or WiccaSpirit onTwitter for more details on when you can hear the podcasts and read the books Book Review The Twelve Wild Swans A Journey to the Realm of Magic Healing and Action The Twelve Wild Swans by Starhawk and Hilary Valentine is a groundbreaking workbook for Wiccans who want to develop their skills and go further in their connection with the Earth and Spirit It s a fantastic beginner s book covering the greatest range I ve seen on a whole range of Craft basics such as casting a circle guided visualizations to access inner wisdom creating a protective shield getting to know the Wheel of the Year and other vital Wiccan skills Yet The Twelve Wild Swans is just as great for advanced Witches too offering insight into profound levels of the Craft lessons in power and energy awareness and developing deeper spiritually The Twelve Wild Swans works for Wiccans of all levels because of its unique concept See More Wicca Magick Book In Progress Please Note This material is protected by legal copyright The Magick Of Reality And The Reality Of Magick Before you can do any magick there is one thing you must understand completely The physical world that you see around you is only ONE level of reality and not even the most fundamentally true one There are other levels of reality that are even more real than the physical world What does that mean It means that everything your body and senses tell you is real is barely more than a phantom And much that IS real your mind and senses tell you is impossible The World of Illusions We ll start with the last level of reality because that s the one we interact with directly the tangible physical world The physical world only SEEMS to be solid and real That s because all of our senses are calibrated to be weak enough not to pierce this veil of illusion The book you re holding science knows that it is 99 9 empty space with only a few infinitesimal specks of something flying around at incredible speeds As Nick Herbert says If the electron were really a point particle

    Original URL path: http://www.wicca-spirituality.com/The_Silver_Chalice_EZine-o15.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Silver Chalice Wicca 'Zine, Issue #14, Oct 2009 * Magick and Intention
    my pleasure to share such a wonderful experience with you Book Review White As Bone Red As Blood The Fox Sorceress White As Bone Red As Blood The Fox Sorceress by Cerridwen Fallingstar is an enchanting tale of a young Japanese woman coming into her power in an age of transition Fallingstar writes with such gentle yet skillful brushstrokes she leaves you feeling as if you d been gazing at an exquisite display of cherry blossom petals softly falling where they may An added treat is the delicate and beautifully wrought poetry Fallingstar demonstrates a deep understanding of the ways of magic And an intimate connection and the Goddess permeates every page Read the Book Review Wicca Magick Book In Progress Singleness of Magickal Intention Want better results from your magickal spells and rituals You probably need to focus your intention When magick isn t working there are certain things that tend to be at fault One of the most universal is that you might be working at cross purposes with yourself without even knowing it Working Against Your Own Magick An example will demonstrate this Let s use my favourite thing to procrastinate procrastination is a common example of being at cross purposes with yourself Intention Or Obligation Does intention feel like the wrong word Have to do sounds more like it doesn t it This is a clue that you are at cross purposes with yourself You ve identified something that you re going to do since you need to do it but you neglect to claim that duty as an intention This is a root of procrastination and a common flaw in magick In this situation it is less a conscious intention than self flagellation that gets the thing done When you choose your obligations they become conscious intentions which makes them easier to accomplish Let s say You have an intention to do your taxes So you know at some point you are going to do them Part of you knows it s necessary But another part of you is resistant for whatever reasons Thus your energy is going in two directions at once both toward and away from having a completed tax return Note the energy drain that this kind of situation causes It s like having one foot on the accelerator and one foot on the brake you are burning a lot of gas but you aren t getting anywhere The more situations in your life where you have this happening the less energy and less success you will have So do you ever file your tax return If you re like me yes at the very last moment But not without a lot of anxiety stress misery fatigue overwhelmence and most notably delay How much more effective not to mention pleasurable to consciously choose the intention you want and consciously release the one you don t It s this kind of conscious action that aligns you with abundance success and happiness In other

    Original URL path: http://www.wicca-spirituality.com/The_Silver_Chalice_EZine-014.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Silver Chalice E-Zine, Issue #13, Aug 2009 * The Results Of the Survey
    great thought than a great machine The Power of Your Thoughts If the universe is made up of thought how much might one person s mind affect it How much more so when it is a powerful disciplined mind How much more when there are many strong minds working in unison Quite a lot it turns out Take for example these scientific studies in the power of meditation to decrease crime and violence Thought Transforming the World In 1984 a group of 7000 meditators was able to create more peace worldwide Researchers documented reduced international conflict decreased terrorism and increased harmony between nations during that two week period http archive tm org discover benefits world html In 1993 4 000 Transcendental Meditation experts gathered in Washington D C for a publicized demonstration It was predicted that during this time violent crime would decrease The results exceeded predictions After months of rapid increase HRA violent crime homicide rape and assault suddenly declined in Washington D C during the demonstration according to time series analysis Violent crime usually increases in June and July For the final 2 weeks of the demonstration HRA crime dropped 18 The steady state gain long term effect was calculated as a 48 reduction in HRA crimes in the District of Columbia Maharishi Vedic Education Development Corporation Emphasis mine More studies on the effects of meditation on violence have been done worldwide with amazing results The research has demonstrated repeatedly that when the square root of 1 of a population practices the Transcendental Meditation and TM Sidhi program together in one place there are marked decreases in negative tendencies such as crime sickness and accident rates as well as instances of turbulence and violence in society The research has also shown significant increases in positive trends such as improvements in economic conditions Most dramatically sociological research showed that the practice of the Transcendental Meditation Sidhi program by a small number of people together in one place had a very powerful effect on society as a whole even more powerful than the 1 Transcendental Meditation effect http archive tm org book chap 7 html As Dr John Hagelin Director of the Institute of Science Technology and Public Policy put it This is not wishful thinking This is hard science that has been field tested for over 50 years and documented through more than 600 studies conducted at over 250 independent universities and research institutes throughout the world The proof is incontrovertible The power of your mind to affect your world has not even begun to be imagined Infinite Possibility Those who deny the power of thought in essence the possibility of magick psi abilities etc are living in the scientific dark ages of mechanistic superstition If the universe is made of thought as quantum physics is demonstrating what could stop you for accessing any part of it any thought or knowledge What could stop you from changing it Only your concern with your internal chaos and your tendency to

    Original URL path: http://www.wicca-spirituality.com/The_Silver_Chalice_EZine-013.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Silver Chalice E-Zine, Issue #12, June 2009 * The Secret Meaning of Summer Solstice
    though I am a male P D in USA Dear PD This is a surprisingly common question For a long time I couldn t figure out why men would think that Wicca is for women but many apparently do So I ve done some thinking and some research Please see this article on men in Wicca for the answer Thanks for asking Bright Blessings to you Do you have a question you d like answered Email the Priestess and your question could be answered in a future issue Note questions may be edited for brevity or clarity No real names will be disclosed For reasons of legality all questions become the property of Wicca Spirituality com Fave Quotes Every time you reach a new stage you realize that you really don t understand anything you have to go back to the beginning to the most basic practice and learn what you didn t see the last time through Vonda McIntyre Star Wars The Crystal Star Impatience is handmaiden to despair And despair is of the dark side Michael Stackpole Star Wars Onslaught Never concede to evil That is our oldest and most sacred law When we concede to evil even in a small way we feed it and it grows stronger Dave Wolverton Star Wars The Courtship of Princess Leia The Force is a river from which many can drink and the training of the Jedi is not the only cup that can catch it Michael Kube McDowell Star Wars Tyrant s Test Energy Field Barometer March Something intriguing and potent happened in late March Most people experienced it like a very distinct and overwhelming urge to do something that they ve long wanted to do but haven t gotten to In other words I think it was a push to start living our dreams and creating the life we want to be living right now It was as if we got an urgent call from The Boss to put aside all other projects and get on with what is really important It was as if something deep in the heart spoke out loud and clear and said It s time It s time to be who you really are It s time to live the life you ve been dreaming of Now Make it happen This is the most important thing you could be doing It s absolutely vital There was a major shift in priorities Nothing else mattered at all If you experienced this field you probably found that you couldn t fight it either If you didn t do that one thing that really called you you probably couldn t get anything done The milder form of it was a feeling of dissatisfaction with your life and a desire to do something different A specific something not just any old thing If you were particularly locked into your belief that you can t do whatever it is for you the Universe may have given you a whack

    Original URL path: http://www.wicca-spirituality.com/The_Silver_Chalice_EZine-012.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Silver Chalice E-Zine, Issue #11, Apr 2009 * Beltane: The Great Rite
    to let them roam here and I haven t found an effective way to keep them out Sometimes warning them or asking them to leave helps Where I can put them outside I do I also kill pests in my garden I d rather offer them to my chickens but I don t have any chickens I struggle with this question myself you see I m sure we all do How I deal with it is by harming only as a last resort and when really necessary by being as quick and painless about it as possible and by offering a prayer and an apology to each creature I don t claim that this keeps me in full compliance with the Wiccan Rede but it helps minimize the damages Of course your situation is somewhat different Since you haven t asked whether you should proceed I m assuming you ve decide to go through with it The issue then must be How do you minimize the harm For this your attitude is most important Approach with the respect due another living creature who is an embodiment of the Divine One who has given its life for your benefit Offer sincere thanks and a prayer for its spirit Take care that it does not suffer Make good use of its sacrifice Value what you re given Take care of your own feelings so that you don t create suffering in yourself either The fact that you re asking the question and seeking a way to do no harm is very important Facing these questions and finding your own way through is how you determine your values and how much they mean to you What are you willing to do What will you refuse to do In other words the only one who can really answer your question is you Is there a way to do this where you would feel at peace with your actions This is something you must work out for yourself As a last note I suspect that the only way to feel at peace with killing anything at all is to have only superficial awareness of what is going on in your body and mind It seems universal that the more advanced a person becomes spiritually the less willing they are to cause any harm whatsoever As Wiccans we generally don t ascribe completely to ahimsa the principle of non harm But I wonder if there s a real difference between ahimsa and the Wiccan Rede other than degree of spiritual awareness Good luck with your exploration of your path With Blessings erin Thanks for asking Bright Blessings to you Do you have a question you d like answered Email the Priestess and your question could be answered in a future issue Note questions may be edited for brevity or clarity No real names will be disclosed For reasons of legality all questions become the property of Wicca Spirituality com Fave Quotes The ground of possibility for

    Original URL path: http://www.wicca-spirituality.com/The_Silver_Chalice_EZine-011.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Silver Chalice E-Zine, Issue #10, Feb 2009 * Imbolc and Ostara
    And I am busy being a witch and Jesus comes takes us And I go to hell and burn for eternity SC in USA Dear SC Do Witches believe in Jesus Depends Many Witches believe that Jesus was a very special prophet an enlightened person who came to inspire us to live in a better way and to understand God better There may be some Witches who deny that Jesus was real but personally I don t know anyone who does That cynicism is more for atheists Spiritual seekers know that there are many holy people who ve come into the world why shouldn t Jesus be one of them Even those Wiccans who would never consider themselves Christian don t necessarily discount Jesus We may disagree that he was THE one and only enlightened being who came to guide us but most of us have a LOT of respect for him and his original teachings which were much more mystical and spiritual than what the Church has allowed in the Bible Do we believe that only through Jesus we can come to God Not at all Jesus himself never meant that He told us there were plenty of rooms in the Mansion everyone comes to God in the end through the different paths Wiccans believe that insisting that You Must Accept Jesus Christ As Your Personal Saviour is simply propaganda by the church trying to control everyone and force them to behave in a way that suits the institution of the church Jesus himself was much more open for his times Even he had certain cultural biases or those who wrote his story did In fact Jesus never said that the way to salvation was through accepting him as your personal saviour He would be astonished and dismayed I m sure by such an easy out He never wanted people to worship him Read his teachings he wanted people to follow in his footsteps that is to live as he lived That s a much harder way than jumping on his coattails It s also much more effective Witches generally believe that Heaven and Hell are all around us all the time depending on how we live We create Heaven in the world and we create Hell in the world by our actions and choices Jesus said things about this The Kingdom of Heaven is within you for instance What the heck does that have to do with a pearly place up in the clouds where people are playing harps We have that inside us Only in a symbolic way we create our own heaven in our hearts and minds and through our actions in the world But Witches don t believe in Heaven and Hell as physical places one where God doesn t live or rule How could that even be God is everywhere everything Even in those who suffer through their own Hells Jesus himself never said anything about going to Hell Did you know that Hell

    Original URL path: http://www.wicca-spirituality.com/The_Silver_Chalice_EZine-010.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Silver Chalice E-Zine, Issue #9, Dec 2008 * Yule Tide and Magick
    there and it makes me question it all I have always been interested in magic I love watching the shows like Charmed Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Harry Potter They are my favorites They give me hope that there is good magic out there I have questions Like do Wiccans believe in Jesus What do Wiccans believe in Do they believe in Heaven Hell I am afraid What if everything is true The bible and everything And I am busy being a Witch and Jesus comes takes us And I go to hell and burn for eternity SC in USA Dear SC I can understand your questioning these things I was once Christian myself and it took a while to figure things out for myself Did you know there are even Christian Witches So the two paths aren t completely incompatible Most Witches don t mind Christians although we could really do without being demonized by them We respect other spiritualities as valid and honourable To answer some of your questions Wicca only works with good magick There are some people who practice a different form of Witchcraft and do magick which might harm others but not Wiccans That s against our fundamental beliefs which state Do what you will and harm none Besides doing harmful magick hurts the Witch more than anyone else So it s not something Wiccans enforce we can t make anyone not do harmful magick We just know better So yes there s absolutely tons of good magick going on People helping to heal the Earth and each other people working for peace and joy on the planet people working for the well being of all I think this question really asks Is it okay with God to do magick Isn t it trying to take God s power into our own hands This question can only be answered by each person It really depends on Who you think God could be If God was a jealous God as the Old Testament claims and maybe He was back then that God certainly didn t want anyone to have power but himself I believe the kind of pettiness described in the OT couldn t really be the true form of Divinity Why would the Absolute have any need to be jealous and controlling let alone send his people constantly to slaughter peaceful folk who just happened to see a different face of the Divine Jesus who presumably knows God better than anyone always speaks of God as a loving and forgiving father The New Testament a very different face of Divinity than the OT Jesus also said so many things about us all having the power to work miracles How many times and ways did He try to get us to understand everything He can do we can do even more If Jesus raised the dead today they d accuse Him of Witchcraft rather than working Divine miracles Yet He told us we are meant to

    Original URL path: http://www.wicca-spirituality.com/The_Silver_Chalice_EZine-009.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Silver Chalice E-Zine, Issue #8, Oct 2008 * FEATURE ARTICLE Mabon: Balancing the Wheel
    at the WWFest As well I discovered that people are eager to learn about Wicca as a spiritual practice as well as a religion I was inspired to put together an online course for this purpose keep your eyes on the blog or this e zine to learn when it s available It was great to watch a group of people trying out the Personal Mandala Starter Kit We could all see from their wonderful mandalas and the ease they had in getting started that the Starter Kit really is an exceptional tool I d heard this of course but it was a treat being able to see it in action I m excited to offer it to you once I can work out the bugs in the Paypal system At the end of September and early October I was again available for Palmistry and Tarot readings as well as spiritual counseling in Alberta Canada These are ongoing events it seems so if you missed them this year put them on your calendar for 2009 I d love to see you there Book Review A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle A New Earth how could this not be an excellent book for Wiccans Aren t we all dreaming of and working for the day when the Earth is reborn When humanity sees the Earth and each other with new eyes with love and respect While Eckhart Tolle doesn t elaborate on what this New Earth will be like he effectively illustrates how to get there Read the Book Review Sabbats Esbats Other Wiccan Rituals Mabon Balancing the Wheel at Autumn Equinox Mabon or Autumn Equinox is one of the solar festivals on the Wiccan Wheel of the Year In the Wicca calendar this festival falls near September 21 in the Northern Hemisphere and March 21 in the Southern Hemisphere Equinox means equal night On this Wiccan Sabbat day and night are equal forces and now Darkness is beginning to gain the ascendancy As with all spiritual matters we must ask What does this mean symbolically Putting aside old superstition and association of dark with evil what does equinox tell us Read the Whole Article Ask The Priestess Finding Your Wiccan Name Dear Priestess I wish to find my TRUE name Not the one that was bestowed upon me at birth I wish to find my identity not the one that everyone else believe is me But I am so unsure of how to find it I do not wish to continue down this road of life without knowing of who I am Please write me and tell me of how to fix this small yet complicated problem P in USA Dear P This is a very common situation Many of the emails I ve been getting these days are asking the same question And it means more than it seems on the surface As you put it so well wanting a true name is wanting to know who you truly

    Original URL path: http://www.wicca-spirituality.com/The_Silver_Chalice_EZine-008.html (2016-02-11)
    Open archived version from archive



  •