archive-com.com » COM » W » WORLD-OF-LUCID-DREAMING.COM

Total: 774

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Tranquil Turtle by Cloud B Review
    Turtle is foolproof sometimes babies have other things going on but it has helped us a lot The fact that you can perform this part of the routine in the dark makes sleepy time more forthcoming Any Cons Hardcore sleep enthusiasts argue that any kind of artificial light in the bedroom after dark is detrimental to sleep Some research has even suggested that blue wavelength light in particular can be disruptive to Circadian Rhythms Unfortunately many energy efficient light sources around the house emit high concentrations of blue light We are all highly exposed by watching TV using electronics and having lights switched on after dusk In a perfect world no artificial light would exist at all after dark So where do you draw the line For children I would generally suggest turning out the night light an hour or so after they ve gone to sleep Night lights can still serve to comfort children during the difficult business of falling asleep but it s important to acknowledge that pediatricians now recommend complete darkness and silence during a child s deep sleep Fortunately the creators of Tranquil Turtle recognized this in their design and so the device shuts off automatically after 23 minutes of play You needn t risk disrupting your child by going into their bedroom to turn off the night light manually Final Thoughts I tried to make a demo video of Tranquil Turtle in action but couldn t adequately capture the full effect on camera It is a totally immersive light display which just isn t done justice on a small video screen Other user reviews on Amazon suggest that Tranquil Turtle helps tackle insomnia anxiety and general restlessness at bedtime in both children and adults glad we re not the only ones Definitely the most relaxing audio night light I ve seen I rate Tranquil Turtle just as highly as baby Fox does See customer reviews on Amazon Update October 2014 Fox is now two years old and can still be seen hugging Tranquil Turtle to his chest and brushing TT s teeth before bed Top 10 Bestselling Night Lights on Amazon 1 Cloud B Tranquil Turtle 2 Fisher Price Ocean Wonders Soothe and Glow Seahorse 3 Cloud b Twilight Constellation Night Light Turtle 4 Uncle Milton Moon In My Room 5 Uncle Milton Rainbow In My Room 6 Onaroo Danny The Penguin Portable Night Light 7 Uncle Milton Nat Geo Explorer s Torch 8 Pillow Pets Dream Lites Pink Butterfly 11 9 Mobi Tykelight Wallmate 10 Orion Relief Globe Illuminated with Non Tip Base Share email facebook tumblr twitter reddit google pinterest Your Gateway to Lucid Dreams Some people dream to sleep Others sleep to dream Start now About the author Rebecca Turner is the creator of World of Lucid Dreaming where she offers valuable first hand insights Learn more about Rebecca Take her home study program Connect with her on Facebook Twitter and the lucid dream forum Latest Extraordinary fantasy art by Jeremiah Morelli

    Original URL path: http://www.world-of-lucid-dreaming.com/tranquil-turtle-by-cloud-b-review.html (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Sleepsonic Pillow Review
    the room Besides supporting your lucid dream incubation through visualization and meditation practice at any time of day or night Sleepsonic is also recommended to help treat a number of medical conditions including Stress and anxiety Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome PTSD Hypercussis Tinnitus Insomnia Sleep apnea Restless leg syndrome You can use the speaker pillow on its own or place it on top of your regular pillow and connect it to your smartphone MP3 player CD player PC or stereo system It comes with a 6 ft detachable audio extension cable so there are no batteries required The digital stereo speakers produce excellent sound quality without disturbing anyone around you so it is ideal for couples students in dorms room hospital wards or anyone else who shares a bedroom Overall it produces an intimate listening experience without the discomfort of headphones or earphones The free standing sound system is also a handy for traveling and is small enough to fit in your carry on bag on the plane One of the best applications for the Sleepsonic speaker pillow is to comfortably listen to brainwave entrainment when you go to sleep Often this requires the use of headphones However the Sleepsonic

    Original URL path: http://www.world-of-lucid-dreaming.com/sleepsonic-pillow.html (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Sound Oasis S-650-1 Sleep Sound Therapy System Review
    bright glare of the computer screen a dreadful habit but it still happens The gentle sound effects remind me to enter a calm place mentally to visualize my way to dreamland and plan my next lucid dream These states are primers for entering real meditation so if you re a beginner at lucid dreaming you can start to experience the kind of mental peace necessary for MILD and WILD You might also find like I did that the soundtracks help guide your visualizations The creators of the Sound Oasis said nothing of stopping night terrors in their product description However I have found this to be a major added benefit The simple act of fully calming yourself before sleep can subvert any night terror strike later in the night and I saw noticeable results on this front Meditation Tracks The soundtracks that come with the Sound Oasis are clinically proven and created by Dr Lee Bartel an internationally acclaimed music and health expert Here are the highlights Energy Chimes A slowed down chorus of crickets resonating with slow moving chimes Creates an atmosphere of a relaxing summer evening on the deck Tranquility The calming and delicately rhythmic sound of a xylophone combined with alpha brainwave entrainment to achieve deep relaxation Alpha Clouds A soothing harp activates alpha brainwave patterns to promote a blissful state of relaxation Sleep Surf Based on the Ocean Surf see below with musical pulsations in the delta brainwave range Delta Voyage Rhythmic white noise with dense delta frequency entrainment to coax your mind into a restful and rejuvenating sleep Mysterious and haunting Dream Echoes Melodies with low delta frequency entrainment to encourage deep restorative sleep Sound Effect Tracks The device also comes with digital recordings by the world s foremost nature recorder Ocean Surf A calm

    Original URL path: http://www.world-of-lucid-dreaming.com/sound-oasis-s-650-1-sleep-sound-therapy-system-review.html (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • What Is The Self?
    several states of awareness of several different experiences at once in a single brain It still doesn t prove the existence of an enduring self Which Are You Ego or Bundle Theorist There is a famous thought experiment which will help you decide whether you subscribe to bundle or ego theory My version involves Jeff Goldblum Imagine a teleporter Unlike Seth Brundle s Dalek like monstrosity this one is 100 proven and safe Even if there is a fly in there with you We know that it works by scanning every atom in your body destroying you and instantly recreating you atom by atom at your destination The process is totally painless and you ll still have all your thoughts memories and emotions exactly intact when you emerge So would you use it Seth Brundle s Teleporter Fine for Bundle Theorists Bundle theorists would have no hesitation Every biological structure in your body will be exactly the same at the other end No one will be able to tell the difference not even you because the illusion of the self remains Ego theorists would stay the heck out of that teleporter Not only would their self be extinguished but the soul less creature that emerged the other side would be an artificial clone of them a zombie with no inner self The Theatre of The Mind One thing we can agree on is that we all have a sense of self We just disagree on its origins Whether it s real or illusory it may help if we can define exactly what we mean by the self The answer may lie in our understanding of human consciousness The most intuitive way of viewing consciousness invokes ego theory as if the human mind is a private theater As a spectator I am sitting inside my own head looking out through my eyes My senses also allow me to hear touch taste and smell the events of the outside world I can even invoke my own imagination internally by conjuring new or remembered stimulus in my mind s eye Though it feels like an adequate description of consciousness as we experience it there are some major flaws with this conceptualization And they throw our whole understanding of consciousness out the window Cartesian Dualism The Cartesian theater of the mind is based on Rene Descartes famous dualism theory from the 17th century Dualism says that the mind and the body function as separate things According to Descartes the mind is non physical and has no actual position inside the head Yet it is still a real independent structure The problem with dualism as the philosopher Daniel Dennett points out is that there is no known mechanism for an ethereal mind to communicate with the physical brain Descartes pointed to the tiny pineal gland in the center of the brain as a possible meeting point but this is purely speculative Without this conduit the mind can t be real as Descartes stated And neither

    Original URL path: http://www.world-of-lucid-dreaming.com/what-is-the-self.html (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Is Free Will an Illusion?
    free will Remember flexing your wrist before as a demonstration of free will I knew you would Performing this voluntary action involves a lot of brain processes To flex your wrist activity begins in the prefrontal region sending connections to the premotor cortex which programs the desired action in the primary motor cortex Instructions are sent out to move the wrist muscles and the flex occurs Scientists can identify which neurons are responsible for making this entire action happen from start to finish And guess what The conscious part comes after the unconscious part Meet Benjamin Libet Cutesy determinism joke Libet s Experiment In 1985 Benjamin Libet decided to test whether a wrist flex is originated by a conscious act of free will He asked volunteers to perform the wrist flex action whenever they wanted while measuring three events A The time at which they consciously decided to act B The beginning of brain activity in the motor cortex C The time of the wrist flexing action Naturally you d expect the sequence of events to occur A B C Free will Motor neurons fire Wrist moves But that didn t happen And this is really really weird The automatic brain activity fired first B then came the decision to act A then came the wrist flex C The timing separating these events was significant B At 550 milliseconds the motor cortex fired A At 200 milliseconds the decision to act was made C At 0 milliseconds the wrist flex occurred In other words unconscious brain processes began planning the wrist flex movement more than half a second before the subject made any conscious decision In brain terms that is a very long time The results of Libet s experiment are controversial They suggests conscious free will as trick of the mind And yet it makes perfect sense The idea of a conscious decision arising before any kind of brain activity would be nothing short of magic It would imply consciousness comes out of nowhere to influence physical events in the brain In fact if the free will decision had arisen first this would be evidence for a metaphysical mind or soul Either way this experiment was always going to start some arguments Here s The Twist Libet did not conclusively say that free will is an illusion Because during the course of the experiment he noticed something peculiar occurring Some subjects said they aborted the conscious decision to flex their wrist at the last moment In these cases the motor cortex activity fired but then flattened out again at 200 milliseconds This implies the existence of a conscious veto the ability to consciously override impulsive or automatic actions if we choose Libet s conclusion was that consciousness can t create the wrist flex action but it can act to prevent it It s not free will It s free won t Ethically Libet is a hero His experiment provides evidence for the condemning of criminals who apparently failed to

    Original URL path: http://www.world-of-lucid-dreaming.com/is-free-will-an-illusion.html (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • 7 Mental Traits Every Human Needs to Have Imagination
    evolution of true language It s hard for us to say when though Some scientists reckon it was a catalyst for the migration of our African ancestors to Asia and Europe around 60 000 years ago Over the millennia we ve developed complex language systems comprising many words and grammatical rules No other species does anything like this How it supports imagination Language enables us to create share and elaborate on ideas collectively There is good evidence that groups are more creative and even intelligent than smart lone thinkers 5 Cognitive Fluidity With language comes cognitive fluidity the idea that attentive consciousness allows us to study specialist knowledge and apply the lessons across many domains According to Mithen archaic humans like Neanderthals and Homo erectus had Swiss penknife minds meaning their intelligence was modular in dealing with the social material and natural worlds In modern humans these cognitive barriers are removed enabling more fluidity of thought How it supports imagination This whole brain thinking enables us to leapfrog to novel thoughts and ideas as well as dream up metaphors and analogies 6 Sedentary Lifestyle The Neolithic revolution began at the end of the Ice Age around 10 000 years ago Humans shifted from a nomadic hunter gatherer lifestyle and began farming food By planting grains vegetables and domesticating animals early humans gained a reliable food supply This enabled them to give up the nomadic way of life and settle into communities How it supports imagination With the critical pursuit of food and shelter taking up less time humans could spend more of their days on imaginative and creative pursuits 7 The Extended Mind Where does the mind stop and the rest of the world begin The extended mind theory by Clark and Chalmers says that objects in our environment like books and computers function as an extension of our own mind They suggest there s no need to separate mind body and environment when it comes to intangible cognitive processes How it supports imagination Recording our ideas along with extra computing power and creative tools to develop them allows us to boost our imagination like never before Further Reading Steven Mithen is a Professor of Archaeology at the University of Reading UK His books include The Singing Neanderthals and The Prehistory of the Mind The Cognitive Origins of Art Religion and Science Share email facebook tumblr twitter reddit google pinterest Your Gateway to Lucid Dreams Some people dream to sleep Others sleep to dream Start now About the author Rebecca Turner is the creator of World of Lucid Dreaming where she offers valuable first hand insights Learn more about Rebecca Take her home study program Connect with her on Facebook Twitter and the lucid dream forum Latest Extraordinary fantasy art by Jeremiah Morelli Jeremiah Morelli is a whimsical fantasy artist and visual storyteller He places conceptual fairytale creatures in vivid dreamscapes to capture the imagination He s also a school teacher and amazingly finds the time and motivation to create

    Original URL path: http://www.world-of-lucid-dreaming.com/7-mental-traits-every-human-needs-to-have-imagination.html (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Simulation Argument: Why Your Reality Isn't Real (Probably)
    also very low We have no problem playing God when it comes to manipulating characters on The Sims which is all well and good because they re not self aware But would the critical consciousness threshold force us to reconsider Another way to pose this question is to consider the rights of the dream characters who appear in your lucid dreams Often dream characters seem to act of their own accord as if they have their own conscious free will And yet many lucid dreamers also admit to using these entities for their own needs such as lucid dream sex Now I m not saying that lucid dream characters are necessarily conscious beings separate from myself but there is some doubt as to who or what controls them Certainly they often seem to have a different agenda to me But this doesn t really change my ethical stance To me on some level they ll always be just dream characters as our AI Sims could be rationalized as just simulations Therefore it s believable that if we had the technology to simulate living conscious entities we would go ahead with it We might argue that the simulated creatures are merely robots or bits of computer code designed and never born What s more a simulation would start at the beginning perhaps of our universe or of our planet We would begin with single celled organisms to which we couldn t relate even though we would expect them to eventually evolve into complex forms demonstrated by John Conway s Game of Life We Are Living In a Computer Simulation Statement 3 We are almost certainly living in a computer simulation So here s the kicker If you accept that the human race will survive long enough to invent this technology and that we won t be afraid to use it then Bostrom s third statement must be true We are indeed living inside a computer simulation ourselves But why Bostrom did the math A single computer simulation of our evolutionary history would create trillions of organisms think every living thing on planet Earth ever These immense simulations would lead to the evolution of posthumans who create their own computer simulations Simulations within simulations In this vast pyramid there would be a single true reality home to the original humans who lived for real died for real and created computer simulations for real Every virtual world spawned by that reality would be merely offspring simulations each with their own offspring simulations potentially adding up to trillions of simulated universes The chances of you existing in that original universe are infinitesimal Indeed you d be crazy to think you live in the real world You are most likely to be the construct of a very realistic very powerful computer game Criticisms and Implications Now don t go jumping off a skyscraper Matrix style just yet because there are some criticisms of the Simulation Argument For instance there may be something inherent about a

    Original URL path: http://www.world-of-lucid-dreaming.com/the-simulation-argument.html (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • How Consciousness is Created in The Brain
    increased strength of the functional connections between each of these brain areas when subjects consciously perceive the target The hotter colors are associated with stronger connections We know there are numerous brain networks that control distinct cognitive functions such as attention language and control with each node of a network densely interconnected with other nodes of the same network but not with other networks said lead researcher Réne Marois Consciousness appears to break down the modularity of these networks The Implications The research suggests that consciousness is likely a product of this widespread communication and that we can only report things that we have seen once they are being represented in the brain in this manner No one part of the brain is truly the seat of the soul as René Descartes once suggested Instead consciousness may be an emergent property of how information is propagated throughout the brain Identifying the fingerprints of consciousness in humans would be a significant advancement for basic and medical research let alone its philosophical implications on the underpinnings of the human experience added Marois Many of the cognitive deficits observed in various neurological diseases may ultimately stem from changes in how information is communicated throughout the brain Read the full study entitled Breakdown of the brain s functional network modularity with awareness by Douglass Godwin Robert L Barry and Réne Marois at the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences website Share email facebook tumblr twitter reddit google pinterest Your Gateway to Lucid Dreams Some people dream to sleep Others sleep to dream Start now About the author Rebecca Turner is the creator of World of Lucid Dreaming where she offers valuable first hand insights Learn more about Rebecca Take her home study program Connect with her on Facebook Twitter and the lucid dream forum Latest Extraordinary fantasy art by Jeremiah Morelli Jeremiah Morelli is a whimsical fantasy artist and visual storyteller He places conceptual fairytale creatures in vivid dreamscapes to capture the imagination He s also a school teacher and amazingly finds the time and motivation to create this huge gallery of artwork Such light and dark fairytale paintings make beautiful places to visit in your lucid dreams Latest 12 awesome Inception style dreamscapes Inspired and named for the notion of Flatland artist and photographer Aydin Buyuktas has created a series of works where a space of surprises creates a space that creates surprises Based on photos of Istanbul Buyuktas explains We live in places that most of the times don t draw our attention places that transform our memories places that the artist gives another dimension where the perceptions that generally crosses our minds will be demolished and new ones will arise These works aim to leave the viewer alone with a surprising visuality ironic as well as a multidimensional romantic point of view Latest 10 essential oils to boost lucid dreaming One summer the 19th century lucid dream researcher Marquis d Hervey de Saint Deny took a bottle of an unfamiliar

    Original URL path: http://www.world-of-lucid-dreaming.com/how-consciousness-is-created-in-the-brain.html (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive



  •