archive-com.com » COM » X » XPATARCHIVE.COM

Total: 218

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Book Review: “The Woman Who Fell From the Sky” by Jennifer Steil - Expatriate Archive Centre - A Home For Expat Life Stories
    ups and downs of qat chewing and its effects on work efficiency is outraged by gender inequalities comes to feel like a big sister to a young female protégé grapples with a work ethic wholly at odds with all her past experience and is baffled by the inconsistencies of her boss and her male co workers She is appalled by local cultural attitudes toward journalism and reporting and by government restrictions on the media Outside of work she copes with the loneliness of being a single female stranger in a strange land studies Arabic parties with other expatriates has a few encounters with the Yemeni medical establishment finds a life partner and comes to a realization that she will never be the same again Reminiscent of The Bookseller of Kabal Steil s depiction of her friends and co workers as wholly complex people inconsistent emotional and human makes it easy for the reader to set aside western stereotypes of Arab cultures while still acknowledging East West cultural differences Steil has a talent for unveiling the universal humanness in the people she introduces us to The self discipline of Steil s journalism training is evident as she never succumbs to but I can t leave that out thinking She has a superb knack for selecting the best story telling elements so the reader never gets bogged down her book is fast paced smoothly written and eminently readable She knows how to tell a story The result is a focused thought provoking humor filled tale of an improbable expatriate odyssey that has both structure and forward momentum but that still feels like the grand adventure of getting lost in the souq At Steil s side the reader experiences the rich tapestry of sights sounds smells and bustling activity that her life in

    Original URL path: http://www.xpatarchive.com/book-review-the-woman-who-fell-from-the-sky-by-jennifer-steil/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Latest Researcher at the Archive: Dual-Career Couples - Expatriate Archive Centre - A Home For Expat Life Stories
    of Rotterdam doing a thesis on dual career expatriate couples with a focus on the trailing accompanying spouse In the usual definition of a dual career couple both partners pursue a career For expats this might not be so simple One partner may find that they have to take a job in another field can t find a suitable position or takes a career break Categories Research Go Back COLLECTION

    Original URL path: http://www.xpatarchive.com/latest-researcher-at-the-archive-dual-career-couples/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • International Women’s Day 2012 - Expatriate Archive Centre - A Home For Expat Life Stories
    Flickr set Expat Women One surprising thing we noticed was the lack of photographs in a domestic or workplace setting Perhaps this is something to think about as you document your expat life do you only take photos at social events trips and holidays Your home and work life might seem less interesting or exciting but in years to come it is photographs of these that could provide a real

    Original URL path: http://www.xpatarchive.com/international-womens-day-2012/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • A Visit from Inholland Students - Expatriate Archive Centre - A Home For Expat Life Stories
    with their research Our PR Officer Donna Worrall showed two of the students Carla and Amilda around the archive They are looking at the social cohesion of inhabitants of an area in The Hague to compare with a region of Rotterdam If you live in Statenkwartier in The Hague they would appreciate your assistance with their research Contact us and we can put you in touch with the students Categories

    Original URL path: http://www.xpatarchive.com/a-visit-from-inholland-students/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Valentine’s Day From the Archive: Did They or Didn’t They? - Expatriate Archive Centre - A Home For Expat Life Stories
    I mentioned to you yesterday I will only see you as a friend but that will be all When you do not want this I can understand it For now I wish you all the best Eef Little girl For what now has happened I myself am the only one to blame In the past few months I have treated you mean and have bickered with you used you as a doormat You must hate me for this While you have always done everything for me I had the guts to tell you to be patient I beg for forgiveness Small wonder you feel that you no longer care about me Now you have to decide If you want to see Herman who is a much nicer chap than I am I will understand But it will hurt Eef do what your heart tells you May God help you Niek You may be wondering why we selected such a sad tale for Valentine s Day This is because the letters do not tell the whole story The next document in their collection is an invitation to the wedding of Eef and Niek in December 1950 What happened in between and

    Original URL path: http://www.xpatarchive.com/valentines-day-from-the-archive-did-they-or-didnt-they/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Book Review: “Drums on the Night Air” by Veronica Cecil - Expatriate Archive Centre - A Home For Expat Life Stories
    the political situation murky at best Veronica is rare among expatriates of the era most of who tended to turn a blind eye to what was going on around them The prevailing attitude was one of endurance and voluntary isolation from the locals tolerating the boredom and amusing themselves at the club until the contract ends and it s time to return to their home country The exceptions seem to be the stoical missionary expatriates who at least feel they can make a contribution to local society Still trying to make sense of why the company never named is still keeping a firm hold on the manufacture of palm oil in the Haute Congo Veronica relishes the move to Elizabetha on the banks of the Congo River Once settled in to their new home she befriends and soon comes to rely on their houseboy Nicholas Of course Nicholas is all too aware of the impending attacks by rebel groups in the foothills but it is his duty to take care of the family and this includes protecting them from the approaching rumours of disaster Drums on the Night Air is both an adventure story and a personal journey of discovery

    Original URL path: http://www.xpatarchive.com/book-review-drums-on-the-night-air-by-veronica-cecil/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • 2011 Additions to the Archive - Expatriate Archive Centre - A Home For Expat Life Stories
    Holy Lands In the rare moments Maureen was staying at home she welcomed visitors from Australia or wherever who used her home as a stopover in Europe Riek Uittenbogaard 1913 2004 A collection of private items business related items photos and documentation that belonged to a teacher who later became the director at the school for home economics in Waikabubak Indonesian island Sumba 1947 1951 Riek was sent by de Zending van de Gereformeerde Kerken in Nederland onder Heidenen en Mohamedanen the Mission of Reformed Churches in the Netherlands amongst Pagans and Muslims Bob Karen Coster Unfried 1939 2007 Private items and documentation that belonged to Karen Coster Unfried who worked as a teacher for the Colegio Americano de Guatemala 1960 1961 Later she moved to the Netherlands were she taught at the American School of The Hague 1958 1971 Darin Attard 2010 2011 A Maltese who came to the Netherlands in 2010 as a supporting spouse During his one year stay in the Netherlands he worked for the Expatriate Archive Centre as a volunteer If you are of have been an expat we would love to hear your stories and experiences too You can enrich our archive by donating

    Original URL path: http://www.xpatarchive.com/2011-additions-to-the-archive/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Book Review: “The Mission of Detective Mike Moving Abroad” - Expatriate Archive Centre - A Home For Expat Life Stories
    their concerns positively processed The authors Simone and Ana are respectively a psychologist and intercultural coach and a storyteller Both of them have been expatriates and have children The story is very simple and deals with a young boy Mike who will soon be moving abroad with his family because of his father s work Acting like a detective in search for clues and with the help of his best friend and his family Mike will successfully face fears and difficulties arising from expatriation This story has different chapters regarding all the small but big issues that might come across a child s mind when it s matter of moving abroad leaving a safe environment for an unknown new place The book deals with changing a house town and school leaving good friends behind being challenged with a foreign language loosing track of personal belongings and so on I think for most expatriates this is a Deja vu This is a book that has to be read together parents and children as it gives the opportunity for the kids to talk about their emotions and personal memories Furthermore I have noticed that while reading the story children get passionate about

    Original URL path: http://www.xpatarchive.com/book-review-the-mission-of-detective-mike-moving-abroad/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •